Witte Museum Reviews

19 | San Antonio, TX
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Witte Museum

Recommended by 96%

19

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

2 User photos

Witte Museum 1
Witte Museum 2
Sort by:
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roger is absolutely amazing to work with!! He is extremely professional, responsive, and knows exactly what he is doing. Everything was on schedule and as expected for our wedding, which went off without any hiccups. Roger was easy to schedule meetings with and very efficient during those meetings. He is also thoroughly helpful with suggestions for vendors, ideas for layouts, and practicalities. The Witte is obviously a gorgeous place to get married, but working with Roger made it soooo easy!

    Sent on 05/29/2017
  • Dana

    Dana · Married on 01/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue. I highly recommend checking this place out.

    Sent on 01/11/2017
  • G

    Greg · Married on 09/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place to get married. I highly recommend them.

    Sent on 09/19/2016
  • B

    Beverly · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The place was beautiful. There was just minor construction in the background..... Other than that.... I loved it

    Sent on 07/23/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Witte, and everything went wonderfully. Roger was our contact, and he was very responsive and helpful during all the planning. He actually took over for the previous venue contact, and he made sure that communication was followed through smoothly. Everything was really nicely laid out, and it was set up in such a way that we and our guests didn't even notice the construction going on at the Witte.

    Sent on 02/05/2016
  • User4936354 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Witte is an amazing space - beautiful indoor and outdoor options. Due to rain, we held our ceremony inside the heritage center which turned incredibly beautiful - all glass, great light, interesting art for the guests to look at. We then held our reception inside the memorial auditorium which was the perfect size for 125 guests and a small 12x12 dancefloor. It was comfortable and cozy. Witte lets you bring your own alcohol, which saved us thousands of dollars. I do recommend getting uplights as the room can be a little dark. Uplights transformed the room. We also had the Treehouse available for our guests and their kids to play in. It was a memorable night playing in the treehouse in our formalwear and I think the adults enjoyed it more than the kids did! But the evening would not have been so successful without the help of Roger - he was INCREDIBLE. He saved us when our caterer became difficult to work with, he helped us navigate the weather (it rained!) and just generally made it a really easy experience. Can't say enough good things about the Witte.

    Sent on 06/01/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I looked at so many places in San Antonio and the Witte had it all! They have a grogeous outside courtyard and amphitheatre, but a nice indoor area as well which can be used as a rain plan (I ended up using both). I also loved that the South Texas Heritage Museum is open so guest could tour it during cocktail hour and have something to do. The Witte also lets you bring in your own alcohol (with a TABC-certified bartender serving) which literally saved us thousands of dollars. Both of the coordinators were extremely friendly and easy to work with, I cannot say enough good things about this venue!!

    Sent on 05/27/2014
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are very happy that we selected The Witte Museum for our reception venue. We worked with Jo'Anna through the wedding planning process and she was so wonderful! She made planning a wedding from out-of-town so easy. She was always quick to respond to my emails and pretty much gave me everything I asked for. She was very accommodating to me as well as all of my vendors. Having the dino gallery open throughout the evening was pretty cool too. We got plenty of great compliments from our guests on how unique of a venue The Witte Museum is. I would recommend this venue to anybody who wants to have a beautiful reception site, but doesn't want to stress over all the details. Jo'Anna was amazing and I will recommend this venue to everybody!

    Sent on 08/19/2012
  • Karla

    Karla · Married on 05/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved the Witte to have our wedding at. The courtyard is gorgeous at night and Jo'Anna (events) did a great job working with us. We were afraid we would get rain and have to move the wedding inside and they were extremely accommodating and patient with us. Love the place, love the people that work there!

    Sent on 06/12/2012
  • M

    Ashley · Married on 12/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have the best memories of our wedding reception at the Witte Museum! Everyone was extremely professional and the staff even let the wedding party take pictures in one of the dinosaur exhibits during the reception - it was just so fun! If you are looking for a unique wedding experience - definitely book the Witte!

    Sent on 01/11/2011
  • Clarissa

    Clarissa · Married on 04/14/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roger at the Witte was so awesome! Guests can not stop talking about how awesome it was to have our wedding there. It was beautiful outside and inside! We selected the Prassel area for our wedding and it just could not have turned out more perfect! They let you bring in your own alcohol which was also a HUGE savings for us!

    Sent on 05/02/2018
    Witte Museum 3
    Witte Museum 4
  • User4562706 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The staff was helpful, patient and knowledgeable of those vendors who could provide us with what we needed to make the wedding magical. Their input based on their experience was shared with much respect and no pushiness to make the Witte a beautiful setting for what we were looking for!

    Sent on 11/21/2014
  • C

    claudia · Married on 03/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roger was our event coordinator for our wedding. He was very professional and attentive the whole. We were suppose to have our ceremony in the courtyard, but due to rain, Roger was able to accommodate us and moved it under the patio. Our wedding was the same day as another event, so Roger had to be a two events at the same time. Nevertheless, he was quick to help us when we needed something during the reception. I highly recommend having your wedding here if you're into the vintage/ garden theme. It really was a beautiful wedding despite the weather.

    Sent on 04/04/2017
  • User4186903 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the Witte Museum was incredibly helpful and so nice. When there was a problem with our reserved auditorium space, they handled it very professionally and resolved it before we even knew there was a problem. I'm very grateful that JoAnna was there to help us make our day special.

    Sent on 06/19/2014
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 01/03/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Witte was such a unique and special place. We wanted something a little different than a hotel or just a ballroom, and The Witte was a fantastic choice. Michelle is great there and we had a great time. I just wished that they had directed our reception more than what they did, I had been under the impression that they would tell us when to cut the cake and keep an eye on the time for us, but we had to end up doing that. So definitely hire someone on that day that can do that for you! Other than that, we highly recommend the Witte for a spectacular event location!

    Sent on 02/03/2009
  • User2330041 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies in the events department at the Witte are wonderful. They answer and/ or return phone calls and emails very promptly. The lady that was initially my contact at the museum moved out of state about six months before my wedding, but all of the details were taken care of and nothing was lost due to lack of communication or continuity.
    We chose the Witte for several reasons, but the value was a key consideration. The museum allows you to buy your own alcohol which can save a lot of money. We paid to rent tables and chairs from the museum, but even with the rentals we felt it was a good deal.
    The only negative thing I can say is that to have a private event, you must have the event when the museum is closed. However, we didn't mind having our wedding in the evening- with the unpredictable Texas weather we felt the evening was a little safer bet.
    We enjoyed having our wedding at the Witte, and our guests said they enjoyed it as well. I think what I liked most about having our wedding at the Witte is that I didn't feel like it needed thousands of decorations to make it an acceptable wedding venue. I put centerpieces on the tables and had some up-lighting, and it was wonderful not worrying about how things looked.

    Sent on 05/10/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/25/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The ground of the musuem are gorgeous and it's a perfect place groups of any size. The venue provides table and chairs that are on site which is nice.

    Sent on 02/03/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/06/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful night, inside and out. Lighting is dull so provide your own side lighting or it looks like a morgue. Dancing was crowded.

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • D

    Delayna · Married on 11/10/2007

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I was extremely dissapointed with the professionalism of the wedding coordinator at The Witte Museum. She was no where to be found the evening of the ceremony and the bartenders needed access to the locked freezer where the alcohol was stored for the margarita machine. Needless to say, there were no margaritas served until the last hour of the reception.

    Brides Beware - There is a high turnover rate for wedding coordinators, so be sure to have a main contact number for several people at The Witte.

    - Hire an outside wedding coordinator, other than the woman who works at The Witte and be sure to have them unlock the freezer!

    Decorating advice - we had the decorators put chocolate drapes on the outside columns of the reception hall and it looked gorgeous! It added a very romantic feel.

    One advantage of the Witte is the fact that you can bring in an outside caterer to save cost.

    Sent on 10/04/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review