Wisp Resort Reviews

61 | Mc Henry, MD
See photos, pricing and details

61 Reviews for Wisp Resort

Recommended by 96%

61
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

34 User photos

Wisp Resort 1
Wisp Resort 2
Wisp Resort 3
Wisp Resort 4
Wisp Resort 5
Wisp Resort 6
Wisp Resort 7
+ 28
Sort by:
  • Meisha

    Meisha · Getting married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Menu Tasting

    Janel our coordinator has been absolutely fantastic. We tasted our menu for the reception and were blown away. We can't wait to see the whole set up and enjoy our special day and all the activities

    Sent on 09/18/2019
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding there September 2017 and it was amazing and the views from our ceremony location were breathtaking. Every guest we invited absolutely loved the resort and everything it had to offer to entertain the guests. We were able to enjoy a bonfire with our guests the night before the wedding and even though unplanned they also allowed us to enjoy it after the reception for our wedding ended. They were very accommodating with all our requests for changes in the menu and decorations and additional space for the girls to prepare the day of the wedding. I would absolutely reccomend this to anyone in the search for wedding venues!

    Sent on 04/19/2018
  • S

    S · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was great! We had our ceremony at the top of the ski slope with such a beautiful view. Our reception was in the yurt village. Food was good. Everything went smoothly, the people we worked with at Wisp were professional and made sure everything was organized.
    Also it was so convenient how they have a hotel right there at Wisp. Our wedding party and guests stayed there. :)

    Sent on 04/05/2018
    Wisp Resort 8
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The WISP Resort is a BEAUTIFUL setting to have a wedding ceremony and reception. Whether it is indoors (ours was in the "Mountain Mist Tent" and it was very elegant...just what I wanted) or outdoors on top of the mountain, they work hand-in-hand with you to make sure your special day is planned just how YOU want it. We got so many compliments from our guests about the venue, the wedding ceremony itself and the FOOD!!! People talked A LOT about how delicious the food was (especially the Prime Rib)! We are locals in the Deep Creek area and do not live too far away from the WISP.
    I wanted to stay in the area and compared other locations and venues to the WISP and nothing came close to the convenience and amenities that the WISP had to offer us for our wedding. Everything from the bridal party stay in the hotel the evening before, to the wedding ceremony and reception in the Mountain Mist Tent, the private Cocktail Hour for the wedding party in a yurt nearby, late night pizza for the heavy party-goers, to the newlyweds having a complimentary room at the hotel the night of the wedding. It was all in ONE location, which is what I was looking for. All we had to do at the venue was decorate...no set-up, tear down, trash collection, having to bring in our own alcohol, NONE OF THAT (which is what many of the other local venues were expecting you to do). It was all included! I'd recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a beautiful setting with wonderful people to work with!

    Sent on 07/09/2017
    Wisp Resort 9
    Wisp Resort 10
    Wisp Resort 11
    Wisp Resort 12
    Wisp Resort 13
    Wisp Resort 14
    Wisp Resort 15
    Wisp Resort 16
    Wisp Resort 17
    Wisp Resort 18
  • S

    Savannah · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Wisp wedding team and venue is nothing short of phenomenal. Every step of the way, the team helped to provide us with resources and ideas for our wedding in just a short time of 3 months. The food was delicious and has many compliments from our guests on our food chooses (we chose a bbq them). The staff was very accomidating with helping the reception site look the way we had invisioned and also allowed us to extend our reception a little longer than we had originally planned. The day could not have gone any smoother or more perfect.

    Sent on 04/19/2018
    Wisp Resort 19
    Wisp Resort 20
  • K

    kathleen · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a great experience with Wisp Resort hosting our wedding last Spring 2017. They were so professional and on top of everything! Everything was set up exactly as we asked and any extras were never dismissed. Our family and friends couldn't have been happier with the results, we'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an elegant and charming mountain resort wedding. Thanks Wisp!!! :-)

    Sent on 04/02/2018
    Wisp Resort 21
    Wisp Resort 22
    Wisp Resort 23
    Wisp Resort 24
    Wisp Resort 25
    Wisp Resort 26
    Wisp Resort 27
    Wisp Resort 28
    Wisp Resort 29
    Wisp Resort 30
  • N

    Nazira · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we change our venue month before to our wedding, and choose Wisp Resort and didn't regret. They did it everything we ask, Katie Morris person who help me a lot with my wedding. very thankful.
    only florist I hire was terrible Jan Florist.

    Sent on 10/01/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Wisp provided wonderful food for our outdoor reception at Swallow Falls State Park. The staff was always very professional and accommodating, especially when rain caused us to move our ceremony under cover where they were setting up the buffet table. The food was great and enjoyed by all. We included hot dogs on our menu as we had lots of kids under 10 invited - they were a big hit with kids and parents alike! Thank you to all of the staff for helping us enjoy our wedding day!

    The only negative we have is that because it was catering off site, when they left, all food we had paid for went with them due to FDA regulations (including very edible, even after two hours outside, apple pie).

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would say , go for it . They helped in every way to make the wedding and reception perfect. If you want an outdoor wedding the mountain top is spectacular. The food was amazing and displayed beautifully. A special thank you to the Wisp team. Mother of the bride , Debbie H.

    Sent on 09/01/2016
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 07/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so impressed with the Wisp wedding experience! We had a small wedding (less than 20 people), but felt like we were treated as if it was a huge wedding celebration! Katie, our wedding specialist was fantastic! She was on top of everything and made the day perfect! I would highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/12/2016
  • User5263393 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wisp Resort was hands down the best place to get married. Our wedding coordinator, Andrea, was absolutely fantastic and so accommodating. When she had to take maternity leave about a month before our wedding, Kelsey was able to step in and was just as great. I am very detail oriented and appreciate getting things done way in advance so there are no last minute worries, and both Andrea and Kelsey were there every step of the way with me and really stayed on top of things. Our first encounter with the resort was actually with Lisa who showed us the property and answered any questions we had. Despite that summer day being cold and rainy, she promised us that if we booked at Wisp, Andrea would make sure the weather on our wedding day was perfect...well we booked and she did not disappoint as it was sunny, there were puffy clouds in the sky and the temperature was around 75 degrees! It was a great day for us and the guests to take a chairlift ride up to the ceremony at the top of the mountain and for the reception in the Mountain Mist Tent. It was beautiful and the guests were so happy as well. Everyone is still raving about the food and the awesome service and many said it was the best wedding they had ever been to! Thank you so much for making our day so perfect and one we'll never forget!

    Sent on 07/31/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding at the Wisp Resort was the best decision!! Andrea, the event coordinator, was amazing to work with. We originally had planned for an October wedding but needed to change our date. We were able to move up the wedding nearly 5 months sooner and the process was seamless to me. Andrea gave great recommendations for the DJ, cake, florist and ceremony music. We got married on the greens outside the Mountain Mist Tent and my day couldn't have been more perfect.

    Sent on 06/12/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrea was wonderful to work with and communicated quickly with us and was always touching base. Everything was taken care of before we asked and she made it about what we wanted our day to be! Wonderful venue, wonderful service, and amazing memorable wedding!

    Sent on 10/09/2014
  • K

    Krista · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrea was great to work with and plan our wedding and reception. Everything turned out great and I'm so happy we chose Wisp Resort as our wedding location.

    Sent on 10/18/2014
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having our wedding on the mountain turned out to be beautiful!!! We had so much help and didn't have to worry about a thing! The food was wonderful as well!

    Sent on 10/16/2014
  • User4317172 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything about our ceremony and reception was just perfect. We did not have to worry about a thing - the staff, and especially the wedding coordinator Andrea, took great care of all of our guests and of us. We had our ceremony at the Mountain Top site, and our guests were in awe of the view. The Lodge made for an impressive reception venue - the food was excellent, the ice cream sundae bar was a hit, and everyone had a fantastic time.

    Sent on 08/11/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hosting our wedding and reception at Wisp Resort was nothing short of amazing. Andrea helped us coordinate all of the details and made sure everything was in place as we had planned. We took the chair lift to the top of the mountain for our mountain top ceremony and the views were spectacular. We were the first to use the newly added reception tent on the property and it was beautiful. From start to finish, everything was as smooth as could be making our special day as perfect as anyone could wish for. I would highly recommend this location to others!

    Sent on 10/14/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't of ask for a better day..... Even with the sudden ceremony site change due to sudden rain fall. Thanks to Andrea and crew, quick turn around made the day amazing! There wasn't a single dry eye in the seats. Andrea was very easy to work with and flexible. Felt as she became part as the family during process and now miss having to contact her! The wedding site was beautiful and all compliments

    Sent on 05/23/2014
  • User4122403 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for the perfect Deep Creek wedding, book it at Wisp Resort! A bride is under a lot of stress planning a wedding, and Wisp Resort and their Wedding Coordinator, Andrea Fitzwater, took all of that stress away! I can't describe the amount of professionalism, attention to detail, knowledge, expertise, responsiveness, kindness, and care this Resort and their staff offers. The staff was absolutely incredible. It's been a month since my wedding and my family and friends are still talking about how they want to plan a vacation their, simply because the staff was just so amazing. They really went over the top. Andrea was the best part though. We considered a few different places in Deep Creek to get married, and we decided on Wisp Resort entirely because of Andrea. She was so responsive and caring from the first time I talked to her, that I couldn't have possibly gotten married anywhere else! When you plan a wedding, you want to know you will be taken care of and in good hands. And that's just what I felt with Andrea. She truly cares and wants your wedding to be unforgettable and perfect. She was available via phone and email the entire process. And the wedding day, she was there to make sure all of the little hiccups were taken care of and I was not the one dealing with them (even though, as far as I know, nothing went wrong!!). Our wedding was beautiful and flawless, exactly what everyone wants for their special day. I wish that I could relive it at Wisp Resort every single day! Truly an amazing and unique experience - I guarantee any future wedding held here will be just as perfect as mine was!

    Sent on 05/23/2014
  • C

    Christy · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrea fitzwater was amazing and I will highly recommend her and the wisp to anyone planning a special event!

    Sent on 10/03/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrea was awesome!!! She was more like a friend helping than a person just doing her job. She was amazing and would recommend her to anyone!! :)

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • User3553207 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Andrea really made the crazy wedding planning process SO much easier. She made everything seem so easy with her calm, cool, and collected personality and she knew a lot of the vendors in the area, making my job easier, as she could communicate with them, so my day could be as stress free as possible. I really appreciated her hard work. The Wisp wedding experience would not be the same without her!

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wisp Resort could not have been a better wedding venue. Our guests are still talking about the beautiful outdoor ceremony and the rustic lodge reception. They have also raved about the delicious food, especially the mini crab cakes that were served at the cocktail hour. Our wedding party really enjoyed taking the ski lift down the mountain after the ceremony and also the private cocktail hour in the mezzanine overlooking the reception area.
    Throughout the whole wedding planning process the wedding coordinator worked to answer any and all questions very promptly. This was a great wedding experience and I would do it the same all over again! Thank you!

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • E

    Elisabeth · Married on 05/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved having our wedding at Wisp Resort. They were wonderful to allow us to have half of the catering provided by a Halal restaurant in Pittsburgh. The plating fee that we paid for those guests was a bit higher than we had hoped, but it still worked out to about the same for each type of guest. It is amazing all of the work that they do for you included in the package. Andrea was our wedding coordinator for the day and helped out so much. She was fantastic at communicating with us about how we wanted everything to look and even helped out with some things super last minute. I'm so thankful that we decided to have the wedding at Wisp - because we got a wonderful, beautiful, personal wedding at such a great price.

    Sent on 07/08/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review