Winnetka Community House Reviews

25 | Winnetka, IL
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for Winnetka Community House

Recommended by 94%

25

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • B

    Brian · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love working with Winnetka Community House they have always delivered great service and has always accommodated our needs. Looking forward in working in many events to come!

    Thanks,
    Extreme Sounds Entertainment & Lighting
    extremesoundsent.com

    Sent on 07/05/2017
  • S

    Susan · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at Winnetka Community House. The patio is simply enchanting and the indoor space is beautiful as well. We wanted the vibe of our wedding to *feel* like a backyard wedding yet look polished/cohesive and that's exactly what we acheived with the help of the team at WCH. I will always remember dancing under the patio lights and stars on that warm July evening as our guests mingled between the cooler space inside, the dance floor, and the cozy community tables.

    Sent on 07/05/2018
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We fell in love with the Winnetka Community House the second we visited the location for the first time! It's a big building with lots of activities going on when you pull up to the front - the last thing we thought we'd find attached to the back is a perfect North Shore reception space with a picturesque garden! Almost every guest at our wedding asked us "How did you find this space? We didn't even realize it was here!!!"

    They just renovated the indoor space at the end of 2015/early 2016, so everything looks new and fresh (even the chairs are new - no need for seat covers!). We were not looking for an outdoor space originally, but ended up moving up our wedding date to a warmer month just so we could be sure to take advantage of the charming, private garden. The French doors all along the reception space open up into the garden, making it a perfect location for our cocktail hour, additional photos, and just hanging out during the evening. We had 100 people at our wedding, and the space was the perfect size (they put up a fake wall indoors to make the room a tad smaller, so it didn't seem empty).

    The Winnetka Community House exclusively works with Catered by Design for their events - which made the entire process so simple and easy. The person who showed us the space and walked through their wedding offerings, Nikee Fellows, actually works for Catered by Design but has her office in the Community House.

    Keep in mind that the Community House does host a lot of events throughout the day (they have a gym, art classes, theater, etc.). So there may be some people in the hallway, bathrooms, and general vicinity of the reception room during your event (depending on the time you have it). The building was a bit crowded with kids when we first arrived before cocktail hour at 4pm, but by the time the band started playing and guests began arriving at 5:30pm everyone had emptied out and we had that portion of the building to ourselves - so no complaints on our part! :)

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • User4758232 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The two people I am in contact with for catering and the ceremony have been wonderful! They get back to me through email promptly, provide ease with advice as well as encouragement throughout this exciting (yet nerve-wracking) time.

    Sent on 01/22/2016
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    People keep telling us how perfect our wedding was, and I absolutely credit that to this beautiful venue and amazing food by Catered by Design, their exclusive caterer. We had our cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing all outside in the Arches Garden, and luckily for us, the weather was perfect and we didn't need to use the tent that we reserved.

    I can't imagine a more romantic place for a wedding than the incredibly lush walled garden. The photos were perfect from every angle, and we were able to save on decorations because the garden itself is so beautiful. The venue is the perfect size for about 125 guests with a dance floor, a stage, and and a bar.

    Nikee and Mallory from Catered by Design were amazing to work with, and they helped plan a classy and abundant spread as well as giving guidance on venue layouts and decorations. I loved that based on their experience with this venue, they were able to help us avoid spending money on unnecessary decor. [Believe me--this venue is gorgeous on its own! Things like cafe lights (which are likely to cost more than 1k to have installed), are definitely superfluous.] These ladies are so much fun to work with, and they will always give you their honest opinion. And you should listen to them!! They know what they're talking about.

    And if you're like us and want to gamble on the weather in order to have a fully outdoors wedding, they are on your side and will keep their fingers crossed for no rain.

    Do it. You will not find a more beautiful venue in all of the Chicago area.

    Sent on 06/23/2015
  • User3364671 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning, open, picturesque.

    Our evening began in the outdoor Arches Garden, which was THE PERFECT SPACE for our cocktail hour. Everyone loved being able to enjoy conversation and drinks outside in the beautiful atmosphere they created. After the cocktail hour, the french doors to the ballroom were opened and guests filed into the room and into their seats. The room fit our guests perfectly, as well as the bar, our DJ, 2 dessert stations, and our photo booth.

    Walking into the room before anyone was in there to see what it looked like was unforgettable - it was beautiful. They did a spectacular job making our vision come to life. The french doors were opened up halfway through the evening to allow for a breeze, fresh air, and overflow into the Arches Garden, and it was absolutely beautiful. Perfect idea and perfect timing. My only complaint is that the evening didn't last longer!!

    I'd pick the Winnetka Community House over a generic hotel ANY DAY of the week!!!

    Sent on 06/12/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at Winnetka Community House in June 2013 and was blown away by the experience. Not only did Gina help us get everything set up, she worked with Catered By Design and their staff to make the entire evening come to life.

    Our ceremony was in the Gardens (where my parents got married) and we were supposed to have had the reception out there as well...until the thunderstorms rolled in...

    The inside Plan B was just as perfect as it would have been outside, and people have been complimenting us all week on the quick change in setup and how perfectly it worked out.

    The Bride's Room is on the second floor, and has a back door to allow the Bride to make her grand entrance without anyone seeing it coming! The gardens themselves are absolutely beautiful, and there are so many places for photography that you really need to get an idea in your head which you want to use before the wedding.

    The value for this site is unparalleled. We couldn't find any other venue at the price we paid that was anywhere near as beautiful as WCH. We were overjoyed to get married there, and would highly highly recommend it to anyone that is looking to get married outdoors on the North Shore.

    Sent on 06/30/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great place for a wedding. Everything was laid out perfectly, great space. Great people to work with. Would choose it all over again!

    Sent on 09/07/2012
  • J

    Julie · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We needed a venue that can accomadate a double ceremony (Laotian and Catholic Filipino) I've been here before and was grateful the date was available. We rented out the second floor, bridal room, and the garden banquet. The service was excellent and the setup went without a hitch.

    Catered by Design(Nikee) was awesome to work with. The food options were plenty for a sitdown dinner compared to other locations we looked at. During the tasting we fell in love with the food and surprised at the portion size. Our guests were very happy =).

    Having our Catholic ceremony in the garden was magical!

    Sent on 08/14/2012
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WCH was the first place we actually visited, and the last place. It was the perfect environment for our wedding and reception. We absolutely fell in love with the garden area and hoped for no rain. We lucked out. The indoor ceremony room that is reserved in case of rain would have worked fine, but the garden was too gorgeous to not take advantage of. See my other review on Catered By Design (required caterer) and Rolf's Patisserie (referred bakery through contract). Leading up to the big day, Karen (event coordinator) was generally very helpful in answering questions we had, and figuring out problems as they arose. Sometimes it took a while to hear back from her, but I also mainly focused on email as my mode of contact, as she bounced around to the different Catered By Design offices. I came in organized and knew what I needed/wanted and Karen came through on that. The big day - the WCH staff and CBD staff were nothing short of amazing. We truly enjoyed our wedding and have received numerous compliments on the venue, staff, food, etc. etc. etc. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 11/13/2009
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love this venue! We were married outside in the garden and loved everything about it. Catered by design (see separate review) was wonderful and took care of everything. I highly recommend this place for anyone getting married - very beautiful yet not too expensive compared to other venues in the Chicagoland area.

    Sent on 10/20/2008
  • B

    Rosie · Married on 06/28/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great prices, beautiful venue.

    Sent on 07/14/2008
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/30/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Arches Garden at the Winnetka Community House is an absolutely beautiful setting for an intimate wedding! Our guests loved the space and it was definitely the atmosphere we were looking for. WCH was excellent to work with when we decided to have our rehearsal dinner there the day before.

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • M

    Marsha · Married on 06/09/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had our son and daughter-in-law's reception on Sunday evening in the serene garden of the Winnetka Community House. The food (hors d'oeurves and desserts) provided by Catered by Design was excellent and the service was wonderful. The staff did everything they could to accommodate our every request. The Maevis Quartet played jazz throughout the evening, creating the low-key celebration ambiance we were seeking for the follow-up to our children's destination wedding in Carmel.

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • H

    Holly · Married on 05/18/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in May 2013. The garden courtyard was a great space for the ceremony. The setting was beautiful. Nikki was extremely helpful leading up to the wedding. She was very responsive during the planning process and was always willing to accommodate our requests. Overall, the day of ran smoothly, and the catering staff was great to work with. We would recommend the venue to anyone looking for an indoor/outdoor wedding space - the wedding was beautiful!

    Sent on 04/28/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were married at Winnetka Community House. We were looking for a venue where we could have an outdoor ceremony (but with an indoor backup) and hold the reception at the same place. We definitely found all of that at WCH! We held our ceremony in the beautiful garden and the reception in the Arches rooms overlooking the garden. All around the WCH there are beautiful places to take pictures, so we didn't need to go elsewhere to get beautiful shots. The garden is lit up at night and was beautiful, so beautiful in fact that we snuck out to take pictures in the dark and got some amazing pictures.

    Sent on 09/25/2012
  • L

    Lorena · Married on 11/03/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Catered by Design was awesome! Working with Nikee made us feel so much more at ease. She was very responsive and flexible to work with. There was little to worry about the day of because Catered By Design did a great job of setting up the decorations I dropped of the night before. The food was delicious and we even got to have Lou Malnatis as a late night snack!

    The only thing that put me off was that we signed to have our wedding here a couple of weeks before getting notified about renovations, and to my disappointment, the renovations were not what I signed up for. I would have liked to see better customer service when it came to this issue, as weddings are not cheap and the arches were definitely a winning factor to why we chose the place. I will say the renovations are still nice, but the courtyard definitely lost a lot of its elegance without the arches.

    The wedding, in general, turned out lovely, and we were happy with how everything turned out!

    Sent on 09/30/2018
  • A

    Amy · Married on 07/20/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall we highly recommend this venue. Be forewarned - they did renovations in early 2018 and removed the stone arches in the garden - replaced by wood planks that are much less beautiful. They showed us these renovations about 8 weeks before our wedding - too soon for us to change venues. The space is still pretty, but significantly less so.

    What really pushes this venue above and beyond is the flexibility of the catering staff. There were so many last minute changes we had to deal with on our wedding day (guests canceling at the last minute, weather issues, etc.) and the point person we were assigned handled it with amazing flexibility and professionalism. We were blown away by their incredible service and desire to make our day truly special - and they did!

    Sent on 08/09/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/18/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with using the Winnetka Community House for our wedding ceremony and reception. We wanted a two-in-one location, so the Arches Garden and the Garden Room were exactly what we wanted. We had our wedding in mid-May and were told that the flowers would be planted in the garden earlier in the month, which didn't end up happening and was a little disappointing (but only a little!). I'm sure the garden would be even more beautiful later in the wedding season with everything in full bloom. There are rooms available on-site to use as alternatives in case of bad weather, which eased our rain worries. Overall, this site was just what we wanted for our wedding. We visted often in the year leading up to our wedding and saw it being used for other festive events as well.

    Sent on 08/01/2008
  • F

    Anna · Married on 08/11/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at WCH. Absolutely beautiful setting for ceremony and picture taking. The reception room was also nice. We did have to rent some table and glassware from an outside vendor because they didn't have enough. The extra work was worth having such a great location and the ease of walking right from the ceremony to the reception.

    Sent on 06/30/2008
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/25/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Winnetka Community House was a great venue for a wedding! We held our ceremony and reception there (the ceremony was in the outdoor garden and the reception was indoors). Everything turned out beautiful and our guests greatly appreciated having both the ceremony and reception all in one place. It made things much easier on everyone!

    We picked the WCH for their beautiful outdoor area, the nice looking reception area with windows looking out into the garden, and for the price. Compared to many other places in the Chicago area, the WCH was a great value.

    My only complaint is that our guests got confused about where to go when they arrived. Most of them ended up parking in the wrong parking lot (not the one directly behind the garden area where the ceremony was held). It would have been helpful to have someone directing people once they arrived. But if that's all that went wrong, I still consider the wedding a success.

    Karen, the main contact person at this venue from Catered by Design, was fairly easy to work with, but I felt like I had to pry information from her. She also just seemed really busy all the time. But if you're an organized person like I am, things should be pretty straightforward as far as planning goes pre-wedding.

    Sent on 10/12/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/22/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I agree with everything that has been written so far. The garden is beautiful and the arches and wall of french doors makes for really beautiful pictures. I was also glad that they had a back-up room for the ceremony that looked kind of like a church. I would have been happy in there too. We rented the upstairs getting ready rooms and was so excited to peak out into the garden and watch guests arrive. The only negatives were working with the coordinator (Karen) at Catered by Design. If I were to get a re-do, I would politely request to work with a different coordinator!

    Sent on 04/19/2010
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/23/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This review is strictly for the location and venue. For a beautiful North Shore wedding this is a hidden gem! The arches garden is so beautiful for a ceremony. You do not need much ceremony decorations because the trees and greenery against the brick arches are just breathtaking. Awesome place for wedding pictures as well. WCH has an exclusive caterer which I will be reviewing them separately. But if your looking for a place to hold your summer/fall wedding outdoors this is a beautiful place to do it.

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 05/24/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I really love this venue, and probably would have given it a rating of a 4.5 - 5. The Arches Garden is a beautiful outdoor spot for a spring/summer wedding, and the adjacent reception hall is nice. What brings the score down slightly is the catering company that comes with the package. There were some administrative struggles, as they were in the process of renegotiating with Catered by Design, so we had a hard time getting our initial questions answered clearly. All of our planning had to go through the on-site manager for the catering company. She was helpful and a sweet lady, but it was hard to get in touch with her, or hear back in a timely manner. We had to order (through her) from outside vendors, and there were some mistakes on wedding day. Fortunately, her team ironed everything out, and the day was still wonderful. If you book at this beautiful location, take your time in planning all the details with Catered by Design. Don't rush through it - or there will likely be mistakes!

    Sent on 02/01/2009
  • W

    Teri Ann · Married on 09/29/2007

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    This venue's outdoor space was beautiful and makes for a wonderful outdoor wedding. That being said, the indoor facilities, while new are your typical "rented hall." While our wedding was being planned, their event planner quit, leaving us in the dark for awhile and it was difficult to get solid answers from the venue. Our wedding day did run smooth (no rain!) and our pictures were draped in beautiful backdrops that the garden provides.

    Sent on 08/03/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review