Wedding Cakes by Jan Reviews

18 | Birmingham, AL
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Wedding Cakes by Jan

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

18

1 User photo

Wedding Cakes by Jan 1
Order by:
  • C

    Claire · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan was awesome to work with! She offered many suggestions to get just what I wanted as my wedding cake. The cake was BEAUTIFUL and tasted awesome! She made my brides cake and also the grooms cake for our wedding. Both were so good that people were not choosing one over the other, but instead were getting a piece of both. The cakes were just spectacular. I can't wait for our year anniversary to come around so we can have another bite!

    Sent on 08/26/2017
  • M

    Micah · Married on 02/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan was INCREDIBLE!! She met with me, my mom, and my fiance to go over cakes, and helped us pick the perfect ones!! My husband chose a chocolate cake with peanut butter icing (yum), and I had a beautiful tiered cake with alternating vanilla & strawberry layers I seriously do not know how our wedding day would've played out had it not been for Jan!!! Not only did she make beautiful groom & bride's cakes, but she planned the flow of the reception. Helpful does not begin to describe her part in our very special day- She was even willing to drive me to & from my make up and hair appointments!! Words couldn't begin to thank her for all she did & how sane she kept me and my family during that crazy time. If I could do it again, I would hire her 10 times over.

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • User4113896 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jan was a great experience. We ordered a wedding cake and grooms cake and both were delicious! Jan is wonderfully talented and was able to turn my vision into a beautiful wedding cake. And my husband got a very tasteful sports themed cake that wasnt over the top. At the time of our wedding planning, my then fiance and I were both living outside of Alabama. Jan was extremely flexible and accommodating in working with our travel schedules to plan meetings and cake tastings. My only regret is that I didn't get to really taste our cakes on our wedding day!

    Sent on 03/01/2015
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 09/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ah I cannot even begin to describe how thankful I am that I included Jan as one of my wedding vendors! She was absolutely amazing and made the process run so smoothly! For our first meeting, she met with us to discuss my style and what I wanted in a wedding cake. While she let my mom, sister, and me test samples of her wedding cakes (soooo good!), she sat and sketched out a wedding cake she came up with from the 30 minute discussion . It was absolutely stunning, and I was so impressed with how she took my thoughts and made them come to life. While she absolutely would've been willing to sketch out something different if I didn't like that cake, I absolutely loved it so that's what we went with! She also had some pictures of previous wedding cakes she had done, so we chose the groom's cake based off those, but she of course made it original and made it our own. That was months before our wedding, and she still kept in touch frequently to see if we needed anything in general for wedding planning and even had vendors she knew of for other services that she told us about, and we ended up using most of them because they were so great! The day of the wedding, Jan brought all of the cakes down as well as the cake stands which she includes. She assembles them and makes them look amazing! I was so so happy I used Jan because she was such a sweet lady and made my planning process so enjoyable! I don't think of her as my wedding cake designer now but truly as a friend. I moved to Birmingham, and she has always said to call her if I ever needed anything! FYI, she does offer more services such as directing the reception (when to do first dances, wedding cakes, exit, etc.), and she has some ladies who help decorate weddings and/or receptions who are amazing!! (We had family friends to do this, so that's the only reason we didn't use them) THANKS JAN FOR EVERYTHING!! Bride's cake--6-tiered vanilla inside, white/ivory designs. Groom's cake--3-tiered, light chocolate w/ choc drizzle

    Sent on 01/18/2015
  • User4171819 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan is fabulous!! Our wedding cakes were amazing! Jan was accommodating and always available to answer questions. The bride’s cake was a 5-tiered white cake with fresh flowers and a stucco design. Just gorgeous!! The groom’s cake was OREO (yes…oreo) and delicious!! We had to ask the staff to stop cutting the bride’s cake and move on to the groom’s because a line had formed. Everyone is still talking about how much they liked the groom’s cake. My brother who doesn’t even like chocolate cake ate three pieces! I highly recommend Jan for any cake services!

    Sent on 06/12/2014
  • D

    Debbi · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with Jan was wonderful. From the first meeting when she sketched our cakes to the cakes on the wedding day everything was grand. The seven tier strawberry and vanilla bride cake was outstanding visually and tasted delicious. The groom's cake with it's U of A theme and football decorated fresh strawberries was a hit. Never tasted better cakes at a wedding.

    Sent on 05/22/2014
  • User3190189 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful and delicious cakes!

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • D

    Danelle · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about my experience working with Jan. From the time I contacted her, through the design process, to cutting the cake, it was wonderful. What I loved best about her was her openness to my ideas- she heard my ideas about design, flavor, and presentation, and worked with me to make sure that it happened. And did it ever! My cake was beautiful and unique, and it tasted delicious. Thank you, Jan!!!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 11/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan planned my entire reception as well as did BOTH of the cakes for my wedding. She is like super woman! Jan took care of absolutely every detail for the reception so that I would not have to worry about a thing! She did everything from renting the table linens to organizing the events of the night. Walking into my reception was like walking into a fairy tale! She had hundreds of candles lining everything and flowers hanging everywhere. My cake was hung in the middle of the venue and was a breath taking focal point. The guests were shocked! She did my cake and the groom's cake! They were both so gorgeous that I didn't want to cut them! (Until I realized how delicious they were! ;)) Jan is the sweetest and most proficient vender that I worked with during the planning of my wedding. She thought of every detail and treated me as if I were a member of her family. It was very evident that my event was that important to her and she wanted everything to be perfect! I will recommend her to anyone I know getting married. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect night, and I owe that to Jan!!

    Sent on 12/05/2013
  • User3664003 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan did a beautiful job on our cake! It was absolutely perfect. She listened to exactly what I wanted and delivered not only a beautiful wedding cake but a delicious one as well. She certainly captured what I wanted for my BIG day!

    Sent on 11/08/2013
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The bride's cake was absolutely beautiful and so very delicious. My dad
    even liked it even though he usually doesn't like "vanilla cake and icing" cakes.
    The groom's chocolate cake was lovely as well, decorated with yummy dipped
    strawberries, and tasted so delicious, too. Jan is so easy to work with, very
    nice, friendly, and comfortable to talk to and be with. I am so glad my mom's
    friend recommended her to us. She is an awesome baker and artist with her
    cakes. If I had a sister, my mom would use her again! We definitely will recommend her to other people. Thanks so much, Jan.

    Sent on 09/05/2013
  • G

    Gabby · Married on 06/22/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan is one of the sweetest vendors I've meet! I loved working with her for my wedding. My cake was absolutely breath taking! Thanks for helping make our day special :)

    Sent on 08/21/2013
  • B

    Berkley · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan's cakes are the best and very tasty!!!

    Sent on 05/21/2013
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 03/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend Wedding Cakes by Jan to do your cakes and help with your every wedding needs. Jan has truly been blessed with talent. Her cakes are AMAZING. She did both the bride and groom's cake for my daughter's wedding. They were both absolutely BEAUTIFUL and DELICIOUS!! Jan is not only a sweet friend but such a strong Christian woman. From the time my daughter got engaged until her wedding day she was right by our side to help with EVERYTHING. She was such a joy and pleasure to work with. Everyone she recommended to fulfill our wedding needs were as wonderful as she. You will not be disappointed in her work, her recommendations or any ideas she may have. My daughter's wedding was truly a dream come true and I can truly thank Jan O'Donnell for that.

    Sent on 09/04/2013
  • User1564498 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan O'Donnell did both my wedding cake and the groom's cake. Both were delicious (we still get compliments about how great the cakes were). Not only did the cakes look beautiful, but they tasted great too. Jan was wonderful to work with too, as she was very open to my ideas about what I wanted my cake to look like. She also followed up after the wedding to make sure everything went well. We had a great experience.

    Sent on 08/30/2012
  • C

    Christie · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me just say....my Dad said Jan O'Donnell had to do my wedding cake or he wouldn't pay for my wedding! lol My wedding cake was so beautiful but, best of all....it was delicious! I've had more people comment on the cake than you would believe! And, the grooms cake put such a smile on my husband's face! We picked out the peanut butter chocolate cake for him....with a golf theme! It was a hit! But, my wedding cake.....MY WEDDING CAKE....oh WOW is was glamorous! And, oh soooo yummy! I wanted my guest walking away saying what a beautiful wedding, I had so much fun....and can you believe how awesome her cake was! =) Jan was such a sweet lady I truly enjoyed meeting with her and I will recommend Wedding Cakes by Jan over and over again!

    Sent on 10/12/2010
  • M

    Madison · Married on 06/23/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan is the absolute sweetest and was so wonderful to work with and the cake OMG exceeded my expectations! Love love her and her yummy cakes! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

    Wedding Cakes by Jan 2
    Sent on 07/14/2018
  • C

    carmen · Married on 05/02/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jan's cakes are not only gorgeous but also DELICIOUS! She is so sweet and easy to work with on all aspects of design. She listened to what I wanted and sketched it out perfectly. Several people told me they went back for a 2nd piece at the reception because it was that good!

    Sent on 06/05/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review