Skip to main content
Weddings

Wave Resort Reviews

Wave Resort View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
8 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.4 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating
90% Recommended by couples

Awards

8

19 User photos

  • M
    Mary C. Sent on 11/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Every detail was excellent!!!

    My wedding was the party of the year and the team at The Wave is what made it all possible!!! They were in constant communication with me leading up to the wedding and included so many nice details like menus and signature cocktail signs. I didn't have a wedding planner and I didn't need one with how wonderful and attentive the team at The Wave had been. It was also beautiful with the sunset on the ocean, I could not ask for a better venue.
  • Dorothy
    Dorothy B. Sent on 10/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unforgettable Ceremony and Wedding

    In the past year, we hosted two weddings at the Wave Resort, and both were unforgettable! From our daughter’s 17 person mini wedding ceremony and brunch last July, 2021 to our recent larger ceremony and wedding a few days ago in October, 2022, both were spectacular events!
    The venue is magical as you have your ceremony on the large terrace with the ocean as your backdrop. The sound of the waves. and the beautiful view is perfection!
    The large windows surrounding the indoors reception space allow views of the ocean and Pier Village with its carousel and many shops. Our brunch menu was delicious! The appetizers , entrees and desserts were all wonderful ! Our Director of Catering , Allison , worked with us offering ideas, suggestions and quick responses to all of our emails to help us plan our custom wedding. Allison, Brittnie, our Maitre d’ and Tyrra, Banquet Mgr. all worked our event day of keeping everything flowing smoothly. The bonus is that they are all really nice people to work with, as well. The entire staff from the front desk , including Patrick , Front Desk Mgr to the servers at the wedding were all pleasant and accommodating.
    In addition, we stayed two nights and many of our guests stayed in the hotel. The rooms are immaculate, stylishly decorated and have oceanfront balconies to enjoy.
    I highly recommend the Wave Resort for your wedding..
  • B
    Brianna Sent on 10/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best wedding venue

    Having our wedding at Wave Resort was perfect. Between the amazing staff, views, and food I couldn’t of asked for a more perfect venue and day. I highly recommend!!!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Sent on 07/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our guests couldn’t stop raving about the food and atmosphere!

    Our wedding at the Wave was everything we hoped for. The views, the food, and the staff surpassed our expectations. Allison, Tyra and Brittany went above and beyond before and during our wedding. If I could redo it, we would absolutely get married at The Wave again!

    However, my only complaint was the fact that I was told by the previous event planner, that I had to use Magnolia Events if I wanted to hang string lights. Magnolia Events ripped me off on my wedding day. They charged me over $2,000 to have mini white string lights above the dance floor. The day of, they gave me 6 single strands of lights and big bulbs. I did not pay for that nor was it in my contract. I have attempted to contact them via email and text without a response. Do NOT use Magnolia Events for your wedding at The Wave!
  • E
    Esti S. Sent on 12/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection is an understatement

    I am speechless!! All I can say is: PERFECTION!!! Perfect in every aspect!!
    The venue space, the professionalism, the staff... I couldnt have asked for better in any area! A special shot out to Tiffany and Tira for going above and beyond to make the event the best that it can be. Forever Grateful!
  • R
    Rocelle D. Sent on 10/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    Wave Resort provides stunning oceanfront views but the very friendly staff, delicious and plentiful food definitely played a critical part in making our wedding experience memorable and a amazing experience.
  • Danielle
    Danielle W. Sent on 07/23/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect seaside wedding

    As I reflect on the wonderful experience of hosting our wedding at The Wave Resort in, I am filled with nothing but fond memories and heartfelt gratitude. From the breathtaking views to the excellent service, every aspect of The Wave contributed to making our special day unforgettable. What initially captured our attention and remains one of the standout features of the Wave Resort is the panoramic view from the terrace. Offering an unmatched vista, the setting provided a mesmerizing backdrop to our ceremony and photos. It truly is an extraordinary feature that sets this venue apart.

    Our interaction with the team at The Wave was smooth, pleasant, and highly professional. Each member was extremely friendly, approachable, and dedicated to making our experience hassle-free and enjoyable. A special mention must be made about Allison, who manages the wedding and event services. Her responsive and easy going demeanor made coordinating all the details an absolute breeze. Her expertise and assistance were invaluable, ensuring everything fell into place perfectly.

    The food at The Wave deserves a five-star rating on its own. Every dish was a delight, tempting the palate with a variety of delicious flavors and artistic presentation. Our guests were full of praise for the quality and diversity of the cuisine. The efficiency with which the actual day unfolded was truly commendable. Everything was so seamless and well-organized that I did not have to worry or even think about logistics. The team at The Wave took care of everything, allowing us to immerse ourselves fully in the joy and celebration of our special day.

    It's worth noting that The Wave, being a resort, does not have a traditional bridal suite. This should be factored in as an additional expense if you are considering the Wave. However, given the overall excellence of their services and the available facilities, this was a minor detail that did not impact our experience negatively. The Wave more than makes up for it with its other top-notch amenities and services. The Wave Resort offers a unique blend of scenic beauty, exceptional service, and superior amenities, making it an ideal venue for a memorable wedding celebration. I wholeheartedly recommend it to any couple seeking a seamless and unforgettable wedding experience.
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 11/16/2020
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Do not be fooled by the location/looks

    The Wave does social media, marketing and photography very well and there is no denying the amazing location and stunning rooftop. But it was my experience that the backdrop over the ocean wasn't worth the poor execution of my wedding. We experienced some major issues throughout the night and the planning process that we would like to share with future brides here. Our wedding was replanned due to covid rules (which we understood) several times, on top of this place mandating their own rules that were not formal NJ restrictions. Ryann although a super sweet person, fell short of executing our wedding due to a lack of communication with her staff, but most importantly with the executive Chef on the night of. We changed our wedding so that we could still host it outside, with just 50 guests. Unfortunately, we had impeccable timing with a short summer rain shower that delayed the cocktail hour about 60 minutes. We chose to stay outside because the terrace was the main reason we booked the venue so this was very important to us. At no point were we told the decision to remain outside would affect our food menu for the evening (another top reason we chose the Wave). We had our first dance inside, with our friends and family all masked inside, but the staff was nowhere to be found to the point so we ended up dancing with no lights on. Once the rain cleared, we went outside to start dancing and to re-start the cocktail hour. Our guests didn’t receive a morsel of food until 8pm. To put this in perspective, the rain was cleared by 6:45 (Ceremony ended at 5:30) and they still couldn’t get cold food out on the table in a timely manner. Our families were starving and it was just the tip of the iceberg for the evening. We paid to upgrade to a raw bar appetizer, which was poorly done and not even what we ordered. What we paid for: oysters, shrimps, clams, tuna poke, salmon tartar, Hamachi and yellow tail. What we got: oysters, shrimps, clams, and slabs of raw tuna and salmon ( no soy sauce mind you, so inedible). The meat and cheese platters for the table were subpar. The items looked like they picked them up from a local Shoprite. Then our pasta serving (3 different types) and 8 more appetizers (essentially the entire cocktail hour) were just completely NOT SERVED TO US with ZERO communication. I stormed inside when I saw that they started serving the dinner when we hadn’t even received any of our cocktail hour items where Ryann told me ‘Chef said we lost the hot food’ Excuse me? How did you lose all of this food? Did you just throw it out? Did you not even make it? I’m sorry but I’ve been in banquet planning and group events for years, none of this food would have ‘gone bad’- it actually can remain just fine under heat lamps or reheated. Why can't pasta be remade as the cheapest thing on the menu? What we still don’t understand to this day is, how was the food fired when it was raining at the start of the ceremony, everyone was aware there was going to be a delay. Even if the food was made too early, you had 1.5 hours to remake it or to reheat it at that point. The chef said ‘it wasn’t up to his standards to serve’. I’m sorry but this was a private event that people were STARVING at, we needed the food out, it was apart of our contract! It was beyond embarrassing and I went to all my tables to apologize for the lack of food after telling them not to eat all day and how amazing the cocktail hour would be. I was in tears for half of my wedding whereas if Ryann and the chef had better communicated the plan, none of this should have happened. As the bride and groom, the staff never came to serve us drinks and barely checked on us. Thanks to our friends for keeping our drinks full. Fast forward to our discussions with the Wave post wedding as we were distraught over the evening. It was not without a fight that we finally received some money back for the food not served, although we do not feel it was enough, we did not appreciate the lack of empathy from the food and beverage manager for these issues. We were promised $300 gift card to the restaurant and a free stay at the hotel. We had to follow up to ask for this as they never sent it. We received it mid November with an expiration of Dec 2020, so not really the best offering in our opinion. I could go on and on about this place, how they mandate a 2 night min stay for $800 a night in the summer, how their bridal discount for a room is only a $100 off per night, how everytime we ate at the restaurant over the summer we received poor service in our opinion. How they had no one operating the elevator on our wedding day and gave a key to a guest to let people up and down.

    Wave Resort's reply:

    Dear Amanda M,

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Wave Resort for your wedding this past August, 2020.

    We truly regret that your experience was anything less than absolute perfection, which is what we aim to achieve for every event we have the privilege of hosting. Not only do we strive to execute according to plan, but we do everything within our power to prepare for all contingencies, which included the weather in this case.

    While you consistently insisted that it would not rain, unfortunately Mother Nature had different plans. We also had plans - backup plans that we strongly urged you to activate. We're sorry that you repeatedly denied our encouragement to use the alternative covered space for your wedding, and truly believe that your entire event would have been a delightful experience had you chosen not to "just wait it out" and "power through" it.

    Getting rained on was certainly terrible timing, and it certainly threw off the timing of what could have been an elegant and spectacular affair, choreographed to every detail.

    We do sincerely regret that it did not end up that way, and although the weather wasn't within our control, we take that these experiences seriously and personally - so much so, that we refunded a very large portion of your bill.

    We wish you the very best in all things, a deliriously happy union, great health, and good fortune moving forward.

    Most sincerely,
    The entire Wave Resort team
Responds within 24 hours