Weddings

Vanilla & The Bean Reviews

Vanilla & The Bean View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

26 User photos

Sort by:
  • Savannah
    Savannah H. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best cake !

    Selena is SO sweet & easy to work with! I am not a huge cake fan but all of her cakes taste amazing. She has the most unique and elevated flavors. All of my guests raved about how good the cake was!
  • Angela
    Angela G. Married on 09/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    My husband and I hired Vanilla & The Bean to create a small cake for our micro-wedding last month. From our first interaction, Selena was wonderful and super easy to work with. We loved how personable and enthusiastic she was. She sent us a helpful welcome packet and nailing down what we wanted was a breeze. She had no issues with any of our requests and was happy to accommodate us. She sent us a beautiful and professional proposal and we knew we had made the right choice.

    On the big day, we weren’t around for the cake delivery but I assume everything went totally fine! The cake was gorgeous and delicious. The top was chocolate with a layer of blackberry mascarpone cream and the bottom was brown butter butterscotch. We all loved it! We highly recommend Vanilla & The Bean. Thanks for everything Selena!
  • Kelly
    Kelly W. Married on 01/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Most gorgeous wedding cake!

    We just loved working with Selena for our wedding cake! She was so easy to communicate with and such a sweetheart! My groom is gluten free so she made us a lovely gluten free cake tasting box with so many yummy flavors. In the end we went with the very berry and peanut butter cup flavors for our precious two tiered cake and we could not have been happier! It was so gorgeous and tasty! Thank you Selena!!
  • Catherine
    Catherine Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What Wedding Cake Dreams Are Made Of! 

    My wedding was exactly 3 weeks ago and I just wish I could eat all of the delicious treats that Selena baked us again! I am struggling with writing this review because of all of the amazing things I want to say about Selena and her craft. Ya'll her cakes are a work of art AND they taste incredible. My husband and I are foodies and it was very important that our cake be delicious. When we had our tasting the hardest decision was picking one flavor so Selena told us not to pick which was of course the right decision! She worked closely with me to ensure our cake design was exactly what I wanted and she also made us donuts that were placed at each guests table setting and she made us adorable monogrammed cookies for our rehearsal which were the first thing to disappear! Everything she made was so beautiful and delicious and our guests could not stop talking about it. Our wedding would not have been complete without Selena!
  • Becky
    Becky K. Married on 06/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and Delicious!

    I wanted a wedding/birthday cake that matched my invitations, and Selena delivered x 100! We went with her “When Life Gives You Lemons” cake, and it was so delicious and absolutely beautiful.
  • Haley
    Haley M. Married on 06/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Snag her while you can!!

    If I could eat cake for every meal, then I would most certainly be getting it from Selena at Vanilla + The Bean. Her bespoke confections are always worth marveling at for their artistic innovation, but beyond that, they’re mindblowingly delicious! I mean, who even thinks of flavor combos like extra virgin olive oil and cabernet blueberry jam and cream cheese mousse? Selena does. And she does it so well! It’s always such a treat to work with her, toss around ideas and be floored by the result. But beyond her talent + expertise over her craft, her kind, bubbly personality speaks volumes. Selena always has her clients’ interests at heart, and will go above and beyond to make sure they are overwhelmingly happy with the results. We truly could not recommend her more for weddings in Savannah, Charleston and beyond!
  • Stacy
    Stacy M. Married on 03/21/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just What I Hoped For

    Vanilla & The Bean is the absolute BEST! I was blown away by the cake design (obsessed, really) and the flavor was heavenly. I truly couldn't have been any happier with our wedding cake. I will definitely be a return customer for anniversary cakes, etc in the future. If Selena is available for your event, grab her! You will not be disappointed.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 02/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Loved having Vanilla + The Bean for our wedding day!

    We found Vanilla + The Bean through our wedding planner, Willow and Oak Events, and we are so happy with how everything turned out. The process was super simple, our planner shared a photo of our inspiration cake and V+B did an incredible job with creating the cake, I was so happy, it was exactly what I imagined and so creative! Our planner had this neat idea in our proposal for mini cakes with flowers on top. We thought they were super cute and we were able to include that on our wedding day as well. It was a big hit and made our table-scape look inviting and fun! I couldn’t believe the beautiful work V+B did on the iced flowers, they were so real looking and so pretty. We were not able to come in for any tastings because we were so far away, but we knew that it was going to taste sooo good, which it absolutely did. We were big fans of the olive oil cakes and also got chocolate too. Just thinking about it now makes my mouth water. I highly recommend working with Vanilla +The Bean for your wedding or any event! We are very happy that we did :), thank you Vanilla +The Bean!
  • D
    Dominique S. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had an amazing experience with VB! Very kid and so easy to work with.

    Selena was amazing! Best cake I’ve ever had in my life! We got so many compliments on our cake and how great it was! People have even joked about sharing our 1 year frozen cake! Very professional, sweet as can be, and extremely talented! We loved our cake!
  • L
    Luisa Married on 09/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing amazing amazing

    AMAZING!!!! AMAZING!!!! AMAZING!!!! Thank you so much Vanilla + The Bean for being a part of our wedding. Selena went above and beyond and surpassed all of our expectations. From the initial conversation to the hand drawn sketch, to the execution of our cake... it. was. absolutely. perfect! Can't recommend enough. BEST CAKE EVER. Do yourself a huge favor and book this lady!! Thank you again for everything you did for us Selena!!
  • W
    Wendy N. Married on 08/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Vendor Experience

    I LOVE Selena’s work!! Recommend her to all my couples!
  • Tanvi
    Tanvi S. Married on 03/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!!!

    Selena is incredibly talented, very sweet and personable! We showed her some inspiration images for our wedding cake and were very impressed with her prompt response with several sketches of her interpretation for it. The cake looked gorgeous and the flavors were absolutely mind blowing!! She was a joy to work with and I highly recommend Vanilla & the Bean!!!
  • C
    Courtney A. Married on 02/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank You!

    What can I say about V&TB? We are so thrilled they made our wedding cake. From the very first conversation I knew Selena just had to be our wedding cake designer and now friend! We collaborated ideas with Selena, she sketched the most beautiful design I’d ever seen and let me tell you, the cake was a replica. Absolutely stunning. Every detail was immaculate. She was so responsive and helpful. Let’s not even get started on the taste!!!!!!! Guests still talk about the Olive Oil cake. Phenomenal is an understatement. We’d book her ten times over again.
  • J
    Jack G. Married on 01/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    You will be mind blown

    Selena doesn’t just make cakes, she makes art. She has such a strong passion for creating designs and truly is amazing at it. If you’re wanting to create a memory and moment that you will remember forever, invest in Vanilla & the Bean.
  • S
    Stephanie K. Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Talented and amazingly delicious!

    Selena was just an absolute WONDER to work with! Richard and I were so lucky to have come by her work. I love to bake myself, so I wanted to be sure the cake was one of the highlights of our wedding - and it was! Selena was great from start to finish. She accommodated our tasting last minute, and even brought our cake to our rental property to taste (what service)!! Selena was always super responsive to my emails, and accommodating to any requests for our cake, from the design to the number of layers to include. In addition to being amazingly delicious (artisanal style baking), her cake was absolutely STUNNING! We could not have been happier with the end result. Highly recommend her services to anyone in the Savannah area - you will not regret it! Top notch service, style and taste!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie Married on 12/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Favorite Vendor!

    I cannot say enough good things about Selena with Vanilla and the Bean! Not only was our cake an absolute work of art, it was INCREDIBLY delicious. Selena has unique and different flavors and they all taste amazing. It was so hard to choose just a couple for our cake. Above everything else, she is an absolute gem of a person and was such a pleasure to work with. From her creative ideas, to her genuine excitement about our day, to her flexibility with tastings, she made every interaction so pleasant. Anyone looking for a cake for ANY occasion in the Savannah area should check her out. You won't regret it!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 11/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Vanilla and the Bean is absolutely wonderful! Selena is kind, understanding, so talented and makes the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted!

    Selena and Vanilla and the Bean are absolutely wonderful! Selena is incredibly talented, listens to clients so well, and makes the most delicious cakes I have ever tasted! She made us 4 beautiful cakes for our wedding day and they were exactly what we wanted...not to mention, to die for!!! We had the rose cake and the olive oil cake and every single guest absolutely raved about the cake all night!!! There is no one I would recommend more than Vanilla and the Bean!!! Best experience, fairly priced, and WONDERFUL cake!!
  • S
    Stephanie S. Married on 11/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly Amazing!!

    Selena is truly an artist and it shows through every work of art she produces. The attention to intricate details that Selena puts into her cakes is truly unbelievable and will take your breath away! She has an amazing way of taking everything that you want and turning it into everything that you dreamed of. Selena also has an amazing talent for balancing flavors that are unique and delicious - the perfect combo for any bride!! Trust me - getting your wedding cake made by Vanilla & The Bean will be one of the best decisions you’ve made in your life!!!
  • Ronna
    Ronna Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    V&TB-Top Notch!

    Y’all, Selena is INCREDIBLE. When looking at cake vendors for our wedding, my husband and I were unsure of who to pick prior to the tasting. However, once we did our tasting with Selena, we knew we made the right choice. My husband and I are from out of town, so she worked with us to ensure we could do our tasting at a time and location that worked with our hectic schedule. In addition, Selena is such a genuine, kind, and funny person, that once we met her (and tasted the cake and macarons of course), we were sold. She was even sweet enough to send my mother samples of the cakes since work prevented her from coming. Her cakes are incredible, and her customer service and passion are top notch as well!
  • D
    Doro G. Married on 10/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding!

    Thank you so much Selena for making our wedding day even more perfect. Selena was such was so helpful with all of our questions, very fast communicating and so sweet! Our wedding cake was so beautiful and was definitely a show stopper. We choice the Olive Oil flavor and had so many compliments on it. Can’t thank you enough!

    Vanilla & The Bean's reply:

    Doro! Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so glad to have been a part of your day!!! Sending you both lots of love and well wishes!! XXO
  • V
    Veronica G. Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best!

    There are no words for Vanilla + The Bean! Our wedding cake was absolutely perfect, so tasty and we had SO many great comments about it! It was the BEST cake I’ve ever had! Selena, thank you so much for going above and beyond for us, for being a fast communicator, and making our day so incredibly special. We are so blessed to have you as a part of the most special day in our life. If you’re reading this, you won’t be disappointed with Vanilla + The Bean! BEST. VENDOR. EVER. Hands down!

    Vanilla & The Bean's reply:

    Veronica- Thank you so much for the sweetest review! You are amazing! So happy to have been a part of your special day too! Let's grab a coffee soon! xxxxxo
  • S
    Sarah Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunningly Unique

    When I set eyes on Vanilla and the Bean's instagram account, I just knew they were perfect for our vision. We really wanted something very unique and finely finished, that also tasted amazing. Selena was super helpful throughout the process, and created our vision flawlessly. And the CAKE!!! Oh my goodness, besides being beautiful it was SO YUMMY. Super moist and flavorful. We went with the blueberry olive oil cake, which was to die for, but we allllmossttt went with the lavender one. I would highly recommend you at least try it! If I had to do it all over again, I'd pick Vanilla and the Bean every time!! Thank you so much for all you did for us, Selena!!
  • E
    Emily Married on 04/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We highly recommend Vanilla & The Bean for wedding cakes! Selena made us a gorgeous, unique and delicious cake for our destination wedding in Savannah. Guests were raving over it and asking for seconds! She handled our request (half lavender, half cookie dough flavor), no problem. When it came down to the wire the day before the wedding and I realized that I didn't have a cake stand, she sweetly saved the day and delivered one with the cake, no extra charge. Thank you so much, Selena!

    Vanilla & The Bean's reply:

    Thank you so much, Emily! SO stoked to have been a part of you + Alan’s day! (And Birthday ;) )

    Sending you both my love!! XO
  • L
    Laura Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Better than perfect

    My experience was beyond perfect. We used V+TB for our cake, favors and our grooms cake for the welcome party we had. Everyone is till talking about how amazing everything was.

    Selena was absolutely the sweetest and probably my favorite vendor we worked with. From the time we met her we just knew we wanted to work with her.
  • C
    Christina Married on 07/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!!!

    Selena is amazing! She’s so creative and knows exactly how to recreate any vision you may have! I would totally recommend her for any event!