Skip to main content
Weddings

Vanilla Bake Shop Reviews

Vanilla Bake Shop

Vanilla Bake Shop

Santa Monica, CA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 141 Reviews
View more information

141 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 141
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

22 User photos

  • Jen
    Jen K. Married on 11/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious wedding cake!

    We absolutely loved our wedding cake from Vanilla Bake Shop! Our guests raved about the taste for days after and we were blown away by how beautiful it came out! Thank you so much Kim for all of your help and for the team for making us so a delicious and gorgeous wedding cake!

    Vanilla Bake Shop's reply:

    Congrats Jen!! We are so happy you enjoyed your wedding cake. We will share this with our team. Wishing you much happiness!
  • Sonja
    Sonja Married on 06/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above & beyond service + amazing flavors!

    We were so glad we were able to use Vanilla Bake Shop for our wedding cake and cupcakes! My family (bride) has been going to VBS since I was a little girl, but when we decided to get married 4 hours away, I thought I'd have to give up my long-standing dream of having them cater my wedding. However, we were fortunate to find a wedding planner who was willing to drive our order up the night before, and VBS went above and beyond to help us with our order as well as package it up and load it extra securely to make sure it made it to us in great shape! Our cake and cupcakes were SO GOOD, and the whole process was easy and fun. We did a take-home tasting due to COVID, and suddenly my fiance realized just how DELICIOUS their baked goods are and understood why I couldn't settle for a bakery any closer. After our tasting the girls helped us decide which flavors to go with, how many of each to order, and helped us design our cake. Everything turned out perfect and we were so impressed with everyone's willingness to go the extra mile to make sure our event was a success! Thank you VBS Santa Monica, you're the best!
  • Maya
    Maya M. Married on 05/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A must for gluten-free couples!

    The VBS team was incredibly flexible and kind through the process of ordering and our last-minute venue change. My fiance and I were ready to pay for beautiful gluten-free cakes, and VBS delivered below our budget. I highly recommend them for stress-free, high-quality wedding cakes!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • LaToya
    Latoya D. Married on 09/24/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Unicorn Wedding cake.

    I worked with Kim P. Initially and the she went on maternity leave and i worked with Amy. They were both great!!! I was able to easily change my order to adjust for the changes in guest list due to covid. They came and set up my dessert table at my home. I had a 3 tiered cake with different flavors, triple berry tarts, banana pudding shooters, and doughnuts. One layer of our cake was a little dry, but the bottom layer was amazing even second day!
  • N
    Dee Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Super Delicious, Moist Cake + Beautiful Presentation

    Vanilla Bake Shop in Santa Monica was completely awesome. We chose them for our wedding and we have no regrets whatsoever! Firstly, their tasting experience was delightful. We initially went to a competitor that was disappointing. Vanilla Bake Shop was just the opposite – Yuko was super personable and nice, she thoroughly went through all our options, the tasting was complimentary, and their cakes were OMG delicious! We chose them right on the spot to do our wedding cake! Our choice was the Black & White Raspberry with Cream Cheese and Dark Chocolate… so freakin’ good! On the day of the wedding, their delivery was on point and the cake turned out exactly as promised – it was both beautiful and delicious! Our guests could not stop commenting on how delicious the cake was! We are so happy we selected Vanilla Bake Shop to do our wedding cake and would totally recommend them!
  • Crystal
    Crystal Married on 08/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5 stars! Beautifully Designed & Delicious Wedding Cake!

    Excellent wedding cake shop! 5 stars!

    Super high marks for Vanilla Bake Shop in Santa Monica. We couldn’t have been happier with our wedding cake.

    First of all, we really enjoyed our tasting session with Yuko, who prepared our custom wedding cake design for review and approval. Yuko’s attention to detail was on point! She explained all of our options and answered all of our questions.

    We also loved trying all the different cakes – so we were sure our guests were getting exactly what we envisioned.

    On our wedding night the cake arrived beautifully decorated and exactly as advertised. It was just what we wanted. And of course the guests loved it and kept eating more!

    If you want your guests to rave about your wedding cake for days after the wedding, order your cake from Vanilla Bake Shop in Santa Monica.

    Personally, we recommend the Fleur de Sel chocolate. Really, really unbelievable!

    Thank you Yuko, and Vanilla Bake Shop for the excellent product and service!

  • Yael
    Yael K. Married on 08/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great cakes!

    Delicious cakes – we used Vanilla Bake Shop for our wedding cake and received so many compliments! People said this was the best wedding cake they’ve had. Vanilla Bake Shop even put a gluten free cake as the top tier of our 3 tier cake as I am gluten free so we could do the cake cutting on the actual day of the wedding. Definitely recommend this bakery!
  • M
    Melina T. Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious Wedding Cake!

    By far one of the best cakes (not just wedding cake) I have ever had. Vanilla Bake Shop provided us with a complimentary tasting where each flavor was better than the next. Ultimately we went with the Red Velvet Swirl and Fleur De Sel which were both huge hits with our guests. The only downside was the cake was delivered on a cake board that was larger than what had been communicated to us which did not allow us to use the cake stand we had purchased separately. However, the cake was so good we couldn't not give 5 stars.
  • Trevor
    Trevor Married on 10/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We visited A LOT of bake shops when trying to choose the perfect one for our wedding cake but none came close to Vanilla Bake Shop. Yuko, our cake designer, was a godsend. She was the only person we spoke with who was open to letting us bounce ideas off her offering her honest opinion in the process. Literally everywhere else we went, we met bakers who just wanted a picture from Pinterest to replicate. She made this entire process fun and easy and we are so thankful for her. Our actual wedding cake exceeded expectations. It looked and tasted amazing. We had Coconut, Red Velvet, and Dulce de Leche layers and they all tasted out of this world. Highly recommend!
  • J
    Jay Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Ever !!!

    Looking through the cakes, they were all beautiful, but we had a very special request. We wanted pandan flavor!

    Pandan is that floral/vanilla like flavor thats unique to Southeast asia. It's that green cake that you sometimes see in Asia. My wife and I love all things pandan.
  • Brie
    Brie M. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Vanilla Bake Shop

    Vanilla Bake Shop was wonderful. Yuko, sketched the exact cake I described as I was sitting across from her at our first consultation. The cake wasn’t just beautiful but the cake was delicious too, lots of flavor options to select from and since we did multi layer we were able to mix it up so that we got some of everything. Cake was delivered beautifully. They made it the perfect sweet ending to our beautiful beginning.
  • K
    Katie Married on 08/25/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We ordered cupcakes for our wedding from Vanilla Bake Shop, and we are so happy we did! Yuko is great to work with, and was so helpful when we were choosing flavors and designs. We got so many comments about how delicious the cupcakes were!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 08/04/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Vanilla Bake Shop is a MUST!

    We could not have been happier with Vanilla Bake Shop! We had a very specific theme and vision for the cake, and Yuko and her colleagues executed it perfectly. The cake and dessert bar tasted incredible and looked fantastic. The delivery and execution was a breeze and we have nothing but positive things to say about Vanilla Bake Shop. We can't wait to go visit them in Santa Monica to get a taste of our wedding again.
  • K
    Keri Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Vanilla Bake Shop to provide the dessert at our wedding this past fall. We are so happy we did!!

    We wanted to do a dessert bar with a variety of mini desserts in lieu of a cake, and VBS executed our vision beautifully. Working with Yuko, we settled on a spread that would surely satisfy any palate, and she even suggested certain desserts to fit our color scheme. This included various flavors of the cupcake babies, french macarons, icebox dessert shots, tarts, and cake pops. The result was beautiful *and* yummy! In fact, we still have guests talking about how good the desserts were at our wedding all these months later.

    If you are looking for a dessert vendor for your vendor, I highly recommend Vanilla Bake Shop!
  • Kelly
    Kelly Married on 10/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you are planning a wedding, you need a cake by Yuko! She was inviting and personable. Yuko took time to really get to know what we wanted and made sure we were happy the whole way through. The cake she made for us was lovely and exactly what we asked for. She also provided a dessert table that everyone loved. Her team set up the desserts and gave us the boxes at the end for us to take home any extras (there weren't many). We can't wait to eat our top tier for our one year anniversary!
  • K
    Kandice Married on 08/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding decision

    I highly recommend Vanilla Bake Shop. It was one of our best wedding decisions. We had a simple one tier cake - and the cake was AMAZING- delicious, beautiful, simply incredible. It truly helped to make our day perfect. Vanilla bake shop was great to work with and was priced very fairly. Without question, we will be using Vanilla bake shop for any future events.
  • S
    Stephen Married on 07/15/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot praise and suggest Vanilla Bake Shop enough! Not only are their creations stunningly beautiful; they're delicious!
    Yuko makes the entire process so simple and fun. She really listened to my husband and I. And we ended up with a cake that was EXACTLY what we wanted. We will be forever thankful!
  • L
    Leigh Married on 06/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious!!! Everyone at our wedding loved our cake!! Yuko was so awesome to work with! She made it so simple and easy for us when choosing our cake and design! Everyone at the party couldn't get enough of it! Thank you so much!
  • M
    Mai Married on 04/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I could not have been happier at how our 'woodland' themed dessert table and wedding cake turned out. To this day, we receive compliments on how delicious and truly beautiful everything was. Our desserts pretty much "stole the show" at our reception! Yuko is extremely talented and it's amazing how she can conceptualize the ideas that you have into actual desserts. She was very professional and friendly and made my husband and I feel like 'old friends' by the time the tasting was over. I highly recommend Yuko and the VBS Team for your wedding and dessert needs! 5 stars!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 04/13/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    super nice!!! great service.....keep it up!
  • C
    Cherise Married on 03/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely loved our experience working with Yuko Ebina at Vanilla Bake Shop! I have a gluten allergy, and Yuko was so helpful in finding us a gluten-free cake we liked. The tasting was fantastic, and Yuko was very accommodating with the style we wanted (and us changing our mind after the fact). They were also flexible in letting our florist decorate the cake. We have received so many compliments from our guests that it was the best cake they've ever had, wedding or no wedding. It may not be cheap, but it's worth every penny, and we would highly recommend!!
  • User2655250 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We tasted a lot of cakes before our wedding and these are by far the BEST. Yuko was awesome at helping us come up with a vision that represented us and our venue. We had cakes and baby cakes and they were all so delicious!!! We love Vanilla.
  • User2607583 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I can't even begin to describe the happiness Yuko and Vanilla Bake Shop brought us on our wedding day. But I'll try...

    I've been a fan of VBS cupcakes for a while. I'm a simple girl, always vanilla for me so you really have to impress me with your ability to create an amazing vanilla flavored creation and VBS always seems to do it. My fiancé (now husband) however likes a little more "spice" in his sweets: fillings, fruit, etc. So when it was time to look for a wedding cake we needed someone that could make an amazingly delicious cake with fresh fruit in it without it being overwhelming. We visited bakeries near and far but we couldn't get VBS out of our heads, their Strawberries and Cream cake to be exact. The best way to describe this cake? Heaven. It tasted like you were walking on a strawberry filled fluff cloud. Amazing. And why stop there? We also ordered a variety of desserts: cupcakes, tarts, dessert shots.

    On the day of the wedding our cake and desserts looked amazing. Exactly how we imagined everything would look. Our vision was perfectly executed by Yuko and her team. Guests devoured everything and we couldn't have been any happier.
  • Y
    Yulia Married on 12/28/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Yuko and the team at Vanilla Bake shop did a great job preparing our wedding cake. Florist decorated the cake with flowers and it looked exactly like in the picture. And tasted great which is as important.

    It was easy to communicate with Yuko by email, Yuko suggested making the cake half&half: three tier cake with two different flavors to accommodate gluten free option. She also recommended the best flavor out of the ones I picked (yes, they have lots of great flavors to choose from!).

    Our wedding cake looked very festive and tasted amazing too! Very happy and satisfied with the result.
  • B
    Bailey Married on 12/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I want to thank Vanilla Bake Shop so much for our gorgeous wedding cake. It truly was everything we dreamed. Most times you show an inspiration photo to a vendor and the reality pales in comparison, but in this case, they made the (challenging) cake exactly how we wanted it! Plus it was delicious. I would recommend Vanilla Bake Shop for anyone planning a wedding in LA!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message