Van Gons Photography Reviews

18 | Hampton, VA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Van Gons Photography

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
18 Van Gons Photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • A

    Allison · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van Gons was the best choice I made for my wedding (aside from my groom, of course). This review is overdue, and I have had my pictures to look at over and over again for the past 6 months and I still love those pictures! I relive the day every time I look at them. I searched many photography websites looking for the style I wanted at a price I could afford. -- most photographers can give you the posed shots you want, sure, but Van Gons has a way of capturing the raw candid emotion in people's expressions throughout the wedding and receoption in such a beautiful way. It's obvious from her portfolio of work, and that's why I picked her. She did not disappoint! In addition to the stellar photography work, which cannot be overemphasized, she was extremely professional, promptly responded to any and all questions, and was overall very personable and delightful to interact with. I'd recommend her to anyone and hope myself to have the opportunity to hire her again for something!

  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent photographer. We found her on Craigslist, but the pictures on her website were so well done that we were sure she'd be out of our price range. Turns out, she's a GREAT value. We can't pick our favorite pictures because there's too many to choose from. She and her team were very friendly and polite. We never noticed they were there during the ceremony or reception, even though there are several shots that are face-on. Worked well with our guests and bridal party, even though a wedding is a crazy and sometimes stressful event. She was prompt with replies, although sometimes my emails didn't seem to make it to her. Follow up was not a problem, though. We live out of town and she went out of her way to help us schedule an engagement shoot when we were in town.We loved working with her, and would do it again in a heartbeat. I'd definitely recommend her.

  • H

    Hari · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van was awesome on our wedding day. She was there early in the morning all the way until we closed the dance floor. Our photos turned out beautifully, capturing our special day. I couldn't be happier!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 08/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van did an excellent job with both our engagement and wedding photos. She is easy to work with, personable and professional. We truly enjoyed working with her and appreciate her quality work. I would highly recommend Van for anyone wanting beautiful photos, finished in a timely fashion and done with great rapport!

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply can't say enough great things. Totally professional, wonderful to work with on our special day. Worth every penny & so much more!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/20/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van is an amazing photographer!!! She has a great personality, is very professional, and provides excellent photos. She was always available to answer our questions and provide suggestions when needed. We chose to have more candid photos during our wedding and Van listened to our requests/suggestions and provided us with an amazing selection of photos. We had a great time working with her and all of our friends and family loved her as well! We definitely recommend her to anyone who is looking for an engagement/wedding photographer.

  • Mariana

    Mariana · Married on 05/14/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van is amazing! She captured the moments, the details, the emotion... We couldn't have made a batter choice. She took all the family shoots I wanted, plus additional artistic shots that I feel in love with. I know when I look back at my wedding pictures in 30 years they will still look amazing and classic. I also loved the fact that she took pictures of most of our guests, and not random pictures of the awkward guy out of place drinking in the background; she took great shoots that showed how happy and moved our guest were (a lot of people made their pictures their profile picture on Facebook).
    Regarding presentation, depending on your package you will get "something", we got 2 CD in a magnetized case they look very well done unlike anything I had ever seen.
    I can't say enough to rave about this artist, I know for a fact that whenever we are in need of a professional photographer to Van we will go!

  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How can I put it more simply than we LOVED working with Van? We worked with her for both our engagement session and wedding, and we were more than pleased with the results. Van is very easy to work with, professional, and amazingly talented. Unlike many so-called wedding photographers, Van is able to capture all of the emotion and excitement of a wedding - or any event - in her photography. We cannot recommend her highly enough!!

  • M

    Danielle · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough how much my husband and I think of Van. She was an absolute joy to work with. She did both our engagement and wedding photos, and for both she came with creative ideas for poses and really took the time to get a variety of shots. On our wedding day, she was up for anything. She met us (my bridesmaids, mother, and I) at the salon first thing in the morning and stayed until the very last moment at the reception, even snapping some photographs in the parking lot! I knew the photos were going to be great, but when we recieved the discs I was truly amazed. She captured every single moment of our day, in a way I think only a photographer of her high caliber can do. There was a beatiful mix of posed shots of the bridal party, to poignant candids at the reception. Without a doubt, Van was the best wedding-related decision my husband and I made.



  • J

    Jes · Married on 09/04/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Van was so easy! We met at a coffee shop to go over details; she was early. Her contract was very straightforward, and her rates were extremely reasonable for the artistic work she provides. I compared her daily rate to those of others and found that she was the lowest (and in my opinion, most talented) of them all.
    On the wedding day, she came very early in the morning with her assistant to capture everyone getting ready. I initially didn't think I wanted getting-ready photos, but she suggested it. I'm really glad we have those now. She was great during the ceremony, and after, had plotted some fun places for us to take fun group shots.
    At the reception, our guests said they felt like movie stars as she and Swan fluttered around the party taking shot after shot. I was really impressed that after each shot, she would look at the digital image to make sure she captured what she wanted.
    A few weeks later, I received two disks in the mail. The cover the disks were in had two of our wedding photos on the outside. We received every single (I think) shot, which was nice because then we could decide what we liked.
    Overall, Van was very professional, very sweet and nice, and so talented. I couldn't have been happier!

  • G

    Theresa · Married on 07/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van Gons had such a warm & enthusiastic personality. She was very flexible in working with us, and always quick to return our calls. She had a very unobtrusive and profesional presence during our ceremony and was full of fun ideas for our engagement photos. Highly recommended!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 06/27/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van Gons was definitely one of our best wedding decisions. Before the wedding, she went to check out our wedding venue (the Wren Chapel) and spoke with the head of the venue about the location and Chapel. She was very prepared to take pictures in the best spots in the Chapel and the William & Mary campus. She spent the entire day with us taking pictures of the bride and bridesmaids getting ready and the groom and groomsmen getting ready. She even got there early to take special pictures of the groom and his groomsmen on a morning run. We ordered a DVD of our pictures and were very impressed with our wedding photos. She did a great job capturing posed pictures and more candid photos. She was also very open to our ideas and very flexible with what we requested. We highly recommend Van Gons!

  • B

    B · Married on 05/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van Gons photographed our wedding beautifully. Van assisted in selecting the perfect site and time of day for our beach wedding, as we traveled from New York for the event. She and her crew are professional and were responsive to all our requests, and the results are exactly what we wanted! Outstanding!

  • S

    Sean · Married on 06/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van was one of the first to show up on our wedding day. She took some fantastic pictures of us setting up and getting ready. During the ceremony, she really captured all of the fun and emotion from the wedding party. We got all the posed pictures after the wedding and she was very professional in organizing the families and getting people together. At the reception, Van seemed to kind of hang back and catch everyone naturally. What really blew us away was her unorthodox and uniquely subtle eye for art. She seemed to find genuine expressions in the people and things she photographed. Of all the big decisions we made for that day, choosing van was one of the best!
    Sean and Stephanie Chalifoux

  • M

    Mariana · Married on 07/12/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Van Gons as my wedding photographer was the best decision we ever made. She not only took pictures of me and my family and bridesmaids getting ready for it all, but also helped me through all the stress that comes with a wedding throughout the day. Her calmimg and pleasant presence was key to making my wedding the best day of my life! She even made my wedding bouquet!!!
    She's a fantastic photographer, here pictures were absolutely amazing. She really captured the feeling that I want to always preserve in my wedding memories.

  • C

    Carla · Married on 07/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Van shot our wedding in Beverly Hills and she was simply awesome! She was so attentive to our needs and any little request we had, and since my husband and I are both control freaks it made our life much easier to have someone who "got" what we wanted and never question us, no matter how bizarre our request may have been! She was totally unobtrusive to the wedding... she must have some amazing lenses because we hardly noticed her... then when we saw the photos she took it was like she had been right in the middle of the party! She has an amazing sense of composition and balance, just an impeccable eye. So many of he pictures captured these little moments that just take us back to our wedding day when we look at them... I really can't say enough about how great she did. Thanks again SO MUCH VAN!

  • R

    Renee · Married on 07/03/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my photographer! She was early, provided great photos and kept in contact even after my wedding. I will definately use her again.

  • V

    Meredith · Married on 05/27/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our full review doesn't fit in the space provided by weddingwire - please see http://goo.gl/0wHxw

    We were married in May, 2012, but we first worked with Van for our engagement photos. We loved working with her, as she was amazingly helpful given that it was our first "photo shoot." She helped us get into positions and try things out, but she never pushed us into doing something we didn't want to do, and she was always up for trying something we thought of. She was positive, energetic, and kind.

    We decided to book her for our wedding, including a bridal session (2 hours), rehearsal dinner (1 hour), and the whole wedding day (11 hours).

    During the wedding events, Van was always early and she even stayed later than she needed for two events. We were running behind for the bridal shoot & on the wedding day at the very beginning, but she did not add to the stress of the weekend, instead staying positive. In all honesty, the hair & makeup artists showed up late on the wedding day, so Van didn't have very much to do when she arrived. Instead of hanging around and asking questions, she went to work after checking in with me, taking my dress, my bouquet, and shoes into another room and taking the artsy photos I was hoping for.

    During the events, we did not want a photographer to be "in the way," but we never had to tell Van this - she was directive when needed (posing everyone for the big group shot with 100 people was no big deal for her!), but during the toasts, first dances, and on the dance floor, we barely noticed her!

    We were very pleased with the pictures. She perfectly captures the emotions, the feel of the events, the overall scene, etc.

    The only negative with Van was confusion around the resolution of the images Van sent us. See the full doc for details. All in all, we would recommend her whole-heartedly for any event!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review