Weddings

Valhalla at Lake Tahoe Reviews

Valhalla at Lake Tahoe

Valhalla at Lake Tahoe

South Lake Tahoe, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

44 User photos

Sort by:
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Married on 12/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Venue

    There is no place more magical. Valhalla is a dream and so was Michelle, who helped us through the entire process. Valhalla has everything you’d want from a venue: beauty, timelessness and a unique atmosphere. We received so many compliments on our venue because it was perfect.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Thank you Jessica! Your vision and Quality Event Deisgn's execution with She Said Yes's help planning and pulling it off made your wedding one of the most magical of the year. You daughter is so smart and sweet and you both looked amazing in your dresses! Cheers to a happy life together and many more visits to Valhalla!
  • B
    Brandy Married on 12/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous venue!

    In a word, PERFECT! Valhalla is an amazing place to have your perfect day! With its rustic charm and breathtaking fireplace, it sets the perfect stage. All of my guest were blown away! Epic ceremony! Would highly recommend!!

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Thank you Brandy! Your photos are amazing! Love the bridal party shot on the pier and the ceremony picture with the tree! Our holiday weddings are always so special! Congratulations!
  • S
    Shannon B. Married on 10/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most magical hidden gem for a wedding!

    We had the best experience getting married at Valhalla. It is historical, rustic and unique. The stone fireplace is beautiful and I love the options for indoor/outdoor ceremonies, cocktail hour and reception. Also loved the lighting and drapery options. The possibilities are endless! You can make it what you want with decor/flowers but even on its’ own it is stunning. Most of our guests were out of town and were so impressed with Valhalla. It will always hold a special place in our hearts! Michelle was wonderful to work with.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Shannon, thank you for this wonderful review. I just got your album from Calvin Hobson Photos and all I can say is WOW! I'm excited to share them and show off how beautiful your wedding was! Cheers!
  • C
    Ciara L. Married on 10/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unforgettable

    What a gem of a place Valhalla is and all who work so hard to make each bride and grooms special day so magical! We could not have hoped for a more naturally beautiful venue.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    You are so kind Ciara! It was a pleasure to work with you and Duncan! We can't wait to watch little B grow up!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Q. Married on 10/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful!

    Valhalla is BEAUTIFUL. The venue, the location, the trees and the lake were all perfect.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Thank you Jennifer. I'm so glad you enjoyed your day here and we hope you'll visit the estate again soon!
  • S
    Steve Married on 07/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue in South Lake Tahoe

    We waited a year and a half to have our wedding at Valhalla. It was worth every minute. The rustic indoor ceremony is perfect with the contract of the outdoor reception with lake views. Everything was amazing.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Loved seeing you two celebrate your love with your friends and family! You planned an amazing day and had a great vendor team to support you!
  • C
    Candace A. Married on 06/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Nothing short of amazing!

    Michelle is AMAZING. Took care of us through the long wait and rescheduling multiple times during the pandemic. So easy to communicate and work with and keeps you in the know and updates regularly. Because of her and the team, our wedding day was beautiful! I'm still getting compliments from guests saying they were super impressed with the venue and our wedding was one of the most fun and relaxing weddings they've been too. Would do it all over again- ha!
  • Allison
    Allison C. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Day Ever

    We have nothing but wonderful things to say about our recent wedding at Valhalla. It literally was the wedding of our dreams and the best day of our lives. When looking for a venue we knew we wanted to incorporate the many things we both love about the outdoors & narrowed our search down to the Lake Tahoe area. When we set foot in Valhalla and were greeted by Michelle Morton -who was very sweet, very informative, and very supportive throughout the entire viewing of the venue- we immediately got the feeling of this is where we would like to marry one another. Even though we had to wait 2 years to make this dream come true, it was well worth it and literally such a dreamy day. All of our guests were so impressed by the grounds, the venue, and the team members there. We are confident that we had the best wedding any of our guests were able to attend! So much was included for the price and it was exactly as we envisioned the day going. It was simply put: perfection. Thank you SO much Valhalla for all of your attentive communication and making the beauty and magic of our wedding day just that. If we could do our wedding over we would definitely be doing it there again. Valhalla will have a special place in our hearts forever and we cannot wait to return in the future whether it be for our own event or one of the many that seem to be held there. Thank you so very much.
  • Erika
    Erika A. Married on 06/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Venue and Venue Manager Ever!!!

    Michelle at Valhalla is the absolute best!! We couldn’t have asked for a better venue manager to work with! She was always extremely responsive, very friendly and kind, professional, and really goes above and beyond what is expected! Michelle is just the nicest person ever, and I can’t stress that enough! It’s so important and helpful to have someone to work with who’s like that on one of the most important days of your life. Now, that I’m done bragging on Michelle, let me also mention that Valhalla is the most beautiful, intimate venue ever!! We looked at about 10 really nice venues in Tahoe before Valhalla and once we saw it, we instantly knew this was the right choice by far. The pier, the water, the beautiful pine trees, the building itself (so much character), and the fireplace, all made for the best wedding we could’ve ever imagined and our guests were just in awe of it all and can’t stop talking about it. Everything was perfect!! You will not regret getting married at beautiful Valhalla and will have the best, most genuine, person to work with that truly cares about your big day, also!
  • N
    Nicole T. Married on 07/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pandemic wedding

    We just got married on July 2020 during the COVID 19 panic and Michelle from Valhalla was extremely helpful in pulling this day off with us. She helped guide us through the reopening guidelines from the state. The venue was so beautiful our guests loved it! Perfect view of the water made for great sunset pictures. I wouldn't rather have done our wedding anywhere else. Parking was easy, the caterer served onsite perfectly, and there was plenty of room for guests to float around the property
  • Samantha
    Samantha K. Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Venue

    My husband and I got married at Valhalla on October 13th and it was exactly how I had envisioned our wedding day. Michelle at Valhalla made us feel great with our decision to have the wedding there. She was thorough and answered any questions we had, she was very pleasant and easy to work with. We received many compliments from our guests about how beautiful the venue was, it was truly like a fairytale. I highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married in Lake Tahoe.

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    Awe, you are so sweet Sam! We loved hosting your wedding and getting to know your family! They did such a great job coming together to make sure the details of your day were just right. I think your first look was one of my favorites because of how surprised you were by how good HE looked! Plus the sunset could not have been more gorgeous! Thank you for the great review! -Michelle
  • Taylor
    Taylor Married on 08/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most magical venue

    Valhalla was pure magic. We were blessed with perfect weather, and a monarch migration, but even without those fortuitous happenings, the location is beyond gorgeous. The sprawling lawn provided the perfect setting for dinner and allowed the guests to roam around and take in the scenery at their leisure. Michelle made us feel incredibly special on our day and was there to ensure that everything went according to plan. Valhalla was the perfect backdrop to our dream wedding. (Photos by the amazing Woodmancy Photography)

    Valhalla at Lake Tahoe's reply:

    You were a dream to work with and these photos are so stunning. We hope you can come visit Valhalla often to remember your amazing wedding day!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 06/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We couldn't be happier with the Valhalla venue and Carolyn the caretaker. She was so great to work with and the event gave us a lot of options. When the weather started to turn on us, we easily moved the table to the covered deck. Our guest were sheltered from the wind but could still enjoy the view.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 10/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding at Valhalla in October 2016. There is a reason this place books up far in advance- it is beautiful and affordable. As a Federal Historic site, they do not force you to use a specific caterer and you can supply all of your own beverages. They do have an approved vendor list, but it features excellent options in all price ranges so it's not restrictive. They just want to work with people who have taken the time to understand their rules of use and clean-up. The location is stunning- right on Lake Tahoe, surrounded by sequoia trees. The venue itself is a unique setup- there is an upper level with an open view down to the main floor. Utilizing the full capacity allows for 120 guests. We had 75 guests, and it felt perfect. Plenty of room to mingle during cocktail hour and to dance afterwards. One thing to note, as this is a historic site, you will need to rent many of the supplies for your wedding. They have round tables and chivari chairs available, but china, silverware, glassware and linens all need to be rented. Valhalla has a huge fireplace, and they do allow you to use it: you provide the firewood and their on-site docent maintains the fire. We worked with Carolyn, the overseer who handles weddings. She always responded promptly to any emails we had with questions, and overall was great to work with. If you have the right size wedding, and love natural beauty, you will be very happy with Valhalla. We were.
  • A
    Alex Married on 06/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding on a Friday in June (Fridays are less expensive than a Saturday). This place is absolutely stunning! Carolyn is so helpful and easy to work with. This place does book up quickly, so once you are ready call or e-mail ASAP. :) The fire place is breathtaking, pictures will never do it justice you have to see it in person. The grounds outside are well kept and the property is on the lake. There are SO many places to take pictures. We liked that we could bring our own alcohol and have an open bar. I would HIGHLY recommend Valhalla.
  • Steven
    Steven Married on 09/15/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This place is amazing. By far the most beautiful grand hall I have ever seen, and its only 50 yards from the lake. Must see to appreciate. Staff was most helpful and courteous and would do anything out of their way to make us happy. Check this place out for yourself, I guarantee you will love it.
  • W
    Wendy Married on 07/01/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    The venue was beautiful. Stunning views! We just weren't able to go in there earlier to decorate.
  • C
    Crystal Married on 11/15/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Ok there are not enough words to describe the beauty of Valhalla and how amazing Carolyn Grubb is! My wedding was in November on the only day of that week that there was a snowstorm! It turned Valhalla into a winter wonderland that looked like it was straight out of a fairytale movie set! I would highly recommend starting during the day so that you can take advantage of the wonderful scenery all around. It is breathtaking! There is no bad time of year it is a gorgeous property and building and Carolyn is one of the best people that we had the pleasure of working with during this process. She did everything possible to make our many visits possible and happily answered no less than 1 billion questions. We loved her and we loved Valhalla (see our pics on the hallcreations website crystal&cory). You will NOT be disappointed.. PS the fireplace is incredible but you google valhalla and you will see many posts and pictures.
  • B
    Brianne Married on 07/18/2008
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    In the search for a venue, I almost crossed Valhalla off list because no one returned my phone calls or email requests for information. I am very glad I was persistent because it turned out to be the beautiful natural setting on Lake Tahoe we were looking for. It's quaint, rustic, and small, but absolutely gorgeous! Maximum people in allowed in the bldg is 125, and that includes staff, vendors, etc, so a big wedding won't work here. It took several days, if not a week, for anyone to return my phone calls, if they called back at all, regarding event questions. Many times I got no response back, but I just started showing up in the office to ask questions and to get things handled. The actual cost of the venue rental was high, but we went with the option to cater our wedding ourselves and to bring our own alcohol--and we saved tons! The venue also provided some tables and ceremony chairs. Many other venues in the area require you to use their high-priced caterer for food and alcohol, and that wasn't an option for our budget. There are a few strange rules too: No amplified music outdoors, no petals dropped by the flowergirl, no outside ceremonies, etc. Review rules in contract before signing! The executive assistant was very nice and helpful! Cost is less for Friday/Sunday/weekday weddings.