Uptown Indigo Reviews

18 | Shelby, NC
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Uptown Indigo

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

43 User photos

Uptown Indigo 1
Uptown Indigo 2
Uptown Indigo 3
Uptown Indigo 4
Uptown Indigo 5
Uptown Indigo 6
Uptown Indigo 7
+ 37
Sort by:
  • Katelyn

    Katelyn Maree · Getting married on 10/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, nice staff, and reasonable

    We viewed the venue and it is absolutely gorgeous! The roof top terrace is absolutely breathtaking, the inside is a beautiful combination of modern and industrial. The staff are so incredibly nice and laid back actually care about the couple's big day. Definitely the best bang for the buck when comparing them to alot of other places in the area.

    Sent on 08/15/2019
  • A

    Alice Byrd · Married on 07/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic experience - wouldn't change a thing!

    From the very beginning of our wedding venue search, we were blown away by everything that Uptown Indigo had to offer. Compared to many other venues in the area, they offered the best value, best quality, best service, best design, and best experience. The venue itself is stunning - each floor is impeccably designed and decorated to ensure that you feel like you're in a completely different space (even though you're only on a different floor!) The venue's large main floor allows for plenty of room for a wedding ceremony and reception. We had a fairly large wedding (around 175 people) and the space accommodated tables, chairs, a buffet line, dance floor, and DJ space perfectly. It never felt crowded or cramped. The Steeples space and Rooftop area were highly enjoyed by our guests as they enjoyed a cocktail hour after the ceremony while the Uptown staff "flipped" the main floor into our reception space. From the very first planning meeting, we had with Duncan and his team to the day of our wedding, Uptown's staff accommodated every request that we had with the utmost professionalism. They were able to advise us every step of the way and went above and beyond with anything we needed. I would choose Uptown Indigo every time if I had to choose another wedding venue! If you're considering Uptown for any type of event- go ahead and book with them. It will be one of the easiest (and best!) choices you make.

    Sent on 07/17/2019
  • G

    grace blackley · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful day, wonderful experience

    Our experience with Uptown Indigo was excellent from start to finish.
    We first visited while it was undergoing its restoration and renovation and were immediately blown away by the space, its elegance, and its potential not only as a great venue option for us, but as a valuable asset to the city of Shelby.
    During the planning phase, Duncan, Rachael, and their staff were always friendly, attentive, and eager to focus on the special personal touches we desired for our wedding reception. When the big day finally came, the wedding reception went off without a hitch, the venue looked incredible, our guests were shown outstanding hospitality, and my husband and I didn’t have to worry about a single thing. Everything was taken care of so we could enjoy our day, our guests, and each other.
    Born and raised in Shelby, I have always been proud my town and love seeing Shelby and its people, businesses, and traditions represented and celebrated. We wanted our wedding weekend to do just that, and with the help of Uptown Indigo, I think we were successful. I look forward to seeing how Uptown Indigo continues to serve Shelby and the surrounding area.

    Sent on 07/19/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing experience!

    Duncan was very attentive to our wants/needs! The venue itself is very beautiful and the service we received was over the top! Highly recommend this place!

    Sent on 07/08/2019
    Uptown Indigo 17
    Uptown Indigo 18
    Uptown Indigo 19
    Uptown Indigo 20
    Uptown Indigo 21
  • Tevin

    Tevin Mccluney · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stellar service.

    Uptown Indigo went above and beyond for us on our special day. They were willing to accommodate us when we had something come up with our original date. They were quick to respond to any questions or concerns with us. Duncan even coordinated with our wedding planner to make sure we had went over every possible scenario for our day. Our wedding went off without a hitch. Uptown Indigo is the way to go!!

    Sent on 05/22/2019
  • M

    Michael B Vestal · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection!!

    The venue is absolutely stunning. Duncan was a great host and very easy to get in touch with when we had questions. Great energy and made sure our wedding guests were taken care of at all times. Could not ask for a better experience!!

    Sent on 05/22/2019
    Uptown Indigo 22
  • M

    McKenna · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Easiest Day EVER.

    Our wedding day was not stressful, it was quite literally the best day ever. The transitions throughout the day were seamless and we have Duncan to thank for that. We were told by others that “something WILL go wrong on your wedding day” but we can’t say that ANYTHING went wrong. We highly recommend this venue not only for their great team and their customer service but because the venue itself has amazing potential to be whatever you need it to be for your event. Uptown Indigo carries a vibe all it’s own until Duncan and the team help bring your ideas to life. It is so malleable to what you want for your event and they help you make it happen. Nothing is impossible! Every angle of the venue is photogenic, there is no bad seat in the house for the reception. And it is in such a prime location, right off the main square in Historic Uptown Shelby, that it also allows for your photographer to change up the scene for photos! If you opt to only use the downstairs area for your big day, we highly recommend having your rehearsal dinner upstairs the night before. It was a good experience for our guests who weren’t going to experience the upstairs area on the day of. We highly recommend Uptown Indigo!!

    Sent on 05/30/2019
    Uptown Indigo 23
    Uptown Indigo 24
    Uptown Indigo 25
    Uptown Indigo 26
    Uptown Indigo 27
    Uptown Indigo 28
  • J

    Jimi Bowen · Married on 01/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Notch Venue

    2 Floors, Rooftop area, hardwood floors, 2 bars, pool table, lounge area, Bridal room for the ladies prior to ceremony, LED columns, Vintage staircase....This place has everything! The nicest staff of any venue we've toured. I'm so glad we found this spot.

    Sent on 02/07/2019
    Uptown Indigo 29
    Uptown Indigo 30
    Uptown Indigo 31
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 01/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More than perfect!

    The staff at Uptown Indigo were amazing from start to finish. They were flexible at the beginning when we were just figuring out what we wanted. They were available for the many questions along the way and on the day of they were beyond prepared and did more than expected to make our day perfect! The dedication you get for the price cannot be beat!! We would suggest this location and staff to ANYONE looking for an amazing event in the Shelby area.

    Sent on 05/30/2019
    Uptown Indigo 32
  • R

    Rudy Fite · Married on 12/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hidden GEM in Cleveland County

    From the beginning, like most people, you have already thought of a vision for your wedding/venue. Mine was to have an elegant place that was modern looking and close to home. I researched venues in my hometown only to be overwhelmed with plenty of options. Each place had its own vibe and wasn't sure where to begin. My first stop was with Uptown Indigo. Duncan Blount, self proclaimed "memory crafter" was such a pleasure to speak with. At the time the venue was just being renovated and there was not much to look at, only visions of what was to come. As we walked around the building listening to Mr. Blount, We knew they would create something BEAUTIFUL in the space. Right then, it was obvious that we needed to get married there. As the months went on and we inched closer and closer to our wedding date, Mr. Blount was attentive to our needs and expectations. He answered every phone call and text quickly and made us feel as we were to only ones to ever get married in the venue. Fast forward to November 3rd, 2018, Our wedding day was a HIT. Many of our guests were from out of town and as far as Alaska. Every guest we spoke to were in AWE of the venue and could not believe that it was located in SHELBY NC. In the days and weeks to follow, we had so many people tell us that they spoke to friends/family who attended the wedding and loved the photos they shared. I cannot say enough about this venue and the ENTIRE staff. If it wasn't for Uptown Indigo's vision and follow through, We wouldn't be here today recommending it anyone who will listen to us. If we could we would give it a 100 out of 10. GREAT JOB Uptown Indigo Staff

    Sent on 12/18/2018
    Uptown Indigo 33
    Uptown Indigo 34
    Uptown Indigo 35
    Uptown Indigo 36
    Uptown Indigo 37

    Uptown Indigo's reply:

    Thank you so much Rudy! You believed in us from the beginning and the wedding was absolutely awesome. Thank you!!
  • C

    Calan · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A gem in cleveland county

    Uptown Indigo is a well oiled machine! Considering the venue is still relatively new, it is managed flawlessly. The venue alone is beautiful and there are exquisite details everywhere you turn. It has a modern twist, while still maintaining and showcasing its historic roots. Duncan and the management team are all so pleasant to work with and they really care about their clients. They offer a variety of customizable room rental options and bar packages, that are sure to fit any budget. They allow various vendors and are very accommodating to their vendors. Uptown indigo is also awesome because they plan and host their own events as well as contracted events. This is more than an event venue, it’s a part of the community! The team at Uptown Indigo will be sure to make you feel comfortable, stress free and excited about your event at their venue! The venue offers a great AV system, table, chairs, bar options, and much more! This is a great option for couples looking to get married in Cleveland County. There is no other venue like it in our area!

    Sent on 06/04/2019
  • Anna

    Anna Gnandt · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Freaking amazing

    Uptown Indigo, I can’t say enough to recommend this place. It is beautiful, love and care and fine taste carefully put into this place! Duncan and his family were amazing to us! Worked with us as far as finances and also helped us with ideas as wedding structure ideas! They made you feel like a queen and king!

    Sent on 11/11/2018
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an amazing experience with Uptown Indigo. Duncan and his wife Alyssa are wonderful to work with. They met with me several times to make sure everything would be perfect and met with my vendors even when I was not available. This venue is located perfectly in downtown Shelby with a "New York" feel when you enter. It is absolutely gorgeous and with their help, my day was perfect! I used all 3 levels, the 2nd level as a bridal suite (prior to the wedding) and cocktail hour after the wedding, the banquet hall for dinner and the rooftop for pictures and cocktail hour. I would strongly suggest renting the entire space.

    Sent on 10/01/2018
    Uptown Indigo 38
    Uptown Indigo 39
    Uptown Indigo 40
    Uptown Indigo 41
    Uptown Indigo 42
    Uptown Indigo 43
    Uptown Indigo 44
    Uptown Indigo 45
    Uptown Indigo 46
  • R

    Roswell · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our grandaughter had her ceremony and her reception here and we were beyond impressed. From the planning to the execution, the communication was better than any other venue we've worked with in the past. Also, the flower backdrop was flawless and great job working with all the kids! Duncan is a fine young man and we highly recommend uptown indigo.

    Sent on 09/06/2018
  • K

    Keona · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend this place. My husband & I had our reception here. Everyone went above & beyond to make sure everything was absolutely perfect. I also loved the fact that Duncan thought of everything....even things that I had not thought of. The atmosphere was amazing & they always made us feel like family. The whole planning process with the staff was completely stress free. The venue is absolutely beautiful. This place opened 5 months before our wedding & I changed our reception venue from a previous place & I don't regret it. I definitely plan to have another event here in the future.

    Sent on 09/01/2018
    Uptown Indigo 47
    Uptown Indigo 48
    Uptown Indigo 49
    Uptown Indigo 50
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 07/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING experience! Everything was absolutely wonderful and the staff were all VERY accommodating!! Beautiful venue and located in the heart of Shelby!

    Sent on 07/22/2018

    Uptown Indigo's reply:

    Thank you Meredith!! Your reception was truly beautiful!!
  • R

    Robin · Married on 04/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tonight we had the wonderful opportunity to tour the newest and most elegant of wedding venues in Cleveland County, the Uptown Indigo. The owners and manager of the venue were really nice people and very professional. They took great pride in this beautiful building which they have blended modern decor with the original design of the building to come up something spectacular. The lighting, the ceilings, the flooring, the hand painted wall tiles was all breathtaking. This family owned business put much detail into the small things. Build in sound system through out the facility sounded great. There is one main ballroom, a second small floor and then a rooftop terrace! We viewed the package pricing for rental on this facility which was in my opinion more than reasonable for such a beautiful building which included the use of round tables and chairs. If you are looking for something that is a cut above the ordinary then look no further than Uptown Indigo which in opinion the perfect venue for a dream wedding or any upscale private function.

    Sent on 04/23/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review