Skip to main content
Weddings

Up Do Specialist Reviews

Up Do Specialist

Up Do Specialist

Ashburn, VA
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
82 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Awards

82
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

29 User photos

  • Z
    Zineb Sent on 11/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely the best in the business.

    Devon did a phenomenal work on our Red Carpet event models. We was on time, super professional and flexible. Aside from making the ladies look and feel extra special, she is a doll to be around. I highly recommend Devon for any occasion!
  • C
    Clare O. Sent on 03/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Devon was Excellent!

    She did my bridal hair as well as my mom, sister and MIL. Everyone looked amazing! 💜
  • C
    Chloe Sent on 11/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Hair for the Whole Crew!

    Devon was absolutely wonderful to work with, and did wonderful hair for me, my bridesmaids, and my mom! The hair was cohesive, and lovely. She made the tweaks that I requested after the trial, and the hair came out perfect. I am prone to migraines, and she did a full updo for me that was gentle and didn't make my head hurt at all while still staying in place for a full night of dancing. My mom also has thinner hair, and wanted some extra, and Devon seamlessly incorporated two hair pieces that I brought to create a stunning updo for my mom who felt beautiful the whole day which was a real treat for me. I would highly recommend her!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Awww thank you Chloe!! It was such a pleasure to style all of you! I love to create personalized hair for everyone❤️
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Melissa
    Melissa S. Sent on 09/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Extremely talented and wonderful to work with

    Devon was recommended to me by my make-up artist and her outstanding reputation proceeds her. From the beginning with my hair tutorial to hugging me goodbye to go get married she listened to exactly what I wanted. She had a very relaxing and professional attitude that calmed me on my bid day. I would choose Devon 10 out of 10 times. Highly recommend!
  • Brianna
    Brianna H. Sent on 09/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Wedding Day Stylist!

    Devon was such an incredible stylist to have the day of my wedding! My mom is a professional hair stylist and after a lot of back and forth, we decided to hire a stylist for mine and my bridesmaids hair so my mom could relax and have a work-free day that she could enjoy just as the mother of the bride. She had heard great things about Devon, so I reached out and I (and my mom!) could not have been happier with her work! Devon did mine and everyone's hair so beautifully; so many people were complimenting it throughout the day! My hair does not hold curls well, but she somehow brought some magic the day of and it held all through the night (much of the day was misty too, so this was quite impressive!).
    Thank you so much Devon for helping make my wedding day so special!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you so much Brianna!! Styling you and your bridal party was so amazing! (Especially during these crazy times!) I’m sooo happy your mom loved your hair too, biggest compliment❤️
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer K. Sent on 06/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Creativity and Attitude!

    I came across the Up Do Specialist, before I realized Devon was actually a friend of one of my bridesmaids. After my trial appointment, it was a no brain-er. Devon was able to style me, three bridesmaids (one which included using extensions), and my mother. She helped each one through the process of creatively constructing what would match them and their style best. Plus she did it amazing time. On top of how well all of the looks turned out, her personality is great. She added to the enjoyment of the experience. We were so happy to have her, and I highly recommend her for any styling needs, or hair services; wedding, night out, photo shoot, etc.

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Awww Jennifer thank you! I had the Best time styling you and your bridal party!! You looked absolutely stunning🙌🏼❤️
  • J
    Jennae D. Sent on 10/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Devin is extremely talented and an absolute joy to work with.

    Devin is absolutely wonderful. From the moment I contacted her on Wedding Wire she responded within the hour. She did a fantastic job on my daughters and my hair during the trial. The day of my wedding, it extremely hot and did the most beautiful updo ever. She is so talented and I highly recommend her!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you so much Jennae! Yes it was very hot on your wedding day!! I’m so glad we went with an updo on your hair you looked Stunning🤩
  • L
    Lindsi Sent on 09/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Skilled, efficient and responsive

    Devon executed perfectly what I asked for on my wedding day - an effortless-looking style that stayed looking beautiful allllllll day. She also did a GREAT job with my naturally curly haired bridesmaid who looked stunning with a little enhancement to her natural curls. We were all excited to look like more refined versions of ourselves. They were also super efficient the day of. Thank you so much!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you so much Lindsi! You looked absolutely stunning as did your bridal party! Thank you for having my assistant and me a part of your special day XO
  • M
    Maryam P. Sent on 10/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Hairstylist I have ever seen in my life

    I had the pleasure to work with Ms. Devon on my wedding day which was September 21st, 2019.
    Finding a great hairstylist who knows different types of hair is very hard now a days. I was very lucky to get to know and work with Ms. Devon. She is professional, has great techniques. She styled my hair, my mom's hair and my bridesmaids's hair and everyone loved their hair . I have thin hair and she made my hair look full and beautiful without using any extension on my wedding day. My hair lasted all night even though I danced and moved a lot. In addition; she is an amazing and kind person. Me my mom and bridesmaids are very thankful for her beautiful work.
    Highly recommended.

  • Roxanna
    Mrs. Sent on 09/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mrs. Roxanna

    Devon is amazing! She’s the freakin the best!!! From beginning to end, everything was done with perfection, professionalism & with the best care. I am soooo happy I found her on Instagram & chose her for my wedding day! I did my trial appt on the same day I was having my engagement photos & my hair looked beautiful. Then came my wedding day, I had all my girls & my mom get their hair done by Devon as well... oh my god... they all looked so beautiful!!!! I mean just look at her work on Instagram, it speaks for itself & even more when it comes to you & your special day. And when it came time to do my hair on my wedding day, I was blown away by how amazing my hair looked... as I look back at all my wedding pictures... I’m just so happy that I had Devon do my hair. She’s just sooo good! I’m gonna have her do my hair for future events & already told all my friends & family about her! I wish she could do my hair everyday :) Also, she finished early with all the girls & and me & was so kind & stayed a little longer for my photog to capture her skills in action. Thanks Devon!!! You’re the best!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you sooo much Roxanna! It was a pleasure styling all of you! You looked absolutely stunning 😘😘
  • M
    Mary A. Sent on 08/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Devon is the very best!


    I found Devon with tons of searching online. I had a hard time finding fantastic updos on all the knot and wedding wire websites until I found her! She listens to exactly what you wanted and can look at a picture she’s never seen before and recreate the hairstyle. Every piece of my updo was in place the entire day! It was flawless. Our day was long starting hair at 6:30 am and ending at 11:00 pm! My sister kept commenting how her hair always falls out and stayed in the entire time! My bridesmaids, matron of honor, and mom all loved their hair. They kept talking about how fantastic she was. She brought an assistant for a reasonable fee and she was fantastic as well ! Thank you for making us feel absolutely beautiful on my special day !

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you so much Mary Ann!! It was such a pleasure styling you and your bridal party! You look so stunning! I wish you many many years of love and joy on your new chapter of life XO!!
  • Rachel
    Rachel Sent on 10/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded all expectations!!

    Devon was amazing! She is extremely talented, dedicated, flexible, friendly, and fun. She worked with me to find a style I loved most for my wedding day, and did a great job on hair for my entire bridal party!
  • K
    Kate Sent on 05/14/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing hair!

    DEVON IS AMAZING! I am so glad that I got to work with her!

    I had planned to get my hair and makeup done through a service called Veluxe and I changed my mind at the last minute - about a month before the big day. I inquired with a few hair stylists who were not available for my wedding and when they weren't available, I asked for recommendations...This led me to Up Do Specialist and I am so so happy it did! She was so kind and responsive! I went out to her house for a trial about 2 weeks ahead of the wedding. I showed her just a few pictures and let her work her magic! We tried two different styles - an up do and half up/half down. She took several photos at all different types of angles and sent them to me to review and then decide before the big day. The morning of, she came to my hotel suite, set up and got to work! She did my hair, my mom's hair, and a few of my bridesmaids - everyone looked SO beautiful!

    I absolutely loved how flexible she was and how she made me feel calm! Even when I wasn't sure exactly what I wanted, I could trust her to make sure I looked great!

    I ended up going with an updo, and it was so great - kept me cool since it was summer and stayed all night long!

    HIGHLY recommend working with her!
  • A
    Alexis Sent on 05/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    There are not enough words to say how grateful I am for Devon and her talent!!! She styled my hair last October for my best friends wedding when I was a bridesmaid so I knew I wanted her to do my hair for my wedding and she made it absolutely PERFECT!!!! <3. I got so many compliments and I loved her work so much!!!
  • B
    Brooke Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Devon is amazing! She is so friendly and fun to be around, and did a great job on my hair and all of my bridesmaids. Our hair all looked beautiful and natural (not overhair sprayed!) and still looked good at the end of the night. You need to book Devon for your wedding/engagement pics!!
  • K
    Kim Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had hired Devon with Up Do Specialist to do hair for me, my bridesmaids and the moms on my wedding day and she was hands down the best choice I could have made. You can literally show her any picture of a hair style and your hair will look exactly like what you had asked for when she is done with you. My hair is thin and straight and doesn't hold curls for long periods of time (of course I wanted curls on the day of my wedding and with my dress I wanted somewhat of an up-do). I had a feeling my hair would fall out throughout the night but it didn't! It was still curly and in the same place as when Devon left me earlier that day. I couldn't believe it!!!!

    Devon was so friendly and easy to talk through ideas and looks. All of my girls felt the same way and were thrilled with how their hair turned out. Devon was very responsive when I had questions and made me feel comfortable throughout the whole process. You will not be disappointed if you hire Devon for your wedding; she is the absolute best!!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 11/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was referred to Devon, The Up Do Specialist, by another hairstylist, and I am SO glad I had the chance to work with her for my recent wedding.

    Not only was she prompt, professional, and helpful during the planning process, she also took the time to review hairstyles I sent her, suggested products I could use to help achieve the look I wanted, and was flexible the day-of in accommodating an extra updo for a bridesmaid on-the-fly.

    Her talent and experience really speaks for itself though her work.
    Her creations are absolutely stunning in pictures and even more so in person.
    Each style she crafted for myself, my bridesmaids, my mom, etc. was so unique (we had everything from half-up and curled, to fishtail braids, to full-glam updos), which helped make every one of us feel confident and beautiful.

    I cannot thank her enough for being a party of our big day and would highly recommend her to any future bride!
  • M
    Molly Sent on 12/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Devon was fantastic to work with for my wedding. I absolutely loved my hair and so did ALL of my bridesmaids, which is rare. Everyone couldn't stop talking about how beautiful they felt. She listened to each person's requests and made suggestions that worked out perfectly. Devon was professional and fun to work with and she finished all 8 of my maids, me and my mother and mother-in-law EARLY. She also stayed later than expected because there was an issue with my flower crown. She waited for the florist to come back and fix it so she could make sure that she could place it for me. Even afterI told her she didn't have to. She went above and beyond and I couldn't have been happier or felt more beautiful. Definitely book her asap!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I highly recommend Devon and her work speaks for itself. I comissioned Devon for my wedding and I absolutely loved how my hair and my bridesmaids hair turned out. I recently had my hair cut and I'm very picky about my long hair and it now looks so much healthier and I couldn't be happier. So much that I now have my mom going to her. Devon is the best!
  • S
    Sara Sent on 12/14/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Devon was recommended to me after a friend of mine's hairstylist recommended her. BEST DECISION EVER! Devon is hands down the best in the area and do anything you imagine! I set up my trial with her and after sending some pinterest pictures she got the look I wanted in 1 try! She and an assistant did 10 women in about 3 hours. She was on time and even gave us some extra bobby pins and hairspray for the night. Devon has become my regular hairstylist and is just an amazing person all around. I only trusted her to put in my veil on my wedding day and asked if she would stay to do it which meant so much to me =). If you are looking for wedding day or special occasion you must book with Devon! Can't recommend her enough! Also follow her IG to see her latest work!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 12/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Devon is dream to work with. Very professional and punctual. She worked with many different hair types to create beautiful looks for everyone in my bridal party. I would highly recommend her to anyone!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you Jessica!
    It was such an honor styling you and your bridal party! Congratulations on your new wonderful chapter of life :)
  • M
    Maria Sent on 12/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Very professional, attentive, and talented!! We all loved her!

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you Maria!

    Truly a pleasure working with you!
  • A
    Ally Sent on 06/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I absolutely LOVE Devon. She did an AMAZING job for my wedding a couple of weeks ago, and I would HIGHLY recommend her to anyone! I was initially referred to Devon by other vendors, and I had my trial 6 months before my wedding. I told her what I wanted and showed her some pictures, and on the first try my hair looked perfect - exactly what I was looking for. We kept in touch leading up to my wedding day, and we created a hair schedule for me, my 10 bridesmaids, and mothers. On the day of, she arrived super early, and she was on-schedule through all of the girls that needed their hair done. She had kept pictures of my hair from the trial and remembered exactly what I wanted. My hair, all of the bridesmaids' hair, and the moms looked beautiful, and I was so beyond happy with the outcome. Overall, the whole process, from start to finish, went so smoothly, and Devon is super sweet, responsive, and incredibly talented. Her prices are very fair as well! Definitely use her!!!!!!! I will be recommending her to everyone.

    Up Do Specialist's reply:

    Thank you Ally!
    Such a pleasure working with you and your bridal party! You were a stunning bride and beautiful inside and out :)
  • L
    Lindsay Sent on 01/16/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was lucky enough to work with Devon Baltimore for my wedding day hair look (April 2016). I'd met her previously while a bridesmaid in a friend's wedding and loved the natural, soft feel of her work. Everyone truly looked like the best versions of themselves that day with classic, polished looks. Going into my own wedding, I knew I had to entrust my hair with Devon. I absolutely hate pictures of myself, so when it came to my hair and make-up, so I knew I was going to be picky and very much so a high maintenance bride.

    Devon was extremely patient with me. She listened to what I thought I wanted and didn't make me feel bad when I completely changed my mind. Because I did change direction, I ended up having a second trial to make sure I felt great about my wedding day look. Devon was happy to accommodate and it put my mind at ease knowing I was going to love the end product. One less thing to worry about among a sea of wedding details!

    Day-of, Devon and her assistance traveled from VA to Annapolis, MD arriving by 6:30am to get through 12 looks before noon. Everything went right on schedule with plenty of time for touch ups before we had to to take off for the ceremony. The ladies looked lovely; I could not have been more happy with the results.

    I highly recommend Devon to any bride who wants to work with someone whose dedicated to making their clients happy, who is reliable, and whose also fun to be around. Thank you for helping make my big day relaxed and beautiful!!
  • User2353910 Sent on 10/06/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Devon did my hair and my bridesmaids hair for my wedding and did an incredible job. Each person wanted something different and complicated and she executed perfectly. She truly has a gift. She is also such a warm person who kept me at ease on my wedding day which was so comforting. I absolutely loved her.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message