Unity Village Reviews

15 | Lees Summit, MO
See photos, pricing and details

15 Reviews for Unity Village

Recommended by 85%

15

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.2

8 User photos

Unity Village 1
Unity Village 2
Unity Village 3
Unity Village 4
Unity Village 5
Unity Village 6
Unity Village 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • S

    Stephanie Batliner · Getting married on 12/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was absolutely amazing!!

    Not only is it a beautiful place for a wedding but the entire staff was amazing. They made sure everything was perfect even when we had to make some last minute changes. Everyone was so friendly and caring to work with.

    Sent on 10/15/2019

    Unity Village's reply:

    Stephanie - THANK YOU for the amazing review! It was truly our pleasuring serving you, your family & friends!
    -Unity Village Wedding & Events Team
  • B

    Brandi French · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flawless service

    Unity is the perfect wedding event space.
    You can have your wedding, reception and guests stay on grounds at the hotel or one of the two Airbnb's
    There is no need to leave the campus.
    Thank you to the weddings staff you did a wonderful job to make my daughters wedding flawless, she was happy and that is what matters!

    Sent on 09/11/2019
    Unity Village 8
    Unity Village 9
    Unity Village 10
    Unity Village 11

    Unity Village's reply:

    Brandi - THANK YOU for sharing your experience at Unity Village! It was such a privilege to be a part of Justice & Brandon's big day & serve your family & friends! Our goal for Unity Weddings is to do our very best to have "Happy Brides!" :0) -Weddings & Events Team
  • Margaret

    Margaret Demott-Feldman · Married on 08/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Wedding at Unity Village

    Very unique venue, superior service, and superb spiritual setting—get married or remarried at Unity Village, and you get all three!

    My husband and I recently celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary with a vow renewal service at the top of the iconic Unity tower in Unity Village. What took place on that day turned out better than either of us could ever have imagined! It was an experience we will never, ever forget. The panoramic views of the Kansas City area from high above the Unity Village grounds were absolutely amazing, making it the perfect venue for the romantic renewal of our wedding vows.

    The service we received from the Weddings and Events office was exceptional! Our event-planning angel was Gretchen. It was she who suggested the tower location, but offered us other venue options as well, one of which was the beautiful Atrium Garden Chapel. From our first interactions with Gretchen, she always tried to make sure that we were getting everything our hearts desired for this special occasion—including an officiant list, support materials for the ceremony, and suggestions for accommodations available on Unity Village’s gorgeous grounds. Most importantly, we always felt that Gretchen genuinely wanted to make this the best possible experience for us, and that made it especially enjoyable to work with her!

    Our officiant was Rev. Michael Perrie, an ordained Unity minister, who co-created a very meaningful vow renewal ceremony with us, and even took the time to arrange for the background music to accompany our vow exchange. Having a high-quality Unity minister to enrich and preside over our ceremony made the experience all the more meaningful for us—we could genuinely feel God’s presence as we renewed our vows.

    We highly recommend Unity Village as an ideal setting for any wedding ceremony—one that would be absolutely perfect for getting a newlywed couple off to a good start on their journey of a lifetime together.

    Sent on 08/17/2019

    Unity Village's reply:

    Margaret! THANK YOU for sharing about your experience with Unity! We value your kind words greatly and they are so helpful to couples who may be interested in Unity Village for their wedding or vow renewal. It was a privilege to witness the love and kindness that you and Louis have for each other! We wish you both the very best and hope our paths cross again soon! - Unity Village Weddings & Events Team
  • T

    Todd Norris · Married on 06/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father of the Bride

    We had the most fantastic experience at Unity Village. The staff, Bobby and Hannah and all of their staff, worked tirelessly to accomplish a beautiful out door, June, wedding for our Daughter and Son-in-law, family and friends. About 280 of us in all. A fantastic prenuptial dinner was given on the premises by the Grooms parents. Wonderful hotel accommodations right on site. Warm friendly people running the hotel. Which was in walking distance of the wedding and reception. Back up indoor facilities were ready and available should the weather not have permitted the gorgeous out door setting, lining the fountains, that we had planned. Appetizers and open bar by the rose garden and on the terrace. Midnight nachos and sliders for those still up and going. The prices were reasonable. Everything was timely and well appointed. We wouldn't have gone anywhere else.

    Sent on 07/18/2019

    Unity Village's reply:

    Todd! THANK YOU for the awesome review! We had so much fun watching Juliana & Michael's wedding dreams come true! It was a true pleasure serving you and your guests. We hope our paths cross again soon.
    -Unity Village Weddings & Events Team
  • T

    Ted · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have asked for a better reception...everyone was helpful, friendly, and did a wonderful job. I highly recommend them for a beautiful setting, great service and amazing food! Special thanks also to wedding planner Bobby Kyser whom they recommended for our flowers and décor!

    Sent on 12/11/2016
  • C

    Cali · Married on 05/26/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! Would recommend to anyone!

    I got married 5/26 at Unity Village and it was beautiful. The outdoor area is gorgeous and looks like you are in a different country. The picture opportunities are endless with all of buildings, fountains, and landscape. We were worried it was going to rain which concerned us because the indoor chapel area is very outdated and does not compare at all to the outside space. Unity Village is very up and coming and renewing their spaces so hopefully in the near future the indoor chapel space is updated because it could really use it in my opinion! Hannah and Bobby-the wedding coordinators were extremely helpful and always able to answer our questions along with being very timely and accommodating. I never felt like they wouldn’t be willing to help or make changes if needed. The only thing that was a little bit of a con was the grooms dressing rooms/getting ready room is very small compared to the bridal one and the guys ended up hanging out in the bridal suite because theirs was very small. Along with the only bathrooms (that we found at least) were connected to the bridal suite so when guests were coming in from the parking lot and going to the bathroom they were seeing the bride & groom and the bridal party which caught us all off guard and was kind of disappointing because usually guests shouldn’t see the party/bride and groom before hand. Possibly adding another bathroom for guests before hand would be helpful. Other than that Unity Village was a great space for our wedding! I couldn’t imagine doing it anywhere else. The space is so big and you have it all to yourself it’s great. The reception space is newly redone and is great for large weddings. We had over 200 people in the space and never felt crowded at all

    Sent on 06/20/2019
    Unity Village 12
    Unity Village 13
    Unity Village 14
    Unity Village 15

    Unity Village's reply:

    Cali,
    THANK YOU for taking time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Unity Village. We thought YOU were gorgeous! ;) We are so glad everything went so perfectly and we can’t wait to pass along your positive feedback to our hospitality staff and catering team. We also so appreciate your feedback on all of our spaces, we love being able to take this and continue to grow. It was a dream serving you, your family, and friends on your big day! We wish you and Mason the very best!

    Unity Village Weddings & Events Team
  • Neesha

    Neesha · Married on 05/04/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Friendly and a beautiful place!

    We had our wedding there on May 4th 2019. It was amazing, Hannah was awesome and so was Gretchen. In the beginning they had a staff change so the communication wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. But that didn’t last long once new staff was hired. We don’t live in Kansas City so it made it much more difficult to plan my wedding. But luckily Hannah was very attentive to us and our needs. She was able to bring our vision to life with our day of coordinator Camille. Everyone was very friendly including the staff at our rehearsal dinner, hotel, and air bnb. The whole day went perfect down to the weather! The food was excellent not only at our rehearsal dinner which was a pasta station. But also at our plated reception. The bartenders were amazing and so friendly. I have nothing but positive feedback to give them. I’m so sad that my wedding is over because everyone was fantastic! Thanks again Unity Village for making my day beautiful!

    Sent on 05/20/2019

    Unity Village's reply:

    Neesha,
    THANK YOU for taking time to write such a wonderful review about your experience at Unity Village. We are so glad everything went so perfectly and we can’t wait to pass along your positive feedback to our hospitality staff and catering team. It was a dream serving you, your family, and friends on your big day! We wish you and Stephan the very best!

    Unity Village Weddings & Events Team
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/07/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Unity Village is a beautiful site for your wedding, reception, and especially pictures! The campus has many different places to hold the ceremony. We only used the reception hall, but it is a large room that holds over 300 people. The staff was very helpful with whatever we needed. They set up and tore down the table decorations. VERY helpful!

    Sent on 11/24/2009
  • M

    Alicia · Married on 05/24/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Silent Unity Chapel was a beautiful location for our wedding. We did not use this site for our reception though. We were able to take many beautiful pictures outdoors that I will treasure for a lifetime while keeping our wedding indoors (since it did actually rain a little.) The staff was VERY organized and helped me work through specifics that hadn't even crossed my mind.

    Sent on 10/04/2008
  • Chanell

    Chanell · Married on 06/27/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There chapel is beautiful very elegant. The hall is very nice and the food was excellent.

    Sent on 10/02/2009
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/03/2010

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My husband and I really wanted to get married outside and Unity Village provided a perfect place. We got married in the Rose Garden but also had a back up chapel available for the same price. When we were initially looking at the space, getting in contact with Shari was a bit difficult and there was quite a bit of lag time in her responses. Closer to the day, I had no problems with her. The dressing rooms were a bit shabby, but overall, I had a pleasant experience. We had the reception at another site, but we were pleased with Unity Village as a ceremony site.

    Sent on 12/14/2010
  • K

    Kim · Married on 06/20/2009

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We used the Silent Unity Chapel for our ceremony venue only. The venue was perfect for our ceremony. The bad things that happened was that we had 3 different wedding coordinators throughout our planning process. The last 2 coordinators we had were hard to get a hold of and hard to get responses from. The sound guy didn't show up to our rehearsal and therefore botched the music at our actual ceremony.

    Sent on 07/01/2009
  • J

    Joseph Brown · Married on 05/11/2019

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Unsatisfactory

    Our overall experience with Unity Village was less than satisfactory. Though they gave us a great ceremony and reception, everything leading up to it was dissapointment after disappointment. Unity Village gives their guests the option of having an outdoor wedding ceremony with a backup indoor chapel in case of weather. They also have the reception hall on grounds with full food and bar service and a hotel within walking distance. These features is what brought us to Unity Village. Their grounds and chapels are very well maintained and are great for wedding ceremonies. Their food and bar service are spectacular, and their staff are very friendly and professional. They certainly know how to throw a great party. But despite all their strengths, there is one main reason I would not recommend them for your wedding venue. That is that we were lied to many times during the process. It started when we first signed on with them. We signed our contract for our certain date and they said once the down payment was made we could not cancel. They could only cancel for certain reasons. These being weather, natural disaster, war, etc. So a few months after we made our down payment, they emailed us saying due to circumstances beyond their control they needed to remove us from our date. This is nearly a year prior to our selected date. They gave us no specific reason. We then went to reschedule and they gave us a discount for the hassle. For our new date they told us that we were the only ones on the grounds that day and that their hotel had nearly all its rooms available. So we should have nearly the entire hotel. Well, a few months later we went to block our rooms and the hotel desk said they only had a few rooms available. The entire hotel was booked on our day. This caused us to look into hotels within a short driving distance from the grounds a few months prior to our date. At the first few meetings they also told us we could bring our own beer to the reception. The only stipulation to this is that they needed to serve it and at the end of the night we could take what was left with us. Well, that changed toward the end. They told us we could not bring our own beer, but they could purchase whatever we wanted locally. The deal was that we pay for the beer in full upfront, they buy and serve, and what doesn't sell we get back. We agreed to this and a few weeks after they email us saying that we couldn't take what didn't sell and we wouldn't get a refund. So this deal got cancelled. Overall; I would not recommend Unity Village for your wedding venue despite all their strengths and conveniences. The added stress their lies caused us during our planning was not worth what they provided.

    Sent on 05/18/2019

    Unity Village's reply:

    Joseph

    THANK YOU for taking time to write a review about your experience at Unity Village. We want to provide the best possible experience for our guests, so we value all feedback. We were so glad to hear that your experience with our amenities and staff for your ceremony and reception were spectacular. Thank you for your kind words about our property, we love it too! Unity Village has undergone extensive changes in the past few months—we’ve updated our spaces and welcomed all-new staff. We are so sorry to hear of your disappointments. While we have no control over events that took place prior to our transition period, we apologize for the standard of service that you received when your date was changed. Regarding your bar service request, we have our own liquor license, which binds us to the policies and restrictions under that license by law. We are deeply sorry for any misinformation that was given regarding our liquor policies but the final decision was based on our adherence to the laws. Thank you for understanding that it is in our best interest to protect our ability to provide bar services for our future guests.
    We value your shared information. It has been our pleasure serving you, your family & friends on your big day! We wish you the very best.

    Unity Village Weddings & Events Team
  • A

    Angela · Married on 07/10/2010

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Overall, everything with Unity Village turned out well for my wedding day.

    However, there were a couple of things about Unity Village that I was not happy with. First, there was major construction going on at Unity for several months and we were never told the extent of this construction. None of the fountains were working and a lot of the beauty and charm of Unity was completely gone.

    My biggest gripe is that on my actual wedding day, I was assigned an attendant from Unity Village who failed to turn off her cell phone during our wedding ceremony. It rang very loudly at a quiet part of our ceremony. She also showed up 25 minutes late the day of the wedding and the groomsmen could not get into their dressing room on time.

    All in all, my wedding was a beautiful day and the problems I had with Unity Village didn't make a huge negative impact on the day. It is clean and the chapel is beautiful, but it's a little bit too pricy. It's a great place to take photos when there's not construction.

    Sent on 08/05/2010
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/15/2008

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    They had two separate coordinators during the course of my planning and I got told two different stories. On the day of the wedding many things that we had planned we were then told we couldn't do. They had some very nice services, but it was a frustrating day also. You have to ask a LOT of questions. However, they were very helpful with decorating.

    Sent on 11/19/2008

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review