Skip to main content
Weddings

Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara Reviews

Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara

Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 22 Reviews
View more information

22 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 22

16 User photos

  • Alexandra
    Alexandra B. Married on 06/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Wedding @ USSB

    USSB was the perfect place for our ceremony. Very few restrictions on timing, etc and Joanie and her husband were both very accommodating. Guests commented on the organ and the space itself looks stunning in pictures — like a cathedral! A gorgeous church.
  • Laura
    Laura B. Married on 03/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A perfect venue for our early spring wedding!

    My husband and I had our wedding at USSB in March, and everything about the venue was just perfect. The sanctuary is GORGEOUS with incredible stained glass; the courtyard was a perfect place for dinner, with delightful string lighting on the palm tree after the sun went down; and the dancing space was also perfect for our guests. This was a great space for a hybrid indoor-outdoor event that could accommodate many different pandemic risk tolerances. The USSB staff were very helpful both leading up to the event and on the day itself, really going above and beyond to make sure we were able to make the event happen just the way we wanted it. We would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone looking for a place to have their wedding!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer M. Married on 02/15/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Wedding Ceremony

    We had our ceremony in the sanctuary at the Unitarian Society and our experience was excellent. Communication was mostly via email with Greg, the facilities coordinator. He was professional and quick to respond. Greg was very helpful in answering questions and coordinating times to visit the location. All the staff we met when we visited the venue and during rehearsal were also helpful and provided ideas and guidance. The sanctuary itself is beautiful. We fell in love with it the first time we saw it. We highly recommend this venue to our friends and family!
  • Marisa
    Marisa P. Married on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue for the perfect day!

    USSB really is the perfect place to have a wedding. THe beautiful sancutary and courtyard, with all the accoutrement nesseary for a beautiful and memorable day. Thanks to Greg, Jon and all the wonderful folks at USSB for the help and collaboration.
  • Sarah
    Sarah P. Married on 06/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An incredible place for a wedding

    The Unitarian church was fantastic! An absolutely beautiful venue for the ceremony and a convenient and scenic space for the reception. We also found the staff there to be responsive and professional. In an extremely expensive wedding town, you'd be hard-pressed to find a more beautiful venue at such reasonable prices.
  • S
    Stephanie B. Married on 01/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    USSB is an affordable and beautiful location

    We highly recommend USSB for your wedding as it's not only a typical Santa Barbara environment but the staff is wonderful. It's an affordable location in an expensive destination wedding city. Our day was perfect and it's thanks to the staff that made it all possible.
  • M
    Martina Married on 08/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an incredible time working with the staff at this very special venue! The venue is gorgeous for an outdoor, Santa Barbara, Mission-style wedding. No regrets with this venue whatsoever! We just wish the day lasted longer, it goes by quickly! :)
  • K
    Katie Married on 07/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We couldn't be happier to have chosen the Unitarian Society as our wedding venue! The Spanish-style courtyard, hung with beautiful string lights, provided the most gorgeous outdoor ambiance for our outdoor dinner, and the spacious indoor parish hall was absolutely perfect for an awesome dance party. Greg and his team were so friendly, helpful and flexible throughout the planning process and during the event. The venue also provides great deals if you choose to use their rental options, including chairs, tables, uplights and more - we saved a lot of money by using these! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking for an affordable, accommodating, and beautiful wedding venue in the Santa Barbara area!
  • N
    Nancy Married on 07/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara is a beautiful and well equipped venue for weddings and receptions, and it was PERFECT for us! Can't beat the value! The staff were responsive and helpful from start to finish, scheduling, planning, rehearsal, wedding and reception. The outdoor lighting, indoor lighting, tables and chairs were wonderful, and saved us lots of money over using outside vendors. Located directly across from Alice Keck Park Memorial Park, our wedding photos are a beautiful collection from the park, and right on the Unitarian Society grounds. The Sanctuary is beautiful, WOW that stained glass window, and the acoustics were perfect for our talented wedding musicians. The kitchen was a dream for our caterer to us, and the Parish Hall ROCKED as our party room and dance floor.
  • C
    Claudia Married on 08/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Had my daughters wedding here this summer. The entire venue has a vintage feel that I believe captures old santa barbara. The ceremony in the sanctuary was beautiful with the stained glass backdrop, all the photos look amazing. The reception was in the courtyard, the tables looked great among the trees, arches and fountain. The staff at the venue was very accommodating and delightful to work with every step of the way. Our director of events Greg Otero helped with the planning and the day of manager Jon was great. Together they help make the experience wonderful. The weather in SB can not be beat, while others were dealing with 90 degree temps we were celebrating in 75 degrees. Perfect.
  • C
    Christina Married on 08/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful, professional, responsive place to get married at! Loved working with Celina and Todd did a fabulous job playing our ceremony music!
  • M
    Melodie Married on 05/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved the Unitarian Society with its historic feel. We used it as our wedding reception venue and we could not have been more pleased! The place looked amazing and I really loved that we had the option of using the indoors and outdoors so guests could go outside for the cocktails and then in the evening eat dinner indoors! Celina was really great to work with, she made me feel at ease whenever I had questions. We were so very happy to have our reception here!
  • T
    Tracey Married on 04/06/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My daughter's wedding and reception was held at the Unitarian Society. The Unitarian Society is a beautiful venue with Spanish charm and character. For $3200 we rented the chapel, courtyard and hall for 12 hours. We felt this was a good value considering we had access to three areas for half a day. The chapel has amble seating for a larger wedding but still provided an intimate feel for our smaller wedding. Everyone commented on the architectural details of the chapel especially the beautiful stained glass windows. The courtyard with the fountain was perfect for the cocktail hour. Inside the courtyard is a nice lawn area and a flowerbed. Our dinner was held in the hall but could of been held on the courtyard patio. The hall also has unique architecture and wood floors for dancing. We were very pleased with the Unitarian Society and the staff and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a very affordable yet lovely venue.
  • User945375 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Unitarian Society is a beautiful venue. Celina, the facilities coordinator was a wonderful to deal with and made planning a wedding for another state so much easier. My daughters reception was just perfect and beautiful.
  • kmcnapa
    Kristina Married on 05/05/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara was a wedding dream come true for us. Our dreams were to get married at an all in one location, since we got married on Cinco de Mayo we definitely wanted a Latin/Spanish mission feel. The venue was absolutely perfect for our needs and the grounds are so beautiful. Our guests all had a wonderful time and they thought the Sanctuary, courtyard, garden fountain area and dance hall were all fabulous. We even heard that our wedding was the best wedding they have ever been to. The staff made us feel special and they were very easy to work with.
  • S
    Suchin Married on 03/24/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    my wife and were couldn't have been happier with the unitarian society as our reception venue. the church itself is historic and the staff there made it really easy for us to plan. another plus-- there is a picturesque park across the street that is ideal for wedding photos. all and all, i would recommend the unitarian church to any couples who are seeking a spiritual ceremony in a beautiful location :)))
  • Latoya
    Latoya Married on 08/20/2016
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We held our ceremony at USSB August 20, 2016, and it was perfect. The pictures do not do this place justice (as beautiful as the pictures are). When I first visited the space in person, I teared up!

    Greg worked with us and answered all of our (many) questions quickly. The church was so beautiful on its own, we didn't feel the need to even decorate! They offered us a "getting ready room" that looked like an office space, but we only had access to it beginning at 1pm for our 3pm wedding, so we did not end up using it (as we were taking our first look photos at that time). Using other rooms/spaces would cost extra, as would using real flowers for the flower girls, or throwing "rice" (we were going to throw lavender, so don't worry about the birds!) for clean up.

    The park across the street would be a good place for photos (we stayed at the Simpson House Inn across the other street, so we used their beautiful space for photos instead).

    So glad that we got to use this beautiful space for our big day!
  • M
    Mary Married on 07/07/2012
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our daughter's wedding at the Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara's facilities was truly memorable. The courtyards and buildings are beautiful and very well kept. We used the lower courtyard for the cocktail hour and the main courtyard for dinner with dancing later in the Parish Hall. All of our guests raved about the beautiful setting. We could not have been happier! The Facility Use Coordinator was always friendly and professional. Her quick response to our emails made planning an out of town wedding so much easier for us. We would certainly recommend this wedding venue.
  • M
    Marieta Married on 06/22/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Best small venue is SB, all my family and friends enjoyed the church and the venue, my wedding turned out classy and fun.
    I highly recommend the USSB church.

    The staff are great, very helpful in everyway. Great location and tons of parking next to the great park.
  • User868731 2+ years ago
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    The venue was absolutely fantastic and one of the most beautiful locations in Santa Barbara we found (and we looked at tons!). Our guests couldn't stop raving out it's beauty and charm and the proximity to Alice Keck Park for wedding pictures was awesome. We were able to choose our own vendors and bring in our own decorations/alcohol/etc. which was a great money saver and huge plus. VERY great venue. The only negative (especially since it was an out of town wedding for us) was that there is no set-up or dropping off of anything prior to the afternoon of the event date and everything must be out the night of the wedding. This makes for a hectic morning/afternoon and event close - but everything went smoothly in the end and looked amazing so I guess I can't complain too much!!!
  • Brittinee
    Brittinee Married on 06/25/2011
    4.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I got married at the Unitarian Society of Santa Barbara. The venue is the cutest thing you will ever see! For the price, in Santa Barbara, I can't complain. I was given the space for use of a 10-hour span with the church, reception hall, and courtyard to use. My family really enjoyed the private and quaint ceremony. My only gripe is with the staff at the venue. The music person did not fix what we had asked of him the day before the wedding. Therefore, I walked down the aisle to music in the distance. I was sad about it, but for a college budget it was almost perfect. Now, it will be perfect if you hire all the necessary people (DJ, catering: Tamara's Catering is the best, flowers, etc). I would get married here again if I had to do it all over again!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message