Unique Sonoma Salon Reviews

27 | Sonoma, CA
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Unique Sonoma Salon

Recommended by 96%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • User6430621 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique, Was very gracious and accommodating to my needs by fitting me in on a Sunday December 27, 2015. I am in my mid 50's, and work 60+ hours per week and had little time to feel like a bride. Monique put me at ease immediately allowing me to relax and trust that I was in very capable hands. The morning of the wedding I went to see Monique where she worked her magic...She took me through the process step by step, asking for my input throughout...After she was finished with my hair and makeup, I looked and felt beautiful! Just as a bride should feel. Thank you Monique

    Sent on 02/29/2016
  • S

    Sheila · Married on 11/28/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Sonoma Salon did an outstanding job on my wedding day! The stylists made our everyone not just beautiful, but comfortable and relaxed too. We are so glad that they were with us. I also work as a wedding planner, and I have recommended Monique and her team to several clients in the past three years. They are simply the best!

    Sent on 02/24/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique and her staff are top notch! They were so much fun to work with and were open to any feedback (and really nice if we wanted to change anything). Myself and all my bridesmaids felt like a million bucks and looked it too! I'd 100% recommend Monique and her crew.

    Sent on 08/20/2016
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 09/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique really listened to what I wanted and she gave a Great hair cut too!!!

    Sent on 02/05/2016
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Mother and I had our hair and makeup done for my Mother's 70th birthday party at Buena Vista Winery. She did an amazing job on both our makeup and hair. We would absolutely recommend Unique for any special occasion!

    Sent on 02/03/2016
  • User6316805 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't' recommend Monique Javier more. She did my hair and makeup for my wedding and I was the most beautiful version of myself I could ever be. I'm pretty low key with hair and makeup and she guided me through everything. Monique also did hair and makeup for my mom, who had a more specific vision in mind and she made that happen to perfection. She also was super friendly and relaxed and made everything easy and stress free.

    Sent on 02/03/2016
  • Y

    Yvette · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In total, we were 10 ladies getting ready. Monique and her girls were awesome!! Showed up on time. They were not rushing with each person. Hair and makeup came out beautiful. My makeup lasted ALL NIGHT LONG!! One of my friends wanted her makeup done, and one of Monique's stylist (i forgot her name....sorry!) was able to fit her in. Absolutely loved them. Would definitely recommend them. :-)

    Sent on 02/09/2016
  • C

    Carole · Married on 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique and her assistant did their magic and made all of the bridal party look picture perfect. Mara, my daughter was breath taking.Her makeup and extensions were stunning. It is never easy for the beautician as the expectations are high and Monique went with the flow, adjusting her hair until she was happy. My hair and makeup as well as my 90 year old mother was age appropriate and made us look prettier than I have ever felt.
    It was worth the cost.

    Sent on 03/06/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique was the hair stylist and makeup artist for my daughter and I on my daughter's wedding day. Awesome work! The bride looked absolutely beautiful! Everyone commented on her hair and couldn't get over how amazing it looked. We were so fortunate to have found Monique. To have someone who knows exactly how to work with curly hair, as my daughter has, was a dream come true. Her makeup was perfect! As for myself, loved my hair and makeup. My family commented on how much they loved my hair. Wish I could have Monique work her magic on my hair everyday! My makeup looked natural not overdone. Monique and her assistant stylist did a wonderful job on the hair and makeup of the bridesmaids. Everyone was happy with the end result. Thank you to Monique for helping to make the wedding day so perfect.

    Sent on 10/01/2014
  • Erin

    Erin · Married on 09/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique is an exceptional talent and a gifted artist! Her job with my hair and makeup was flawless, everyone said I was a beautiful bride and I felt beautiful because Monique made it happen! Thank you so much, I felt amazing on my wedding day because of you!

    Sent on 10/11/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique and her team are simply the best. I tried another stylist for my engagement photos and I felt although pictures turned out well, I looked too heavy/not myself in person. Monique captures that perfect balance of enough makeup so that photos turn out great, but natural enough so that you are still yourself. She asks a lot of questions about your preferences/shows you the mirror as she went along so that you are definitely happy with the end result. She also gave me the lipgloss she used on me so I could keep my lips fresh throughout the wedding. The rest of the makeup stayed the whole night.

    Monique is equally talented with hair as she is makeup. She did an updo on my sister for her wedding, which looked amazing, and she did a half-up on my wedding. I wore mine styled and down for my sister's wedding, and I was happy with all of them. She is a hardcore perfectionist when it comes to the look you are going for, which is exactly what I wanted in my wedding day hair/makeup stylist. If you aren't sure about what you want, she is hair/makeup guru and will lead you in the right direction. She also left me and some bridesmaids with some take-home tips of how to get the look on our own. If I did it again, I would definitely use her, and seeing her again at my sister's wedding reminded me of that.

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • M

    Monica · Married on 06/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique worked with four of us to make us beautiful for my special day. She listened to us and got to know what we really wanted. This was a destination wedding for us, so being able to produce a look from someone else's vision was a must. She did it flawlessly! She was so friendly, too. I am very happy that I hired her to help me get ready for my wedding in Santa Rosa.

    Sent on 07/21/2014
  • C

    Cara · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique from Unique Salon was such a delight to work with for my recent destination wedding in Sonoma, CA. I found her online through wedding websites and due to her great reviews, I hired her after only a few emails! I did my run-thru the day before and she worked with me to create my wedding day hair and make-up and then dolled me up for my Friday welcome reception party. She and another stylist came to my hotel to help my bridal party get ready on my wedding day and we had a blast. We all looked amazing and even on a hot July day our make-up and hair remained perfect even after a night of dancing.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • E

    Emma · Married on 05/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique from Unique Salon in Sonoma couldn't have been more wonderful. The time we spent with her the day before and the day of the wedding were so much fun and she did everything to make us feel comfortable and at home - her and her colleagues were incredibly friendly and even more importantly, she did a great job on our hair and make up. We all looked amazing - and I don't normally wear much make up so was a bit nervous about looking too made up but I trusted her and she made us all look wonderful. I would definitely recommend her services.

    Sent on 06/11/2011
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 02/28/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Monique to do my hair and makeup for my entire bridal party for the day of my wedding. Monique is extremely punctual, which is SO important on the day of your wedding! I've been in a wedding party where hair and makeup take longer than expected and it is not a good thing...Monique and her team got my entire bridal party done with 30+ min left to do touch ups, and even squeezed in makeup for a bridesmaid who wasn't planning on having her makeup done.

    Monique truly listened to what we were all looking for. Whether it was looking as natural as possible, or doing a hairstyle with ellaborate braids, everyone was extremely satisfied with how they looked when Monique and her team were done. My makeup was absolutely flawless and lasted through the entire evening without any fading or smudges.

    Monique was very easy to work with, and was extremely accomodating. It is so important to surround yourself with fun and calming people on the day of your wedding, and Monique and her team made it feel as though we were just hanging out with old friends while we were getting pampered. I am so glad I hired her for my wedding and would do it all over again without hesitation!

    Sent on 04/17/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 09/27/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique was extremely professional and did a fabulous job. We did two trials beforehand which I definitely recommend. She's great at suggesting hair style options and playing around until you feel your most beautiful. She listens to your ideas and looks at your inspiration photos and does a great job translating that onto you. She's honest with you as to what looks best on you. She has a calm energy and generally very positive and funny, which is nice to have on a stressful day, such as your wedding day. Unique's other ladies were equally as fabulous and friendly and did an excellent job on my bridesmaids, grandma, and MOB. If I did it all over again, I would hire Unique Salon in a heartbeat.

    Sent on 02/28/2015
  • D

    Dawne · Married on 10/28/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was wonderful and friendly. They were professional, took their time and knew what they were doing! We had many many compliments on our makeup and hair. I highly recommend Monique and Kassi!

    Sent on 02/09/2016
  • K

    Kalika · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Unique Sonoma for our bride and large bridal party. The ladies are fun, created a great getting ready environment and absolutely stunning looks for everyone.

    Sent on 02/02/2016
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique did my hair and makeup for my wedding. She did an amazing job! I have curly hair so I was definitely nervous about finding someone who knows how to make it look great without making myself not look like me anymore, but she really knows what she's doing. I received many compliments on my hair! The airbrush makeup was amazing too.

    Monique and her assistant also helped with makeup and hair for my bridal party and my mom. She and her assistant made everyone look beautiful and really took care to listen to what they each wanted.
    Monique and Unique Salon more than exceeded my expectations!

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Monique was very responsive and helpful in planning my preview hair/makeup session and day-off session. Caysi did my hair and makeup for my wedding and did a GREAT job. My hair looked exactly how I wanted it (half up, half down, curly with a big braid).

    Sent on 02/14/2016
  • User2690773 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being a small salon, Monique is best to catch via email. We were from out of town and thus I never did a trial... so was nervous but my hair was awesome! Stayed up and perfect (She did some weaving technique with a string I had never seen before) You can also get your nails done there! I'm glad I found Monique!

    Sent on 06/22/2013
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 10/13/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Monique, the salon owner, for all of my wedding beauty needs. Monique is AMAZING – so glad that I found her! My sister-in-law recommended her, because I was looking for someone local in Sonoma who was willing to travel to our venue and do both my hair and my makeup onsite. Monique did just that – and she did it flawlessly! I saw her in August for my hair and makeup trial, which sealed the deal for me. I didn’t have a real good idea of how I wanted my hair styled, other than that I wanted to showcase my length and thickness. Monique was creative and skillful, and she styled my hair in such a way that it was down in the back, but secured so that it didn’t blow around at my outdoor wedding. After my trial, I decided to come to Monique for a cut and highlight before the wedding – turned out to be a great decision. She gave me a shape cut and the best dye job I’ve ever had in my entire life! Then I went ahead and scheduled my nail appointment with her too – shellac manicure and a pedicure. The nails were pricier than I anticipated, but for the convenience of one stop shopping, it was worth it! Monique uses natural products in her salon, and her airbrush makeup is mineral-based (better for your skin!). I was fearful that I’d end up not looking like myself on my wedding day because I rarely wear makeup in regular day life – I expressed this to Monique, and she kept my makeup very natural looking. She also did a great job with my individual fake eye lashes – they looked so real and natural! My hair, makeup, and nails all photographed BEAUTIFULLY, and most importantly, I felt like myself! Monique is a sweet, genuine, and talented person – I highly recommend her hair and makeup services, whether at the salon or at your venue. There is a travel fee to have a stylist come to your venue (industry norm, I believe), and her prices are middle of the road for bridal hair and makeup – but WELL worth it. Unique Salon / Monique is a fabulous choice!

    Sent on 11/13/2012
  • M

    Madeline · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I was very pleased with my choice of makeup artists for my wedding! They came to the house on time, and everyone looked beautiful and was done when we needed to leave for the church. My only problem was that Monique (who I did my trial with) ended up not being able to make my wedding day and sent someone else. This person did a great job but it was a little jarring at the last minute. However, we all looked great and I was pleased with the price for airbrush and lash extensions! My maids were able to describe what level of makeup they wanted and everyone looked beautiful but still like themselves.

    Sent on 02/02/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/14/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The wedding party's hair and makeup turned out great! The makeup didn't smudge and our hair stayed curly. We even got a lip gloss for reapplying throughout the night. The only downfall was that for the trial and the wedding day, they were at least 20 minutes late to show up. We still stayed on schedule and the hair person even had a bit of Spain time to do my aunts hair quickly, which was nice. I would still recommend unique sonoma salon, just factor in more time for your scheduling.

    Sent on 06/14/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review