UNIQUE LAPIN Photography Reviews

12 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for UNIQUE LAPIN Photography

Recommended by 100%

12

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Megara

    Meg · Married on 03/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible!

    Having come across Sheena’s work for an previous wedding at our venue, we were blown away by her candid but elegant style of shooting.

    After a quick Skype call, we were immediately put at ease by her easy-going manner and how she thoughtfully listened to our concerns. It was really important to us that our pictures didn’t seem posed and we were so relieved that Sheena was on the same page about capturing the spontaneous moments and highlighting our beautiful venue space (plus the few requisite family shots, too). We both instinctively knew that she was the photographer for us, and booking Sheena’s services was one of the easiest and best decisions we made during our wedding planning!

    Sheena was wonderful to work with in the months leading up to the wedding, from the quick and painless online contract & payment to the very thoughtful card she sent to us at New Year’s. Upon meeting her in person a few weeks before the wedding, her professionalism was readily apparent and she gave us great recommendations about the order and composition of the various “required” photos (as well as tips on the overall timing for the day that proved immensely helpful). We knew we were in good hands, and in the stressful few weeks before the wedding, seriously appreciated how easy she made everything.

    On the day of our wedding, Sheena showed up perfectly on time (after having arrived the day before to scout the perfect lighting and backdrops for our photos – wow!) and was composed, organized and efficient throughout the day’s events. In the pictures before the ceremony, she managed to coax natural smiles out of our young flower girls and ring bearer and put our wedding party at ease for some truly beautiful candid shots. Despite some limitations to shooting in a small church during our ceremony, Sheena truly captured some amazing moments, and she had such great ideas for our newlywed pictures that accentuated the beautiful outdoor surroundings at our venue. Perhaps even more impressively, she managed all of the obligatory family pics quickly so we could get back to the cocktail hour to mingle with our guests. This was no small feat, considering I come from a very large family (who had to be corralled away from the passed appetizers on multiple occasions  ).

    After the wedding, Sheena returned the digital preview and final set of wedding pictures super quickly, and we were truly blown away. The pictures were absolutely breathtaking (despite an overcast March day), and she managed to capture so much joy (plus some truly amazing moves on the dance floor). Her pictures all seemed spontaneous and full of life, and she truly did justice to our beautiful friends and family (as well as our venue). Her photography truly showcased the most beautiful and best day of our lives, and we’re so grateful to Sheena for her amazing work.

    We couldn’t possibly recommend her more highly. We absolutely loved working with her and hope to have other occasions to do so in the future, too.

    Sent on 07/17/2019
  • N

    Nina · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Sheena and her second shooter, Claire, for our engagement party, engagement photos, rehearsal dinner, and wedding (which took place at Current at Chelsea Piers). Our experience was incredible. Sheena and Claire are both kind, professional, and fun — and the images they produced for us are nothing short of amazing. We wanted a focus on candid images, and they captured our family and guests so beautifully. We received the photos from all our events exactly when Sheena said they would be ready. They put everyone at ease and blended into the events seamlessly. We would highly recommend Sheena and Unique Lapin.

    Sent on 11/06/2017
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheena was one of the first vendors we booked; we quickly fell in love with her style of documentary photography after browsing through all of the gorgeous weddings on her blog. Sheena was amazing to work with fro the very beginning. She is organized, proactive, responsive and thoughtful. Leading up to the wedding we did an engagement shoot, which I am so happy we did because it allowed us to get comfortable in front of the camera and have an understanding of what the wedding day would be like. It also allowed us to get to know Sheena better - we left wanting to be her friend because she's awesome! That shoot was a highlight of our engagement and we recommend all couples do it. On the actual wedding day, Sheena was a BOSS in the best sense of the word. Our timeline was impacted by a few delays but Sheena somehow managed to get our family shots in and make sure everything/everyone ran smoothly, which is not really in her job description. Sheena goes above and beyond. Having just received our photos, we can also say with certainty that having Sheena as our wedding photographer was one of the best decisions we made! Sheena has such a unique style and so beautifully captures those spontaneous moments you want to remember for the rest of your life. Yes, with Sheena you can also take your standard posed family shots, but you'll scroll through the images and see so many moments you forgot had even happened and the immense happiness you felt that day comes right back. We feel that's the marker of a special photographer. We would give Sheena the highest recommendation possible. We can't thank you enough, Sheena & Jeff, for being a part of our wedding day and allowing us to remember it through your beautiful work!

    Sent on 10/20/2017
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheena was amazing! My husband and I are so thrilled with how she captured our wedding. She gave us so many pictures to look through and was by far our favorite vendor to work with. She understood that we didn't want traditional and was beyond creative with her style of shooting. She was fun to be around the entire time! Very professional but made you feel like it was your best friend taking pictures of you. Thank you so much Sheena for incorporating your talent with our wedding day! Hire her she's the best!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • M

    Megan · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheena shot our October 2016 wedding at the Greenpoint Loft in Brooklyn and we could not be happier with every single photo she took!

    I found her through sheer luck, wading through wedding blog after wedding blog. I was immediately drawn to the style of her photography: the intimacy she captured, the moodiness, and the emotionally charged candid moments. I knew she was the one and emailed her immediately and was thrilled when she was available for our date.

    We had an initial consultation to discuss what we were planning for the wedding and our overall vision. We planned our wedding all on our own, so we were disorganized but Sheena asked all the right questions, gave us invaluable advice and provided guidance on our timeline and other preparations. We also had an engagement shoot with Sheena, something we had originally not planned on doing, but it was such a great way to practice being in front of the camera.

    On the day of the wedding, Sheena and her assistant Alisha were nothing short of amazing. I was running around maniacally decorating the venue, coordinating vendors and then getting ready (as I mentioned, no wedding planner) and they kept me on track the entire day. The photos they took are romantic and dreamy - exactly what we envisioned but better!! Every detail was captured, and looking through them is so exciting because they caught so many moments that I missed the day-of.

    I can't recommend Sheena highly enough. She was professional, fun to work with, super positive and happy at all times, and so easy to work with. She is incredibly responsive and organized, which is such a blessing when planning something as big as wedding. Her artistic eye is unrivaled and I hope to have reason to work with her again at some point!

    Sent on 11/30/2016
  • A

    andie · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheena is amazing, so sweet and talented. I would definitely recommend working with her!

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 07/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheila and her team are amazing. Sheila captures beautiful photos with a very candid style and gorgeous aesthetic, and is very easy-going and fun which helps couples posing for photos feel at ease as well. It was a pleasure working with her and would highly recommend her.

    Sent on 01/05/2017
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 09/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sheena and her husband were fantastic! They were professional and personable. Their photography style is beautiful. They made my partner and me feel like a million bucks! We highly recommend Unique Lapin!

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • User5511373 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique Lapin is a 5-star performer. Sheena not only has a wonderful eye, which can be seen through all of her work, but she was our favorite vendor to work with, hands down. She went out of her way to capture this wonderful time in our lives and I'm so happy that we chose her.

    In more detail to prove our point, the month of our engagement session almost always rained. Sheena was great to reschedule with and incredibly accommodating to make sure we got the best possible weather (and best possible photos). When we finally met up, the weather was lackluster (really gray/cloudy with poor lighting). Because of her attention to detail and dedication to a quality product, she asked that we schedule another date for her to come out and shoot us again. We were so appreciative, as this meant we'd be able to get beautiful outdoor photos, even if it rained on our wedding day. Worked out great.

    On the day of the wedding, she was flexible, patient and fun to be around. She captured all the shots we requested and they all came out so beautifully. We are so grateful. We would hire her over and over... and over again.

    Sent on 10/10/2015
  • User4689388 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express how lucky we were to find Sheena! Sheena is incredibly professional, kind and fun, and makes the entire process of taking wedding photos feel painless and genuinely enjoyable. She captured our day even better than we could imagine, bringing the joy, love, our beautiful farm and the incredible light that evening through in such thoughtful, imaginative and sweet ways. Thank you, Sheena!!!

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • User5090804 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel like the luckiest couple in the world to have worked with Sheena Kim! She exceeded our expectations on her professionalism and how great our pictures turned out in the end. She was really easy going. She knew when to direct, but then knew when to take a step back and let things happen naturally. We would recommend her to anyone who wants quality photos with a unique look. Anytime we had a question, she was able to respond in a timely manner. She always had a calm demeanor and was very focused. All the qualities you would want for your wedding photographer!

    Sent on 06/20/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 10/15/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing but the best things to say about Sheena and her work. She shot our engagement photos and our October NYC wedding at the Foundry in Long Island City and we have so many beautiful pictures, it's hard to even pick our favorites!

    Sheena shoots with a candid, photojournalistic style and her talent ranged from compelling family and friend portraits (she managed to get shots where *everyone* looks their best!) to quiet, intimate moments we didn't even see her capture. She put everyone at ease, got all of our best sides and was completely unobtrusive to work with. I didn't even notice her most of the day and yet she captured every moment! I got to see parts of my wedding day that I didn't even get to see on the day of and we are so grateful to have these memories forever.

    Unique Lapin exceeded every hope we had for our wedding photos and Sheena was easy to communicate with, responded immediately to emails, helpful in terms of scheduling our day-of timeline and was totally prompt and reliable. You couldn't ask for more, especially if you're looking for really classically beautiful but also interesting, modern photos. We couldn't recommend her more highly.

    Sent on 11/21/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review