Skip to main content
Weddings

Under the Oak Catering Reviews

Under the Oak Catering

Under the Oak Catering

Smithfield, NC
5.0 out of 5 rating, 30 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
30 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

30
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • J
    Jenn S. Sent on 12/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Good eats!

    Blake and his team do a magnificent job using local ingredients to prepare amazing meals!
  • P
    Pamela D. Sent on 11/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    All around excellence!

    Under the Oak catering was fantastic to work with for my son's rehearsal dinner. From their communications and planning to our visit for a tasting to the event was everything you'd want in a caterer. Delicious food with a superb event staff and coordination is first rate. Highly recommended!
  • Marissa
    Marissa T. Sent on 02/28/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 food & service

    The food is incredible. The tasting set the bar high but on our wedding day Blake and his team delivered!! Everything tasted absolutely amazing and we got so much positive feedback. The menu options are awesome and the company is a breeze to work with, highly recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Michaela
    Michaela B. Sent on 12/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    All our guests raved about the food.

    Under the Oak was top notch! Our guests ranted & raved about the quality of the food. As coming from a family of foodies, our wedding food was very important to us. Under the Oak did not disappoint. All the food (apps, buffet, dessert) was delicious. Would 100% use their services again and recommend to others. 5+ stars!
  • Marcia
    Marcia C. Sent on 10/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    delicious , amazing, helpful

    Under the Oak prepared us a wedding meal to remember. Perfectly cooked, presented. The staff work kind professional. They offered us a tasting that sealed the deal. The meal was the talk of all the guests.
  • Megan
    Megan B. Sent on 05/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Under The Oak

    We were so glad that we went with Under The Oak. A little bit of a smaller company around, but the food was amazing and so was the service. Laura was so helpful throughout the whole process. We got a great selection. We opted for a plated meal that our guests raved about. Highly recommend for your next big event!
  • J
    Jasmine Sent on 03/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious!

    We decided to have Under the Oak as our caterer for our wedding and it was the best decision. The food was delicious! Everything was so flavorful! The mashed potatoes and beef were personally a favorite. Even the cocktail appetizers were amazing! They were very accommodating for the various food restrictions of some guests as well as for the kids! Highly recommend!
  • Alexis
    Alexis V. Sent on 11/02/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food!

    All I can say is my husband and I are so happy with our food decisions and got so many compliments from our guest with how much they loved the apps and dinner selection! The team also did a great time bartending. Thank you so much for making such amazing food.
  • M
    Mattson W. Sent on 10/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food and catering team. Can’t speak highly enough!

    Under the oak was an amazing addition to our special day. They were a preferred vendor from our venue and we could not have been more pleased. On top of the food being incredible, they were the talk of the party; everyone kept telling us how good the food was.

    The tasting we completed prior to booking them made it such a tough choice because every item was so good. We chose to do buffet style and did their pan roasted chicken, BBQ pork, roasted fingerlings, green beans, and max and cheese. Their hors d'oeuvres were so tasty as well. My husband and I chose to have a few minutes alone right after the ceremony and their staff came in and gave us a plate so that we were sure to get a bite as well.

    Lara and her team were amazing from start to finish and highly recommend them for your big day.
  • Chris
    Chris L. Sent on 01/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious food to die for

    The food was just so delicious and to die for!!! Plenty for 75 people and even the service was just amazing. I wish i had taken pics of the food lol
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca R. Sent on 07/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They were amazing

    Very great food, and they were ready to sit down and talk about things we had questions on.
  • S
    Susan Sent on 11/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding buffet

    Under the oak was amazing! The food, the service, the clean up, they did it all. They went above and beyond what was asked if them!
  • Erin
    Erin B. Sent on 12/01/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Wedding Caterer in the Triangle

    There was one thing we knew for sure about vendors for our wedding day, that was our caterer: Under the Oak Catering. Since my husband had worked with Blake in the past, he knew that they were the only people he could trust to cater his wedding. We loved their dedication to local and sustainable ingredients, and they were more than happy to work with our family style menu. From the perfect cocktail hour with grand charcuterie display and passed appetizers, to the salads, and finally the entrees and sides, everything tasted delectable. To this day we are told it is the best wedding food our guests have ever had and they ask how they can get more of it. Don’t pass up the opportunity for Under the Oak Catering to be your wedding caterers, you will not regret it.
  • T
    Tassy P. Sent on 12/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most amazing and easy experience! Guests raved about the food! Would 100% recommend.

    One of the biggest priorities for our wedding was to have amazing and memorable food. Blake and his team exceeded expectations and had a huge variety of what we could choose from for our menu. We were very impressed with Blake's strong and unrelenting passion to keep his food restaurant quality to avoid the normal bland wedding food vibe and intense attention to detail. He did not disappoint.

    He was very honest to tell us if certain food options were not ideal for our venue to ensure the quality of what he was delivering. He has a strong pride in what he does and it shows in the results.

    Guests came up to us during the wedding to rave about how spectacular the food was.

    He was extremely responsive and also happy to work through several versions of the menu so that he could take into consideration our budget.

    He was extremely flexible and accommodating even during a last minute venue change. He always found a way to make what we wanted out of our wedding day work whether that be not having enough space as he would like or having to prepare our food in a venue that did not normally allow outside vendors. He never complained or made us feel less than extremely taken care of. He took all the worry away.

    His staff even prepared us some of the cocktail hour apps to take after the event to ensure we could taste everything.

    Coming out of the reception, we had several friends interested in hiring him for their wedding and other events coming up soon. We would highly recommend him to anyone looking to break out of the boring wedding food box and really enjoy a high quality meal that everyone will remember.
  • B
    Billie R. Sent on 12/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    We have had Under the Oak serve a number of private events in our home and they are excellent! Our guests rave about the food and how approachable they are.
  • A
    Andrew S. Sent on 12/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing food with a down home charm.

    The freshly sourced food was out of this world. The geode was amazing. The entire place had a southern charm.
  • G
    Gerry C. Sent on 11/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing local farm friendly vegetarian meal

    Truly amazing food and service. We wanted to feature local seasonal food, and Blake put together an amazing and creative vegetarian feast for our wedding celebration. Dropped the food at our house, warning up in the oven. Prompt, professional, delicious, worry-free. We love Under the Oak!
  • J
    Josh Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend.

    Great food, service, and just an overall joy. Blake is amazing host and chef.
  • T
    Tracy C. Sent on 12/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Experience!

    Attention to detail is impeccable and the quality, flavor and presentation of their food is incredible! I highly recommend Under the Oak Catering....they are amazing!!
  • R
    Risa T. Sent on 11/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!!

    Foods were everything great and delicious!! Also, we ordered a wedding cake at Idocake. The wedding cake was so delicious too! All our guests told us Food and cake everything were delicious! Usually, wedding cake is so so, but the wedding cake was so good! So, I strongly recommend!!!
  • R
    Rachel B. Sent on 12/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding Flavors and Service

    I helped plan a wedding for a friend of mine and they had chosen Under the Oak Farm to cater. The food was breathtakingly delicious! Most weddings I've been to, including my own, the food is ok, the cake is ok, and it works, but nothing to write home about. Blake and Megan might fool you with their youth and small business approach, but they are a culinary powerhouse to say the least. The food quality was surprisingly good for a wedding. I wish they had been in business when I was married. By far the best food I've ever had at a wedding and I only experienced the buffet style. Then the cake.......oh my......speechless.....It was a work of art and tasted better than it looked. Its not often you actually remember the food you eat, but I can taste that cake right now just thinking about it! Now I'm hungry :-) I can only imagine what their plated weddings are like. I have already recommended them to others and have heard nothing but praise from those who chose to use them.
  • M
    Matthew Sent on 12/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    First class from soup to nuts

    Had my 40th catered. Menu, decor and service was all tailor made to fit what I wanted. Delicious would be an understatement in describing how magnificent the food was! Service was so gracious. Even my picky family members could stop telling me how wonderful everything was!
  • T
    Tabitha A. Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!!

    Blake and Megan are great to work with! They provide personal, professional, friendly service. Their food tastes great and the presentation is beautiful. They source responsibly, using local, sustainable vendors. I would highly recommend them!!
  • R
    Richard F. Sent on 12/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Over all experience with Under the Oak was amazingly simple!

    Our experience with Under the Oak couldn’t have gone better. The food, presentation, and service was phenomenal. Megan is one of the best pastry chefs in this area and her cakes are to die for. It was a big hit and everybody was talking about “THE CAKE!” Blake sources LOCAL products in a farm to table setting which was key for us. He is a very creative chef. We really appreciate what this culinary couple is doing in our community and would recommend them for any type of catering needs, small or large.
  • M
    Morgan Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Local, sustainable, so delicious!

    Blake and Megan put their very best into their work and it shows through Under the Oak. The charcuterie board and pickles in particular are AMAZING!! Their food is high class without being intimidating, always delicious, and you can feel good knowing you’re supporting local small farmers and sustainable practices. I’ve had the pleasure of having an Under the Oak experience in multiple settings (work events, date nights, catering) and you can tell that Blake takes the time to tailor his menu based on the event and the client’s wishes. You can’t go wrong with Under the Oak for your special day.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours