Weddings

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee Reviews

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee

Newport Beach, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 83 Reviews
View more information

83 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 83
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

46 User photos

Sort by:
  • Cory
    Cory B. Married on 12/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Don't think, just hire him

    I can't say enough good things about Tyler. Don't even think about it and just hire him, he will single-handedly make your wedding day less stressful, and significantly more epic. Starting from when we hired him, he was a calming presence, very responsive, and gave us the confidence that everything was going to be OK. At the wedding itself, he is the single best wedding resource we've ever come across. The cocktail hour piano / sax, and the dance floor sax + DJ is an experience that every single guest will remember and wish they had though of at their own party. Again, don't think about it, just hire this man.

    Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee's reply:

    Haha right on thank you so much Cory! What an amazing night & many blessings to you and your bride Zoe!!!
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey K. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Experience- An Absolute Must Hire Vendor

    Tyler Varnell is an absolute wedding/ event experience- we couldn't have picked a better vendor to play at our wedding. Not only is he an amazing musician, but he was able to become the star of the show and really rock the dance floor (or in our case, a second story balcony over looking reception). He can set a classy, romantic, vibey tone during cocktail hour and then turn around and play hits next to you on the dance floor during reception. He was even able to learn a few songs that were special to my husband and I to play at our wedding. Our guests were in literal awe at the talent and showmanship of Tyler- have you ever heard a sax play EDM hits?- this guys brought it! If you're not hiring him for your wedding, its a total missed opportunity.
    Did I also mention his communication was always prompt, positive, and top notch? What more can a couple ask for?!
  • Dana
    Dana Married on 10/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing!!!

    Tyler was excellent! He made our wedding extra fun and extra special. Tyler was so nice, so calm and so professional! I would highly recommend him for any event!
  • Dahlim
    Dahlim K. Married on 10/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best vendor we ever found

    OMG. Where do I even begin?!

    Tyler is AMAZING and so multi-talented. His piano brings out the emotion during the softer moments in the ceremony. His sax brings the perfect cocktail vibes right after the ceremony. And finally his DJ/MC/surprise sax appearances bring an energy to a wedding that is sooooo fun. You cannot find a better person for this than Tyler.

    On top of that, he is so organized, friendly, and responsive. He is such a professional and a great guy all around. Hiring Tyler was the best decision we made for our wedding, and I’m so glad we found him!!!
  • Felicia
    Felicia M. Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Blown away

    Wow. Tyler was a dream come true on our wedding day. We knew we wanted to hire Tyler two years ago but COVID had other plans. After postponing our wedding an extra year, Tyler was one of the first vendors we hired. The talent and professionalism that Tyler has is unmatched. Every single one of my guests is still talking about Tyler’s performance. He made our wedding feel intimate and he tailored music according to our preference. He even customized a first dance piece to make our every dream come true. We cannot thank Tyler enough and we hope to anybody reading this you hire him for your special day. I promise you won’t regret it. Thank you Tyler!!
  • Christine
    Christine T. Married on 08/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best dj/emcee/saxophonist/pianist

    If there's one thing you can do to make your wedding memorable, its hiring Tyler. He's so talented! We had him as our pianist as guests walked in and our saxophonist during cocktail hour/reception and he stole the show. All our guests were amazed at how well he handled the crowd, handled the live music and mp3 all while being the emcee. His list of music is quite wide range too so he can play for any crowd. We postponed our wedding 4 times and all four times, Tyler was so quick to respond giving us tips, ideas, and simple encouragement. He was definitely the smoothest vendor I had who even convinced the owner the of the venue to allow live music during reception (there's a certain sound decibel limit at night). Overall, great experience. Hire this guy, you won't regret it.
  • Autumn
    Autumn W. Married on 07/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!!

    Tyler was the best addition to our wedding! He brought the energy & all of our guests absolutely loved him! Thank you so much Tyler!! We had the best night of our lives!
  • Megan
    Megan O. Married on 07/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tyler is the best!

    We hired Tyler for our wedding and couldn’t be happier that we did. He MADE the wedding! His energy and talent made for an incredible night. All of our guests can’t stop talking about him. Highly recommend the saxophone for the best after party experience.
  • Rafael
    Rafael R. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gets the party GOING!!!

    The number one thing we wanted for our wedding was live music. At first, we were looking for a band, but when we found Tyler, we knew we had to have him play saxophone/emcee/DJ at our wedding. Tyler put on a show and our guests are still talking about him weeks after the wedding reception! He was a fantastic communicator leading up to the wedding and is very informative. He knows his music and his presence during open dancing was truly felt. He made our wedding a dream come true. We look forward to having Tyler be a part of our celebrations in the future!
  • Catherine
    Catherine M. Married on 05/29/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Ever!

    Our family worked with Tyler Varnell for our son’s wedding on May 29, 2021 and he made the reception a blast! From the cocktail hour where he complemented the music with his saxophone to the reception where he provided lighting, music, emcee and more accompaniment…Tyler was AMAZING! Our friends and family commented that this was the best wedding that they had ever attended and Tyler was a huge part of that experience. Our son and daughter-in-law enjoyed planning their playlist with Tyler and he made sure to read the crowd on the dance floor (which was packed) when he chose each song. It was a magical evening!
  • Kia
    Kia B. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing and life of the party!

    Tyler was absolutely incredible! Everyone just loved him and he made the party! He was so fun and definitely recommend him!
  • Brianna
    Brianna H. Married on 05/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Must book tyler!

    From planning the details of the big day to the performance on our big day, Tyler was absolutely perfect! He is so professional and organized, yet full of enthusiasm and positive vibes. My now husband and I's family and friends have not stopped talking about how fabulous he was! We booked Tyler to play piano and saxophone, DJ and MC throughout our wedding ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Each section of the day was different, but cohesive and smooth. During the reception, he had almost every guest out of the dance floor. We HIGHLY recommend that you book Tyler for any of your events :) We plan to book him for sure in the future!!!
  • Casey
    Casey H. Married on 05/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Tyler Varnell is a superstar!

    WOW. Tyler Varnell is a superstar. We hired Tyler at the recommendation of our DJ (Eric Morales of Extreme DJs) after mentioning we wanted to add an element of "live music" even though we wanted to hire a DJ for the evening. We hired Tyler to play Cocktail Hour solo and then accompany Eric during the reception -- dinner, dancing and after party. I'm not exaggerating when I say every single guest approached us during the wedding to tell us how incredible Tyler was. He is engaging, fun, talented and knows how to get the party started and keep it going. His song book covers all genres, and he played a variety of music that appealed to all guests, regardless of age (our families loved when he played Bruno Mars, and my girlfriends went INSANE when he played "Mr. Brightside" -- he can do it all!). He also played during our wedding party grand entrance and our first dance -- which kept our guests engaged. If you are looking for entertainment to truly "wow" your guests, hire Tyler. You won't be disappointed!!
  • K
    Katie P. Married on 04/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing! Best thing I did!

    Tyler and crew were awesome! They made our wedding so much fun! Can’t wait to have another event and book Tyler!
  • S
    Sofia S. Married on 04/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Spectacular!

    We get to forever brag about having THE best entertainment at our wedding. Tyler began the ceremony by playing beautiful piano music and once cocktail hour began, he played saxophone. He had the best music and was not afraid to jump on in on the dance floor with us. No mess ups, schedule ran smoothly and he was very professional along with his assistant. So honored to have him on our special day, everyone was raving about him, so many people asked how to book him for future events. Tyler Varnell has our highest recommendation and made our day absolutely spectacular and memorable
  • J
    Jess T. Married on 04/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Phenomenal

    Tyler is one of those people that you interact with one time, and it becomes apparent within minutes that he is someone you’d want to hang out and be friends with after your event. The interesting thing about Tyler is his ability to fill a space with his humble, kind and charismatic personality, and he just becomes the embodiment of the musical atmosphere he creates. It felt almost as if his presence wasn’t real. You can certainly feel his energy of happiness while he is jamming in a crowd of people on the sax, and those vibes go out to everyone lucky enough to be in those moments. There’s not much else to say other than he made our wedding truly special, one that my wife and I will hold near and dear to our hearts for the rest of our lives. We are convinced at this point that Tyler is a wizard because nearly a month after our wedding our friends and family are still talking about how incredible he is. You put a spell on us and our peeps. Thank you, Tyler, for all you do, and we look forward to booking our next milestone event with you!
  • A
    Andy H. Married on 03/26/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible! Showstopper! Exceeded ALL expectations!

    We engaged Tyler as our sole musician for our wedding and he completely blew it out of the park! He's an absolute professional - exceptional and prompt communicator, generous with his time, very knowledgeable about the do/don'ts for music on the big day, highly engaging, and did I mention, extremely talented! We had an 18mo engagement and from the onset of our time getting to know, and working with, Tyler he was a pleasure to work with. Even throughout the stresses of COVID, Tyler was quick to calm our nerves and provide solutions. He puts so much time and effort into his prep and it was wonderful to see it all come together on our wedding day. Tyler even provided us with a (very) thorough script to ensure that we captured every moment of the wedding (this was a huge relief!). We had a very small wedding and Tyler helped us curate a great resume of songs for display on the sax, piano, and DJ/Emcee. By the end of the night, one of our guests even asked Tyler (directly) if he would continue performing for an offsite afterparty! Highly recommend and can't wait to reach out to him in the future for other events! Thanks for everything, Tyler!
  • V
    Victoria C. Married on 03/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Sax Player and Reception DJ

    Tyler was an absolute hit! Loved his live music at the ceremony and he was fantastic at our reception. I wish we could hang out with him all the time! Truly talented! He is professional and made our day so special. You will not regret having him for any event! We love you Tyler!
  • E
    Emily K. Married on 12/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent DJ/Musician!

    Tyler did an amazing job at our wedding! Tyler was a great communicator and he went above and beyond to reassure us that our wedding day would be perfect. Tyler is the perfect musician for your wedding or special event as he is the perfect blend of DJ and live musician. Everyone raved about the live saxophone at our wedding. It was the perfect addition to our special day. Tyler was also a great emcee. He kept the party going and our guests loved his friendly personality. I would highly recommend hiring Tyler for your wedding or private event!
  • S
    Stephen G. Married on 11/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing! Absolutely the best DJ/emcee/and musical talent


    Tyler rocks!!! One word to describe Tyler: INCREDIBLE! From our very first conversation Tyler was a pleasure to work with. He made the whole process so easy for us, and helped us to navigate things and timing that we had not even thought about, which made everything stress free. His musical talent is amazing, from elegant piano for our ceremony, to jaw dropping saxophone and rocking our dance party with his DJ set! Tyler's performance throughout the night blew our guests away. So many compliments were made about Tyler. I will say we had one little issue arise between the venue changing times on us, and it was going to be difficult for Tyler to set up everything in time. But Tyler took our hiccup and rolled with it and made the best of a tough situation. Professionalism, courtesy, and mind blowing talent are some great ways to describe our experience, which truly made our day special! Thank you Tyler!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/27/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Game changer

    Tyler was INCREDIBLE! From our first FaceTime meeting to the day of the wedding he was just great! He gave us confidence in that he knew what he was doing and our guests absolutely loved him! He took Covid precautions seriously & truly made our wedding the party we wanted! You’ll truly be missing out if you don’t hire Tyler!
  • M
    Mina Y. Married on 09/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply put - tyler is amazing

    Tyler is the man. Talent, Personality, and Professionalism beyond imagine. My man didn’t only play a list of some 40 English songs, no, he learned 3 separate arabic songs and played them FLAWLESSLY. As if he was a native. The sax can be described as an extension of tyler and he knows it soo well as if its part of his body. He stayed longer than he should’ve, probably cuz he enjoyed our company 😂 and cuz he cares about the overall feel of the event. Our wedding was elevated from classy to magnificent because of his touch. So many people thought that the sax was just an elegant element to the overall feel. Amazing Tyler.
  • Brianna
    Brianna A. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Dance Party!

    We booked Tyler over 2 years ago for our wedding originally planned in 2020, when we had to postpone we made sure to make our new date around Tyler’s schedule as we had to have him play at our wedding. We have been waiting over 2 years to hear him play on our big day and it was well worth the wait! He made it feel like a concert on the dance floor. All of our friends and family were blown away by him and it was the most unbelievable experience. We can’t thank Tyler enough and highly recommend him for your big day!

    Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee's reply:

    Awwwww these pics are awesome! What an amazing night! It was truly an honor to serve you & Anthony through music on your big day :))
  • E
    Elizabeth D. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    10/10 would recommended!

    Tyler was wonderful to work with ! He cared about the details of our wedding, was easy to communicate with, and was on time! Our wedding guests admired his work, and he really set the ambiance for our wedding!