Skip to main content
Weddings

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee Reviews

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee

Tyler Varnell - Saxophone + Piano + DJ/Emcee

Newport Beach, CA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 121 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
121 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

121
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

61 User photos

  • Lindsey
    Lindsey T. Sent on 06/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The DJ/Sax & Piano Player you didn't know you needed!

    Tyler is AMAZING. We found Tyler through our wedding planner and we are so glad we did. He is super responsive and deeply cares about making each couples wedding day important and tailored to them. For us the music was a huge part of our wedding day as we are both heavily into music as well as our parents. Tyler spent over 2 1/2 hours on our final call (originally meant to be an hour) perfecting the set and perfect types of music to play for each sequence of events throughout the entire wedding day. He created such a magical atmosphere from start to finish. The ceremony music was timed beautifully and the cocktail hour music was amazing when he started playing sax! He was a huge crowd pleaser all night long, especially on the dance floor. My husband and I are big into EDM and boy did he deliver the last hour playing music that had everyone so pumped up to the point where our wedding had ended and our crowd was SCREAMING for one more song! The day was absolutely amazing and we cannot thank Tyler enough for going above and beyond in his delivery and performance of music for our special day.
  • T
    Tory C. Sent on 01/25/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Amazing!

    Tyler was amazing! He was such a pleasure to work with and is incredibly talented. Hiring him was one of the best moves we made for our big day. Thank you, Tyler!

    Tory & Erik
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Mitchell
    Mitchell F. Sent on 01/08/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Part of our Wedding

    Tyler was the best decision we made for our entire wedding. He did an absolutely incredible job from cocktail hour through the final dance floor jam. Everyone loved him and it made our wedding so much more memorable, we will forever remember Tyler's amazing performance.

    If you are thinking about a live band and are recommended Tyler (like we were), do it and you will not regret it! He worked through all of our crazy requests and nailed everything from top to bottom, he even made custom versions of our first dance and parent dances, so cool.
  • Alanna
    Alanna R. Sent on 11/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely crushed it!!!!

    Tyler was absolutely amazing to work with. We had a very specific vision for all the different aspects of our day and Tyler absolutely made them come to life and more. He spent over 3 hours with us on a call just to make sure we covered everything we wanted. We heard from so many of our guests how much they loved him and how he really brought the party. From piano to sax, we couldn't have asked for anything better. We would 100% recommend him for your wedding!
  • A
    Andrew S. Sent on 11/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tyler and His Music were the star of the show!

    Tyler was the highlight of our wedding reception - everyone from all ages loved his music and got everyone dancing! He was so easy to work with, very professional and responsive and Tyler will go out of his way to make your special day memorable and unforgettable. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone getting married. An amazing human not just a world class saxophone player and DJ!
  • O
    Olivia H. Sent on 09/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best vendor!

    We absolutely LOVED having Tyler DJ/emcee our wedding! He brought such amazing energy from Day 1, and helped us to create an incredible environment at our wedding. Guests absolutely loved his live saxophone and piano, and multiple of our friends have asked for his contact info for their upcoming events. We cannot recommend Tyler enough!
  • KATHY
    Kathy T. Sent on 07/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dj/musician/saxophonist everrrrr!

    Tyler was a HIT at our wedding! We had guests that fell in love with him! I highly recommend Tyler for your next event! He was also very thorough prior to the event with zoom calls to find out what music to play. LOOOOOVE IT!!!
  • E
    Elisa F. Sent on 06/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highlight of our wedding

    Amazing, professional, and talented. Tyler was honestly the highlight of our wedding and I can't even begin to count the amount of people that asked us for his info for their future events, etc. He is incredibly attentive to detail and makes sure to communicate throughout to give you the best experience possible. I would hire him in a heartbeat, and definitely recommend you look no further if you're looking for a live music component!
  • N
    Natalie S. Sent on 06/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tyler is amazing

    He literally MADE the wedding. Such a great way to blend DJ & Band!!! Couldn't recommend more highly!
  • D
    Dean S. Sent on 06/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We couldn't have asked for a better DJ for our special day

    We had the most incredible time at our wedding, and Tyler played a huge part in making it such a memorable night! Tyler created the exact vibe we wanted and kept everyone on the dance floor all night long. His music selection was spot on, catering to all our guests' tastes. What made it even more special was when Tyler displayed his incredible saxophone skills! His live sax added a fun and unforgettable touch to the evening. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ for our special day.
  • Kendall
    Kendall H. Sent on 06/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tyler made the entire wedding!

    A friend recommended Tyler after attending another wedding he performed at and WOW! All of our guests were on the dance floor all night and would not stop raving about him the next day. He was professional, attentive, and really took the time to understand our vision. He even created a custom remix for our exit recessional song. The SAX was the hit of our wedding! If you're on the fence, book him!
  • Julia
    Julia S. Sent on 04/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    100000000/10

    Tyler is the ultimate triple threat- live music (sax + piano), DJ, and emcee. I originally met Tyler at a friends wedding and loved him so much, we decided to fly him to Arizona for our wedding. You know how I know he KILLED IT? More people were looking at him vs me (the bride). I promise, you will not regret hiring him. LOVED Tyler.
  • Macie
    Macie B. Sent on 03/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unique, memorable and personal

    Tyler took our extremely unique vision and captured it perfectly. From a sunset ceremony with the sweet sounds of his piano to the lively saxophone and versatile DJing, he was truly incredible. Beyond just checking off what we asked of him, he interacted with guests, took time and effort to ensure he knew what was important to us, and he was relatable and fun. 10/10 would recommend him for your wedding or event. He is amazing!
  • Broc
    Broc B. Sent on 09/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Overall amazing vendor to hire!!!

    We had the pleasure of working with Tyler Varnell as our DJ, emcee, and sax player for our wedding, and the entire experience was absolutely incredible! From start to finish, Tyler was a true professional, and he exceeded all of our expectations.

    Tyler's website and social media profiles showcased his talent, but experiencing his music and emceeing skills in person was something else entirely. He brought an incredible energy to our wedding, and he had the entire crowd on their feet from the very beginning. Tyler seamlessly transitioned between his roles as DJ, emcee, and saxophonist, creating a dynamic and engaging atmosphere throughout the event.
    One of the highlights of the evening was Tyler's saxophone performance. His musical talent added a unique and beautiful touch to our wedding. Our guests were blown away by his skill, and many of them mentioned that it was the first time they had seen a live saxophonist at a wedding. It was truly a memorable and magical moment.
    Not only is Tyler incredibly talented, but he's also a pleasure to work with. He listened to our preferences and made sure to incorporate our favorite songs into the playlist. His ability to read the crowd and adjust the music accordingly ensured that everyone was dancing and having a great time.
    Perhaps the best indicator of Tyler's excellence is the fact that our guests are still talking about him. We've received countless compliments and messages from our friends and family, and my mother-in-law even jokes that we should throw another party just so we can hire Tyler again.
    If you're looking for a DJ, emcee, or saxophonist who will make your event truly special, look no further than Tyler Varnell. He's not just a musician; he's a wedding entertainment extraordinaire. Thank you, Tyler, for making our wedding day unforgettable!

  • Sarah
    Sarah G. Sent on 02/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING - Do not pass up on this opportunity!

    Tyler was nothing short of amazing. It's almost a month past our wedding and we are still getting compliments on our DJ/Emcee/Saxophonist. He was such a wonderful surprise for our guests and created an awesome vibe for the whole night.

    Tyler's preparation was also a dream. He had forms for us to fill out and followed up with meetings to make sure he captured the type of music we liked and the event sequence of the night. Half the wedding was egyptian and he was even able to roll with those punches AND prepared sax accompaniment to arabic songs. He ALSO partnered super well with our zaffa procession and our other vendors.

    I have already and will continue to recommend him to everyone who wants a great wedding! Thank you, Tyler!!!
  • H
    Hayley A. Sent on 12/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best investment we made

    Tyler was hands down the best investment we made for our wedding. Every single person couldn't stop talking about how good the sax guy was. He was accommodating and communicative and gave great insight and suggestions. He knew exactly what to play, when to play it and MC'd the night flawlessly. He is essentially a 3 in 1 deal and a memorable addition to any wedding and event. I want to get married again just to have him play! Thank you Tyler for making the night unforgettable!
  • A
    Austin W. Sent on 11/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire.This.Man!

    WOW! Do yourself a favor and book him! Tyler is absolutely amazing and made our wedding day so special. My body is still sore from dancing so much. His sax/DJ skills are unmatched! I can't imagine our wedding without him. He took the time to get to know us prior to our wedding and made sure everything we wanted was incorporated into our day/night. Thank you so much, Tyler!
  • Joseph
    Joseph V. Sent on 10/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tyler is the greatest!

    If you've come across this review, all I have to say is: Don't hesitate and book him while you can! When my wife and I saw Tyler perform and DJ at my best man's wedding, we knew that we had to have him at ours! Even though our wedding was about 15 months later after meeting Tyler, we contacted him the next day so that we can retain him for our wedding day. We had him perform saxophone for our cocktail hour and reception and he was a hit! People could not stop talking about him the day after!

    Communication with Tyler was effortless, and he was able to work alongside our lifelong DJ to provide a very smooth transition between mp3s and Tyler's track list. He was even able to learn songs that wasn't on his track list, but was mandatory for our special moments such as first dance, mother-son, and father-daughter dance. Having Tyler play the saxophone live during these moments made these even more memorable! I wish I could have another event so that I can party to Tyler's music again! Maybe that wish will come true, as many of my guests grabbed his business cards and stated they want to book him for their events: maybe even just a family party! Trust me all, he was that good!
  • Kassia
    Kassia V. Sent on 10/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best everything

    I cannot stress enough how lucky my husband and I were to have Tyler for our wedding! Seriously, he's an all-around entertainer. Live saxophone/piano, DJ, and emcee?? What more could you ask for?!

    First off, during our planning meeting, Tyler was so attentive to what we exactly wanted for the music and vibe we wanted for all the different parts of our wedding. He even recreated music I wanted for our ceremony exit song; I wanted to have the ceremony exit song (with the live music) from the movie Love Actually, and it was difficult to find the song online, but he was able to recreate it so beautifully! He really matches the vibe you want for your wedding, and made it so personalized for us. He created so many atmospheres for our wedding: from classy/romantic to dance party/rave. And all with his saxophone mixed in!!!

    If there was anything we felt like we needed guidance on, his suggestions were AWESOME (i.e. placement of lights/music during the wedding/reception so that guests would feel more involved and pumped up to party). We could tell that he really knew his craft.

    Tyler even had some add-on lighting packages (up-lighting, light batons, etc.) to make our wedding look amazing! He was even able to accommodate us by coordinating with some pyrotechnics that I rented from another vendor, so that it would synchronize with the music! All around best best best music dude. **Make sure to get Tyler's lighting add-ons, they're SUPER WORTH IT**

    Anyways, everyone at our wedding loved Tyler! Our engaged friends (and even our pre-engaged friends) are planning on having him at their weddings! He really made our wedding incredibly special. If you're looking for an awesome and unique music vendor to keep the party going for your wedding, Tyler's your guy! I would rate 6 stars if I could.
  • K
    Kira R. Sent on 10/07/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    14/10 Recommend!!!!

    All I can say is..... WOW!!!!!!!! Tyler truly made our wedding day. I know people came to see us get married, but they didn't realize they were coming for a show and a dance party. Tyler frickin rocked it the whole day!!

    From the keyboard before the ceremony, to you and our family friend singing making me hysterically cry down the aisle, to rocking it at cocktail hour (and remembering the songs we really wanted to hear), to perfecting mcing, to your At Last suggestion on the dance floor, to CRUSHING IT ALL NIGHT ON THE DANCE FLOOR.

    I have never had more fun or felt more alive. We knew Tyler would be great, but he exceeded all expectations. Tyler truly made our wedding perfect. You have no idea how many people loved you. My friend's husband, who I have never seen dance at a wedding (not even his own) was on the dance floor ALL night. Also I am so happy we went with the lights and light wands. It truly made it an epic dance party. The curation of the playlist was perfect and the mix of songs all night was great for everyone.
  • B
    Bret Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A true professional - and he actually cares!

    Tyler made our wedding different, classy and memorable. Everyone absolutely raved about Tyler and his sax! Absolute game changer! Recommend him without reservation.
  • B
    Bridget Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Game Changer!

    Having Tyler play at our wedding ceremony and reception was hands-down the best decision we made in planning our day. I emphatically recommend him - his music, approach, professionalism, care and enthusiasm were all highly exceptional. Our wedding felt so fun and classy thanks to Tyler!
  • Belinda
    Belinda Sent on 08/24/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Decision We Made - Hire Tyler!

    Tyler is one of the FIRST vendors we booked almost a year before our wedding. That is because we were immediately certain about that choice. It is rare to find someone who can be a charismatic emcee, lively sax player, and romantic piano player all at the same time. He provided romantic pre-ceremony music on live piano, playing both classic and top 40 hits. For our grand exit, he wrote his own live sax set to accompany our song choice and welcomed us into marriage at the end of the ceremony aisle. The guests were shocked and so excited to find out he played the sax too. The rest of the night was SUCH a hit as he found the right pockets during cocktail hour and the reception to come out into the crowd and jam on his sax. Tyler plans well in advance of the event, so the night went smoothly from start to finish. He knew how to read the room and found the right moments to play soft music for the crowd to mingle and talk, and the right moments to get the crowd jumping on their feet. After my wedding, so many of my guests told me that Tyler was the highlight of the night. My friends and family said they will require Tyler to play his sax at all wedding events moving forward because no other wedding will be the same! Most importantly – Tyler is a nice, sincere, stand up guy. He truly listened and remembered what songs I mentioned during our meetings. During my wedding, I smiled and looked at him when he played a bunch of my favorites throughout the night. It’s little moments like that I will forever remember and appreciate. It is a true talent to do what Tyler does. He does it with grace and is always fun and professional. You will not regret hiring Tyler for your event -- It was one of the best wedding decisions we made!!!
  • J
    Jessica S. Sent on 09/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    11 out of 10

    If you're looking to have an absolute blast at your wedding Tyler is your guy!! He went above and beyond to make our wedding night so much fun! Custom song for our first dance incorporating the saxophone, amazing communication with us the whole year, great energy, and super talented! Our guest were all amazed and we felt like we were at a concert at the reception. Nobody (including the bride & groom) wanted to leave the dance floor! 11/10!!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours