Weddings

Two Chicks in the Mix Reviews

Two Chicks in the Mix

Two Chicks in the Mix

Los Angeles, CA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 14 Reviews
View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 14
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

20 User photos

Sort by:
  • Ana
    Ana O. Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing bakers and delicious cake

    AMAZING!!! I reached out to Two Chicks In the Mix and spoke with Malaka in search of a wedding cake baker for my wedding this past June. She was responsive and timely with her communication. We procrastinated and decided on a one-tier cake a little over 1 month out from our wedding originally with a different local baker. However they left us waiting for responses for days and as long as a week. With 3 weeks to go and anxiety riding high, I thought to contact Malaka again and inquire about a cake, noting how crunched we were for time. Malaka was swift with her response (that same evening) and offered us a price for a decorated 8 inch one-tier naked cake (to serve 35) with florals plus delivery to Sunol for a very reasonable price!! We immediately cancelled with the first cake baker and finally relaxed knowing we were in good hands. Their business locally sources and decorates all their own cakes with florals which I love and support. Our flower vendor gave us a bit of resistance about this because they were afraid outside florals would be lower in quality and negatively affect their branding if the incorrect business was credited for the cake flowers on social media. We reassured them that Two Chicks would be tagged for the cake flowers. We then gave Two Chicks the same color scheme and flower/greenery type that our florist would use and trusted them to take care of the rest. Well lo and behold, the flowers looked absolutely GORGEOUS and seamlessly blended in with the rest of our wedding decor. The cake was absolutely delicious and retained its quality even after sitting out for 4 hours on a relatively warm spring day. We received tons of compliments about how delicious the cake was (we went with the Lavender and Earl Grey). We loved our cake so much that we ordered cake for Father’s Day which my father loved and was incredibly delicious. I would highly highly recommend Two Chicks not only for wedding cakes but for any occasion. They are true professionals and bring consistency, quality, creativity, uniqueness, and passion into what they do. Support this black-owned business! We will continue to do so. Thank you so much!!
  • Sw1943
    Sam B. Married on 10/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    They go above and beyond!

    Like everyone else says... "I NEVER write reviews" but Two Chicks in the Mix has gone above and beyond for our COVID disaster of a wedding. Original wedding was in Northern CA and we ended up moving our micro-wedding to Southern CA and TCITM didn't even bat an eye at moving our order down to their LA bakery. I have also had a million and one changes regarding what desserts we are allowed to bring to the venue, and they have been so accommodating.

    These tough times truly show business owners true colors, and Malaka and Erica have been nothing short of incredible (and that cannot be said for all my vendors!) Thank you ladies for being fantastic to work with but of course, having the BEST desserts I have ever tried. We appreciate you!!
  • F
    Fannie Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Those s'mores cupcakes!

    We ordered a dessert bar for our wedding from Two Chicks in the Mix. We first met Malaka at the University Club’s wedding vendor showcase. The samples tasted great, and we set up a time to do a tasting in Oakland. We ended up ordering red velvet brownies, s'mores cupcakes, rhubarb parfaits, ginger molasses cookies, and a small cutting cake. Malaka was great at helping us think through flavor profiles which combo of desserts to serve. She was also accommodating when we wanted to add some gluten-free desserts to our order.

    On the day of the wedding, the desserts were delivered on time and laid out beautifully, and they were a big hit with our guests. Plus, we could get a deposit back when we returned the cake stands for our display, so we didn’t end up having to pay extra for the beautiful arrangement! (This isn’t the case with a lot of other vendors.)
  • J
    Jeff Married on 06/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Desserts, Wonderful Service

    We hired Two Chicks in the Mix to provide all of the desserts for our wedding. We got a beautiful, three-tier wedding cake and pies of eight different types. Everything was wonderful. Malaka was friendly, responsive, and a pleasure to work with. The cake and pies were both visually stunning and delicious. Malaka included delivery of the desserts to our wedding venue and set up everything on our dessert table, complete with flower petals and pie/cake stands. Thank you so much for helping to make our wedding special.
  • A
    Andi Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When we first started planning our wedding, I knew I wanted to work with Two Chicks in the Mix. I tried their pies at a friend's wedding and they were delicious! We wanted traditional Hong Kong style egg tarts for our wedding dessert, but also wanted an option for our vegan and gluten-free guests.

    We ordered 5 pies from Two Chicks in the Mix, which were a mix of vegan and gluten-free pies. The guest devoured the pies and luckily there were a few slices left for us the next day which were absolutely delicious! I still am dreaming of the brown butter sweet potato.

    We also ordered a pie sized Hong Kong style egg tart which is what we had in lieu of a cake. We were a bit nervous ordering a giant egg tart since they are usually small, but not did they make us the perfect giant egg tart, it tasted amazing and cut beautifully for our picture perfect moment. My Hong Kong Chinese wife approved! Not only were the pies tasty, the price was very reasonable and well worth what we received in terms of quality and taste.

    Two Chicks and the Mix were very communicative and responsive during the entire process. They arrived right on time to deliver our pies and even accommodated our last minute request for cake stands and serving utensils which totally saved the day. The stands they delivered went perfectly with our decor.

    We were so happy with our wedding pies and egg tart and we look forward to ordering more delicious desserts from Two Chicks in the Mix in the future.

  • J
    Jeremy Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My partner and I were referred to Two Chicks by a friend of ours who highly recommended their service. That recommendation was well-deserved! From our initial consultation with Malaka over champs and chisme, to all of our correspondence leading up to the wedding, Malaka was thoughtful, intentional, responsive and just fiercely on top of everything! We ordered a three-tiered wedding cake; the Lemon Olive with French Lemon Curd as the top and bottom tier and a delicious gluten-free Chiffon cake with Blackberry compote as the center tier. In addition to this, we realized two weeks before the wedding that we may need a larger order to accommodate some last minute invitations. Malaka was on top of it and recommended we add the Orange Marmalade cupcakes to cover the additional attendees. Suffice it to say, these were the first to go. I was very sad that I was unable to get one in time but the feedback from our guests was nothing short of glowing. On a personal note, my partner and I were very intentional about supporting local businesses of color here in the bay area and are proud to have been able to work with Malaka and the Two Chicks crew. It goes without saying, we will be repeat customers. We both highly recommend Two Chicks in the Mix for any occasion... wedding, dinner parties, etc. Can't wait to work with them again!
  • T
    Tina Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiance and I met with Malaka for a wedding cake consultation. Though ultimately we decided to go with a different bakery, I can't speak highly enough of our experience with Two Chicks in the Mix!

    Malaka was extremely prompt and responsive in scheduling a consultation with little notice (less than 2 weeks). She was warm and friendly from the beginning and we immediately felt at ease, as if we'd been long lost friends. The cakes were delicious and adorably decorated: red velvet with cream cheese frosting, funfetti, and lemon olive oil cake with french lemon curd. The lemon olive oil cake took our breath away; it was light and luscious and the curd was smooth and tart. Everything was delectably paired with quite possibly the most amazing Swiss meringue buttercream I’ve ever had in my entire life. It provided the perfect balance sweet and rich and creamy without being heavy or cloying. I’m now convinced that it’s the only frosting worth having on a cake.

    Whether you’re searching for your wedding cake or a birthday cake or, heck, just a cake just because, you will not be disappointed with the exceptionally high quality service from Two Chicks in the Mix.
  • M
    M Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were a pleasure to work with! They were super attentive and accommodated our every sweet need. Communication was easy and prompt. Our cake was a hit! It was beautiful and delicious! I definitely recommend them. Thank you again Two Chicks In The Mix!
  • Y
    Yenny Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was that annoying customer that put in an order last minute, and on top of that, I had to reschedule the order!
    I know that, Two Chicks in the Mix get real busy, so I was nervous to see if rescheduling and delivery would even be an option. Thankfully it was!

    I ordered an yellow layer cake with vanilla buttercream frosting and fresh strawberries. the cake was for a friend, and although I didn’t get to take pictures of it, the cake was DELICIOUS.

    Their prompt response and tasty decorative desserts has made me a customer for life.

    I would highly recommend Two Chicks in the Mix, if you’re looking for exceptional quality.
  • M
    Marissa Married on 05/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have purchased cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, pies, and have taken taken classes with Two Chicks in the Mix and each experience has been lovely. The cakes have all been for special occasions and each time they have accommodated my dietary restrictions as well as my extra design requests without any issue. The baked goods are always beautiful and delicious, and many friends ask where I get them from, and they soon order from Two Chicks in the Mix for themselves.
  • B
    Bo Married on 05/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Two Chicks in the Mix has been above and beyond in redefining what's possible. Their cakes and all bakery items are extremely innovative as well as delicious beyond I can put into words. I have entrusted our birthday masterpieces to Two Chicks over the past couple years: caramel cake, Mexican chocolate cake, lemon olive oil cake, and strawberry cream cake. The flavors are top notch. The designs are delicate and lovely. Their cakes are made with lots of love and care and you can certainly feel it. Most importantly, it has been a blessing to work with them--very professional, efficient, and flexible. I highly recommend Two Chicks in the Mix and their heavenly goods.
  • A
    Anayvette Married on 11/16/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Two Chicks is our go-to for cupcakes, cakes, pies & cookies! They’ve catered various of our organizations holiday parties, birthdays and graduations. Everything they make is incredible and they are always super communicative
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Two Chicks in the Mix created a masterpiece for our wedding - we gave them a very basic concept (flavors, color scheme, theme) and the cake they made was more delicious and more gorgeous than anything we could have imagined. Their prices are competitive as heck, but don't let that scare you away. They were a dream to work with, and we'll definitely be using them again for events in the future.
  • Sonia
    Sonia N. Married on 10/13/2019
    Rating 2.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Unprofessional and my cake FELL APART

    I am a foodie and we wanted a vegan cake. Our cake tasting with Malaka in Oakland was the first vendor meeting we had for our wedding, as Two Chicks in the Mix was one of the few bakers with *vegan options advertised* we found in the Bay Area. We tried three flavors of cake, and chose the vanilla cake with fresh strawberries as our favorite. I was actually surprised by the freshness of the strawberries and asked if this was how the wedding cake would be. Her response was “Yes! The cakes are not baked far in advance like some other bakeries, and so we can use fresh berries." I asked about several flavor options, such as adding cardamom, vanilla bean, or coconut to tie in the Indian dinner. Malaka told us that she could experiment with some options. A week later, we received an email with the summary of our choices, and… it was completely incorrect (wrong flavors, wrong head count, wrong cake size). That was the first red flag. I responded with the corrections, but expressed my doubts to my partner, and began searching for other options. Long story short, my partner really liked Malaka (he gets attached) and we liked the idea of supporting a female POC-owned small business. So, several months later, we agreed that we would go with Two Chicks in the Mix, but wouldn’t deviate from the flavors on the menu because of my lack of trust. There was a vegan coconut cream frosting option, so we went with that and the vanilla cake and fresh strawberry filling. We also made the design very simple, as we had a personalized cake topper that we wanted to highlight.

    Fast forward to the wedding day. As I am getting dressed for the reception, the wedding coordinator hesitantly comes into the room with some news. The cake is leaning over badly and is about to fall over. Apparently Malaka had told her that this was her FIRST TIME making a vegan wedding cake - news to me! The only recourse was to remove the bottom two layers for serving and display the smallest top layer only, with the topper. I fully trust my coordinator, so I agree. I saw pictures of the cake, which included the wrong type of flowers and was badly sunken in. The frosting also was not smooth and the design was sloppy. When the time for cake cutting arrives, the coordinator tells me we need to do it NOW as the top layer has a giant crack in it (that she had artfully arranged in the back of the cake so no one would notice - you can see it in the attached photos). We cut the cake, fed each other a small bite (too much excitement to really taste the cake), and moved on with the evening. The coordinator sent the cake home with us, so we were able to try it the next day. When we ate the cake again, we realized that there was barely ANY strawberry in there, and the ones that were were mushy and gray - NOT FRESH as she had told me it would be. Also, the frosting had no coconut flavor (either was not coconut or could not taste it). The cake tasted… okay? But, I wondered if it was even the same cake we had at the tasting, and whether the one we had was actually vegan. I did reach out to Two Chicks in the Mix (she had also sent an email with an apology about the “leaning” cake) and was offered a small refund - I asked for 50% back but got much less. However, I can’t get back the opportunity to have a beautiful three-tier cake at my wedding. I will note that we got a couple of other non-vegan desserts (red velvet brownies and pecan pies) and we heard good things about them. Still, for the lack of professionalism in getting our order right and advertising vegan cake that was not in their repertoire, I DO NOT RECOMMEND this bakery for your wedding. It’s just too big of a risk for an important event.