Twin Lakes Reviews

14 | Hurley, NY
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Twin Lakes

Recommended by 72%

14

3.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.6
  • Professionalism 3.4
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.9
  • Average response time 3.5
Sort by:
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 10/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars isn't even high enough. We just got married last week and everyone is still talking about how beautiful it was.

    This venue is one of a kind. Everything about it is fantastic. The staff, the food, the location, the fire pit. There is nothing I could possibly complain about. Gail and Barb were so accommodating and helped us every step of the way.

    Every vendor Gail recommended exceeded our every expectation. The band, the florist, the baker. I mean everything was perfect.

    Thank you so much for letting us have the best time of our lives.

    We will definitely be recommending this place to all our friends and family.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • User4094997 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful place for an event. Terrific views and setting made the day extra special. Staff was very accommodating to everyone. Would highly recommend to anyone looking to have a wedding at such a beautiful place.

    Sent on 05/12/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin Lakes was a hidden jewel!!! The feeling of Dirty Dancing at your wedding. The ceremony site was amazing, nesseled at the bottom of the hill surrounded by the trees and the lake shining in the background. The food at the reception was delicous!!! Many of my party goers said it was the best wedding food they had ever had!!! They were also very receptive to my mother's Celiac Disease (intolerance to gluten) They had no problem going over the menu with me (numerous times) to insure that my mom could enjoy all of the food everyone else was!!! The cabins on the property are a little dated, but adorable and well worth being able to stay on the premise was a huge upside for many of my guests!!! Thank you Mark and your team for a great day and many memories!!!

    Sent on 12/08/2011
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark and Barb and the entire team at Twin Lakes were amazing! They took care of everything for our special day. I received so many compliments on the food. Every item for the cocktail hour and everything on our dinner buffet was delicious and amazing!!!!! The bar was fully stocked and the drinks were never watered down. They even made special plates for the two children who attended and wanted plain pasta! The grounds are very well kept and VERY clean. Every single cabin on site has it's own bathroom, TV, AC and heat. We even got the honeymoon cabin with the heart shaped jacuzzi included in our package! My husband and I couldn't have asked for anything more!!!

    Sent on 09/06/2011
  • E

    Elena · Married on 08/16/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we saw Twin Lakes, we knew it was the PERFECT spot for our wedding! The scenery is beautiful, and the resort is straight out of Dirty Dancing. We had our ceremony by the lakeside, our reception in the pavillion, and a huge bonfire on the lawn. Plus, we and our closest friends stayed onsite in the 14 cabins! Gail and her team created the perfect weekend for us!

    From the start, we knew we could trust Gail to create a spectacular experience. When we asked what was included in the open bar, she pointed to their bar and said "all of that." The venue almost under-values itself, even their highest-end package was less than we wanted. We ended up adding on multiple passed hors d'oeuvres, a seafood station, and a pasta station with a chef attending for cocktail hour. For dinner, they accommodated our request of a family-style meal, so that everyone could sample all of the bounty. Everyone raved about the food! The wine selection was also excellent.

    Leading up to the big day, I wish I could say Twin Lakes was everything I needed. Their responsiveness left a lot to be desired. I felt like the team was understaffed and overwhelmed with the summer business. We had to ask questions multiple times and waited weeks for answers. However, everything was settled in the end, and went off without a hitch! Gail is clearly working hard with her team to bring the place up to Manhattan standards (and we're pretty demanding)!

    The only other negative of the planning process was the lack of hotels in the area! It was tough to find a hotel able to accommodate our block: the nice ones require a two-night minimum, only a lower-end hotel was able to give us a block for one night.

    In the end, I can't imagine having my wedding anywhere else! This spot is just paradise, a perfect escape from the city for us and our friends, and convenient enough for all of our out-of-town guests who made a weekend out of the trip and enjoyed the local sights.

    Highly recommended!!!

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 04/19/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Absolutely recommend Twin Lake ! They are by far the most flexible place you can find. What ever you want to do as long as it's legal you can do it. We had the bonfire option and it was not a disappointment, our photographer got some of the best shots of the night there.
    We were married on a Saturday and the Wednesday before it had snowed so we had to make contingency plans for all the "What if's" and Gail and Barbara were fantastic about putting our minds to ease for the day of :)
    If i had one complaint it was that the hot water and heat went off in some of the cabins and bungalows. Gail was very proactive the next day and discounted anyone whose rooms were affected.
    The food is AMAZING!!! we had the sea food station (raw bar) and Mashed potato bar, and our guests could not stop raving. The food was delicious and no one complained, they had fantastic vegetarian options and helped you make sense of your menu. We did the Brunch the next morning and it was again amazing!! the egg station was Flawless, their head chef was there and he is fantastic!!! I cannot say enough how much we loved his food!! Again SOOO accommodating!!!
    We visited seven places and Twin Lakes was everything we wanted and the price was beyond acceptable. We highly recommend them!

    Sent on 06/11/2014
  • User4312201 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Twin lakes was absolutely wonderful as a location and caterer for our wedding. The only issues we had were minor ones pointed out after the wedding and reception was over. They were the wait staff being a bit too pushy in taking plates prior to guests finishing their food, as well as hovering around the tables, waiting for people to finish. That aside, the bar staff and planning staff were absolutely amazing.

    Sent on 10/24/2014
  • User3466848 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were very happy with Twin Lakes as our wedding venue.
    Gail (manager) was wonderful to work with leading up to the wedding, and Barbara was so great the day of - making sure we had everything we needed (and being very pro-active which was great) and kept us on schedule.
    We had our ceremony lakeside and then reception in the pavilion, for about 145 guests. It was the perfect size - and we also had a big after party at the bonfire area complete with DJs and more lighting. We were up till dawn!
    The pool is great, and we organized a brunch on Sunday morning for guests to come eat and lounge at the pool. Worked out well.
    Food was very good, we had an all gluten-free menu and were very happy. Basically we just picked items off of their regular menu that were already gluten-free.
    We did not like their house wines so upgraded and they were able to get us 2 reds and a white from a list that we provided = very good!
    We LOVED staying on site and had our friends stay in the cabins too. We used other B&Bs and Kingston hotels for family and other friends (with kids, etc), but selected friends who we thought would come for both Fri and Sat nights, and enjoy the after party. We packed the cabins and it was so wonderful to not have to drive anywhere.
    The owner Steve is great too - when we were doing our photos during dinner, he gave us a bike for a prop and it ended up being my favorite picture.
    They were flexible with check-out time too which was great.
    The per person charge is quite a bit, but, they really managed the day very well and we didn't have to hire a day-of coordinator.
    Very happy!

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 08/29/2009

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The peole at Twin Lakes where great! We had a all outdoor wedding and they have a beautiful setting. They were very helpful through the whole process. The food was great!

    Sent on 09/12/2009
  • S

    Sonja · Married on 09/21/2013

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Twin lakes made our ceremony amazing however leading up to it was not quite as smooth. We arrived for our scheduled meeting the week before the wedding and the site manager had no idea who we were and did not have out information readily available...panic for any bride!! The day of the wedding our bridal suite to get ready in had a clogged toilet and we never got a drink brought to us as promised! Some small disappointments but overall we were satisfied and had a beautiful wedding!

    Sent on 01/20/2014
  • User2705876 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We thought this was a great place and value in the long run it turned out that nothing is waht it seems. I started planing my wedding with them 8 months in advance booked the and never heard from them once. I had to call to make all the plans to set up times to met and finalize everything. which was more then one phone call b/c no one would call me back. the day of my wedding i was told id have a bridle sweet set up with food and drinks ready when i arived once i got there they lights where not even turned on there was no food drinks or even heat on. once they brought food over it was cold and we could not drink b/c we had no glasses. as far as the room being set up not ONE thing was the way i asked it to be the center pices where wrong things were not placed where they should have been. more then half the flowers i bought for them to use they didnt untill my mother said something then helped put them out. which all this was told and writen down by 2 different people. they ran out of aps for my cocktail hour and had my guest wait. and then at dinner ran out of food as well and had my guest wait yet again. when i talked to the person in charge all she did was nod her head. i asked when i can pick up my things the next day she said someone would be there at 7:30 and shed be in a little later we waited till 1:30 pm to make sure she was there. but when i walked in she was not and we had stuff locked in the office which we could not get. i was very unhappy which is sad first off b/c it was my wedding day but b/c i thought it was such a nice place

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • User4438128 · 2+ years ago

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    My fiance and I attended a wedding here a few years ago and immediately thought of it when we started looking for venues. We have looked at a few other locations, none of which really suited us, we were prepared to put down a deposit that day.

    I scheduled a tour with Gail for a Sunday morning. My fiance and I drove over 2 1/2 hours for the meeting, WITH our 16 month old son. When we arrived we informed the girl at the front desk that we were there for a tour, she had no idea that we were coming and had to go searching for someone to give us a tour. The maitre d' Barb ended up giving us an impromptu tour of the grounds that had still not been cleaned for the wedding the night before. Barb was wonderful and as helpful as she could have been in that situation, however she told us that we should reschedule with Gail for another weekend because she was unable to answer our more detailed questions. The office was also locked and Barb was unable to give us the information folder we would have normally received.

    We left our number and were told that Gail would get back to us the following morning, come 3pm I called and spoke with Lynda who told me that Gail does not work on Monday and she would call or email the next day. Well...it's 5pm on Tuesday now and still have yet to hear from anyone.
    I spent a while searching for reviews of this venue on line and while overall they rank 4/5 stars. The more recent comments are not great and the name of the women whom people praised for her wonderful service and attention to detail is Rebecca NOT Gail. So obviously this woman is a newer hire and clearly cannot handle her job.

    I'd love to be able to attach our emails back and forth so you could see the conversations that happened before her blowing us off. We had made very specific requests for a weekend wedding package in their peak season.

    Oh well, I guess we will just have to go somewhere else with our $25,000.

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • H

    Happily · Married on 10/09/2016

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    My husband and I went here after looking at many places; it was a little old and musty, but we were met with smiles and our event was to be outside so we gave it a shot. We were so excited and booked it on the spot. We had been emailed pricing, then when we arrived we found their pricing was more expensive; we showed her the email and she said it was an error, but it was their mistake and they would honor it. We read the contract carefully, and I asked that she enter a clause that basically stated 'if THEY cancel, we are entitled to our deposit back' (the opposite was stated in the original contract). Well, THANK GOD we did! One week later, we mysteriously received our deposit back with a letter stating they were 'closing for renovations' and could no longer host our wedding.

    My opinion? We had Columbus Day weekend booked at an older price for a relatively small event (we even mentioned this to her because most "holidays" had minimum booking requirements) and the owner saw our contract for a cheaper price and told her to cancel it.

    We were distraught at the time, but we ended up finding an INCREDIBLE and unique location in Kent, CT on a horse farm and couldn't have been happier!

    Their loss!

    Sent on 08/03/2017
  • T

    Theresa · Married on 10/14/2017

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    I wasn't going to write this but I decided it's my responsibility to other brides. The people who own this place are lazy dishonest opportunistic scam artists. They tried to pass around blame when things were seriously wrong and up to the day of my wedding tried to trick me into things. 3 months before my wedding they claimed the employee who had me sign a contract did it incorrectly and that I had to pay tax and ceremony fee. (Not happening.) They also tried to add on cost for heating my outdoor wedding, a week before the day. They constantly tried to argue with me about my nontraditional ceremony and decor. They provided practically nothing and cleaned nothing before the day of my wedding. I wish I had sued them as soon as they tried to renegotiate my contract. Please, save yourself. The beautiful view is not worth it.

    Sent on 01/29/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review