Town of New Canaan - Waveny House Reviews

10 | New Canaan, CT
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Town of New Canaan - Waveny House

Recommended by 75% of couples

3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.0
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 3.0
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

10
Order by:
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Waveny House proved to be the most perfect, unique, and breathtaking location for our wedding. We held our ceremony in the walled garden- my walk down to the garden felt so beautiful. The house itself and the outdoor terrace allowed for the most fun cocktail hour and easy flow. We even used the grounds to take pictures both early in the day and later at night. We didn't do a formal sit down since the separate rooms kept guests apart. But once everyone ate, the mingling continued! We kept the dancing going inside all night long, the bar we put outside so people could get some air and had easy access to their next drink! The breakfast nook off to the side was the best location for dessert. Our final exit in the overhang was fun and epic. Our supervisor provided by the Waveny was extremely helpful, making sure only guests were in our area. He was so helpful and positive all night long. We can't wait to return here for years to come reliving our day.

    Sent on 05/31/2015
  • M

    Mandee · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at The Waveny House and it was amazing! Our guests loved the mansion and how old it was. The ceremony was in the walled garden and was absolutely beautiful. Our reception was inside and we loved how nice it looked! We had so many options to take pictures outside and they came out great!

    Sent on 05/17/2013
  • A

    Ariane · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Originally we planned an outside wedding but due to the inclement weather we had to move the wedding inside. But what was lovely about this venue is that its inside is as gorgeous as its outside. Bringing in our own vendors was fun but can be very pricey if you don't discipline yourself. It got a little hot because of the lack of AC but that might have been more because of all the dancing that was occurring. The staff was very professional and very easy

    Sent on 07/13/2015
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/27/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Waveny House was the first venue we looked at, and stopped our search shortly after. It was a perfect blend of old school charm and natural beauty. We did our ceremony in the Walled Garden, and our guests dined al fresco on the patio. It was perfect and beautiful. We had a little spat of rain right before dinner, but luckily everyone could go inside the house, get a drink and chat. The staff is friendly, and what I love is that they were never pushy like many wedding vendors are. They explained the house, the rules and expectations clearly. The only thing I wasn’t expecting was the police watchmen fee- I knew we had to have/pay a cop to be there, but our quote originally from Waveny House was much lower than we ended up paying. We were unaware the roof would be under construction at the time of our wedding, but it looked fine in pictures. All that being said, we really loved working with everyone there! It was a huge perk that we could leave decor there before the wedding and pick it up a few days later. Another perk is the 10 hour rental!

    It was a perfect place for us and I love that we can go back and visit whenever to relive our favorite day!

    Sent on 08/07/2017
  • User3325782 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Waveny House is a beautiful location, very well taken care of, and ideal for an event. Their kitchen is very well supplied, and the accents are amazing, as is the garden. Plenty of parking. When you rent, all you are getting is the space and use of their equipment: terrace, most of the first floor, suites upstairs, option to rent the walled garden (which we did, but it rained so we didn't use it but used the outdoor enclosed terrace instead); tables, chairs, table ware, kitchen equipment, etc. You will probably have to spend on additional rentals, like table cloths or seat covers, and anything extra your caterer might need like serving trays or ice bins. I'll say it again: the place is beautiful, especially in late spring/early summer. Bear in mind also that the main floor is broken into three rooms: one main room (seats 80), 2 side rooms (seat 40 each).

    Sent on 06/14/2013
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/13/2014

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our event was moved inside due to the weather which wasn't very spacious. We had the tables that our guests were sitting at scattered in 3 different rooms along with our food, alcohol and dessert tables. For as big as this venue is the layout of the inside isn't really ideal for a wedding. May be a great place for a smaller party.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • Joan

    Joan · Married on 06/09/2001

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Waveny house is part of a town park - so you have to be a resident or related to a resident to book popular wedding dates.

    Sent on 01/13/2007
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 09/26/2015

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    If you're a resident, this place is great -- it's really accessible and SO inexpensive. They're not very good at communication and they're pretty inflexible, but... the space is gorgeous, so it's a pretty decent trade-off.

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • User5527675 · 2+ years ago

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I absolutely loved the venue for my wedding day! It was gorgeous and a fairty-tale.

    However, the staff is unnecessarily inflexible, hard to communicate with, uninterested in helping, and bent on adding any possible expense. It requires a policy officer from the town - it will cost you roughly $500 - and you don't get your bond back until it's paid. The staff member on duty the day of the wedding and police office sat round and watched movies. What a waste of our money.
    Abiding by all their insurance regulations cost us over $1,000 to our wedding budget as they aren't normal requirements for most vendors.

    Sent on 10/18/2016
  • A

    angry · Married on 05/01/2009

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    HORRIBLE HORRIBLE--Don't use this space. The people who run it are racist and horrible. We had the worst night of our lives here for our wedding when the janitor serving up as the main "host" harassed my family and nearly physically assaulted by fiance. We wrote note after note to the New Canaan Chamber of Commerce and to others and never received a reply--not even an apology note. Do yourselves a favor--this place is bad news with bad kharma.

    Sent on 12/22/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review