Skip to main content
Weddings

Tom Ham's Lighthouse Reviews

Tom Ham's Lighthouse

Tom Ham's Lighthouse

San Diego, CA
4.6 out of 5 rating, 65 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
65 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating
93% Recommended by couples

Awards

65
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

25 User photos

  • C
    Crisy Sent on 08/15/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful evening wedding at Tom Hams

    From the start of the process the staff at Tom Hams were a pleasure to work with. Laugan and Lisa were prompt with their responses to our questions and requests & helped make a wedding and reception that we planned in 3 months a success. You just can’t beat the location of Tom Ham’s. Having downtown and the bay as the back drop of our ceremony and reception made for the perfect night for us and our guests. Beth, along with the other staff made sure we were taken care of serving us our drinks, food, and cake for our reception. Our guests kept telling us in the couple weeks that have passed since our wedding how perfect the location was, how much they enjoyed the food, and how smoothly the evening went. We would highly recommend Tom Ham’s as a place to hold your wedding.
  • Tanya
    Tanya Sent on 10/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding on the water at Tom Hams

    We chose Tom Hams because we love San Diego, and have many memories there as a couple. We live 2 hours away in the IE and planned everything over email with Tom Hams. Their communication was exceptional, they always responded quickly. We went to the venue twice prior for food tasting and walk through. The food was delicious, all our guest complemented how good it was. Since this venue is primarily a restaurant the food preparation is superior. It was nice being on the water. I would like to thank their coordinator Laugan for all her help! We will cherish our wedding memories forever, thank you Tom Hams!
  • T
    Tamara Sent on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue!

    I am still on cloud 9 after having my wedding here. Planning a wedding in the midst of a pandemic was not fun by any means and it was difficult to have fun. But, Courtney was absolutely amazing. She truly turned our experience around. The day was absolutely flawless. That view is something I will dream about for the rest of my life. Every penny is extremely worth it here. The food was delicious and plentiful through the buffet. Beth and our bartenders had amazing hospitality. People treated my husband and I like king and queen when we were getting wine service during our seated dinner. They made sure we had all appetizers, cake and buffet. If i had to do it all over again, I would pick Tom Ham's again and again!! You won't regret it with that view and amazing balcony.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Charmaine Sent on 06/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Stunning view and delicious foods

    I highly recommend Tom Ham's Lighthouse for any events! The view is absolutely stunning during the day and especially in the evening! The food was delicious, from their appetizers, main entrees and their chef's dessert special of the week or month? They also have the best deals for big events - the quality of foods, space and breath taking view!

    Had my wedding here back in April when restrictions for COVID were still heavily limiting us from having huge parties. However, Sharon and her team made it happen for us!

    Sharon was ALWAYS, I mean ALWAYS available for us to speak to regarding every detail, changes or any random question that a bride must have to make sure our wedding will happen accordingly. She sure took very good care of us even with her busy schedule! Sharon was such a doll!!! Very sweet, approachable and professional!

    Absolutely 100% recommend Tom Ham's Lighthouse and Sharon's team! Thank you for accommodating our wild and crazy family and friends
  • Janet
    Zachariah O. Sent on 04/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue, Extreme Professionalism

    Brooke @ Tom Ham's Lighthouse is AMAZING. She was friendly, responsive and extremely helpful. This venue is so affordable with breathtaking views and incredible food options. After booking this venue, I'm so excited for our special day!
  • Katie
    Katie E. Sent on 03/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    This was the perfect waterfront wedding venue for us, we love the food and beautiful views there. When the pandemic started we thought we were going to have to postpone. Tom Ham's Lighthouse had thought of everything and we only had to make a few logistical changes like a smaller guest list, outdoor reception, and no dancing. Our wedding actually turned out to be even better than I imagined. Perla was so organized, professional, and helpful throughout the whole process. We were able to have our reception outdoors and our guests absolutely loved the view and the food. The wedding ran perfectly and all of the staff was so kind and professional. I highly recommend Tom Ham's Lighthouse for the most beautiful wedding day!
  • Marissa
    Marissa Sent on 09/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding venue

    Planning a wedding during COVID is no easy feat but you CAN have the wedding of your dreams with vendors like Tom Ham's. Pre-Covid, TH was always my dream wedding venue. We snagged our date after touring the venue. You cannot beat the location and view. Wow, I am now so glad I chose TH. With all of the regulations put in place there was a time I was worried we would have to postpone or cancel entirely. TH stepped up to the plate and was as cautiously optimistic as I wise that we could pull off a safe and beautiful wedding! Perla is truly incredible! From the beginning, she was organized and detail oriented. We were able to truly have the wedding of our dreams because Perla and TH were able to work with us to create it. Due to COVID, we had a smaller guest list and the biggest change we made was having our reception on the ceremony site. TH did a beautiful job, guests were seated at their reception tables upon arrival. Then after the ceremony, they set up a king's table under the arch. We were able to decorate the outdoor space with papel picado and string lights. We also set up AMOR marquee letters. The wedding was absolutely stunning and I think it was because we were able to have it all on the ceremony site!

    Perla was a wonderful coordinator! She made my dream wedding happen safely for us and our guests. Thank you!!
  • Stevie
    Stevie B. Sent on 08/13/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tom Ham's staff is nothing sort of AMAZING!

    Two days before our scheduled wedding, our venue called and canceled. Our awesome photographer (Katherine Beth Photography) mentioned them, we reached out right away, and with 24hr to spare, we had a venue for our intimate ceremony and lunch. They really felt for us and were able to work some magic around another event that day just to help us out (shoutout to the coordinator, Perla)! By the time we got there, our story had circulated the staff and they could not have been more accommodating. One of the owners (Andy) stepped right in there, didn't even realize who he was at the time. Tom Ham's offer such gorgeous views, great food, and amazing service! They helped make our day SO special and for that, we are forever grateful. If you are looking for a San Diego venue, don't leave this place off the list!
  • J
    Julie Sent on 03/28/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue, you will love it!

    We are so happy we chose this venue. They have a beautiful ceremony site, large patio and reception room, all on the waterfront with a million-dollar view of the harbor and downtown skyline. As a top-notch restaurant (regular dining is upstairs and totally separate from the wedding venue) , the food is delicious and the serving staff and bartenders are very professional. Linens, tables and chairs are all included so you don't have to worry about those details. Brooke and Perla provide exceptionally professional and responsive service, so you can be confident through the whole process that your wedding will be wonderful.
  • Jahara
    Jahara Sent on 03/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect San Diego Wedding Venue

    We had our wedding last Sunday and loved everything about Tom Ham’s - the location, the delicious food, the affordable price, and the staff! Perla (one of the event coordinators) did such an amazing job assisting us and answered all of our questions promptly - thank you so much!! We are so happy that we chose Tom Ham’s Lighthouse!
  • D
    Danielle A. Sent on 02/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Choose this venue!

    Seriously this venue is beautiful! It can be a little pricey, but worth it! The staff are so wonderful and helpful! The food was amazing. Buffet was worth it! People kept coming up to us and telling us this was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been too. Also you cant beat that San Diego Sky line view during the sunset!
  • Molly
    Molly F. Sent on 01/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute dream of a wedding!

    First of all, Tom Ham's Lighthouse is one of the most beautiful wedding venues we have ever seen! Coming from Kansas City, we wanted to find a venue with that "wow factor" feeling for our out of town guests. Goodness did Tom Ham's deliver!! More importantly though, Brooke and Perla at Tom Ham's made the entire planning process a breeze. They were incredibly responsive and professional, which was necessary when planning a destination wedding. The food from the restaurant was so delicious and it was so nice being able to add a second bar on the patio to make sure there was never a line!! If you're able to get the entire first floor for your wedding day, we highly recommend doing so, as it really makes the ceremony, to cocktail hour to reception process go so smoothly.

    Thank you again Brooke and Perla for making our day so perfect. We will be back soon!!!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica C. Sent on 10/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue in San Diego

    The food, the venue, the waitstaff, absolutely everything was perfect having our wedding at Tom Hams. It was truly the most classy venue. People are still raving about the food, saying it’s the best wedding food they’ve ever had. But the wedding coordinators Brooke and Perla truly made planning our wedding seamless. Most wedding venues you have to get your own coordinator. These two women helped me with every detail and made our wedding day the best day ever. Hands down the best venue to get married at in San Diego!
  • JennBarlow
    Jenn Sent on 09/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Epic location

    Everything about this venue from the location on the water looking back at the city to the food, just perfection
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 03/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most beautiful View in San Diego!!

    This is the most beautiful wedding venue. We received so many compliments on how nice the ceremony and reception space was. Brooke and her team are awesome and super responsive. Even random one-off questions about table cloths and high chairs, etc. were all answered quickly and in a positive manner. We had the best experience and are so thankful we found Tom Ham's. A few of our guests said it was the best food they have ever had at a wedding and several told our parents it was the nicest wedding they had been to. We did centerpieces and up-lights and other than that the venue is the decoration, so its perfect for those who don't have a huge decoration budget or want a more classic feel.
  • Abigail
    Abigail Sent on 03/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect reception location and food!

    My husband and I actually met at Tom Ham's years ago and his family has had many events here. Even after the remodel I was very please with their service and professionalism. The wedding coordinator team was very prompt in responding and I highly recommend the venue. So beautiful!
  • H
    Haley Sent on 07/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    All of our guests remarked how fantastic the food was, most saying it rivaled the best they've ever had for a wedding. On top of that, the drinks were great, the staff was very attentive, and of course, the views were spectacular.

    If you're considering having your ceremony and/or reception at Tom Ham's, don't think twice!
  • S
    Savannah Sent on 07/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our Fourth of July wedding at Tom Ham’s Lighthouse and it was incredible! Perla and Sarah were amazing. They were so professional and personable through out the whole processes from our first tour to the tasting to our wedding day. I appreciated their attentiveness to us on our big day making sure every detail was right and that we were taken care of! I cannot thank them enough. The food was great (we did the buffet) and the view for the fireworks was to die for! All our friends tell us it was hands down the best wedding they have ever been too. This venue does not disappoint and neither does the staff. I cannot say enough good things about them!
  • M
    Marla Sent on 05/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was my dream venue (having lived in San Diego my whole life) and the ONLY place I wanted to get married at, so we did what it took to budget it in and make it happen and we it did for less than 10K! This is how. If you get married on a Friday or Sunday they wave the $800 fee for the ceremony site, which is the main reason I wanted to get married there, the view cannot be beat of the San Diego downtown skyline! Gorgeous! We also picked a lunch buffet for 80+/- people and even added a hosted beer (w/a limit) and some champagne mimosas and viola!! A beautiful wedding on a budget. They ladies at THL are great to work with. They're communication via email was excellent. They were flexible and worked with us and our vendors. The food at THL was awesome as well, even for a buffet we got rave reviews from our guests. The staff working our reception was also great. I highly recommend this venue for any wedding!
  • L
    Liezel Sent on 12/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Brooke and Perla were extremely helpful from the start! After we viewed the ceremony site and reception rooms, we knew this would be the perfect setting for an outdoor fall wedding in San Diego and we couldn't have been more pleased! Brooke and Perla answered any questions I had and were always very responsive throughout the entire process. Everything that Tom Ham's provides for the ceremony site and banquet halls took the stress out of finding a vendor for chairs/tables. Everyone loved the food during dinner and cocktail hour and the value for what you get was worth the price. The staff (bartenders and banquet staff) were also outstanding! We have already recommended this venue to another bride!
  • D
    Devyn Sent on 07/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Tom Ham's is a beautiful and stunning location where we held our wedding reception. I had so many questions for them, and they were on top of answering every single one of them so quickly, mostly within a few hours! The food was delicious and very flexible with decorations. We loved having our wedding reception there, I highly recommend it!
  • D
    Denise Sent on 07/27/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had my daughters wedding at Tom Hams 7/7/2017 - everything was beautiful, food was delicious and Perla and Brooke very helpful in coordinating a fantastic event. We would recommend this as a wedding venue
  • M
    Maggie Sent on 06/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Holding our wedding ceremony and reception at Tom Ham's was a dream come true. The venue is incredible, the views are top notch and the staff of Brooke and Perla make planning a wedding seem so manageable and easy. Brooke and Perla both were very responsive over email and phone, their software used for Event Planning made everything crystal clear and upfront. I would recommend Tom Ham's to all the brides out there.
  • D
    Daniel Sent on 01/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Tom Ham's for our wedding, and couldn't be happier. We had lots of out of town guests who were blown away by the view and AMAZING food. Kelsey was very helpful along the way when we were planning, and the staff did an incredible job the whole night, especially when we were thrown a curveball and had to move the ceremony inside at the last minute due to rain. We definitely made the right choice, Tom Ham's was great!
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 12/03/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My parents had their wedding dinner and Tom Ham's over 40 years ago!! Obviously, the place has changed a bit since then, but the sentimental value alone was enough for us to consider it for our rehearsal dinner. We had a few options, but the views of the bay, food and service made choosing them a no brainer. The restaurant is impeccable and our guests were blown away by the gorgeous San Diego sky line views at night. Tom Ham's was a perfect choice and we highly recommend it!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours