Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse Reviews

19 | Durham, NH
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse

Recommended by 95%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

20 User photos

Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 1
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 2
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 3
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 4
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 5
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 6
Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 7
+ 14
Sort by:
  • T

    Traci Pierpont · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Memory of a Lifetime

    The whole experience - from the planning, to the rehearsal dinner, to the ceremony, to the last dance - was perfection. For all our vision of this day, they managed to surpass all our expectations. Their friendliness, eagerness to help, and willingness to do whatever it took to accommodate our needs were amazing. We cannot speak highly enough of our happiness with the Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse and the wonderful people who help run it.

    Sent on 06/04/2019
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 8
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 9
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 10
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 11
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 12
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Best Venue Ever!

    There aren't enough great words we can say about Lori, Stephanie, and the whole team at The Thompson Inn! We booked in our wedding with them nearly 2 years in advance because we absolutely fell in love with the venue the moment we saw it. Lori was so helpful and communicative throughout the whole planning process and then Stephanie assisted us with all of the details for the reception. Our wedding day was beyond perfect - from the great weather, to the beautiful ceremony under the maple trees, a relaxed cocktail hour along the Cyderhouse deck and lawn, to the breathtaking reception hall. Oh and the food was incredible!!! On top of it all, the staff was SO nice and helpful to us and all of our guests throughout the whole day. We can't count how many compliments we got from our guests saying it was their favorite wedding venue they had ever been to so we were so happy we were able to share this gem with all of our loved ones from near and far. Our wedding was truly the best day ever and we have the team at The Thompson Inn to thank for all of their hard work and for providing their wonderful venue to us. We absolutely recommend The Thompson Inn to all future brides and grooms!

    Sent on 06/21/2019
  • A

    Allison · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day, perfect location, perfect venue

    We could not have asked for a better experience at the Thomson Inn for our special day! The owners Lori and Steve treated us like family and worked tirelessly to make sure everything was seamless. I would recommend this venue a thousand times over.

    Sent on 02/23/2019
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 13
  • F

    Felicia · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream wedding venue

    My husband and I booked this venue about 2 years ago while Steve and Lori were in the process of building it. They have since done a fantastic job with the beautiful property. Our wedding went flawlessly and was a dream come true for us. We highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/18/2018
  • J

    Jean · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding of our dreams!

    I cannot express how truly amazing our wedding was at the Thompson Inn and Cyderhouse. Lori, Stephanie, and the entire team were there every step of the way to make our day possible. I can’t speak highly enough of Lori and Stephanie. They are there to make sure it all goes smoothly, and that the day is exactly what we dreamed it would be. The Thompson Inn Cyderhouse was the perfect backdrop that we envisioned. The venue is picture perfect. The scenery, including the gorgeous trees and river, as well as the Inn and Cyderhouse are all breathtaking. We booked the venue before it was completed, and can’t speak enough to how truly beautiful it is. The trees encompassed the perfect place to say “I Do”. The porch provided the perfect place for cocktail hour, and the heaters made it perfect place on the chilly October day. The cyderhouse was the perfect spot to be introduced as husband and wife, eat and dance the night away. From the bridal suite to the wine cellar, the venue was the perfect place to have our wedding. Lori and her team were professional and talented. They are truly knowledgeable of how to plan and operate the perfect wedding day. Their coordination and execution made the day possible. They made our day feel so personal, yet used what had worked in the past to make the day absolutely perfect. Throughout the planning process they checked in and really did all they could to make our wedding day the best day. They were always there to answer questions and support us every step of the way. Thank you to all at the Thompson Inn and Cyderhouse for making our wedding dreams a reality! It was truly the best day, and would not have been possible without the team at Thompson Inn and the beautiful wedding venue they have created.

    Sent on 12/31/2018
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 14
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 15
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 16
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 17
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 18
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 19
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 20
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 21
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 22
  • M

    Molly · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The over view and pictures do not do this place justice!! We got married this August and even with the rain we could not have been happier. Lori and Stephanie were great always there to answer any questions and happy to help in any way. The food was amazing we did family style and people loved it. It was of course warm and delicious. It all came out quickly and effortlessly so we could all eat and get on to the party! We booked for 6 months out and it was a breeze to put together the most wonderful wedding!! We were all relaxed and able to enjoy ourselves the entire time. I wish we could re do the whole day over and over again!

    Sent on 08/23/2018
  • K

    Karen · Married on 07/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughters wedding at the Thompson Inn and Cider House on July 28th 2018 was amazing. Owners Steve and Lori and all their staff are top notch. From the appetizers to the main course the food was outstanding and plenty. We recommend you consider this venue for your wedding
    Thank you Steve, Lori and Staff

    Sent on 08/17/2018
  • Mary

    Mary · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at the Thompson Inn (7/21/18). Lori, Steve and all the staff at the Thompson Inn were fantastic to work with. By the end of planning, Lori felt like family!! The Thompson Inn was the first venue I visited after getting engaged last summer. The property and grounds are STUNNING. I KNEW it was the one! The barn was not finished yet but we were assured it would be ready in plenty of time for our wedding. We had originally planned to use the Inn on the property (as it was supposed to be completely rehabbed and completed by Memorial Day 2018). Unfortunately, we found out early in 2018 that the Inn wouldn't be ready for the wedding. We were completely bummed - but luckily, there was a nearby Inn that was able to house all our wedding party (and it ended up working out just fine).

    Everyone RAVED about the Thompson Inn - how gorgeous the grounds are, how beautiful the barn is and how helpful and friendly all the staff was. We lucked out as we had the PERFECT July weekend - the weather was beautiful with the sun shining, and the heat and humidity low. About half of our guests came from out of state and were truly stunned by the beauty of the Thompson Inn and NH. We also had our rehearsal dinner outside on Friday night and it was great! The food both nights was very good. We had kids at our wedding an they loved running around the grounds. There was plenty of room for them to play games or for guests to wander around. Many guests also loved the fire pit on property.

    The staff did a great job of really taking care of the bride/groom/wedding party. We had a dedicated staff member at our beck 'n call before/after the ceremony. They brought us drinks/waters before/after the ceremony! They even brought us lots of appetizers while we took our couple shots during cocktail hour.

    One of our friends is a wedding co-ordinator in DC and said that this was one of the best venues he's ever been to. They truly did an AMAZING job at the Thompson Inn!

    Sent on 07/27/2018
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our organization just had a fundraising event at this stunning venue. Everything went off without a hitch! We were a little worried since it was a new chef but the food was delicious! Many donors commented on the variety and taste of the food options. The staff also worked very hard at keeping everything full and hot! I wouldn't hesitate to book an event here again. Thank you Lori and Steve and your staff for an amazing meal and a great event!

    Sent on 01/02/2018
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 10/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the minute my new husband and I viewed this space when it was a dream and work in progress we knew we had to get married here. Lori and Steve were amazing with everything. I've never met such an honest genuine couple. They went above and beyond through every step of the planning and the day itself. They made sure we were well taken care of and all the guests were having a good time. The food was to die for and some of the best we have ever eaten. This venue has so many wonderful spots to have photos taken and plenty of spots to pick where you want to be married. We got married under their beautiful maple trees. This venue is something out of a fairytale and truly magical. My husband and I had a perfect wedding day at a breathtaking venue. If you are looking for an amazing venue look no further and pick The Thompson Inn and cyderhouse you will not regret it. We wish them many years of success and if we could give more than 5 stars we would. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a perfect wedding !!

    Sent on 10/16/2017
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 23
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 24
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 25
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 26
    Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse 27
  • K

    Kaitlin · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Thompson Inn is a breathtaking venue, the property really speaks for itself. Do yourself a favor and book a walk through to see the space, once you see it your decision will be made. Lori and Steve did a beautiful job with our wedding. Having the ceremony and the reception on the same property was so convenient and there are so many locations to choose between for your ceremony space. We loved having ours set beneath the beautiful maple trees on their property. The food was out of this world good and everyone has been raving about it since the wedding, shoutout to their amazing chef John!

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • J

    Jess · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love the Thompson Inn! We had a storybook picture perfect wedding. The ground are beautiful, the food is to die for (all our guests were raving and they make sure the newlyweds are eating :) ), and the rustic elegant feel is what we dreamed of. We had the best day of our lives and we owe it to Steve and Lori. Have your wedding here if you want a beautiful New England dream wedding.

    Sent on 09/18/2017
  • A

    Annette · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank Lori and Steve enough for providing a dream come true wedding for my daughter and daughter-in-law. The grounds were absolutely magnificent and breath-taking. The food was absolutely delicious. (As I wish I had the recipe for everything the chef made!) Our family and friends said that this was one of the best weddings they have ever been to! Thank you Lori and Steve for keeping everyone smiling from beginning to end and for being on point to every detail! If you are looking to start your happily ever after then book your wedding at the Thompson Inn and Cyderhouse!

    Sent on 09/21/2017
  • A

    Anna · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at The Thompson Inn on Saturday, August 6, 2016 and couldn't have been more thrilled with the experience. I work in the event industry and know how difficult it can be to find great vendors. Our experience with the Thompson Inn couldn't have been better. From the start, Lori and Steve were wonderful to work with: incredibly accommodating, lovely and communicative. They went above and beyond to ensure that our wedding day was as special as it could be, working in lockstep with us on all of the details.

    The venue itself is truly magical. Nestled on a lush hill on the edge of NH woods, overlooking the Lamprey River, it provides the perfect setting for both ceremony and reception. We held our ceremony under a grove of old trees, which created a fairytale ambiance for our vows. The cocktail hour was on the wraparound porch of the inn, which was so unique and allowed guests to appreciate the beauty of the historic inn. And finally, the reception was under a tent in the backyard where we had a blast into the evening. The comments we received from guests on how beautiful the venue was were never ending and we also felt that, despite being in the same place for the entire day, every moment felt different and unique. We cannot wait to see all of our pictures!

    We would HIGHLY recommend The Thompson Inn for your wedding and couldn't have asked for a better setting for our big day.

    Sent on 09/25/2016
  • I

    Irene · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The historic Thompson Inn provided a beautiful setting for my daughter's wedding this past August.
    The ceremony took place under a canopy of maple trees, followed by the cocktail hour on the charming veranda which extends around the inn. A variety of blooms overflowed from the window boxes which adorned all the windows. The extensive grounds accommodated a large tent where the reception was held. The landscaping was carefully planned , providing a lovely accent throughout the seasons - peonies and lilacs in the spring and hydrangeas in the summer/fall along with the colorful foliage of the maple trees. It is just picturesque, offering many photo settings.
    The owners, Lori and Steve Lamb were so accommodating and attentive to details to ensure that the wedding went as envisioned. We could not have asked for more thoughtful and generous people to work with for this special occasion.
    The whole experience at the Thompson Inn was a pleasure . It would , without doubt , be my first choice the next time.

    Irene

    Sent on 09/29/2016
  • S

    sasha · Married on 05/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Venue Ever -- Even in a Nor'easter

    We couldn't have asked for a better venue - especially when a Nor'easter took over our wedding date. Lori and her team were so accommodating and made sure that not only did things go off without a hitch, but that it was still a beautiful day. They were so easy to work with, helped our vision come to life and above all, made the process easy and fun. Beyond the team, the venue is simply STUNNING.

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • L

    Lyssa · event on 11/18/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our non-profit organization held a fundraiser at Thompson Inn & Cyderhouse and it was fantastic! Lori and Steve went above and beyond to help us, the food was plentiful and delicious, and the event space itself GORGEOUS. I definitely recommend working with Lori and Steve and checking out their venue!

    Sent on 12/29/2017
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 12/30/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Thompson Inn and Cider House made good of a bad situation - thank you!

    Sent on 09/12/2017
  • S

    S · Married on 11/04/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Chef John Edmonds is no longer at the Thompson Inn in Durham, NH.

    Sent on 11/11/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review