The Woods at Bear Creek Reviews

31 | Franklinville, NY
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for The Woods at Bear Creek

Recommended by 95%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
31 The Woods at Bear Creek Reviews
Sort by:
  • K

    kaitlyn · Married on 10/21/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an amazing experience we had here. From the very start to the end. We knew from the moment we went to Bear Creek that we were going to get married there. Getting married in October, you can never guess the weather. Kari (wedding planner) made sure to have a backup plan for any type of weather. The property is beautiful beyond words. The staff blew us away the whole night. They really were amazing and went above and beyond. Kari and Mike were amazing and catered to our every need, anytime we needed something. The food was absolutely amazing and was perfect.I can not say enough good things about this place. I would recommend them to anyone a million times. They made our fairy tale wedding possible and we are forever grateful!

    Sent on 11/08/2017

    The Woods at Bear Creek's reply:

    Kaitlyn, Thank you for all the positive words. We wish you and Dan the best of luck! It was a pleasure to be a part of your special day!!!
  • M

    Mary · Married on 09/30/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The woods at Bear was amazing for my wedding. The staff was so kind and helpful! They helped make the day so perfect. The vibe and atmosphere was so laid back and such a blast !

    The Woods at Bear Creek 1
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/23/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Husband and I got married at the woods at bear creek almost a 2 week ago!! We were beyond happy with our experience for our Big Day!!!

    The Woods at Bear Creek 2
    The Woods at Bear Creek 3
    The Woods at Bear Creek 4
    The Woods at Bear Creek 5
    The Woods at Bear Creek 6
    The Woods at Bear Creek 7
    The Woods at Bear Creek 8
    The Woods at Bear Creek 9
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/01/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have imagined a more perfect day! My husband and I were blown away with the attention to detail and how attentive the staff is! We highly recommend this as a venue for any occasion but for a wedding it can't be surpassed.

  • D

    Dominique · Married on 05/28/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I could not have picked a more beautiful, perfect wedding venue than The Woods at Bear Creek!! We held our ceremony and reception at The Woods on May 28th, 2017. The Woods truly is a hidden gem in the wedding industry, as we spent months researching venue after venue in the Buffalo area... We knew once we visited The Woods for a tour that it was the perfect place for an elegant yet country style wedding. Their beautiful reception hall is brand new with gold chiavari chairs, a wrap around porch, and a spectacular view of their lake. It was also the perfect setting for our outdoor ceremony! All of our guests really enjoyed the views from the wrap around porch until it was time for the ceremony, where they enjoyed sitting by the water and watching us get married in the gazebo. The food for the wedding was amazing (Thanks Chef Troy)!! Everything came out hot and so delicious. The Woods and Kari were so great to work with, they even worked with us to come up with a custom menu. As my husband and I really love Mexican food, we were able to enjoy fajitas, corn on the cob, margaritas, and more!! Overall I am so happy with everything The Woods had to offer, the day went so smoothly, and I don't have one complaint! I highly recommend this venue if you are looking for something unique for your wedding venue. They also just finished another equally as beautiful wedding venue there with high vaulted ceilings and a beautiful fireplace. Definitely check it out!! Thank you so much to the staff at The Woods for everything!! We will have memories for a lifetime :)

  • B

    Brittany · Married on 04/29/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband Joe and I got married here on April 29th, 2017. It was amazing!! All of our guests complimented on the amazing views. The lake was the backdrop for many photos. The employees there are well to work with. Kari is amazing!! Food is to die for! Thank you so much for making it a day that many will remember for years!!

  • A

    Adam · Married on 07/09/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter's wedding was at The Woods at Bear Creek this past week end. They did a wonderful job! Kari, Mike, Barb, Jenn and many others were a pleasure to work with. The food was excellent, especially the horseradish salmon. The service was great and the venue looked beautiful! Kari was very responsive and helpful before, during and after the wedding. The bride, Suzanne, was very happy with everything and having a campfire each night with all her friends was just what she wanted. We also had the rehearsal dinner in the pavilion where the glamping cabins were, with the campfire to follow and it was perfect. We had a barbecue, the food was great for that as well and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. It was a wonderful week end!

  • H

    Helena · Married on 05/21/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and the staff at Bear Creek were amazing! We had 10 cabins of family and friends there for the entire weekend. They were accommodating with our switching cabins around on Friday afternoon, provided an awesome rehearsal dinner outside that night and made sure that our wedding day was perfect despite the rain! We received many complements from our guests on the venue and the food.

  • User5313892 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gracious and accommodating. Added some meal upgrades without cost. The planners were constantly surveying the needs of the venue and were extremely responsive. Definitely better than the average wedding with much attention to detail.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/25/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at this beautiful venue at the end of July and it has exceeded our expectations. The service is impeccable and they go out of their way to make sure you are happy and have anything you need. The cabins are beautifully done and the golf carts were awesome! The views are breath taking and there is so much to do on the property. If you want a unique and beautiful wedding with amazing service get married here!!!!!

  • kls2286

    Kristen · Married on 07/18/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough good things about The Woods at Bear Creek. It was the perfect place for our wedding and I am thrilled when family members rave about the time they had.

    Staff- The staff for our wedding were over the top accommodating. Jennifer and Mike were great from the beginning to end helping to plan each detail. Jennifer put so many final touches on my wedding decorations when I simply had no more time and it turned out exactly as I dreamed it would. Even when the rain knocked down some pictures I had lining the wedding aisle. Jennifer was quick to fix them after only a simple request. The staff cleaning cabins were also friendly and accommodating. They always had a smile on their face and were friendly to guests.

    Facilities- We loved that each area of The Woods at Bear Creek was immaculate and gorgeous. Even with heavy rain prior to the wedding the grounds were up kept and beautiful. We loved that we were able to spend the day after the wedding enjoying many of the activities provided and were not interrupted or restricted. If there was something we needed a staff member was never far and always willing to help. We loved being able to photograph our wedding from many different areas on the property. It was great to be able to jump in the golf cart and quickly get to our next destination. The reception hall is gorgeous and the view of the lake spectacular. The pool, lake and zip line were so fun the day after the wedding. Our flower girls could not get enough of swimming in the pool and our family members loved boating and floating with coolers in tow. The zip line although a vigorous hike up into the woods was worth it.

    Food- Our guests are still raving about the food and drinks at the wedding. We had around 170 guests and the service and plating of food was remarkable. Breakfast the next day was delicious and our guests enjoyed both eating in the restaurant and on the patio.

  • G

    Gale · Married on 06/20/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Greatest place to get away - even in the rain the accomodations were fantastic - so much fun and the service impecable. I have told everyone about how great this place is. We will be back! The zip line was awesome too!

  • J

    Jenelle · Married on 06/20/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married at The Woods At Bear Creek in June 2015. Our wedding was absolutely amazing! It was honestly everything that I could have hoped it too be. This location was perfect country rustic setting but with all the amenities of a high end venue. The views are breathtaking, for a great place to take the wedding photos.

    From planing of the wedding to our breakfast the morning after was perfect. The staff is super helpful, and friendly. They go out of their way to ensure you, the wedding party, and all of your guest are taken care of.

    I highly recommend this for Wood at Bear Creek for the easiest country setting to have your wedding!

  • User5115594 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My nieces wedding was beautiful. Lovely setting and everything was great. We had a a lot of fun ziplining. Food was great.

  • S

    Sharon · Married on 05/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was excellent in every area! Service and food was outstanding in the restaurant, at our rehearsal dinner and the wedding dinner! Cabins were very clean and house cleaning was always busy making sure towels were plenty and bedding changed. The wedding coordinator was fabulous. There was no needs that we had that were not met to our satisfaction or beyond! There's so much here to do swimming, hiking, zip-lining, paddle boating on the lake and more. Great place for a wedding or family reunion! The cabins are newly remodel, so much nicer than a room in a hotel for sure!

  • D

    Dan · Married on 05/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My only daughter Kate selected this venue in a flurry of activity in the weeks after her engagement. She wanted an outdoor wedding in a country setting. The Woods at Bear Creek is an absolutely beautiful place with scenic views, great food, fun things to do...zip line, paddle boats, hiking trails, and I think our wedding guests enjoyed the golf carts the most. Eight of my siblings came and described the wedding and the venue as "perfect" , their time there as "a Blast" and they all were so glad they made the trip from the Albany area. This wedding will last in memories for a long time. I do not know how much happier my daughter Kate could have been frankly, and while her joy was primarily due to her new husband, the place, the staff, the food, and the whole atmosphere was all icing on her wedding cake. Her memories won't include some screw up with this, or mistake with that, or some prickly staff member....Western NY people know how to party and know how to serve those who party....
    The staff were incredible. It seemed whatever we asked, was done, and they were all vested in us and our wedding guests enjoying our time there. And I mean from maintenance, waitresses, housekeeping, etc. All very nice people striving to do their jobs well. And they succeeded...
    After it was all over, and we were getting ready to leave, we found they had made up special T-shirts noting that "We were there when Robert and Kate tied the Knot" with the date 5/23/2015....reasonably priced and sold out...of course the Bride and Groom had the "I Tied the knot" shirts complements of the "Woods"
    My wife and I are going back soon just to rent a cabin and hang out and really enjoy the Woods at Bear Creek without the bustle of a wedding...can't wait....

  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Wonderful venue for a wedding, so much to do with the zip line, paddle boats, pool and hiking trails. Coming back just to enjoy the place. We had my sons rehearsal dinner there and the food was excellent.

  • B

    Bethany · Married on 09/27/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The woods at bear creek was exceptional for all of our wedding needs. Not only does the venues beauty sell itself, but the food and bar service were fantastic. We were their first wedding ever and it went so smooth. Our friends and family continue to rave about our wedding day. Everyone who stayed were happy with the cabins and accomadations. We still try and visit every few months for dinner, the restaurant is great if you are looking for a nice country ride and delicious food. I can not say enough about this vendor and the location.

  • User4464364 · event on: 10/05/2014

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was fortunate enough to be able to host my daughter's bridal shower at The Woods at Bear Creek for approx 90 people. From our very first meeting right through the event, everything was beyond perfect! I wish I could give a 10 star rating! I envisioned a particular menu and Chef Dale was not only eager to accommodate me, he was excited to do it! For example: I wanted a Fall soup - he suggested a butternut squash soup (which was more than delicious) and also suggested he serve it in mini carved out pumpkins - 90 carved out pumpkins!! Everyone was in awe! The banquet room was exquisite,from the gold chivari chairs to the floor length linen I requested. The staff is professional and extremely attentive and the food was over the top! This resort is very new, just opened in June of this year but I highly recommend checking it out! Once you meet and work with Mike the Director and Chef Dale, you'll be in love with the place. And let me mention the view from the banquet center - breathtaking! The banquet room over looks a small lake surrounded by beautiful forest, you just can't get this view, service and food anywhere else!

  • HappilyEngaged86

    Christie · Married on 02/10/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are getting married here come 2018. Very flexible, beautiful venue! Counting down the days!!

  • User7295226 · 1+ year ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for more! Our wedding was perfect! The location was breathtaking and the food was amazing! Every tiny detail was attended too!

  • M

    Molly · Married on 08/11/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Very organized and helpful. Beautiful setting and good food

  • J

    Judy · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, I highly recommend The Woods at Bear Creek for anyone looking for a rustic outdoors venue for a wedding! My daughter and her fiancé looked at several other locations for their October 2016 wedding, but this was the perfect choice for them! Prices are very comparable to most other venues. They do charge a fee to have the ceremony here as well as a banquet rental fee in addition to the per person charge. We worked with two banquet managers, Jennifer at first who was just wonderful and then Kari, who was also very good but took a bit longer to get back to us. They met with us on our schedule and did everything the way we asked – from the set-up of the tables to using the grove (not the gazebo) for the ceremony to the choice of entrees and beer! Everyone was so accommodating and nice and the management and maintenance staff were also great to work with. The food was excellent!!! They even provided lunch for the bride and bridesmaids upon request. The food for the rehearsal dinner was good and was held in the pavilion on a chilly evening because alcohol is not allowed in the rec center. We did have a photo booth and the set up was a little constraining due to the number of people but it worked! One thing I wish is that the cake had been served sooner after dinner. They had plenty of wood for the bonfires too. Many people stayed in the cabins which were very clean. Two issues: check in was at 3:00 unless you paid a $50 early check in fee but the ceremony was at 3:00 and no one was staying in the cabins the night before – ridiculous, especially since all these people were there for a wedding! And they charge tax at the restaurant on the breakfast that is included in the cabin package – just include it in the price to make things easier or put it on your information sheet so guests are aware of it! Again, The Woods at Bear Creek is a lovely place to have a wedding!

  • User5125117 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We totally enjoyed our time at Bear Creek. Your staff was very friendly at all times and helped with any and all questions. Our children had a wonderful wedding and a life time of memories for all of us to cherish. Bear Creek made a positive difference for us all. We thank you and would recommend the Woods At Bear Creek to our friends, family and anyone looking for a relaxing enjoyable venue.

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/16/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Woods at Bear Creek was a stunning venue for our wedding. We are still hearing compliments about the location and amazing view they have. Kari took over our arrangements after working with someone else. Kari did a great job and was very accommodating. The food was amazing! The staff made sure to set aside appetizers for us for after our pictures. They had plates all made up for us to help us save time for our guest. We were the first to do a buffet and again food was great! The homemade desserts were delicious! Kari surprised us with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! Super sweet and nice touch!
    Some concerns for us..
    To use the gazebo for the ceremony, was over priced. Many issues with the cabins came up as we and many guest spent the night. When we arrived, my maid of honor was stung by a wasp. Maintenance was there right away and got ride of the nest thankfully. My parents cabin however, got switched and they ended up sleeping on the bottom of bunk beds instead of a queen. Many stumps are near the campfire and we had a guest take a face dive walking to a cabin. She is okay but could have been avoided. Those that handle the cabin booking were difficult to deal with and frustrating. Kari helped us the best she could but it's a different department that needs some much needed help.
    We had our rehearsal dinner there the night before. Wish they would have used the bus to transport us all instead of the gulf carts that took multiple trips.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review