Skip to main content
Weddings

The Woodlands at Algonkian Reviews

The Woodlands at Algonkian

The Woodlands at Algonkian

Sterling, VA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 72 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
72 Reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

72
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Weddingwire
5.0/5 72 reviews
Google
4.6/5 76 reviews
  • Christina
    Christina Z. Sent on 11/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    5/5 stars!

    My husband and I LOVED working with The Woodlands! Not only is the location beautiful, our wedding planning was not nearly as stressful as it could have been and we attribute it to all of the staff working at The Woodlands. Our main point of contacts were Gabrielle and Holly and they were so lovely and helpful the entire planning process. They answered all of our questions with ease and were so incredibly accommodating. Our guests raved about the food from Great Blue Heron Catering services! There were so many options for everyone (everyone raved about the Filet Mignon). I myself am a vegetarian and we had a few vegans attend and everything was absolutely delicious! The kitchen staff and bartenders the day of the wedding were wonderful as well! We highly recommend booking The Woodlands!
  • L
    Lauren F. Sent on 06/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Seamless and beautiful

    We had our wedding at The Woodlands this weekend, and it was beautiful. Everything went off without a hitch, despite the very fickle weather forecast that changed (for the better) on the morning of our wedding. The venue quickly adapted the plan, and our ceremony and reception were gorgeous. Thank you!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Arthur C. Sent on 05/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Knew it once we saw it

    The Woodlands was an amazing location to get married. The beautiful venue and surroundings, as well as helpful and responsive staff, made the day of the wedding and planning smooth and enjoyable.
  • Casey
    Casey H. Sent on 11/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue, Amazing Staff - a great weekend all around!

    This was the first and only venue we saw - we loved the location, how we could have the ceremony/cocktail hour/reception all in one place, the option to use the in-house caterer... and the price is very reasonable for this area and for all the value you get! The outdoor ceremony space is beautiful on it's own, but there are so many options to make it unique and special to you. We had ~100 people attend the wedding, which in the space felt comfortable as we wanted something more intimate so we could spend time with everybody (not too packed, not too sparse). I think 200 people in there would feel tight, that would be my only comment for future brides. The other amazing thing is the Woodlands provided their recommended vendors, and pretty much everyone we booked was from that list. It was so helpful! We also loved that we had access to a Bridal Suite for folks to get ready, it made the whole process so easy. Laura was fantastic to work with - they were incredibly flexible with us and responsive! We also booked out nearly all of the cabins for the weekend, and the staff was very responsive for all of the questions we had around that process/getting everyone situated in their cabins. We used their in-house caterer (Great Blue Heron) and the food was PHENOMAL - people were raving about it! We highly recommend booking your wedding here and working with Laura and the team!

    The Woodlands at Algonkian's reply:

    Thank you so much for choosing to host your wedding here at The Woodlands! It was wonderful to play a part in your big day.
  • I
    Isabel B. Sent on 10/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue!

    We loved The Woodlands for our wedding venue! The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a ton of questions during the planning process and the coordinator at The Woodlands was responsive and helpful. Our guests loved the venue. The outdoor ceremony was perfect. There was rain in the forecast and the staff was working with us and my wedding coordinator to decide if it needed to be switched inside.
  • Jessie
    Jessie F. Sent on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Value Wedding Venue!

    We could not have been happier with how everything turned out at The Woodlands for our big day. The fact that the ceremony was right next to the reception space was fantastic and made things much easier for our guests. It also is very close to Dulles airport which is convenient for everyone traveling. I know some couples do not place the logistics of a wedding venue for their guests high on the priority list, but this was an important component to us. The property is beautiful, and high ceilings inside the reception space with large window wall really opened everything up. The bridal suite was newly renovated, which made for a great space for us to get ready the day of. Laura, Jasmine, Liz and the onsite team (shout out to DJ for everything she did to help our reception flow smoothly) were fantastic to work with. They always promptly responded to my questions. COVID made the final few weeks challenging with changes in RSVPs, causing us to try and fill spots, and they always helped us make adjustments with a smile. We did not have a day of coordinator, but rather a family friend who helped, and Laura was SO helpful the day of to help get everything ready. The food was fantastic, and Liz was very accommodating of the tweaks we requested to our menu, including with alcohol. The venue itself was also very affordable for the Northern Virginia area. Originally during my search, many places only included the reception space, and not items like tables/chairs/linens. While we needed to pay for linens, Laura/Liz took care of coordinating it all for us and the price was reasonable for these. We feel very fortunate that we found The Woodlands!

    The Woodlands at Algonkian's reply:

    Your day was beautiful, we were so glad to host it at The Woodlands! We wish you all the best!

    Warm Regards,
    The Woodlands Team
  • J
    Jessica C. Sent on 10/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue + Amazing Staff!

    We fell in love with the Woodlands when we first toured - the venue has a beautiful outdoor ceremony space (with an indoor back up plan), a great cocktail hour indoor/outdoor space, a bridal suite, and two rooms as part of the venue. Laura was our coordinator from the venue and truly could not have been more pleasant to work with! She was extremely responsive, kind, and flexible as we navigated COVID changes and was so helpful throughout the whole process. I was a little nervous about the bridal room being too small but on the day of, with 7 people getting hair and make up done, it didn't feel that way at all! Laura kindly let us use the Fairfax room across the hall as a secondary getting ready area where we had lunch, which was perfect. We also enjoyed Blue Heron Catering and had a very positive, stress-free experience working with them and overall loved their food! We got SO many compliments from guests about how beautiful the venue was. Highly recommend booking your wedding here and working with Laura!
  • Natasha
    Natasha N. Sent on 08/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue!

    When we began our journey in finding the venue for our wedding, Woodlands was the first place we saw and we fell in love with it. The outdoor area with the pergola was perfect for our summer wedding. When we first started working with Woodlands we had Maren as our coordinator. But because of the pandemic, we had to reschedule for the following year and we were able to work with Jazmine and Laura for coordinator our wedding. Both were amazing! They were professional and able to answer emails quickly. They were onsite for the wedding day and helpful in putting out small fires that came up ;)
    The beautiful park along with the amazing team made our special day even more special.
  • Bruno
    Bruno Y. Sent on 07/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent service and beautiful venue for a lovely wedding

    The Woodlands at Algonkian was the perfect venue for our wedding. From the moment we toured the venue, we knew it was the one. We loved the rustic yet modern look and every staff member we encountered was very nice and helpful. Jazmine was super attentive to all our needs leading up to the wedding day. DJ, the kitchen captain, was super welcoming and made sure we were well fed on our wedding day.

    Overall this venue exceeded our expectations. Everything was beautiful and perfect!
  • Natasha
    Natasha N. Sent on 08/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    The Woodlands was absolutely amazing! I can not recommend them enough. Every single detail about our special day was perfect thanks to their amazing team. From start to finish working with Jazmine to make sure every detail went smooth was the best! It took a lot of stress off of this worried bride. I found myself after our wedding wishing to relive that day again. 10/10 recommend them!
  • C
    Caitlin C. Sent on 12/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Superior professionalism and understanding. Most highly recommend.

    Due to COVID-19, our wedding had to get cancelled due to unavoidable circumstance. The manager Maren and Liz (manager at Great Blue Heron Catering) had showed exceptional understanding and went out of the way to resolve difficulties faced due to pandemic. Our family and friends greatly waited for the day to hold our wedding at Algonkian even prior to cancellation.. however the managers and staff had showed great professionalism which helped our couples' transition times through the pandemic. Most highly recommend this venue.
  • Eileen
    Eileen C. Sent on 10/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Day!!!

    My daughter got married last month at The Woodlands, and I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience we had! Maren was absolutely fantastic and supported us in planning every step of the way. In addition, she made sure that everything ran exactly according to plan on the “big day”. The kitchen staff was so professional and, not only was the food delicious, but the service of each course was seamless.. we never had to wait for any part of the meal to be served or removed. They also offered a coffee bar and optional ice cream bar, which many of our guests enjoyed, as well. It really was a perfect night, thanks to every single member of the staff that did their job to perfection! I have been to many weddings in my life, but this venue, without a doubt, was the best I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend The Woodlands to any couple who wants to have the kind of day they will remember forever!
  • KRYSTA
    Krysta S. Sent on 02/20/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Upscale, Rustic Venue with Amazing Staff

    We chose The Woodlands as our venue because it had the perfect combination of an upscale venue with rustic accents. We got married outside in November, so it was important to have a venue that had a beautiful indoor alternative to an outdoor ceremony, if needed. (Thankfully, it wasn't needed for us!)

    All of the staff was very helpful in setting up for our wedding. The venue coordinator, Maren, was exceptional throughout the entire process. She went above and beyond to answer all of our questions throughout the wedding planning process and made sure the day of our wedding went off without a hitch. Working with her made our wedding so much less stressful, even more so when planning a wedding during COVID-19. We would highly recommend this venue simply to work with her.

    We also took advantage of the Riverfront Cottages. The process of reserving them and having our guests pay for them was effortless. It was so convenient (and fun!) to have the majority of our guests staying on property so close to the venue.

    Blue Heron Catering is the exclusive caterer for the venue. While we were a little nervous at first to not have a choice in caterers, our concerns were for nothing. Not only were they a pleasure to work with, but the food was amazing!

    Planning and having a wedding during COVID-19 brought many challenges, but we still had the perfect day thanks, in great part, to The Woodlands and Blue Heron!
  • Lucy
    Lucy S. Sent on 11/22/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue, Excellent Service

    We chose the Woodlands as our venue because we love the park and wanted a beautiful autumnal vibe. We also liked that the venue includes a wedding coordinator, tables, chairs, on-site catering, and other services for a good price. Our wedding was absolutely stunning and we had such a wonderful time, all made possible by Maren and other Woodlands support staff. We wholeheartedly recommend the Woodlands and other Nova Parks venues!
  • K
    Kerry H. Sent on 10/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem in Loudoun County!

    The Woodlands checked all of our boxes for a reception venue: 1. Convenient location that was reasonably priced 2. Beautiful outdoor/indoor setting 3. Function space to comfortably accommodate our guests.
    Right from the start, Maren Roman and her team were wonderful. She was very responsive to questions. When COVID became an issue, Maren communicated changes regarding onsite tasting (had to be curbside pickup), limitations to guest capacity (50 %) and onsite safety and santizing procedures in a timely manner. The facility was updated with new neutral paint, new dance floor, and updated bride room in Spring/Summer 2020. Beautiful! The outdoor firepit was perfect to have on for our Fall wedding. The fireplace inside is part of a floor to ceiling stone wall as you enter the ballroom. Gorgeous and cozy in October! The whole staff worked really hard to make sure everything went well. A big thanks to all!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 10/14/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience

    We could not have experienced a more perfect day. Planning a wedding during COVID is no easy feat but the staff was amazing and a prayer answered, in so many ways. The food was amazing, staff was friendly, and accommodating to our needs from food allergies to COVID concerns.
  • S
    Lotus E. Sent on 10/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue with Excellent Customer Service

    Recently, my clients were married at the Woodlands at Algonkian and I am so happy that they selected this venue. Maren and the rest of the staff were extremely professional, accommodating and a joy to work with. The Catering team was amazing as well and the food was incredible and exceeded our expectations. The venue is beautiful and they were well prepared and took the proper precautions to protect my clients and their guests from Covid-19. In a time of a pandemic, it was a relief to work with a venue team that understand our concerns and communicated with us consistently to ensure that everything was addressed and that any pressing questions were answered before the Wedding Day. As an Event Planner, it is imperative
    to partner with a venue that is experienced, professional and that puts the client's needs first and the Woodlands did all of that and more. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone planning on getting married in the DC Area.
  • A
    Joyce M. Sent on 10/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great staff, service, and location!

    We had a wonderful wedding here and the staff were awesome and accommodating. Would book again but hope not to have a second wedding!
  • D
    Dana Sent on 10/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Spot for our Late Summer Wedding!

    Our experience with the Woodlands was amazing. Maren was so thorough and responsive in the planning leading up to our date, and very flexible with our last-minute changes. We had our ceremony off-site, but Maren was accommodating in opening up before we headed to our church rehearsal on Friday so we could drop decor early.

    The site itself is gorgeous, recent renovation work outside made the lawn great for cornhole. People were milling around near the firepits and outdoor bistro tables, PERFECT layout for cocktail hour.

    The reception hall glass walls overlooking the golf course, made a great backdrop for first dances as the sun set.

    Overall, we are very pleased with both the location and the service at the Woodlands! Highly recommend!
  • A
    Alexis F. Sent on 01/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect location for a VA fall wedding!

    I can not recommend this place enough! Maren was absolutely fantastic to work with and the venue itself was just beautiful! Everything from the pre-panning to the catering to the day itself was excellent. If there was a small mistake, Maren was there immediately to fix it herself! You could tell she wanted nothing else than to make sure myself and my husband were having the best possible experience! The venue itself is so beautiful and the atmosphere it provided made our wedding day extremely memorable. (Not to mention the price, compared to other venues in that area, is fantastic!) You will not be disappointed with this venue!
  • Sabrina
    Sabrina V. Sent on 07/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    They were great!

    Maren and Angela were so helpful and communicated so clearly about everything. They were very flexible and helped accommodate every part of my day. Both gave excellent advice and suggestions about how to make things run as smoothly as possible.
  • Jewel
    Jewel T. Sent on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    All we ever wanted!

    The Woodlands at Algonkian had it all. We had the ceremony outside next to a forest grove, cocktail hour on the patio and in the entry hall, then dinner inside a lovely ballroom with floor to ceiling windows next to the dance floor. It was comforting to know that if the weather had been bad, it would've been easy to simply move the ceremony inside the lovely ballroom.

    Most of our family and friends stayed in the Riverfront Cottages in Algonkian Regional Park, about one mile from the venue. This made it a wonderful weekend experience for us all.

    The venue staff took care of the essentials for the wedding event, like setting up chairs for the ceremony and the tables/chairs for dinner. The venue coordinator, Maren Roman, was an excellent point person for the day! We didn't hire a coordinator/planner of our own, and it was fine because many details (tables, chairs, table cloths, alcohol, catering) were streamlined by the Woodlands venue team.

    The Woodlands venue has an exclusive caterer, Great Blue Heron. Their food is great, and this made coordinating simple and easy.

    We had our event on Friday, which was MUCH more affordable than a Saturday. Technically the rental period is 8 hours, for example we had 2pm to 11pm. But they only rent to one couple each day, so you can have access to the space earlier in the day if you need to setup.
  • James
    James S. Sent on 09/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Summer Bells

    The folks at Woodlands were very professional, timely and communicative. Our wedding went very smoothly with them. The price of the package was very reasonable too. If you like having weddings outdoors in a wooded nature setting, this is one of the best places in the area. They work with a set catering service with an impressive set of menu items.
  • E
    Erin Sent on 09/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Wedding Venue

    Book this venue for your wedding and I promise you won't be disappointed! Maren and her team were a pleasure to work with from our first meeting through our wedding day. They made the process so easy and accommodating, and the venue was exactly what we wanted. Lots of greenery and nature, tall trees, a high ceiling spacious reception area and so much more. The food, the service, the views, everything was incredible. We had all types of weather on our wedding day from sun, to rain, wind, and even hail just moments before our ceremony. Maren and her team did everything they could to make our wedding go on and it did! That evening we had the most beautiful sunset and tons of deer came into the background of our photos. I can't recommend this place enough, I am so glad we got married here!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours