Skip to main content
Weddings

The White Gown Reviews

The White Gown View more information

92 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 92
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4 User photos

  • A
    Amy L. Married on 11/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience!

    I had been to several bridal salons prior to The White Gown but ultimately purchased my dress here. It's a small boutique so we had a very intimate shopping session here which was great. They were so accommodating and walked me through the entire process carefully. I went to a few other shops and they were no where near as helpful or transparent with pricing and the process. I came here knowing exactly which dress I wanted so my experience was a little different than others. I came here because they had the dress I wanted closer to the color and fabric option I wanted. Even though it wasn't exact, they showed me with multiple dresses on what it would be and even contacted the manufacturer to confirm which colors and material were the ones I needed. Everything worked out perfectly!

    The White Gown's reply:

    Amy, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy that your experience with us was such a positive one! Our stylists strive to hear and support our brides in any way they can and it's so encouraging when we hear this positive feedback! I hope your wedding was as magical as you always dreamed. We certainly know how beautiful you looked on your special day!
  • Corinna
    Corinna D. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    Loved The White Gown! I didn’t want to go to any large stores where it would be chaotic. The White Gown is a tiny boutique in Manhattan. I believe they only see 2 brides at a time. I purposely went during a Hayley Paige trunk show since I knew that’s what I was most interested in. I didn’t plan to purchase my dress the day I went but I got a trunk show discount. I also got the matching veil. I knew all along I wanted something non traditional for my dress, and the Hayley Paige Kellan dress ended up being perfect! However I ordered my dress over a year in advance and there was one day I second guessed my decision. I called the shop crying asking to come try it on again as well as a different dress I had my eye on and they were so nice and accommodating. It was super convenient for me to purchase my dress in the city and be able to have my alterations there as well.
  • H
    Hila M. Married on 05/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding dress salon and seamstress

    We went to 5 salons in one weekend to look for a wedding dress, and The White Gown was where I found my gown during a trunk sale. The staff were friendly and easy to work with. The seamstress was also wonderful and did great work on my gown over the course of three visits. I would highly recommend The White Gown for a more relaxed wedding dress shopping experience.
  • C
    Cara Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great shopping experience!

    The White Gown was the first of two appointments I scheduled for my first time trying on wedding dresses. I went in to the day with the goal of narrowing down what shape and style I wanted, but the White Gown was so fantastic that I ended up buying my dress-- and it was the fourth dress I tried on! They have an amazing selection at great price points. I had done a lot of research, but the dress I bought was not one I had ever seen before. Christiane really listened to me, understood my style immediately, and knew exactly which dress was perfect for me. I kept trying on other dress and styles because I didn't think I could really have found the dress so quickly, but kept being drawn back to it. She is truly amazing! I have not yet gotten my dress in for alteration, but will update when I do.
  • K
    Kate Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great experience working with Ariel and the rest of the women at The White Gown. Easy to set appointments and had all alterations done there as well!
  • R
    Robyn Married on 05/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I live in VA, but my mom and sister live in NY, so we planned a dress shopping day in the city! The White Gown was our last stop of the day, and I am SO glad that we went! The store is a little hard to find from the street, but once we got upstairs we were greeted with such warmth from the staff, that I knew it was going to be a fun appointment. The dressing room/seating area was HUGE, which made the appointment feel private and comfortable. Since I had already tried on dresses at two other stores, I narrowed down what style I was looking for. Pauline did a WONDERFUL job finding dresses that fit the style I mentioned, that were also within my budget. After trying on a few dresses I saw Pauline bring an additional dress into the dressing room, and I knew that was going to be the one! She picked out the PERFECT dress for me, and I am so excited to wear it in May!
  • A
    Annie Married on 04/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Really great appointment here. I had just had a terrible appointment earlier and was feeling a bit raw. But as a plus size bride, they made me feel comfortable and helped me try on many different dresses. While I didn't purchase my dress here, I absolutely recommend going as it was a wonderful experience and I almost did purchase here.
  • D
    Dominique Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I went to a few other places before visiting The White Gown including David's Bridal, RK Bridal and another independently owned shop. And all had their pluses and minuses, but the White Gown was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. It's a small shop but has a lot of charm, seating for your crew is comfortable, the dressing rooms are large and they supply a robe so you can discreetly change in and out of the dresses. My consultant, Melissa, took time to discuss the style I wanted and the venue vibe before pulling a large number of dresses for me to try on. She never lost her good cheer even after I rejected many of the dresses and never pressured me into anything like some of the consultants at the larger stores did. They had a nice selection of designers and styles, and most importantly, she only showed me gowns that fit within my budget, something none of the other salons did. I ended up ordering my dress and veil from The White Gown and couldn't have been happier.
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love this place! It's small, so it's pleasantly intimate and you don't have to wade through nine thousand dresses only to try on five.

    When I first showed up, I didn't love anything I found. But I left with the names of my dresses and saw that three were from the same designer (Theia). I looked on that website, found a dress I LOVED, and asked the White Gown if they carried it. They didn't, but they said they'd get it for me -- and they did!

    Every experience with them has been lovely -- I haven't been rushed, exposed, judged, or hustled out the door once.

    I highly recommend them!!
  • A
    Annie Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved my dress from the White Gown and really liked working with this business. The other stores I visited were very pushy in trying to get me to buy the dress right away, even though I wanted to wait a few weeks until my mom was in town. The White Gown was much more laid-back and made me feel at ease. The seamstress did a great job and was so nice to me and my sister each time we went for the fitting. I definitely recommend this store to any bride in Manhattan!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    On Saturday (2/8/15) I went into The White Gown with my sister and we had the pleasure of having Pauline our attendant. I was very nervous since this was my first time looking for a wedding gown. Absolutely everything about my appointment was amazing, Pauline sat with my sister and I for a few minutes just talking and getting to know me before she even started talking about dresses. Once we started to talk, Pauline completely listened to everything I said I wanted in a dress. The first dress I tried one was the one! I couldn’t believe it. I still wanted to see more dresses to be sure. Pauline never pushed or made me feel pressure. She was kind enough to allow my sister and I to have time alone to talk about the dress and just made me feel so comfortable. After trying on about 4 more dresses, we put "The Dress" back on and Pauline and Marie, the manager, came in with a veil for me to see a completed look.
    Once the veil was on, it hit me. That was my dress!! I said Yes To The Dress right on the spot and could have never been happier. I cannot express enough how wonderful Pauline made me feel. She is truly a gem and just such a wonderful person. She truly made the experience for me.

    As months went on and I had my fittings, Pauline and Slubia, the seamstress, were so wonderful. They made me feel like I was the only person in the bridal shop. They personalize the service and make you feel like the most beautiful bride. Slubia tailors the dress exactly the way you want it and doesn’t push for the look to be something different. I would use her for all of my tailoring if I could! I will be forever thankful for her helping make my Wedding Dress Dreams come true!

    Thank you again.
    Lauren (Swiecicki) D'Alora
  • User1910127 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Wedding Gown staff did everything to help me find the right dress according to my budget and alter it so it was MY dress.
  • C
    Chrissy Married on 09/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend visiting The White Gown and if you can, ask to meet with Marie. She helped me find the perfect wedding dress and veil within my budget. After initially purchasing the dress I came across the designer website that showed the style# in a different dress shape/style than what I had initially tried on and ordered... I contacted Marie to check with her and within 24 hours she had reached out to the designer and had gotten back to me to ensure that I would be getting exactly what I had wanted. I also had my alterations done at The White Gown and the dress ended up fitting perfectly on the big day. The service, responsiveness, and professionalism at The White Gown is excellent.
  • User1781341 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was wonderful! The personal attention is unbeatable! A special thank you to Shivan for all her help. She's amazing!
  • FutureMrsGarguilo
    Shawna Married on 07/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I visited The White Gown back when it was located in DUMBO and though I miss having this little gem in Brooklyn, it is a wonderful bridal salon. The women there are so pleasant and helpful! I bought my dress over 1.5 years ago and my helper was Emily! I love love love Emily. If you want to find beautiful dresses and have a pleasant experience, this is the place!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am a bride that was not truly excited to go wedding dress shopping. I am not your typical girly girl and have not dreamed of my wedding dress since I was a little girl...I was not sure how comfortable I was going wedding dress shopping in New York wedding gown shops and boutiques!

    I contacted The White Gown to make an appointment and from that initial phone call they put me at ease. I made my appointment and before they got off the phone with me they just let me know that they were having a clearance sale that Thursday and Friday. I was originally not going to go to the sale but decided to stop by on my way to work.

    I ended up trying on some of the dresses and everyone at The White Gown was amazing! They were so helpful in directing me in to the different styles they had available and what I had in mind. The sales women helping me brought over a dress that was not exactly what I thought I wanted but she thought it would look good on me. The dress zipped up and looked amazing and I fell in love! The sales woman was so amazing and helpful since I was there by myself...
    The manager came over and saw me in the dress and brought over a sash that was absolutely perfect with the dress...the sash was not on clearance but the manager gave it to me on clearance because she thought it was so perfect together.

    As I was leaving still in shock they helped me through timing on the few alterations that I would need (bustle, enhancing the sweetheart neckline). Once it was time for the alterations they were just as wonderful and responsive.
    The element of customer service that sticks out to me the most is how wonderful and down to earth they all were. I was slightly intimidated shopping for a wedding dress in NYC. The White Gown were friendly, profession, and you can tell that every single one of them is passionate about helping the bride look absolutely beautiful on their wedding day.
    I would recommend them to any bride!
  • Jacqueline
    Jacqueline Married on 05/03/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was actually the first shop I went to when looking for my wedding gown. At the time, this place was located in DUMBO, but they have since moved to midtown a few blocks from Grand Central. At first, I was not looking forward to trying on numerous gowns before finding THE ONE. Luckily, the staff was very attentive and listened to all my "wants" and needs. My best friend and I were shocked to find the dress during my first visit!

    If your looking for a unique dress at a bargain price... go to the White Gown. You won't regret it!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 02/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the moment I first walked in, I knew I would be able to find "my" wedding dress. I showed them some photos of dresses I liked, described the look I was going for, and the budget I was trying to stick with, and they quickly brought dresses that fit my description perfectly. Dress after dress, they let me take my time in seeing myself in it, seeing the different ways to style it to be my own, and how to make it look perfect for me. The dress I chose was everything I imagined I would look like on my wedding day, and the in house fittings made the process of getting it ready for the big day easy and seamless. I knew it was a hit, by the look of my husband's face when he saw me in it for the first time, and from all of the compliments I got from my guests. I wish I could get married again just so I can try on more dresses there!
  • M
    Marlana Married on 11/01/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the ONLY place that would get my gown in for me to see it... and I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to wear my gown again.. such an amazing job giving me 2 different looks out of 1 gown... so modern. Loved it ♥
  • L
    Lilly Married on 10/11/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I did not get my dress here (I'm SUPER picky) BUT still wanted to say how great this place was. From the second I arrived, Marie was very nice and very helpful. She chose gowns that flattered my figure and were within my price range. She even chose a couple of dresses that I wouldn't have thought to look at but I liked that as it helped me see beyond my preferences. Overall, I had zero issues with this place from making the appointment to trying the gowns on. Everyone was absolutely fantastic!
  • User1424237 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    So much better than a warehouse experience, we loved working with Emily and the staff at The White Gown. We were at their cute little boutique in Brooklyn (I believe they moved), and enjoyed the entire process. Our daughter knew what she wanted, tried on other options, and though she didn't find the exact dress she was looking for, found one that was made by the same designer and looked exquisite not only in the boutique but on her wedding day. The whole process was fun, easy, and professional. Emily wrote our daughter a personal note after our visit - who does that any more? It was the touch of a classy boutique, and I loved it. I hope their new location gives the same boutique vibe - truly a wonderful experience.
  • User1318272 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    A small boutique store but has many dresses for the discerning bride. They also were willing to give discounts if you were able to purchase any other items related to the wedding .
  • L
    Lexi Married on 07/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I bought my dress here and I am so happy I did! I am from out of town, but it was never a problem for them to ship me my dress and never complained that I was not getting my fittings done in-house. They have a lot of dresses to choose from and they are all at a reasonable price.

    I suggest looking at their website before you go and browsing through the designers they offer... thats what I did and I knew exactly what dresses to try on when I walked in the store.

    They were extremely helpful, very responsive, and shipped my dress quickly. Two thumbs up!!
  • User1236771 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Five stars all around for the White Gown - they were fabulous from start to finish.

    I'm not a Kleinfeld's kind of girl, and didn't have a $5,000+ budget for a wedding dress. It was no problem at the White Gown - they found plenty of styles for me to try that were well within my budget with absolutely zero judgment or nudging upwards on the price point. I definitely didn't feel the same condescension that I felt at several Manhattan boutiques - the associate Erica was friendly and offered helpful suggestions without a hint of snootiness or upselling.

    The alteration process was also seamless (pun unintended!). The White Gown always sent confirmation emails to remind me about the visits, and I had 3 in total to take in the sides, put in bust cups, and sew in a French bustle. The seamstress was awesome and I actually looked forward to seeing her each time I went in! I was really impressed by her talent and enthusiasm for making my dress look great.

    Overall every part of my experience at the White Gown was great and I would definitely recommend them!
  • L
    Laura Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When I went to the White gown I thought I knew what I wanted. Then I met Marie and she showed me what I really needed. Everything was fantastic!