The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square Reviews

31 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

31

3 User photos

Order by:
  • S

    SUSHIL · Married on 12/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most of our guests said "Best party ever ........" and these are all 50+ years old who have been to a party or two of note in their lives.

    Sent on 03/17/2018
  • V

    Victtor · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selma and the entire Westin St Francis team were absolutely fabulous and helped us create the most beautiful wedding for our son and new daughter-in-law! Every guest at the wedding and reception remarked on the impeccable detail and the fact that it was the best wedding and reception every witnessed. From start to finish Selma was very accommodating, answering every question and providing us with experienced and honest direction. She listened carefully to our vision for the day, and recommended lighting, music and floral vendors who hit the mark with making the vision a reality. Those of you contemplating a wedding, you will be in excellent, caring hands with Selma!

    Sent on 01/04/2018
  • Y

    Yassi · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selma was truly wonderful to work with! I was one of those brides who had a million questions throughout the planning process, and she responded to each in a timely manner with lots of detail which I appreciated! The Westin was a wonderful place to get married, right in the heart of Sf. The Imperial floor is jaw-dropping stunning and Selma and her team made sure my wedding was perfect. Thank you!

    Sent on 09/20/2017
  • Y

    Yoonmi · Married on 02/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very delayed review, but better late than never! Especially when I had the most dreamy wedding ever! I couldn't have asked for more from my venue, The Westin St Francis. Everything was PERFECT, beautiful decorations, delicious food, well-trained servers/bartenders, very helpful wedding coordinator! (Can't say enough thanks to Selma! She really made my wedding perfect!) I did not have to worry about one single thing throughout the whole day! No, throughout the entire week of! We had guests flying in from everywhere with their own schedule and they accommodated them flawlessly! I just can't say good happy things about the Westin St Francis! I will always have this memory of a perfect wedding because of them!

    Sent on 02/19/2018
  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 12/31/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding at the Westin St. Francis. The space is gorgeous, as are the linens, tables, chairs and china. It was such an easy experience working with the team at the Westin. Our site coordinator Selma Santoyo was responsive, professional, super friendly and engaging, and handled our wedding perfectly. The service was impeccable, and the food was amazing. Our guests raved about the food and the space. We highly recommend having your wedding at the Westin St Francis.

    Sent on 02/12/2017
  • M

    Marisol · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have been happier with my decision to go with the Westin St. Francis for my reception! I wanted something indoor but I also didn't want it to be the typical ballroom wedding. When I saw Alexandra's on the 32nd floor I instantly fell in love! It was different from anything I had previously seen! As soon as we met with the wedding coordinator at that time, Lauren, I knew it was where I had to hold my reception! She was extremely helpful & informative & always quick to respond to any questions or concerns I had. She was very helpful when it came to choosing the other vendors and also setup the room block with discounted prices for our guests. So when I had received an email from her letting me know that she was stepping down from that position, I was definitely concerned. Thankfully as soon as I started working with the coordinator who replaced her, Selma Santoyo, all my concerns had disappeared. From the initial phone call she made to personally introduce herself, I felt at ease knowing that she would help make the rest of the process as easy as possible for us. We first met her at our menu tasting & were immediately impressed by her! She was extremely helpful with the menu selection & made great recommendations! To this day, our wedding guests are still complimenting the food, saying it was the best appetizers & dinner that they've ever had at a wedding! They also loved our signature drinks, which were also recommendations of Selma! The day of the wedding, Selma & the rest of the Westin team took care of every detail & made my husband & I, along with our guests, feel extremely special! Everything ran on schedule & our night was better than we could have ever imagined! All of our guests LOVED the hotel. We had a lot of family from out of town, & it was the most perfect location for them to truly enjoy the city. For any future brides, I would HIGHLY recommend going with the Westin & Selma! Thanks to them, our wedding was truly a dream come true!

    Sent on 01/11/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selma, our wedding coordinator did a wonderful job and she is a great person to work with all around. We can't thank her enough for making our day so special. All of our said it was the absolute best wedding they have ever attended! Do yourself a favor and have your wedding at the Westin St. Francis, you won't regret it. Thanks again Selma, we want to relive that night over and over again!

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very accommodating, responsive and personable. Loved Selma. Would recommend her and this venue anytime!

    Sent on 12/19/2016
  • S

    Shareen · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an excellent experience with the Westin St. Francis. Our wedding was magical-- absolutely everything I dreamed it would be. The venue is magnificent both in person and in pictures. The hotel was very accommodating and helped make our day perfect. Our first coordinator (who we loved) ended up leaving the hotel before our event. Selma was hired and was a pleasure to work with. I recommend the St Francis and am so glad that we had our special day there. Thank you to everyone who made our day perfect!

    Sent on 10/28/2016
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    my dream venue. the staff was awesome and couldnt have asked for more

    Sent on 12/10/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 03/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVE this venue. Was recommended to me by my wedding planner (based upon my 'vision'...or lack thereof!). Planning a wedding out of state had the potential to be stressful, but Lauren at the Westin was absolutely WONDERFUL. She is incredibly easy to work with, understanding, the list goes on! The Imperial Room is perfect for what we needed (privacy and space for our big crazy families).

    Sent on 05/26/2015
  • G

    G · Married on 12/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we ever made was to choose the Westin St. Francis for our ceremony and reception. Lauren Schardt, the St. Francis’s wedding specialist is the reason why we ultimately chose to have our wedding at the St. Francis.

    Lauren was responsive to all our questions in a timely manner (believe me, we had a lot of questions), knew the details of our wedding, maybe even better than we did, and was very patient and accommodating. Our wedding went flawlessly because of Lauren.

    We looked at a few venues and met with several wedding specialists, but Lauren stood out as being very knowledgeable, and organized. She genuinely listened to what we had to say and really tried to understand what we wanted out of our wedding. From choosing linen colors, to choosing vendors, and deciding which rooms were best, Lauren was with us every step of the way, and gave insightful advice without ever seeming pushy or condescending.

    The huge elephant in the room when it comes to weddings is cost, and Lauren was upfront about prices. We never felt that there were any hidden fees, or anything tacked on to our final bill - Lauren made sure that things were transparent. The packages that the Westin St. Francis offers are fantastic and really are worth every cent.

    We could go on and on about how amazing Lauren Schardt is, but an instance that stood out in particular: we were hosting a traditional tea ceremony the afternoon of the wedding and Lauren helped coordinate details of the tea ceremony, even though it was not part of her responsibilities in the contract. She helped us secure the Windsor Suite, which was the perfect place to host the tea ceremony. Lauren truly went above what was expected of her.

    The delicious food, the drinks, the friendly staff, and just how gorgeous the Westin St. Francis is as a whole (and how wonderful Lauren is), should sway any couple that wants to get married in San Francisco to pick the Westin St. Francis.

    Sent on 02/05/2016
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our reception at the St. Francis in Victor's Palace on the 32nd floor and it was absolutely stunning. The food was excellent, the service was outstanding and the venue was beautiful. Lauren Schardt was great to work with, she was professional, quick to respond to emails and very accommodating to our requests. This is a beautiful venue, it's bit pricey but definitely worth the money.

    Sent on 10/19/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding coordinator was Lauren. I would highly recommend using her and Westin St Francis Union Square. They made our wedding everything we ever imaged. My family, my husband and I were so impressed with everything they did and helped with. Lauren was absolutely amazing, she had everything ready for us and knew exactly what needed to be done before we knew. She was with us through the whole process. We don't know what we would have done without her. We can't express how much she helped us. She was involved with everything down to our timeline, schedule, photos, meals and rehearsal dinner/rehearsal, as well as our ceremony & reception. Everything went off without a hitch with her assistance. She was great to work with, very responsive, personable & friendly. Anytime we had a question or concern she would address it right away. Leading up to the wedding she was fantastic, following up with us to make sure everything was going well with the planning and keeping us updated & giving us recommendations. She helped us execute our dream wedding. We would highly recommend her and Westin St Francis to host any event or your wedding.

    The hotel and hotel staff was absolutely amazing, the food was delicious. We also hosted our rehearsal dinner at the hotel and everyone was raving about the food. The staff was so nice and professional. She provided our vendors loading/unloading instructions and kept in constant communication with our wedding coordinator. On the wedding day- she was so great, making sure everything went smoothly. The hotel provided a meal tasting- all of their selections are so good! They have a seasonal menu so the food is very fresh, elegant and filling. No one went home hungry from our wedding. We held our wedding ceremony in Victor's Palace and our reception in Alexandra's Ballroom. They were beautiful and the team did a great job setting up the room to accommodate all of our guests- some handicap. Our photos also turned our amazing in this venue!

    Sent on 10/25/2015
  • W

    Wiser · Married on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding reception at the Westin St. Francis Union Square and it was amazing! Lauren Shardt, the on-site coordinator/ planner is SO good at what she does. My family can be a bit difficult to work with at times, and Laurent continued to impress me with her patience, accommodation, and once again, her professionalism. The Westin is drop dead gorgeous, so of course they host quite a few weddings a month but with Lauren you really felt like yours is the only one she is working on.

    I could go on and on. The guests raved about their stay here. The food was EXCELLENT. Service was 5 stars. Not only do I recommend the Westin for your event, but I don't think I'll ever even stay at another hotel in San Francisco. I highly recommend it!

    Sent on 08/16/2015
  • User5178454 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect venue for our wedding. They provided a wonderful room for the ceremony and then we rented the top floor of the hotel that has floor to ceiling windows on the 32nd floor for our cocktail hour and reception. We had so many guests tell us that it was the best wedding they had ever been too, and it was definitely the best weekend of our lives. In addition, the wedding coordinator there, Lauren Schardt, is an amazing individual who will do anything to make your special day truly special. She is efficient, organized, and extremely flexible. She is seriously everything you want in a hotel wedding coordinator. I'm obsessed with her. This venue is beautiful, elegant, and has that wow factor to really make your guests impressed.

    Sent on 06/15/2015
  • User5332244 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My bridal shower was in San Francisco and I have to say my stay here was nothing short from amazing!
    The hotel is huge! A beautiful historic building. Nice and happy people as well. It really is in the PERFECT LOCATION! In the city however you have that great park across the street. This place is a GEM! I cannot remember the gentlemen at front desk for the life of me however he upgraded us to the top floor and gave us a view of the park, unbelievable. The room was vintage and charming. I loved the older restrooms and marble floors, the closets are big and the bedding is marvelous. Great stay!

    Sent on 08/13/2015
  • User3178011 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with the Alexander's & Victor's place the first time me and my husband saw it. Not only Westin has one of the best views of the city, the package includes a great wedding coordinator. Lauren Schardt was very helpful and very organized.

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • User3188938 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just all good things to say. The space up on the 32nd floor is unparalleled. Plus, Lauren is a rockstar - so easy to work with, professional, responsive, organized, and kind. She went above and beyond and our night flowed totally seamlessly. You work so much with the main coordinator at your venue, and I cannot imagine anyone is better than Lauren. She made the event stress-free.

    Food was delicious, service great, hotel fantastic - just all good things to say.

    Our wedding was absolutely amazing here.

    Sent on 09/15/2014
  • Abigail & Michael

    Abigail · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I researched a few places in San Francisco and we always came back to Westin St. Francis as the place to measure as a standard. The Westin always edged out the competition not only for the specifics of the venue, but also for the service via their wedding manager Robin Lewis. She treats you like someone who genuinely cares about every detail about your day. She will ask you many questions which helps because there are so many thing easily passed over. All of my family members came out to California from Pennsylvania and Robin made sure they felt welcomed, especially concerning my parents. She sent a welcoming plate to them upon arrival and they were suprised and appreciative. Robin went the extra mile to make sure my parents were taken care of both during their stay and during the reception. As for the details - we outsourced many of our vendors and Robin coordinated their efforts so everything flowed smoothly. She asks many questions of you and what your vendors are doing so everything runs smoothly. Basically Robin will think of many things that you already felt you had covered 100%. The tasting is very professional and very personable. Robin will sit with you and ask what you like and/or dislike about the tasting. She in very discerning about the food and wines and will make winning suggestions about anything you are unsure of. The chef is also welcoming for the mere fact that he comes out and introduces himself and lets you know he will oblige any changes you wish to make to adjust to the delicious menu items. Again this is where Robin's expertise and suggestions become a relief. Now, to get to the actual venue - there is no better view for a reception than the Westin. You have a semi-panoramic view of San Francisco. You will be on the 32nd floor of the Westin Tower and it is fantasic to just relax for a moment to look out of the extended bay windows and just take in the moment. Great pics.

    Sent on 11/08/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 11/05/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I are from Canada and booked our wedding entirely remotely! In every way, Selma especially, and all the staff at The Westin St. Francis were exceptional. We chose The Westin St. Francis for its high reviews from past couples and it absolutely lived up to the hype. From the small, thoughtful details, like a handwritten note and welcome drinks and snacks on the night of our arrival to the consistent check ins to see how we were doing, not only did we feel taken care of, but genuinely cared about. Selma even made sure a few of each of the appetizers from our cocktail hour was put aside so when we came into the cocktail hour (hungry!) we got to taste everything. We married November 5th, 2016. Our ceremony was held in the St. Francis Suite and our reception at Alexandra's. The food was fantastic (we had the chicken wrapped in prosciutto and the beef short ribs + the chicken and waffles for a knock out midnight snack). Our guests raved how it was delicious AND served hot (big deal to us!) The bartenders were also top notch, we had manhattans and negronis as our his and her drinks and I can't say they've ever tasted better. If I did it again I would not change one thing. Thank you Selma!

    Sent on 01/16/2017
  • J

    Jade · Married on 09/16/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selma was great at helping everyone get on the same page, and the venue is spectacular. Everything went off without a hitch!

    Sent on 01/03/2018
  • A

    Angela · Married on 11/19/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selma was given a tough task when taking on our wedding. We had originally signed our contract with Lauren, the previous wedding coordinator, and switched to Selma just a few months before the wedding. I imagine it must be quite difficult to take on all new clients in such a short amount of time. There were certainly some rough points, but Selma really pulled through for me and my husband's wedding. While I am sure it must be hard to meet the requests of every bride, Selma certainly exceeded expectations. She provided high quality service and assisted with thoughtful suggestions all the way through the final hour. My only wish is that I would have began my wedding planning journey with Selma throughout the entire process. She really made our special day complete and I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to work with her. When folks ask me for advice on which people are the most important in planning a wedding, I always say the venue coordinator. They are essentially the gate keeper for your requests and having a good relationship with them is important, more important than a wedding planner. I would recommend the Westin St. Francis mostly because of the quality service Selma provided. High quality service can make or break a beautiful venue. At the end of the day, it is the service that brings people back and I must say, Selma truly made this experience wonderful. Thank you, Selma!

    Sent on 12/16/2016
  • G

    Genevieve · Married on 12/31/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my New Year's Eve Wedding at the Westin St. Francis in Victor's and Alexandra's rooms a the top floor of the hotel. I have so many wonderful things to say I dont know where to start! Natasha served as the event coordinator and she was absolutely AMAZING!!! She made our whole event truly magical. She is extremely organized and prompt, she knows her buisness and understands weddings both from a logistics as well as personal, emotional standpoint. She allowed us to incorporate personal aspects of our lives into the reception and gracefully guided us to the rest of the process. She handled evey detail with perfection and remembered every detail of what we told her whether via email, or even just in passing. The thoughful attention to this and to making sure we had fun and no stress on our big day was truly remarkable. She was always present making sure things were done properly and the event ran smooth guests had a great time. The westin itself offered exception service, any need was taken care of promply and the event was flawless. I think what most impressed me was that having our event here was a bit of a stretch for us but they worked to meet our budget. I was worried we'd have to cut alot of corners in order to make it feasible but once we contracted for the event the service and quality of every detail was 5 star all the way. The decor, food, service, promptness, friendliness of staff, was on par with event that could have easily cost 3 or 4x the price. The rooms at the St. Francis are beautiful which helped with flower and decorations....they didnt need much at all. I can't reccomend the St. Francis enough, for service, value, attention to detail and overall beauty of their event spaces! It was the most amazing day of my life and my guests where shocked at the splendor of it when they got off the elevator to our event space! Gorgeous!!

    Sent on 01/09/2010
  • H

    Helen · Married on 09/24/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with 360 views of SF, all the way out to both bridges and beyond. Runs around $210-280 per person for F&B before tax and service (which adds 35% on top). The venue is well decorated, external lighting was not necessary and we only had to add minimal decor in the form of candles and flower petals to turn it into a wedding venue. Selma was wonderful to work with, very responsive and flexible to our requests.

    Sent on 10/20/2016