Skip to main content
Weddings

The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs Reviews

The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs

The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs

Chester Springs, PA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 64 Reviews
View more information

64 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 64
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

69 User photos

  • Allison
    Allison Married on 05/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs is such a hidden gem! This was the first venue we looked at, and booked shortly after. Cait was personable and quick to respond to any email or text. The venue itself is tucked away from any traffic/noise and the layout itself flows perfectly. Having a venue that has a gorgeous backup ceremony space is a huge plus as well. Not many of our guests have even heard of the Washington before, but they were all impressed with its beauty and history. We couldn't have picked a better venue. Thank you so much to Cait, Beatrice, and the rest of the HYS team. Our wedding was a dream come true!
  • Rachel
    Rachel S. Married on 10/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Absolute Best!

    The Washington was THE perfect location for our wedding. Everything about it was magic. From the communication with Caitlin and Brittany down to the efficiency of the on-site staff the day of. Everything ran smoothly because of them. The location itself is STUNNING; rich in history and historic architectural details, beautiful landscaping and gardens. It was the most perfect place to be on such an important, special day and it made for some enthralling photos. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.
  • Megan
    Megan Married on 08/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So gorgeous!!

    I absolutely love The Washington. It’s a gorgeous location. The gardens are beautiful, we got so many compliments on the venue. It’s perfect and we needed little decor because it was so picturesque. Couldn’t imagine having our special day anywhere else.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Angela
    Angela Married on 08/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and amazing customer service!

    We cannot express enough how pleased we have been working with Caitlin and the Washington during this crazy time. She has been thoughtful, considerate, flexible and all around supportive of making the best possible outcome for us.

    It's easy to be accommodating when there isn't a pandemic; they have truly risen above the rest in their efforts to reasonably reschedule and see to our needs. If this is how the Washington conducts themselves during an ever-changing and restrictive pandemic, this is a testament to their character, passion and professionalism.

    Their willingness to adapt and make our day the best it could be, in spite of the restrictions meant a lot to us and our limited guests.

    Top notch organization with top notch people; a standard of service above the rest. Thank you so much for helping in the most sincere way to make our day special and we look forward to working with you in the future!

    Matt and Ange
  • Nicole
    Nicole M. Married on 05/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Finally Had Our Perfect Day!

    My husband and I originally started planning our wedding and booked the Washington at Historic Yellow Springs as our venue in March 2019 for a spring 2020 wedding. Flash forward 2.5 years and 3 rescheduled wedding dates later (due to COVID), we finally had our perfect wedding day on September 10, 2021.
    I can not say enough good things about Caitlin and Brittany at the Washington. Caitlin kept us updated through the entire process, and was as accommodating as possible while we tried to figure out new wedding dates for the safety of our guests. When our big day finally came, Brittany could not have been a more reassuring, calming presence. She was great directing the space during set-up and keeping everything organized for our ceremony.
    The grounds and event space at the Washington are insanely beautiful and our wedding guests are still raving about it almost a month later. We could not be happier with our wedding at the Washington and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get married in the area!
  • Kristin
    Kristin Married on 04/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Venue & Team

    I can't say enough good things about Cait and the entire team at The Washington. We were one of her first weddings had had to cancel our wedding back in April 2020 and through the entire process and mulitple reschedule Cait showed nothing but the utmost patience and professionalism. The buidling and grounds are beautiful and trust me when online pictures don't do it justice it's even more beautiful in person and of course your special day.
  • E
    Erin Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs and working with Cait was a phenomenal experience that I would choose again in a heartbeat. The HYS is a beautiful venue with a vintage, classic, boho like vibe. The grounds and the buildings are beautiful and it was a perfect day working with a perfect team. Cait answered all my questions and concerns and was so patient and helpful with the whole process. I would 10/10 recommend this venue and working with Cait.
  • Rachael
    Rachael Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Place

    I am so thankful to have had my wedding at The Washington. It is absolutely beautiful. The gardens and porch are probably my favorite parts :) We got married in June so everything was so bright and lush. From day one Caitlin was a dream to work with. Super responsive, friendly, and helpful with any questions I had. Thank you for everything you did to make our special day so perfect! I would recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a beautiful outdoor space for your ceremony/cocktail hour/photos, great flow, and tons of history.
  • C
    Christina G. Married on 05/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue!

    I was so excited when I toured The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs. It is truly a hidden treasure of wedding venues in the Philadelphia area. We got married in May and it was the most beautiful outdoor ceremony set in the garden around the fountain. Cait was super responsive and answered all of our questions along the way. We used Catering by Rich and loved the food and service that they provided. Our photos came out beautifully because it is such a unique, vibrant, and wonderful place. They also provide an option for indoor ceremonies if needed. The string lights along the porch outside are what really won me over. Would highly recommend!
  • M
    Maddie Married on 05/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    We couldn’t be happier with our choice in venue!! The grounds and indoor spaces were beautiful. We loved the large bridal suite to get ready before the ceremony and reception. The ceremony by the tree was the perfect natural and beautiful backdrop. The reception space fit our 100 guests perfectly and looked gorgeous with minimal additions. Caitlin was amazing to work with — she was so responsive, helpful, and invested in our wedding day. The entire process was seamless, and we could not be happier with how our wedding day turned out.
  • Sandra
    Sandra Married on 05/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly beautiful in so many ways!

    We fell in love with The Washington at HYS the minute we toured it. It was the perfect setting for our wedding in so many ways and working with Caitlin, our venue coordinator, made it even better. Caitlin is the sweetest person to work with and she always answered all our questions right away. We did not have to worry about anything with Caitlin being our venue coordinator. We wanted to be surrounded by nature, gardens, foliage, rustic charm, and we wanted our venue to have a feeling of intimacy, character and history to it. We also wanted to have our ceremony and reception at the same location. The Washington offered all of this in addition to three outdoor ceremony locations that we could choose from (and the indoor space for rainy days was not too shabby either). The grounds of The Washington were simply beautiful no matter where you looked. It also offered a beautiful, spacious bridal suite and groom's lounge. We cannot express how perfect The Washington was for our wedding day.
  • Meghan
    Meghan Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May 2019 Wedding

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs had everything we were looking for in a wedding venue. We wanted a romantic location with character that allowed for an outdoor ceremony and indoor reception. The Washington fit that 100%. Throughout the day, our photographer kept remarking how beautiful the setting was and how many locations there were for photos. One of the most important things and deciding factors for us when it came to selecting a venue was the responsiveness of the venue's coordinator. Caitlin went above and beyond from the first email we sent requesting a tour. She always responded the same day and was great at recommending other vendors and sharing ideas with us. When we arrived the day of the wedding, they had staff working on the gardens to make sure everything was picture-perfect and ready to go. The Washington truly made our wedding day magical and unforgettable. Also, for my fellow brides, their bridal suite is phenomenal.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 11/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have asked for more!

    My husband and I couldn't be happier with The Washington! We booked our wedding two years out so we could be sure that we'd have our choice of vendors and we have no regrets there. Caitlin was awesome to work with, and the venue itself is fantastic - there's history, beauty, and (maybe most importantly) options in case of inclement weather! We ended up being able to have our ceremony outside, but after weeks of rainy weather it was so nice to not worry about what we'd do if it did rain on our day.

    The Washington provides a list of preferred caterers you can work with, and our choice - Feastivities - was AWESOME. Three weeks have past and guests are still telling me how much they loved the food! The staff was super nice and attentive as well. I can't recommend The Washington and Feastivities highly enough!
  • J
    Jesse Married on 09/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible!

    The Yellowsprings was everything I could have every dreamed of. The space alone is beautiful but you can add your own flare if you’d like with decor and catering. Caitlin helped coordinate the day of and because of her the ceremony went off without a hitch. We were able to fit a 6 piece band, and 125 guests with plenty of room for dancing. 10/10 would recommend!!
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 09/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and unique venue!

    When looking for a wedding venue, my husband and I knew that we were looking for something that was unique and The Washington was exactly that! The history of the venue and that beautiful gardens were the perfect setting and backdrop for our ceremony and reception. We loved the space for the reception and what really sold us, were the options for the ceremony, both indoors and outdoors. We ended up having our ceremony in front of the tree but if it rained, we knew that we would be more than happy with the indoor option, which is a beautiful space with a lot of character. Caitlin was great to work with and responded quickly to our questions. We could not have asked for anything more. Highly recommended!
  • A
    Amy Married on 06/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Love love LOVE!! This location checked ALL our boxes! Multiple options to choose from for ceremony locations, a rainy day ceremony spot that would not interfere with the reception. A location SO GORGEOUS that very minimal decorating needed to be done! A flexible venue coordinator, and the ability to bring in all our own vendors! Our guests rave about the beauty! We would recommend this place to everyone! Thank you Caitlin and Maeve!

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    It was such a pleasure working with you two and being part of your special day!!! :)
  • M
    Matt Married on 06/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I couldn't have dreamed of a better venue for our wedding. The Washington is stunning! The gardens are beautiful and it is such a unique venue. I loved all the history that is there.
  • S
    Sagar Married on 10/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    One visit to this venue will, and you will conclude like we did that this is a perfect place for a wedding. The small village of Yellow Springs is quiet and filled with natural beauty. The Washington itself is a well preserved, historic building with a specail historic charm to it. We had one of our ceremonies outdoors, and there were at least three gorgeous locations for us to choose from for this, but we were relieved that they also have an indoor space that could easily fit all our guests if the weather was bad. The reception hall could fit up to 150 guests, but we topped off at 130 which allowed for an ample sized dance floor. The staff at the Washington were very pleasant and helpful before and on the day of the wedding at helping us plan our wedding day, giving us access at a reasonable time day of, and serving as de facto wedding coordinators for our ceremonies. We were looking for a bucolic or farm setting for our wedding, and this fit the bill and was one of the cheaper venues we came across. What was also attractive is that they had relationships with multiple caterers to give us a better chance to find one in our price range. There is plenty of parking on site for guests, but it is accessible by a motor coach too. We chose a late October date, and the many trees on site provided an amazing colorful backdrop for our event.
  • Kathleen
    Kathleen Married on 10/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Caitlin was absolutely AMAZING! Halfway through my wedding planning the venue coordinator was changed over to Caitlin and I am so glad! She was on top of everything and super accommodating. Whenever I had a question or ten she would respond so quick to my emails and make me feel at ease about everything. I would highly recommend using The Washington for a wedding you won't forget. I am so happy to have had our wedding there!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 08/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was so beautiful to have our wedding here. Butterflies were all through the garden and the flowers there were gorgeous, no ceremony decor was needed. It's also amazing to have the last second option to hold a ceremony indoors if the weather isn't cooperating. We let people invite kids and loved the outdoor space for them to run around.

    Cait was always quick to respond if we had any questions or concerns. Just pick this place for your wedding and make your life easier!
  • A
    Alexandra Married on 10/22/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the minute we arrived on the grounds of the Historic Yellow Springs, we knew that the place had captured our hearts. An 18th-Century manor with stone structures dating to the Revolutionary War, it has all of the charm that we could ever ask for in a wedding venue; nature, history, coziness and warmth. We did not need to see another venue after this one.
    On the day of the event, the Yellow Springs’ staff was very attentive to our needs and willing to adjust at a moment’s notice when our plans changed. We were grateful for everything that Jen (and Brittany) did for us! Everyone at this venue was unbelievable friendly and helpful. The Yellow Springs will always have a special place in our hearts.

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    Thank you so much, Allie! We seriously can't get enough of your pictures!
  • User2911565 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Historic Yellow Springs was simply phenomenal. They coordinated with us every step of the way which made planning so much less stressful. We appreciated their flexibility with everything, you have a lot of creative freedom to do what you desire. Everyone we talked to told us how much they loved the layout and open atmosphere of the venue. Brittany, the venue manager, is amazing. It makes all the difference to have someone who's passionate about what they do. You honestly can't go wrong with this venue, we were so happy we found it!

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    Thank you so much for these kind words!
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 07/23/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I searched quite a few venues before we found THE PERFECT ONE. The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs had JUST what we were looking for --- beautiful grounds, open (and air conditioned) indoor space, great secluded location --- and for JUST the right PRICE! Brittany and the entire team at The Washington were amazing to work with. They were accommodating, flexible, organized, and professional throughout the entire planning process. Brittany helped with rehearsal and day of coordination and did a wonderful job with everything! The grounds looked beautiful, the parking was so convenient, and the room was just perfect! It was the very best day of our lives, and we are forever grateful to have found The Washington!

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    This means so much Jackie! It was such a pleasure working with you and Matt. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey Married on 07/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This venue is absolutely stunning. My husband and I fell in love with it as soon as we toured it. It has everything you are looking for if you want a historic, rustic, classy, and characteristic venue. We loved the fact that it has a "man cave" as well as a beautiful bridal suite. There is also a "Plan B" space that is also pretty, should we have had rain cancel our plans. We chose the fountain as our ceremony site and had a musician duo playing. It was absolutely picture perfect. After the ceremony, we gathered for family pictures in front of the beautiful historic Washington and then got to enjoy cocktail hour in the Brick Room and also outside in the walkway space. Bernadette Duffy is absolutely amazing and will work extremely hard to give you exactly what you want for your wedding day. She is such a professional and works seemlessly with the venue's coordinators as well. Our reception was held in the Washington and the decor, the flowers, the venue, everything was perfect. The dance floor was packed all night long and the guests kept telling us what a wonderful space it was. I would recommend this venue to anyone-- we loved every minute of our day!

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words, Lindsey!
  • M
    Melanie Married on 07/02/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Brittany was a true pleasure to work with planning our wedding. No detail was overlooked! She was open, warm and very accommodating with our needs.

    The Washington at Historic Yellow Springs's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message