Skip to main content
Weddings

The W Banquet Hall Reviews

The W Banquet Hall View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
4.6 out of 5 rating
12 Reviews
93% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Awards

12
  • B
    Brittany B. Sent on 10/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The W Banquet Hall was perfect!

    The W Banquet Hall was perfect for our wedding. We used the hall as the place for our ceremony and reception, and the guests loved it. We had to change a lot of our wedding plans (due to COVID) multiple times, and Teresa was amazing throughout the whole process. She was very supportive, and I wouldn't have been able to get through the craziness of a COVID wedding without her. The hall is so beautiful, and I am so happy we picked the venue for our wedding.
  • L
    Lori Sent on 08/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I just got married at The W Banquet Hall and we cannot say enough great things about the rustic beauty of this venue! Our pictures turned out just the way that we were hoping in the space and the owners are so down to earth and friendly. I felt like they truly cared and wanted to make our day as stress free as possible...our very LARGE family has still been talking about how gorgeous the place is! Thank you so much to The W Banquet Hall owners!
  • K
    Kendal Sent on 10/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We could not be more pleased with the W Banquet Hall and how professional, and flexible they were for us. It was a great space, it was plenty of room for our 220 guest, and we ended up breaking down two tables to make more room to dance which was perfect. The atomosphere is very vintage/rustic elegance. We also got to bring in our own food and drink with any vendors we wanted which is great! Highly reccomended!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • H
    Holly Sent on 12/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Theresa was so easy to work with and was great about letting us come walk around The W a few times before our wedding as we were planning. The space is beautiful and was a good size for our wedding of about 100 guests. Everything about The W was super flexible as well-we got the space all day (as opposed to some venues we looked at that had time restrictions and HUGE extra costs for each additional hour), could bring in our own food and alcohol without any restrictions or extra fees, and had tables and chairs included in the price already. Theresa even set them up for us! The flexibility was great for someone doing a lot of DIY to save money. We'd definitely recommend The W!
  • K
    Kara Sent on 10/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Theresa was great to work with. She handed over all the information that we needed from the start and was easy to work with. She lets people visit the venue whenever they need, (minus when it is in use) so it was easy to go and plan and take measurements when we needed too. The space is really a clean slate. Which is great for those of us who have an ideal vision for the night. You can really build it into what you want.

    The layout of the venue is ideal and being so close to Downtown is fun. I found it to be the perfect size for a medium sized wedding. We had around 150 guests and the venue was full, but not crowded. It didn't feel like a lot of empty space and it wasn't body to body.

    What is great is that The tables and chairs are included with the space and Theresa gets them all set up and ready in the layout you want before you get there. She also lets you leave it once the night is over, which makes cleanup easier.

    For the price, it is a no brainer.

  • User2366724 Sent on 10/14/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Teresa is great to work with, she let us come in as many times as we needed to get measurements and make sure everything was going to be able to work out the way we wanted it to. I am so glad we chose this venue for our wedding and reception.
  • M
    Megan Sent on 09/22/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I had our reception here back in May. The reason we picked the W was because the inside decor fit very well with the overall feel we wanted for our wedding, and since we were getting married on a weeknight, the price was awesome. The owners were very flexible with setting up times to see the location (I was living in and planning the wedding from Chicago while my husband was still in Kansas City), and were even more helpful helping us get into the facility to set up everything for our reception.
    The W is so pretty on the inside, with christmas lights wrapped around the wooden support beams, and a small stage that we were able to use for our cake cutting. I know some couples have also used that as a place to also have their ceremony, but we chose not to go that route. We felt like we had plenty of space, and the owners were very helpful in setting up our tables and being flexible with all of our last minute changes.
  • Caitlyn
    Caitlyn Sent on 01/04/2017
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This space is incredible because the Christmas lights, dark wood ceilings, and architecture make it so you don't have to do any decorating except for table centerpieces. We were let into the venue the day before since no one had an event and that allowed us to set everything up and not have to worry about so much the day of the wedding. Good value and the space was very accommodating for about 150 guests and left room for a dance floor.
  • C
    Cassi Sent on 04/10/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I dealt with Teresa at The "W" through the entire wedding planning process. She was always responsive to my questions and concerns, and made suggestions for other vendors that worked out extremely well. I would recommend this venue as a "must-see" for anyone searching in the Lawrence, KS area.
  • J
    Jesse Sent on 08/15/2016
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    Great venue. Loved that we were able to use any alcohol and catering provider! Teresa was very helpful in figuring out the best layout & very responsive and flexible when I needed to look at the space for planning. Love the W!
  • User1219538 Sent on 06/28/2013
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The W is a beautiful venue for a wedding. I would highly recommend it to any brides-to-be in the Lawrence, KS area.
  • L
    Loni M. Sent on 07/02/2020
    2.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Profit comes first with The W

    Unfortunately the owner is more concerned about profit then having good customer service. We had to cancel our reservation due to COVID-19. She refuses to give any kind of a refund on the deposit. In a time where I have seen more people being generous and kind to one another this surprises me.

    The W Banquet Hall's reply:

    Hi Loni. You couldn’t be more wrong. I am extremely proud to say I give amazing customer service as all of my reviews and past events will tell you. I am also concerned about staying open for business to give my future couples a place to have their event. In order to do this, I have had to pay all of my bills during the past four months when I have been shut down. I am being more than generous by working with you to reschedule your event with no fee or time restriction. I also am willing to work with you to still have your event since our space is perfect for creating social distance. Again, I’m sorry for your misunderstanding of my point of view. I am actually only looking out for my brides in hopes that I will be able to keep my doors open.