Skip to main content
Weddings

The Vista on Seward Hill Reviews

The Vista on Seward Hill

The Vista on Seward Hill

Austin, TX
4.8 out of 5 rating, 71 Reviews
View more information

71 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 71
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

35 User photos

  • R
    Rachel H. Married on 10/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing! Worth every penny!

    Thanks to The Vista, we truly had our dream wedding. It was such a magical night thanks to the owners, the wedding coordinator and DJ that were included with the venue, and the absolutely breathtaking scenery! I cannot say enough good about this venue. You won't regret booking your wedding here.
  • S
    Shante F. Married on 09/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cares about the vendors

    Hi I’m the owner of a bartendering company that has worked here a few times. When we worked there this past Sunday (9.20.20) I was pleasantly surprised. This was our first time back since covid has started. They put in provisions to protect the bartenders at the bar area. How awesome is that. And the venue it’s self is just breathtaking. I would highly recommend this venue.
  • Tara
    Tara Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My dream wedding came true!

    VOSH was amazing! Everything from the ceremony to send off was perfect ❤

    There's nothing I would change from this experience.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    Babery A. Married on 10/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem

    Vista on Seward Hill gave us the dream-full wedding day, the venue is absolutely gorgeous. Soon as we met with Sidonee and Larry (the owners) it felt right, they were so kind and generous. Our wedding was perfect, friends and families said Vista is the "hidden gem in Austin."
    Love you Sidonee & Larry
  • P
    Parker Y. Married on 10/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most amazing wedding!

    Sidonee and Larry, the owners of The Vista on Seward Hill, and Anthony, sound and music coordinator (and so much more), promised to remove the stress of planning our wedding and to provide us with a relaxed, romantic and beautiful wedding day. They delivered even more than promised (and on short notice!!!). They were ALWAYS available to answer our questions and provide guidance. We used vendors from the venue's recommended list and could not have been happier. They worked together seamlessly to provide a flawless experience. Guest after guest commented on the beauty of The Vista on Seward Hill, which was the absolutely perfect venue for our wedding. My beautiful bride and I thank you Sidonee, Larry and Anthony for the most AMAZING wedding!!!
  • L
    Leony C. Married on 05/24/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue for your dream wedding

    This venue is as beautiful as it seems on the pictures. Dreamy and romantic. We're so happy we've found this wonderful place to share our biggest moment in lives. The venue holders and DJ are super warm and helpful. We didn't even need to hire a wedding planner/coordinator since the DJ already helped to coordinate all the work!!! Sedoni and Larry are super nice and responsive. It's definitely the perfect venue for your dream wedding.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 04/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I would tell them to go for it! Anthony did a tremendous job showing us around the venue! The pricing is reasonable with what the price includes!! Great property and lovely view!!
  • Kelly
    Kelly W. Married on 04/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning venue, best night of our lives!

    We got married on April 6th at VoSH. Larry and Sidonee were SO amazing throughout the entire process and we could not have picked a better venue. We had a same sex Hindu Christian fusion wedding and our 125 guests were taken care of and easily accommodated at the venue. I highly recommend these folks to everyone, but especially to the LGBTQ population. We will never forget our wonderful day and VOSH will be a highlight memory for years to come. And I might add, it's BEAUTIFUL and all the remodel updates were finished and looked spectacular. Would recommend again and again!
  • K
    Karen Married on 03/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Vista on Seward Hill is the most beautiful venue located in Austin, Texas! I am so very thankful for Sidonee and her team for making my sorority's formal a success, thats right, SORORITY FORMAL! I did not expect a wedding venue to adjust to our needs, but VOSH did. They went above and beyond and included services that helped me (the planner of the event) out. The venue is absolutely spectacular as every ne of our sisters thought so too. It's also hard to please 200+ people, but at VOSH, everyone had a great time. There are three convenient bars, photo opportunities just about everywhere you turn, a rockin' dancefloor + a rockin' DJ. My favorite thing about Vosh was that it was secluded from the city, and it was like our event was in its own private city. I can go on and on about how wonderful VOSH is. I got engaged recently, and I definetly know where I'm going to get married in the years to come. Thank you so much VOSH.
  • C
    Carolyn M. Married on 11/03/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous, hill country venue minutes from downtown

    The Vista on Seward Hill is a hidden gem, 10-15min from downtown, yet peaceful and full of hill country magic! As many reviewers have mentioned, Larry and Sidonee couldn't be easier to work with! From open houses to an open-door policy, I visited the venue on several occasions with vendors, family, or just to see how the outdoors transformed in different seasons. They were easy to communicate with and always flexible with my schedule! You'd be hard pressed to find another venue, at this price point, that comes with as many amenities and details as VOSH. Anthony, the DJ whose services come with the venue price, works so hard maintaining the grounds, and he knows the property inside and out. He ensured the timeline went off without a hitch, but there were a couple lull moments where guests weren't necessarily feeling the music - in hindsight, I wish I would have asked him to change the song as soon as the dance floor started to empty. Our wedding was on 11/3/2018, and it rained for weeks prior to our big day. Sidonee constantly updated us and worked with our coordinator to edit reception table arrangements to ensure our guests didn't sink. As luck would have it, we had perfect weather, and the outdoor ceremony and reception were gorgeous. I spent almost nothing on decor, as VOSH came with luxurious velvet sofas and tables, cocktail hour fire tables, plenty of greenery, and much more. We did a ton of research on caterers, coordinators, and photographers, but ended up going with the ones initially suggested by Sidonee - they have been in the business long enough to know who can be held accountable to make your life SO easy the day-of.
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden Gem of Austin

    This venue is absolutely gorgeous and they are always improving it. If you are looking for a venue that is close to downtown and surrounding hotels but secluded at the same time then this venue is for you. Plus you get the benefit of having Sidonee and Larry to work with. They were super helpful during the whole planning process, with not only recommending vendors to use but if you had any questions about anything they had the answer or could steer you in the right direction. Anthony at the Vista made the day of go off without a hitch, he kept us on schedule the entire night. I would definitely recommend this place, you will not be disappointed.
  • M
    Maggie Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dreamy Intimate Backyard Wedding

    Larry and Sidonee are a dream to work with- they were so accommodating during every step of the process. We had the wedding of our dreams come true at their venue! The oak trees, fountains and koi fish ponds created a magical experience. We flipped the ceremony space into dining after which we highly recommend- and the fire cocktail tables were perfect for when the temperature dipped in the evening. It was beyond our wildest dreams perfect!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Sidonee & Larry Seward are so nice and flexible. The property was perfect and everyone loved it!
  • J
    Jared Married on 05/26/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great, magical

    I loved how much they worked with us and helped us make our day be special. All we had was our ceremony and that was it. For just a couple hours
  • B
    Briana Married on 05/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I originally saw this property two years ago and instantly fell in love. The second I walked up and saw the amazing trees, the music playing, and where I would walk down the aisle, I knew I needed to get married here. The vibes are fantastic and fit an Austin wedding perfectly. Larry and Sidonee were fantastic hosts and extremely helpful. My family really enjoyed getting to know them and I can't thank the both of you enough for everything you've done. Every single one of my guests were absolutely in love with the venue and the wedding was so beautiful. Seriously out of a fairytale. Thank you both so much for a memory I will never forget. Fantastic venue and the most genuine, kindhearted people who run it and love what they do, which makes it even better.
  • C
    Cody Married on 05/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I'm a wedding fiddler and I recently played my cousin's ceremony there. I have to say the grounds are absolutely beautiful. You can not take a bad picture there. Anthony, the manager, is an absolute rockstar! He could not be a nicer person. He had everything in hand and under control. The man cheerfully strove to make sure every detail came off perfect. I can tell you the bride and her mother were ecstatic. If you want a guaranteed perfect wedding, this is your place.
  • Sarah
    Sarah H. Married on 04/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Vista on Seward Hill - AMAZING

    From the moment my wife and I pulled up to The Vista on Seward Hill (VOSH), we knew there was something very magical about this place. The family that owns the property is so loving, caring, and are willing to go above and beyond your needs to make your event a memorable one. Larry and Sidonne Seward were such a joy to work with and we can assure you, they will not disappoint! The property alone sells itself. We were in awe of everything offered after we finished touring the beautiful venue. Anthony, their professional onsite DJ and wedding coordinator included with the venue, was outstanding and made our lives stress free for our special day. Matt Montalvo, who was our photographer recommended by Larry and Sidonne, was very familiar with the venue. He captured the essence of our memorable day in unbelievable pictures! He is truly a professional that understands timing, lighting, and capturing all the moments at the secret garden, the hill country sunset, and our first dance with the alluring chandelier as the background! We searched many venues in Austin and the Vista on Seward Hill was by far the best. The surroundings and venue alone are beautiful even without any decorations. From the choice of indoor or outdoor seating and/or reception, to the timeless water fountains/koi ponds and the lush canopy above, and to the gorgeous chandelier in the dance hall, this property has numerous facets that truly are a niche in the wedding venue world. Do yourself a favor and look no further. You can tell these people love what they do by the quality of care and love given to the property and to the wedding couple. Thank you for the memories of a lifetime Vista on Seward Hill!!!
  • R
    Rimi Married on 12/15/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I absolutely loved Vista on Seward Hill! The venue is beautiful and recent renovations really set it apart from anything else we saw in the city. A new $20k elegant chandelier to dance under, modern and grand blue velvet upholstery, fresh paint on the outside of the venue!

    We hosted a Sangeet (i.e. a ~185 person Indian rehearsal dinner) at the Vista and the venue fit perfectly. It was both spacious, yet still intimate. We were easily able to interact with all of our guests. Sidonee and Larry who own the space are incredibly sweet and genuinely cared about us having a beautiful and memorable event. They both stepped in to oversee the set-up and Sidonee was very responsive and helpful pre-event via email.

    Useful notes:
    Vista has a few strict rules, make sure to plan around (i.e. start time, end time, baby sitter requirements, etc.). The rules are all reasonable and we appreciated that everything was clear and transparent from the beginning.

    DJ & Music - The Vista comes with their own DJ (Anthony) and the venue is wired for sound (for music and announcements) the whole way through which is incredibly convenient if you are hosting an indoor/outdoor event. Anthony is fantastic. Anthony helped block time for a rehearsal to make sure he knew the flow of the event in terms of music expectations, key announcements (i.e. speeches, dance performances, when dinner was ready, and buses were leaving). He was great about following the event time line and making sure we stayed on schedule.

    Food - The venue has a limited list of pre-approved vendors they work with for catering, that said the options were fantastic. We ended up falling in love with Rosemary’s Catering.

    Weather - We hosted our event in December, ended up being in the low 50s/upper 40s. With 5 outdoor heaters combined with the venue's fire tables we were outside for a while.

    Driveway - Recommend no larger than 25-30 person motor coach because of the steep driveway.
  • Samantha
    Samantha Married on 11/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional & Gorgeous Venue

    The staff at VOSH are simply incredible. From being flexible with our date selection and their reasonable rates, to DJ and MC Anthony being so on top of the landscaping, cleanliness, sound, audio and visuals in addition to directing our guests with announcements over the sound system, everyone LOVED this secret garden hidden gem of a venue! Service from staff was excellent and they followed through in what they promised. The fire tables were never equipped with the water bowls filled with floating petal center pieces but it ended up being okay to have the space in the center for drinks and such. Everyone loved the beauty of this venue so so much! Suggestions for anyone - people loved the slide show feature on the dance floor area! A/C worked perfectly and microphones all worked great to pick up our voices the day of. Rehearsal went quickly and seamlessly too! Anthony’s done this A LOT so you’re in great hands with him but I’d recommend a planner in tandem.
  • M
    Maura Married on 11/05/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A lot of venues can be beautiful but VOSH is not only breath taking the owners Sidonee & Larry are absolutely amazing, kind, fabulous and very special people. They made sure we had everything we needed while giving me endless tips to save money, provided incredible vendors to assist with added discounts just because people love them both so much. There wasn’t one hiccup and it ended up being a day out of a fairy tale! We will go back to celebrate our anniversaries and feel as if we gained two life long friends as well! You won’t regret choosing VOSH!!! Thanks for making our special day a dream come true! Lots of love - The Choates
  • A
    Amanda Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding at the Vista on 11/4. We got engaged a few months after moving from Austin to Portland, OR - so we decided that getting married in Austin was the best choice. I was stressed about having to plan a wedding from halfway across the country, but after finding this venue and calling and speaking with Sidonee over the phone, I was put at ease! I felt so comfortable speaking with her we booked the venue without seeing it in person. Our first trip to Austin we went by the venue for a tour and I was in LOVE. The photos are beautiful but there's nothing like seeing it in person! After meeting with the DJ, Anthony, I knew everything was going to go smoothly. He runs the show perfectly and on the day of our wedding I didn't worry about a thing! This venue was absolutely magical, everyone we encountered that worked with the venue was helpful and friendly - I would recommend this venue to anyone and everyone!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 07/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    VOSH is a beautiful wedding venue and also nice for special events. Sidonee and her husband at VOSH were great and very welcoming! They were helpful and clear throughout the whole process. They were always quick to return my phone calls and had no problems whenever I needed to go to the venue to take my vendors to check out the place. Anthony(dj/sound man at VOSH) was also great. He helped with getting our slideshow up for the day of, and also was there for the rehearsal and the day of to help run things(music, microphones, wedding party entrance) smoothly. Sean(her son) was helpful with getting the uplighting done for us throughout the whole venue. Which made the place look beautiful. I would highly recommend his services. They have a great team at VOSH. I was blessed to have the opportunity to work with such great people. I would highly recommend VOSH for anyone looking to have a wedding or special event.
  • K
    Kim Married on 05/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our May 26, 2017 wedding at Vista on Seward Hill (or VOSH). When I first stepped into VOSH, it felt "magical." It is just beautiful and green and always looked great no matter when we went (we visited the venue several times before our wedding). It's a very unique venue where the dinner hall is in a separate house from the reception area, so guests move into the reception area after dinner. Larry and Sidonee, the owners of the venue, were so friendly and helpful throughout the process. (They seem very respected in the Austin wedding community.) They made some changes to VOSH over the course of a few weeks right before our wedding (which I admit, did give us some minor heart attacks). Most of the changes were great though--they installed a beautiful new bar in the reception hall, but a few changes I was not as crazy about. For instance, the black archway that was covered in lights was taken down. Fortunately, they were willing to put it back up for our wedding and our guests loved taking pictures there. Several of our guests commented about how beautiful the venue was. You also really don't need that many decorations/flowers since it's so lush and green (we only had a few fake flower arrangements). Another great thing about VOSH is that you get a lot of bang for your buck as the price of the venue includes a DJ and day-of coordinator--Anthony. Anthony kept our wedding running smoothly and his song selection during the reception was great. (My one minor quibble is that he was sometimes slow to respond to our emails.) We are so glad we choose VOSH for our wedding!
  • E
    Elaine Married on 04/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone who came to the wedding and saw photos raved about our venue. The Vista on Seward Hill was absolutely stunning. I didn't want to wedding to end. Sidonee made everything so easy to set up. And Anthony was perfect in every way. If I could give VoSH more stars, I would. Loved it.
  • B
    Brian Married on 04/09/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had such an amazing Wedding at VOSH. Sidonee was so helpful, she gave us numbers to vendors and made the process so easy. Anthony is a brilliant host who made us feel at ease. The venue is absolutely breathtaking, everyone was raving about it. Could not recommend it any higher!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message