The Urban Event Reviews

32 | Kansas City, MO
See photos, pricing and details

32 Reviews for The Urban Event

Recommended by 78%

32

3.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.9
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 4.1
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 3.8
32 The Urban Event Reviews
Sort by:
  • Shelia

    Shelia Jones · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Service.

    We celebrated our daughter’s wedding and reception and everything was fabulous ! The event space was spectacular for a 6:00 wedding held on September 29th. Christine made sure we had everything we needed to make the event special. Service was remarkable. Thank you to Christine & Nick for making our daughter’s wedding so special .

    The Urban Event 1
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best. Day. Ever.

    Everything was exactly how I imagined it and more! Chris was easy to work with during the planning process and everything was PERFECT the day of!!!

  • User5055900 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very hesitant with booking with The Urban Event after reading many bad reviews but I absolutely fell in love with the venue the moment I walked it. I was so worried after reading the reviews that I toured close to 15 different venues. No others could even compare so we decided that we would "risk it" and book with the urban event. We could not be any happier that we did. The whole process leading up to the wedding went very smooth. Any questions that we had were answered quickly and they made sure that the set up was exactly what we wanted. The only hang up that we had was the elevator wouldn't open on some of the floors so we had to take the stairs. If I had to do it all over again, I would choose the urban event everytime. I would highly recommend the first floor/basement as our wedding couldn't be more perfect.

  • User5333758 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Urban Event is a beautiful place to get married in. Their staff is amazing to work with and very attentive to the needs of the guests. You can't go wrong with the gorgeous venue and wonderful staff! Best night of our lives!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As with any large event there were a couple things missing at the beginning of the day, but Nick and Chris were quick to get us anything missing and rearrange things when necessary and were tireless in making sure our day went well. Nick himself went to go get an additional prop to make our wedding day photos and video that much more special.

    All the items included in a wedding package make it easy to have a beautiful day, just add the final touches and it is guaranteed to look elegant.

  • A

    Abby · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The owners were very easy to get along with. They made all of our ideas happen. The venue was beyond beautiful. We were able to have our ceremony and reception there. We received so many compliments from friends and family about how wonderful the venue was. Couldn't be happier with our choice!

  • C

    Charles · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter and son-in-law were suppose to get married at the wedding venue in Osawatomie, Kansas on October 11, 2014. On October 1, my daughter was notified the venue was being shut down and may not get their money back. Considering the short time, it was next to impossible to find a venue. In steps Nicholas and Christina Abnos, owners of The Urban Event who managed to find a slot in their busy schedule for a wedding on the same date and time. This was truly a God thing, but He used these folks to make it happen. Certainly their kindness and compassion in assisting us, affects my review. However, I having visited with them and others who have had a wedding at their venue, they are great folks and are deeply interested in providing positive memories that last a lifetime. I often think of them, but especially on this day (October 11) one year after the wedding that might not have happened without them.

  • C

    Claire · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a good time! Thank you both for all your help and setting up such a beautiful space. We will definitely recommend this place to other people, and if you need anymore information about PB&J catering, don't hesitate to give Jacob a call. (913-231-7056) Thanks again!!

  • D

    Danielle · Married on 03/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding and reception at the Urban Event and loved it! Everything went wonderfully and the space and its views were exceptional. Everything flowed smoothly and they were very flexible with set up and take down times. They make things very simple and seamless. We couldn't be happier and would highly recommend them to anyone looking. Once the wedding was taking place we were able to have fun and the venue took care of the rest. It was wonderful!

  • User6290787 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I had a great evening wedding. Chris and her staff did everthing so my family and friends didn't have to. She set up the wedding on the three floor and cock tail hour and reception on the eight floor with table cloths, napkins, and we even used her chargers so we didn't have to rent them. All of her suggestions we fantastic from the food to the DJ. I wish I could get married everyday.

  • S

    Steven · Married on 07/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was great working with Chris and Nicholas.
    They wanted our daughter's wedding to go as planned. They were quick to deal with our questions and concerns prior to, during and after the wedding.
    We would do another event with them!

  • M

    Mary T. · Married on 10/25/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My reception at the Firestone was absolutely stunning. I still can't get over how breathtakingly beautiful it was. The tables were gorgeous, the atmosphere was stunning, the service was wonderful, the amenities like the rooftop were so unique and special. All of our guests had an amazing time and I was so pleased with how smoothly the reception went off. I felt like Chris really went out of her way to make sure the reception went off without a hitch. We had a few hiccups in plans a few days before the event and she was so flexible with me. I didn't have hardly any stress at all. Chris was very attentive during the entire planning process and never got annoyed (well at least that I was aware of :) ) with my many questions and emails. It was really an idyllic reception and I have no complaints about my experience. The day of was very special and Chris was there the whole time to make sure everything went well. Really, it was the perfect reception. I will note that as my husband and I were making arrangements with other vendors, a few vendors mentioned having had difficulties working with the Firestone in the past however we did not have any problems that I am aware of and we were extremely happy with the Firestone.

  • User6053287 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Urban Event turned out to be the best venue to meet all our needs for our daughter's wedding. Kris and Nick were extremely helpful the day of the wedding. While my daughter had a specific look she was going after and we brought all of our decorations, we did need a few things from Nick and Kris. They were very helpful in making sure we had what we needed and getting it where we needed it. The elevator worked perfectly throughout the day and evening making it VERY easy for our guests, caterers and other services to get where they needed to be. Kris and Nick were on site all day (the day of the event) and made sure not only my daughter and I had what we needed, but actually called a couple of our caterers to ensure they were running on time - this was an added bonus that helped the bride to not worry.
    I would definitely use this venue again and recommend it to friends and family!!! As a matter of fact, I already have.
    THANK YOU NICK AND KRIS for the beautiful venue and all your help!!!

  • D

    Derek · Married on 05/08/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Beautiful setting for a wedding reception. Guests were stunned by the views of the city. Chris was amazing the week leading up to and the day of the reception. We received so many compliments regarding the venue. Chris was very flexible, allowing us to set up at 8 am the day before the reception. Thank you for providing a beautiful space!!!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/16/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We held our wedding here in mid-March of 2018 in the first floor space and had an amazing time! For our space we did not have any issues except for a couple things not completely setup when we arrived. These were quickly fixed when we asked for assistance. There were three weddings in the building that evening but we were never bothered by the others, we really wouldn't have known they were there had we not seen them earlier in day while setting up. There was one elevator issue that evening but luckily it did not impact our family and friends, it sounded as if another group had overloaded the weight capacity. The owners were good to work with as long as you do not want someone to "hold your hand" so to speak throughout the entire process; if you need that, please have a wedding coordinator with this venue. The owners are much easier to get in contact with via phone than by email, which I appreciate. The price for our space for a 150 person wedding with all tables, chairs, linens, glassware, plates, etc. included could not be beat! The only downside was having to use their contracted bartending service but we were allowed to purchase our own alcohol to bring in. We were initially leery of the venue due to the reviews but we fell in love with the space and decided to take the gamble. I am so glad that we did. Our wedding here was everything we had envisioned it to be, very little stress, and the best value we could ask for. If you are on the fence about this venue, take the chance; especially if you want the first floor space. I would have no hesitations on having another event here.

  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/14/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great to work with. Great place.

  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 04/04/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Historic Firestone Building was a perfect venue for our big day! They provided so many things for us and made it so simple. They were definitely the best bang for our buck. We got use of their shuttle for photos, they already had linens and tables, set up everything. The decorations in the wedding room were already set up for us so we did not have to do much. The provided coffee, water, and tea, let us have the space from 9am until 12am, which many do not, and they had tons of vases we could use! We got to do the wedding in the building for no extra price and a rehearsal in it the night before as well. They provided the photo booth for no extra price, and of course the amazing view of Downtown Kansas City. Of course our day wasn't without a few hiccupps - the freight elevator wasn't working and the shuttle would not run at first (needed new battery) and then someone had knocked off the side mirror the night before so we could not drive it until it was fixed, but they fixed it so fast and we were able to use it for photos and everything worked out. The elevator also wasn't an issue because there was another elevator that we and all our vendors could use. Kris and Nicolas were just such amazing helpers with everything. Kris gave me excellent recommendations about vendors to use and also was my day of coordinator to make sure everything ran smoothly (which it did)! We also lost the keys to our car on Saturday night, and the staff helped work so hard to look and even called on Monday saying they still couldn't find them and asked if we had, which we had just found out we did, but it meant so much that they were still looking and trying to help us out. Overall these are great people to work with and I would highly recommend this event space to anyone!

  • S

    Scott · Married on 10/04/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We rented the 1st floor and the space turned out absolutely beautiful and was exactly how we pictured. We were able to hold both a large ceremony with 230+ guests upstairs along with a cocktail hour to provide our guests a great view of the city. We then moved the party downstairs to feed them all and dance the night away. Chris was always willing to help and make sure the night was going good for us. Her staff was wonderful, removing dishes, empty drinks, and helping with anything needed the entire night. Thanks so much! Wish we could do it every weekend!

  • C

    Christopher · Married on 10/04/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall a great venue. Could not get access the night before even though there was no wedding for dress rehearsal and to set up. Made it difficult because it all had to happen on wedding day. This included the tear down of wedding because we could not get access on Sunday. Will say beautiful location and my guests loved the space!

  • User5117590 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Definitely glad we had our wedding at the Urban Event. The thing about this venue is that it includes so many extras you won't find anywhere else without paying a lot more, or renting and bringing it in. All tables and chairs and the chairs are chiavari, floor length linens and napkins (variety of colors for napkins), actual silverware, water goblets and plates instead of plastic, and mirrors and vases you can use. Chris and Nick are nice and easy to work with, however you do have to contact them, they won't prompt you so make sure you stay on that. Only disappointment the day of was that we were supposed to get the photo booth for 2 hours of our reception, and it was never brought up. No one noticed and everything was still great, but bummed because it was supposed to be included.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/06/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The venue is beautiful and we got a lot of compliments from our guests about how unique it was. We were on the first floor which had a lot of space and provided a different setting than a traditional reception venue because we had an upstairs and downstairs.
    There is room for improvement on communication. At times throughout the planning process, I had a hard time of getting in contact with them. Also, there was difficulty on their side with managing when and what we paid, but we were able to work through it. Things did come together very well and we had a great party that our guests enjoyed. It's really nice that the venue provided the plates,
    Glassware, linens and tables with chairs,
    Photo booth and props. I think that you get a lot of value for the price you pay. It is also nice that you can bring in your liquor from a distributor and choose your caterer.

  • J

    Janice · Married on 03/27/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    NOT YOUR TYPICAL REVIEW; We choose the 8th floor for our daughters wedding because of the spectacular view of downtown Kansas City MO. We did a run through the night before thinking everything was fine. However, a few hours prior to the wedding, we were told the wedding would have to be moved to the first floor. The bride was very dissapointed. With that being said, Chris and Nicholas did everything they could to make the night just as wonderful as they could. Sometimes it's what people do under pressure that shows their true character. They gave us a partial refund since we paid for the 8th floor. I would do bussiness with them again because I feel they treated us fair.

  • M

    Meredith · Married on 10/03/2015

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Absolutely gorgeous venue. I fell in love when Nick showed us! We had our reception on the 8th floor with access to the 3rd floor with the bride and groom suites. I love that they have open catering and open liquor vendors. Chris was straight forward on their offerings and pricing and is knowledgable about weddings. Be prepared to write everything down so you don't forget specifics. I do not believe use of the photo booth for 2 hours was in the contract but was included. They offer use of vases and other centerpiece options but don't show you any options so we went with providing our own centerpieces and our florist set them up. Chris would respond within a day or so via email for any random questions I had Up until about 3 months out. They provide servers but they only buss tables so you do need a caterer to handle food. I was worried that we wouldn't be able to use the rooftop that we were promised but Chris reassured me 3 months before that my wedding party and I would have access. I tried multiple times via email to set up a final walk through with no response so I would call if you get no response to not stress out. Make sure you are thorough and have all of the details written for the final walk through. You have to go through a separate company to gain access to the parking lot across the street and you have to pay so we opted out. The morning of the wedding the elevator was not working when the groomsmen were bringing up alcohol ( their service elevator does not work) so it was quite stressful for the groom. The bathroom was not clean enough along with other things that were out of place but Nick made sure that everything was done after some push from my family members. The elevator worked for the reception and it went off without any problems! We did have access to The rooftop. I had so many compliments! The venue is amazing but be very, very detailed with the owners and have a someone with a strong voice to ensure everything is correct the morning of!!!

  • W

    Wendy · Married on 06/28/2015

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We fell in love with The Urban Event space immediately upon seeing it! The space is gorgeous and met our needs perfectly. Though the rental price was higher than comparable venues, because of the flexibility afforded us, it was perfect for our DIY wedding! We wanted a venue that would allow us to provide our own alcohol (rather than pay for an expensive bar package) and to arrange a caterer of our choosing (an acquaintance just getting on his catering feet), and The Urban Event facilitated this. We did encounter some frustration along the way (on more minor issues) - some offers were made verbally that weren't met in the end, and on the day of our wedding a number of little things were out of place and no staff was there to sort them out. However, we were willing to put up with these things because of the beauty of the space and the flexibility of the event staff, and I received a nice follow-up call from Jessica. I would recommend The Urban Event space!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review