The University Club of Milwaukee Reviews

10 | Milwaukee, WI
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for The University Club of Milwaukee

Recommended by 91%

10

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.6

2 User photos

The University Club of Milwaukee 1
The University Club of Milwaukee 2
Sort by:
  • DeAnna

    Deanna Henze · Getting married on 02/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a wonderful experience!

    I would highly recommend selecting the University Club for your wedding! The club made all of our dreams come true and we had such a fabulous wedding. Lawrence, the events coordinator at the University Club is a class act and will work with you to make your wedding absolutely perfect. The University Club was our first choice and we are so happy that we selected them as our wedding was absolutely amazing!

    Sent on 11/05/2019
  • J

    Judy · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    University Club of Milwaukee is Outstanding and Beautiful

    Larry is an outstanding professional who is very reliable. Our daughter's wedding was picture perfect. The terrific view of Lake Michigan, the cuisine and service were amazing. In addition and very importantly, upon our request, Larry recommended outstanding, bands, florists, photographers etc. Since we are from the north suburban area of Chicago this was very helpful. Many thanks to Larry and his entire staff.

    Sent on 07/10/2019
  • S

    Sally and Meghann · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Kept Secret!

    You will NOT be disappointed if you book at the UClub. They went above and beyond to make wedding planning as seamless as can be. We wanted elegant and traditional and the UClub fit the bill. The ceremony and reception was held in the ballroom. It was lovely having the fireplace as a backdrop surrounded by windows. After the ceremony our guests went to the 6th floor for a cocktail hour and the views of Lake Michigan and the Art Museum were breathtaking! The dinner and dancing was held in the ballroom and the feedback I received from my guests was beyond positive. The food was cooked and flavored to perfection. It's hard to serve a delicious meal to 150+ guests and yet the UClub nailed it. I must say, the actual dinner and presentation of the plate was even better than the tasting! Another HUGE bonus of UClub was all the space provided to the wedding party, bride and groom to get dressed in prior to the ceremony. Thank you Larry and staff for everything.

    Sent on 06/20/2019
    The University Club of Milwaukee 3

    The University Club of Milwaukee's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! We are so honored to have been able to celebrate with you on your special day.
  • T

    Thomas Schwerm · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The University Club – Milwaukee has a lot to offer besides the typical Ballroom for a Wedding Reception.

    The wedding package, gave us access to many of the building features. The entire building features antique furniture in an elegant setting. The top sixth floor was perfect for our cocktail hour featuring a half circle of windows with beautiful panoramic views of Lake Michigan. Having the entire floor, you also have West views of the city. The built-in center located bar was perfect for our cocktail hour.
    It was very convenient to have booked overnight rooms right there for the wedding party and family. The variety of rooms available we were able to pick from gave us a selection that fit a variety of guest arrangements. Included with the rooms are two separate preparation suites for pictures of the wedding party early start of the big day. The female suite of three rooms has one room with wall to wall large mirrors for elegant pictures of the bridesmaids in preparation. The male suite had its own elegant stateliness for the groomsmen to prepare in too.
    The Ballroom can be opened up to an L configuration. We used the main section for our 120 guests for dinner. Extending into the L section with its large mural on the inside wall, we used that section for our live band with dance area. So no chairs needed to be moved out of the way for the dancing after dinner.

    Sent on 06/23/2019
  • Ellen

    Ellen · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Exceeding expectations every step of the way

    We were absolutely thrilled with our wedding at the University Club on Saturday, May 18. My husband and I hosted our son's wedding at the city club. We began working with Larry Kreiner in January, and while I have extensive experience with event planning and execution, it was reassuring to have Larry at the helm. Early on, we knew we were in excellent hands. Larry was always quick to respond to phone calls and emails, prompt with correspondence and answers to inquiries, and eager to ensure our wedding would fulfill our wishes.

    And it did. While our May weekend weather was not ideal, everything at the University Club exceeded expectations. The staff were wonderful, hors d'oevres and meal delicious, venue accommodating for all our guests. Larry and Onella were there making sure every detail happened as planned. Our new daughter-in-law's family cannot stop sending their thanks for a lovely, elegant day. We were thrilled!

    We do not take for granted this commitment to excellence at the University Club. It comes with a strong hospitality mission and commitment to service. Thank you to everyone, especially Larry, for making our wedding a weekend to remember.

    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • Hunter

    Hunter Cameron · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Venue in Milwaukee for a Wedding

    To say my daughter's wedding held at the University Club of Milwaukee was" perfect" would actually be an understatement. From the start, meeting with the banquet manager, Lawrence, set the tone. We felt very confident with his guidance and eloquence. Planning the wedding was very organized. Now let's speak about the venue. What other location is set on the shore of Lake Michigan? There are not many. The view was incredible, the architecture of the building was beautiful, the many rooms available for different uses was hard to beat. The groom's family travelled from afar and were all able to stay in the hotel- like rooms at the club. The food was not only delicious but was presented like art. I have one question, why would anyone not choose to have a wedding at this perfect venue? In summary.....WONDERFUL

    Sent on 06/28/2019
  • D

    david · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Made our dreams come true!

    We had our wedding at The University Club of Milwaukee in May. We fell in love with the venue the moment we entered. The way the staff and club members have preserved the venue is incredible. The food was delicious!! We had so many compliments on the food choices. There was a wide variety of options and the chef was more than accommodating to meet any special dietary needs. What made our wedding special was the staff. It is evident that they enjoy working at the University Club and it made us, and our guests, feel at home while we were there. Lawrence, the Events Coordinator and Director of Catering, was wonderful to work with! His attention to detail and years of experience is unmatched. Our wedding went off without a hitch and we owe a lot of it to Larry. We have continued to hear compliments about our wedding, even 2 months later. Thank you to everyone at the University Club of Milwaukee for making our day so special. We will never forget it and will 100% recommend it for any future couples.

    Sent on 06/20/2019

    The University Club of Milwaukee's reply:

    We are so glad you chose The University Club! We loved working with you and are honored to have been able to take part in your special day.
  • L

    Linda Weiss · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter's wedding

    Lawrence Kreiner and Chef Ross were wonderful to work with. Larry thought of everything from using the proper chairs to the most beautiful outside setting. Ross's food selection could not have been better. Our guest are still talking about how perfectly done the dinner was. The staff down to the bus staff were extremely professional. This was the last of our children to get married and this was by far the most professional, well run wedding we have had.

    Sent on 07/16/2019
    The University Club of Milwaukee 4
  • M

    Mary Burke · Married on 07/13/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    could have used assistance controlling guests while setting up candy buffet (we did set-up).

    Sent on 09/15/2013
  • User4967645 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    STAY AWAY from this vendor. We initially signed to have our wedding reception here a year and a half before our wedding date. All planning was going well until our contact, Greg, unexpectedly left the Club. Then, the Club became EXTREMELY unprofessional and incredibly unorganized. DO NOT BOOK HERE! We scheduled a tasting two months in advance. When the tasting was 3 days away, I e-mailed asking how the tasting worked and received the reply that normally the Club doesn't taste on weekends and we choose from a menu. Send a menu over and we can choose. Well, the menu wasn't ready yet, but we didn't get that response until Friday afternoon, the day before our tasting. So, we went to taste food we couldn't feed our guests. Upon our arrival, we were greeted and told we needed to sign a new contract. The first one we signed was legally binding, but now the Club wanted more money (we needed to pay extra fees and find a Club sponsor). Moreover, THE SPACE we had booked was NO LONGER AVAILABLE TO US. We had signed our contract 11 MONTHS EARLIER stating this space was. We e-mailed Lori, our new contact, and said we wouldn't agree to the new terms and didn't hear back for over a week. When we called, she said we could come meet with her. When we did, she gave us the same new contract, and pretended to have never met us or received our e-mail just a week and a half earlier. Things went downhill fast. We e-mailed a number of times to alter the contract and were told no changes could be made, and in some cases, received no response. We called Lori and other contacts at least 8 times and when we were finally called back, we were told someone on their board would contact us. It took this man 2 weeks to contact us and when he did, he had no authority to promise us anything and had no specifics of our contract or concrete ways to aid us. We ASKED FOR OUR MONEY BACK. It took 5 weeks to get but we got it. Worse, we spoke with another couple that had the same issues. PLEASE STAY AWAY!

    Sent on 04/12/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review