The Union Pavilion at Railside Reviews

18 | Byron Center, MI
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for The Union Pavilion at Railside

Recommended by 93%

18

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • Kendra

    Kendra · Getting married on 06/27/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Railside golf course

    Perfect place for a wedding with the ceremony right out in front of the new pavilion they’re building. Which is beautiful on the inside with a stoned fire place and matching behind the bar. Also, they offer a great bridal suite to get ready in so you’re close to everything that’s going on!

    Sent on 04/03/2019

    The Union Pavilion at Railside's reply:

    HI Kendra,
    Thank you for your great endorsement!!! Cant wait til June. The Union Pavilion is the final stages of being completed, we look forward to your big day
  • A

    Alisha · Married on 07/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful outdoor tented venue! The lights at night are stunning! Lots of good photo locations (fun on golf carts). Beautiful room to get ready in.

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • M

    Mikaela · Married on 05/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at Railside!! We took advantage of their awesome Friday reception deal and also had our ceremony outside at their gazebo. Everything was so easy at Railside-- all thanks to Donna. Donna made sure everything went how it was suppose to, did so many behind the scenes tasks, and was awesome with communication before and during the wedding. She has a lot of experience and thought of things that I didn't think of. I loved having our ceremony and reception at the same location and the transition was seamless. The tent for the reception is huge and elegant-- it didn't even feel like a tent! Dinner and apps were amazing. The landscape was perfectly manicured and beautiful-- lots of great photo opportunities! I can't rave enough about this amazing venue!

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • E

    Elena · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Railside Golf Club is truly a dream come true venue. We had our reception in the outdoor tent in May and it was still a great venue. The heaters kept all of us toasty and the lighting is very romantic. Staff was professional and helpful. Donna was our coordinator and she did a fantastic job at answering questions and making sure everything ran smoothly. She is quick to respond and flexible with any request. My husband and I could not have asked for a more beautiful venue or a more wonderful staff.

    Sent on 06/01/2017
  • User5169264 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our rehearsal dinner at Railside and the evening was perfect. They did an excellent job working with us on details and timing and the food was excellent! Everyone had a great night!

    Sent on 06/12/2015
  • A

    Angela · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend this venue to anyone for any type of event. The staff was courteous and helpful and the food was great!

    Sent on 07/07/2014
  • E

    Erika · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our reception at railside this past Saturday, it was absolutely amazing! Donna was the one who worked with us, she really made sure that everything looked great and was set up just how I wanted it! I was unsure of how nice the reception would actually look but when I walked in everything was perfect, the staff even added a few decorations on the tables for us. We were told that our reception was one of the nicest they've been too! I will definitely be recommending Railside to all of my newly engaged friends! Thanks

    Sent on 08/23/2013
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 06/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would not change a thing with our reception! The staff at Railside was so professional and easy to work with. The food was amazing and the tent and scenery was absolutely beautiful! We would recommend this venue to anyone!

    Sent on 08/06/2013
  • S

    Sally · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am so pleased to tell you that our wedding day could not have been more perfect! Everyone wanted us to have a special day. We worked with Jason VanDam. He was extremely accommodating and always returned calls immediately.
    Everything was perfect for our evening. Jason and his team actually added special touches that we just loved.

    Everyone who attened said it was one of the best weddiungs and receptions thsat they had ever gone to. So a huge thank you to Railside Golf Course, Jason Van Dam and the wonderful Banquet team. Awesome experience!!

    Sent on 12/05/2012
  • User2672594 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Railside is an incredible venue with an amazing staff! They helped me plan my wedding from out of state, were very flexible and made sure every detail was perfect! My flowers died the morning of my wedding and the caterer went out to the golfcourse and cut flowers out if their landscaping to save me from having some sad looking centerpieces! The coordinator made me feel like I didn't need to worry about a thing. Not to mention this place is extremely georgous and very affordable. . I was extremely happy:)

    Sent on 09/23/2012
  • C

    Cherrell · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Railside did an awesome job. The staff was amazing and very accommodating to my needs. My ceremony was beautiful and they were very flexible with me. I live out of town and they were very good to meet with me when I needed them to. The staff was very courteous and timely with our food. The food was amazing and we would not change our experience for anything in the world. Thank you Railside for making our special day unforgettable!!!

    Sent on 09/21/2012
  • D

    Dacia · Married on 05/24/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our wedding venue! It was a beautiful site and perfect for our golf personalities! Everyone on staff was helpful and very professional! Wish we could do it all over again! They were great to work with!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • N

    Neira · Married on 09/22/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was the maid of honor at my sisters wedding, which was held at the Rail Side Country Club. Her ceremony was outside and the reception inside their main banquet hall. Jason, did an amazing job he really stepped up to the plate. Of course with it being Michigan weather you never know when its going to rain or shine. Leila and Matt debated on having their wedding outside, and Jason tracked the storm and kept us all up to date on how long before rain, he even assured our guests no to worry. I am so glad they listend to Jason because the weather just perfect during their ceremony. As for the staff everyone was very accomidating, the food was fantastic, and the service was great. Railside is truly a spectacular location!

    Sent on 10/11/2012
  • User3445029 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Really did a great job and was really beautiful. Would recommend to anyone.

    Sent on 08/05/2013
  • User2186494 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Overall, my experience was good, but frustrating at times. At the beginning, I really wanted my reception inside because I was nervous about the weather to have it in the tent. I was assured that I would be able to fit my guests (150-160) inside, however a few weeks before my wedding they said that they had a reception with about 110 inside that was tight inside. I ended up having it in the tent and It was beautiful (even though the sides had to be down because it was chilly and windy. Planning was frustrated as I started planning with Allyson (who was incredibly sweet and very accommodating) and got moved to Joan after Allyson went on maternity leave. Joan was very business oriented. Many things that I thought were all set in stone while working with Allyson, Joan asked me about several times. Also on the preliminary contract they had several things wrong, which I had emailed Joan about to correct, and I just got a short reply back. They called me the week of the wedding and said they needed to know the numbers of how many of each entree I needed, when I was planning on having a buffet the whole time. Planning was very frustrating at times with Joan, but overall, my reception was beautiful, the food was great. I would recommend it, I would just request not to work with Joan.

    Sent on 10/23/2012
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/14/2012

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We had our ceremony & reception at Railside. We signed up w/Allyson but she went on maternity leave & we worked w/Jason & Joan. From the start Joan was difficult & lacking quality customer service skills. We set up a time to meet & she didn’t show. She apologized but was still unresponsive to emails or phone calls & I felt like I had to chase her down to get info. Eventually, Jason said to contact him b/c of the issues w/Joan. He was helpful & attentive. A week before the wedding Joan revealed that a change to a local noise ordinance didn’t allow music played past 11 (our contract stated 12). We couldn’t believe we weren’t told of the change earlier so we could make schedule changes. We had problems getting them to charge our credit card before the wedding. We provided info many times but still were interrupted by Joan to pay at our reception. We found that questionable. The ceremony was on the driving range & it was a beautiful location. However, a golfer was using it during the ceremony. (Jason later explained that the range was closed but that no one enforces the rule). As a selling point, we were told we could use the locker room for our belongings & we found out on the wedding day that was no longer the case (another unmentioned policy change). The reception went well. The outdoor tent is large & spacious. The buffet dinner had good tasting food. The wait staff were a little overzealous & guests had food taken away b4 being asked if they were done. We also had complaints about Joan being rude to some guests! We offer a neutral recommendation. The venue itself was gorgeous… the last-minute changes & staff interactions were subpar. If you have a lot of time or a wedding planner that can keep up w/all the details ensuring they don’t blindside you w/anything last minute - the venue is a good option. (We talked to Jason prior to posting & felt we were given a lot of excuses…but they did say they’ll be making some changes so they’ll likely be better in the future).

    Sent on 10/24/2012
  • A

    Adriana · Married on 08/25/2012

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I had my ceremony and reception both at Railside Golf Club. The grounds were beautiful and overall the scenery was fantastic for a wedding/ceremony venue. Our first contact was Allyson and when she went on maternity leave, we then dealt with Joan. Some things that were told to us by Allyson, were not confirmed by Joan, so we received conflicting information on a few things. We were told that we could use the golf carts to ride on the course and take pictures. When we were taking pictures on the course, we were getting yelled at by people golfing, since they were playing in a tournament. We were originally told we could use the locker room to get ready and store our stuff during the ceremony, then on the day of the wedding, we were told we couldn’t leave belongings in the locker room. The chicken we chose at the time of our tasting was not the chicken that was served to us the night of the wedding. Also, with 2 hours left into our reception, we were told we only had 40 drinks remaining and this was a shock to us since we paid per-person for a 5 hour open bar. It was never once mentioned to us that 'open bar' was not really 'open bar'. There is an overall per drink limit that was NEVER disclosed to us until the night of the wedding. This is not a stress you want to have on your wedding day. I also saw 2 golf club members come into our wedding, order drinks from our bar and they even took photos in our photobooth and signed our book with 'wedding crashers' as their signature. I was not very happy to see that. Especially when we had to pay extra at the end of the night for an additional drink charge since we surpassed our 'per drink' limit. Joan did work with us on the additional drink charge later on in the night but we were still very upset that it was never told to us that we would have a maximum amount of drinks at the end of the night. Also, the Railside staff did cut my cake for free, but did not serve it. If we wanted it served, we had to pay extra.

    Sent on 09/21/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review