Skip to main content
Weddings

The Truman Little White House Reviews

The Truman Little White House

The Truman Little White House

Key West, FL
4.1 out of 5 rating, 12 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.1 out of 5 rating
4.1 out of 5 rating
12 Reviews
83% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.2 out of 5 rating

Awards

12
Weddingwire
4.1/5 12 reviews
Google
4.6/5 3236 reviews
  • H
    Hannah H. Sent on 03/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Key West Venue

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Truman Little White House! Our April 2023 wedding went off without even a hiccup. Isabella Scargill, the event coordinator, was so wonderful and made selecting this venue easy. After our historic tour, Isabella helped with all the paperwork and putting the deposit down. The wedding itself was quintessential Key West with a fun historic twist. The greenery was a perfect backdrop for the ceremony while the reception was set up on the other side of the Little White House. Pictures were stunning on the palm tree lined boulevard, which you have to yourself as the Truman Annex gates close at 6 pm, perfect privacy. The venue is walkable to the Fury Watersports dock where you can take a cocktail cruise post wedding!! The Truman Little White House is the perfect wedding venue in Key West.
  • Neri
    Neriman Sent on 05/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    Very professional and pleasant to work with. Venue was amazing-atmosphere, landscape , weather -just perfect!
  • K
    Kristin Sent on 05/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I could not have asked anything more from the Truman Little White House and Paul Hilson for their support in making our wedding day wonderful! With 90% of our guests being from the northeast, we wanted to give our guests a quintesscential Key West experience, which includes beautiful, pastel colored houses, gardens, and history-- TLWH had all of these things. After our ceremony at Fort Zachary, we trollied guests (only a 4-minute drive!) to TLWH, and they could not believe how beautiful Truman Annex and the White House were! After only experiencing the chaos of Duval for a couple of days, our guests loved the beauty and tranquility of TLWH.

    Paul truly took care of my husband, myself, and our guests. The bridal party used the 2nd floor suite to store many of our belongings, and we didnt get many of them until days after the wedding! The staff at TLWH was more than patient and accommodating to our wedding group,

    We HIGHLY recommend having your wedding here!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • P
    Paul Sent on 11/17/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff of the Truman White House were extremly helpful and professional. The garden is a great location for any event and you can't find a better location in Key West. I highly recommend this venue for events or just to tour for the history!
  • J
    Jenniffer Sent on 04/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I found this venue last minute after I had to cancel my original venue. I could not be happier! There is a ton of space on the premises. My guests had a lot of room to wander around in, plenty of dance space and best of all the event coordinator at the venue was AMAZING! Throughout the whole process Paul the event coordinator here was great he was always willing to help and went above and beyond on the wedding day to make our day wonderful. I would recommend this venue to anyone who wants to get married in Key West. It was an amazing experience from beginning to end and my wedding was wonderful!
  • C
    Cortney Sent on 11/29/2016
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Truman Little White House is the perfect venue for any outdoor event. The home, garden and lawns are meticulously maintained. The staff make scheduling and planning a breeze and they are very professional and knowledgeable. My guests appreciated the history and tropical beauty of the venue and they took advantage of tours during our cocktail hour!
  • K
    Kailey S. Sent on 04/03/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue! Loved it!

    The Truman Little White house was a beautiful venue for our wedding! We loved how it turned out and would not change a thing. The TLWH is set back so that you get privacy during your event but still just a few minutes walk from all the main spots in Key West! The 3 gardens are well kept and perfect to hold different parts of your wedding; we had the ceremony in one, the reception in another, and had some chairs set up to relax and hang out in the third. It also holds some of the history of Key West which we loved. The only reason I did not give TLWH 5 stars was because there was some communication difficulties at the beginning. It was hard to get in contact with someone to set up a tour of the venue- so hard in fact my husband and I just showed up and asked to speak with someone. We immediately feel in love with the venue, and were ready to forget how hard it was to get in contact with someone. Then is happened again when we were trying to book the venue, which is stressful. At one point we reached out to another venue because we thought the TLWH would not work out. Eventually we got the date confirmed and got a day of coordinator so they took over the communication piece. The staff once we were at the TLWH was wonderful and nothing but helpful and professional. Staying in/getting ready in the bridal suite does cost extra however, we did get to tour it for free. We had not planned on getting ready there anyway. We would not change a thing about our wedding day, and the TLWH was the perfect wedding venue for us. We will cherish our memories forever, and visit many times again. If you want a beautiful wedding, this is an amazing choice!
  • K
    Kailey Sent on 11/07/2017
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Truman House is beautiful and has so much history. It's in a great location and is a great option if you do not want a beach wedding in Key West. It also provides a lot of privacy in the gated community. However, you have to pay extra to have access inside the house and to have any of the American décor removed.
  • Amy
    Amy Sent on 04/20/2016
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    Thank you for preserving this beautiful location! This venue is big enough to hold large groups, and is just one of the many reasons we chose TLWH. Everyone was friendly and professional. My groomsmen got a special tour which was super cool of Paul (thank you!) TLWH worked seamlessly with all of our vendors and planner. The gardens, the grass, the trees and the lights look so amazing in our photos. I highly recommend TLWH for weddings and any other events!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 03/01/2018
    2.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    We did not use the Truman House for our wedding weekend. We desperately wanted to host a welcome party here. After a couple of emails and calls reaching out, we were verbally given a price range featuring full access and tours that was perfect for our budget. We were also told a list of approved recommended caterers would be given. After that, we sent several follow up emails and phone calls over the coming months to sign a contract with little response. We received one email during that time confirming they would send a contract. We began this process in June 2017 for an event in December 2017. We finally decided to move on after receiving no response to our final request for a contract in August 2017. We were then sent a contract following Hurricane Irma in September 2017 with no acknowledgement to the previous unresponded-to emails (though you could scroll down the chain to see them). We replied with an explanation as to why we chose elsewhere. They were understanding and professional with a response within 24 hrs. 75% of the emails were sent to the coordinator and the GM. I am certain we would have proceeded based on any communication ensuring we were moving forward even if it was not a contract. We were too worried about telling guests this location without any confirmation. We were very disappointed to not use this location though we wound up with an amazing place/staff in the end. We did highly recommend our guests make a stop at the Truman House during their stay in Key West. Most guests took us up on it and raved about the daily staff and the facility. We had a pleasant visit when we stopped through on our honeymoon. I hope other brides reach out to Truman House and end with a positive experience for their special day/weekend. It's a beautiful place with rich history.
  • A
    Amy Sent on 04/09/2019
    2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Terrible Communication

    Had our wedding here in December. It is a beautiful venue and everything ended turning out fine our our wedding day. However, they are horrible at communication so if you don't have the time or energy to continuously call/email/follow up with them, don't book this venue. They do not return phone calls or emails and if they do, it's weeks and multiple phone calls later. From the very beginning, it was like pulling teeth to get them to send me a contract. Then I went months without knowing if the venue was officially even booked because I couldn't get a hold of them to send me back the signed contract. This was by far the most stressful and frustrating part of my wedding planning process. Once we provided the CC information for our final payment, they took weeks to run the card and we still never received a receipt. I don't understand how they operate a business this way.
  • S
    Sean G. Sent on 05/21/2024
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Poor Communicators, Disregard for Couples

    We were incredibly excited to have an affordable, large venue close to the water and Duval Street in Key West. However our experience with the Truman Little White House was not great.

    2 months prior to our date, we got an email that the LWH would be undergoing construction during our reception and scaffolding would be covering up the beautiful house. I appreciate that the construction would have to be done at some point and some couple would have been screwed no matter what - but it seemed very poorly planned out and communicated. That close to the wedding we had zero other options and couldn't really back out. The LWH did not offer any sort of compensation, mostly ignored our emails asking for more details on how the venue would look and barely even apologized for anything.

    Luckily our vendors did an unbelievable job still making the wedding look great with a construction site in the background, but we could not have been less happy with the LWH and their staff. Plan your wedding here at your own risk.