Weddings

The Terrace at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side Reviews

The Terrace at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side

The Terrace at Hyatt House Pittsburgh-South Side

Pittsburgh, PA
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 12 Reviews
View more information

12 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 12

15 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kevin
    Kevin J. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Venue!!!

    My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Hyatt House in June and it was absolutely incredible! Julie and her team were so great to work with, and I don't think the reception could've gone any better. The venue was truly amazing, and our guests have been raving about it ever since! Highly recommend having your Pittsburgh wedding at the Hyatt House in South Side!
  • M
    Megan G. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue, awesome wedding coordinator!

    First of all, I cannot say enough about Julie the wedding coordinator at Hyatt House south side. She was SO great to work with and put our minds at ease throughout the planning process. The day of our wedding went smoothly and perfectly because of her diligence. The venue is beautiful and even though it was chilly for our October wedding the tent was cozy warm. We got so many compliments about the venue and how great our wedding was and I honestly think we owe a lot of that to Julie!
  • D
    Devon Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Choice We Made

    Having our wedding at the The Terrace was the best choice we made! Not only was it a beautiful place with a great location, but the venue included all of the linens, tables, chairs, settings, etc. We had a lot less to worry about in our wedding planning. Julie and her staff were amazing to work with, too! They set up all the decorations and took everything down at the end. My family and I did not have to worry about a single thing! They stored it in a holding room, and we took it home the next day. Julie knew exactly what she was doing, and we completely trusted our wedding in her hands. She put us at ease. Did I mention you get a free night at the hotel and bottle of champagne for your table?!? Thank you for an amazing day!
  • H
    Heather Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unbelievable Team and Venue!

    The Terrace was absolutely spectacular!! They exceeded all my wedding expectations! Julie Hutto was impeccable! She responds immediately with expert answers/advice/suggestions for my endless questions. Julie was on top of everything all day. She treated the bridal party with such respect and excitement! She was punctual and calm, even when it rained during our dinner, the team quickly closed off the tent and pulled the bar in, and soon as it stopped, everything was opened again and running within minutes. Our day was seamless and the venue was just gorgeous! The Terrace is a great option for a fun-filled night - we had the fire pit going, the corn hole boards out and some much space for our guests to do what they wanted! Thank you Hyatt House and thank you Julie Hutto!
  • A
    Allison Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding reception at the Terrace at Hyatt House on August 4th, and it was the perfect venue! Julie coordinated the event so well that everything ran smoothly and absolutely nothing went wrong. She was always very responsive and communicated well with me the day of the event. Everything was set up beautifully!
  • R
    Randall Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great venue, great service, and extremely accommodating. Let us start by saying Andrea was awesome to deal with. The entire process was made simple and easy. Our wedding day was absolutely pefrect. From the ceremony to the reception. Andrea and Julie were incredible the day of wedding. The second you needed anything they were on it. Worked diligently the entire time to make sure we were happy. If your looking for an outdoor experience around the city, look no further. They turn this patio into a special place. Alll of our guest fell in love with the comfortable feeling this space gives. Andrea and her entire staff were genuine, friendly, and made this a super special experience. ThE Hyatt fit so many of our wants and needs. Accomadations were great for alit if our out of town guests. Close to everything the city has to offer for our guests spending the weekend. Beautiful view from the patio overlooking the river, landscape and the walking trail. We can’t say enough about the Hyatt. This was a great choice for our wedding.
    Thank you Andrea and the Hyatt house staff for a perfect wedding day!!
    Darla & Randy
  • A
    Angela Married on 07/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had the most perfect wedding day and its all thanks to Ashley and the staff at the Hyatt House South Side! Highly recommend. I had so many compliments from my guests.
  • H
    Heather Married on 09/03/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was exactly what we were looking for. We were happy with the large open outdoor space and the price was reasonable.
  • A
    Alysse Married on 07/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Hyatt was an absolutely perfect venue for our reception. We did a cocktail hour and dinner + dancing on a sunny/humid July afternoon. Our guests loved the patio and lights under the tent. Everyone stayed dry when it rained and you could still hear the music just fine with rain in the back ground. You got a nice breeze off the river. Their coordinators were extremely attentive to every detail and question I had and responded very quickly and comprehensively. They were also available at the event in case of changes and to make sure everything went smoothly. I think the price was very reasonable for what was provided. I highly recommend the space and coordinators for any wedding.
  • User2328846 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hannah and Carrie were amazing to work with! We didn't have to worry about anything the day of our wedding. Everything was taken care of. The outdoor space is so unique and has a great view of the Pittsburgh skyline. I would highly recommend having your wedding here. It is a perfect intimate space.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/06/2015
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Hannah and Carrie were easy to work with and helped make our day special:)
    The space is absolutely beautiful! Especially at night!
  • User2769382 2+ years ago
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    We used this Hyatt for our wedding block.

    We had a large number of guests coming in from out of town and tried to find a centrally-located hotel (many had never visiting Pittsburgh before) with cheap parking and free breakfast. This kind of fit the bill, even though the block rate ($179+$14 for parking+taxes/day) was more than we wanted to ask our guests to spend. Oh well. The reviews online were good and the hotel was pretty new, so we figured at least it would be clean.

    There was a snafu before we even checked in due to the fact that the events manager we had been working with left a few weeks before our wedding and it took a few days for her replacement to contact us.

    Overall we weren't impressed with our stay and don't blame the majority of our younger guests choosing to get Airbnbs elsewhere. Yes, the hotel was clean and the free breakfast was edible, but I was completely unimpressed with every staff member we came in contact with - surly, frazzled, if not outright rude. There was another wedding party at the hotel (who I believe were actually getting married there) and I found out that none of our guests got that pamphlet we made with with relevant info (shuttle, welcome drinks, etc.). We (the bride and groom!) were put on a floor completely separate from anybody else in our block (we were on 2 and everybody else was 5 and 6) in a room overlooking the empty construction lot next door. When we asked to switch or upgrade rooms we were told there were "none available." And breakfast in the morning was a madhouse - dirty dishes piled in every corner, not always having silverware or cups available, the omlette station taking FOREVER. At least it was free?

    The one plus of the weekend was having our guests join us for drinks on the terrace - while the view wasn't anything great, it was fun to hang out around the fire pit.......at least until the other wedding party kicked us out so they could practice their totally awesome introduction dance. Oy.