The Sutherland Reviews

47 | Wake Forest, NC
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for The Sutherland

Recommended by 97%

47
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

39 User photos

The Sutherland 1
The Sutherland 2
The Sutherland 3
The Sutherland 4
The Sutherland 5
The Sutherland 6
The Sutherland 7
+ 33
Sort by:
  • M

    Maddy Ward · Getting married on 01/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect place for the wedding of your dreams!

    The Sutherland made the wedding planning process a hundred times easier. Christy was so organized and made sure that everything was done. She was so great at giving advice and really listening to Sid and I! The Sutherland is a perfect backdrop for a wedding and all of the vendors associated make it the perfect venue. My wedding was the best day of my life, I cannot recommend the Sutherland enough!

    Sent on 05/07/2019
    The Sutherland 8
  • A

    Austin Jeffreys · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    We used Christy Ethridge as our wedding planner and she was amazing! Her patience, kindness and attention to detail were much needed in order to make our day happen. Christy knows how to control a crowd, juggle everything thrown at her and roll with the punches. It doesn't hurt that her knowledge of other vendors in the Triangle area is extensive and super helpful when figuring out who to use as well. Our wedding day was amazing and Christy was a huge part of making that happen! Thank you Christy... if you need someone to help you plan your wedding she is the one for you!

    Sent on 08/29/2019
  • S

    Sandy Jeffreys · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and unforgettable Wedding

    Stunning and beautiful The Sutherland was a wonderful and unforgettable location for my daughter’s wedding. Our event planner Christy was there to organize and keep everything and everyone together every step on the day. A beautiful memory in an exceptional location- what more could you ask for!

    Sent on 04/16/2019
  • S

    Shannon Hall · Married on 06/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning and Styling services at its best!

    Ashlee has taken her experience with planning and design on the road with Sutherland Services. I did not have to worry about anything with her taking the lead, she had thought of and planned for everything! It was so nice to completely relax the day of our wedding, because we trusted Ashlee with it all, and she did not let us down!

    Sent on 07/04/2019
  • Danielle

    Danielle · Married on 04/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THE most beautiful wedding venue + customer service you'll ever find!

    We chose the Sutherland for many reasons, but what initially drew us to the property was it's location. The Sutherland happens to be right next door (and I mean right.next.door) to my home church that I grew up in, Wake Union Baptist Church! We had heard wonderful things about the Sutherland and their staff, but we were blown away by the impeccable service they had to offer. When we toured the property, we fell in love and had no doubt in our mind that it was the perfect place to host our loved ones and begin our journey as husband and wife. And we were right. Christy was our planner for our wedding and she was beyond amazing! I could go on and on about how incredible the staff and Christy were, but there's no better way to describe it than this: After the wedding, my bridal bouquet went missing...which wouldn't have been the worst thing in the world, but my late grandfather's dog tag was attached. Christy and her team were determined to find and it literally got inside the dumpsters (TWICE) to make sure it hadn't been thrown away. It wasn't there, but they continued to look for days. Half-way through my honeymoon, I received a text message from Christy that included a photo of her holding the dog tag. I was convinced I would never see it again, but Christy and the staff at the Sutherland never gave up and made sure that it got back to us safely. I am immensely grateful for everything they did to ensure our wedding day was the best day of our lives, even after it was over. By the time our wedding day rolled around, Christy felt like family and were so happy that the wedding planning process brought her into our lives.

    Sent on 06/21/2019
    The Sutherland 9
    The Sutherland 10
    The Sutherland 11
    The Sutherland 12
    The Sutherland 13
    The Sutherland 14
    The Sutherland 15
    The Sutherland 16
    The Sutherland 17
    The Sutherland 18
    The Sutherland 19
  • M

    Morgan Parker · Married on 03/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best decision

    By far the best decision in my wedding planning process was choosing The Sutherland as our venue! Christy Ethridge was kind, talented, encouraging, and extremely organized. I can't imagine pulling all the details together for our day without her help and guidance. The mix of indoor and outdoor settings for the ceremony and reception was perfect for our early Spring wedding; the house and gardens are so naturally pretty that it's a great venue for any season of the year. I cannot recommend this venue enough!

    Sent on 03/27/2019
    The Sutherland 20
    The Sutherland 21
  • K

    Katie Miller · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Miller Wedding

    We had our wedding at The Sutherland on December 8, 2018. We cannot say enough great things about The Sutherland. From the first meeting until the last, we knew they truly cared for us and wanted to make sure we had the perfect wedding day. Our wedding planner, Christy, was the absolute best! She truly cared about what we wanted and did everything possible to make sure we had the perfect day. She is just awesome and you will never have to stress over your day with her as a planner. The venue itself is so beautiful and the staff is amazing. We had the most perfect wedding and we would choose The Sutherland again and again!

    Sent on 01/05/2019
    The Sutherland 22
  • Tammie

    Tammie Webb · Married on 12/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sutherland Estate and Gardens

    We made the right choice by selecting The Sutherland Estate and Gardens as the venue for our daughter's wedding. Every detail was taken care of with professionalism. The house is gorgeous with plenty of southern charm and provides a wonderful background for the bridal portrait as well as the grounds surrounding the property. I was able to enjoy the day with Katie and her attendants and not worry about anything. Christy Ethridge was absolutely wonderful and was by our side during the entire planning process and I can't thank her enough for all the help and attention to detail she provided. Her efforts did not go unnoticed and we received many compliments from our guest. We were so pleased with the outcome on the day of the ceremony and highly recommend this venue to any bride looking for a venue. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 01/09/2019
  • C

    Carrie Pingree Crank · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day!!

    The Sutherland was an amazing venue! The staff was so helpful during our entire planning process and on the day of our wedding everything went so smoothly! I could not have asked for a more perfect wedding day! I loved the pavilion and even with some rain and a tent, the wall garden was so pretty for our ceremony! I would highly recommend The Sutherland to anyone!

    Sent on 02/18/2019
  • H

    Hayle · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most perfect day...

    Wow! All I can say is Wow!! The Sutherland Estate and Gardens was the perfect venue for my November 2018 wedding. The grounds are breathtaking... from the walled garden to where our ceremony was held, the side of the house and oak tree for cocktail hour and the indoor pavilion for the reception with market lights! Not to mention how much fun it was to get ready inside the house with my bridesmaids!! The Sutherland staff and Christy Ethridge were fantastic to work with. Christy was our day of coordinator but helped us out frequently in the last few months leading up to the wedding. They think of every detail so EVERYTHING goes perfect and smooth on your wedding day. I felt 100% confident with Christy and the staff to help us pull off a flawless wedding day and all I can say is that I don't think I could have dreamed of a more beautiful day. Thank you to Christy, The Sutherland and the rest of the staff for their support leading up to the wedding and all their hard work on our wedding day!! I actually kind of miss talking to Christy on a weekly basis :) Thank you!!

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I worked with Christy Ethridge at The Sutherland and she was OUTSTANDING! I planned a good bit of the wedding from out of state and Christy was incredibly accommodating to me. She even took a few hours to give my mom a separate tour after we booked at The Sutherland so that she could walk through it again and feel more comfortable. The whole team at The Sutherland are rockstars. They made our wedding day so incredibly seamless. If there were any problems or if anything went wrong, I had no idea! And that made it such a relaxing, wonderful day for us and our families.
    - Also I want to note that the forecast had scheduled for rain to start at the beginning of our outdoor ceremony and Christy did everything she could to keep our vision of an outdoor wedding. She truly went above and beyond to make our day perfect! My husband and I could not be any happier! :)

    Sent on 10/03/2018
  • A

    Ashley Loewen · Married on 07/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing short of amazing!!

    Christy from The Sutherland was wonderful! She was extremely professional, and made sure that everything was being done in a timely manner. She created a timeline and was very organized, so I wasn’t stressed. I also loved having her work with me because she knows all the ins and outs of the wedding world! She was able to help me think outside of the box when it came to decorations, because I was a bride on a budget. All in all, my experience with Christy and the Sutherland was wonderful! 10/10 recommend!

    Sent on 02/15/2019
  • B

    Bays · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an incredible experience with our recent summer wedding at The Sutherland. Christy's guidance through weather "concerns" was invaluable and we ended up having a gorgeous evening to enjoy an outdoor ceremony and cocktail hour! I am thrilled with our decision to choose this venue and we are still receiving compliments weeks after!

    Sent on 08/22/2018
    The Sutherland 23
  • Emily

    Emily · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was amazing because of the help of Christy and the Sutherland staff! I chose this venue because it is seriously GORGEOUS and also the package comes with a planner and day of coordination. Our wedding day could not have been better without the help of Christy and everyone else there. Christy is sweet, down to earth, and such a wonderful planner!!

    Sent on 07/07/2018
  • Brooke

    Brooke Hirsch · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful May 2018 Wedding

    We had the most amazing experience working with The Sutherland to plan the wedding of our dreams. Christy and the rest of the Sutherland team worked tirelessly to ensure every detail was perfectly executed which allowed us to relax and enjoy our special day with our friends and family! Our vision came to life and we can't thank the Sutherland enough for the beautiful memories that we will cherish forever.
    -Brooke & Eric Hirsch

    Sent on 02/05/2019
    The Sutherland 24
    The Sutherland 25
    The Sutherland 26
    The Sutherland 27
    The Sutherland 28
    The Sutherland 29
    The Sutherland 30
    The Sutherland 31
    The Sutherland 32
    The Sutherland 33
    The Sutherland 34
    The Sutherland 35
    The Sutherland 36
    The Sutherland 37
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 02/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Daughter held her wedding reception at The Southerland in February of 2017. I live in Raleigh and my Daughter lives in DC. My Daughter had very distinct ideas of what she wanted for her wedding and Christy executed everything seamlessly. There was no issue with planning from out of town. All of the vendors were coordinated perfectly and the change in plans due to rain had no negative effect on our perception of the day. Thanks to Christy and The Southerland staff my Daughters wedding was "the best day of her life"!

    Sent on 03/01/2018
  • L

    Langley · Married on 02/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at the Sutherland last month. From start to finish, working with the Sutherland team was absolutely perfect. The venue is beautiful and our planner, Christy, was incredible. I truly cannot imagine doing it without her. If you are looking for the perfect venue, with a responsive, professional and talented team, look no further!

    Sent on 03/09/2018
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Christy was my wedding planner at the Sutherland. She is very timely, helps whenever help is needed, and makes sure that everything that needs to be done to ensure a carefree time at your wedding!

    Sent on 01/09/2018
  • J

    Jaconna · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better place to have my daughter's wedding. Christy was amazing to work with. She not only helped with the day of planning but carried it out to a tee. The Sutherland was beautiful and their staff did a great job.

    Sent on 07/25/2017
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the second we stepped foot on The Sutherland property during our tour a year ago, we knew it was everything we wanted for our wedding. We had always envisioned a wedding that embraced a sense of history and nature, and that's The Sutherland. From the minute that Donna opened the door to the porch out to the walled garden, letting us know that would be the entrance to the ceremony, we knew that it was the place for us. It is such a grand entrance for a bride, the big moment that I was looking for.
    The house is stunning and the grounds are incredible - so much so that very little decor is needed to bring out the natural beauty. We had our ceremony in the walled garden, cocktail hour on the terrace, and reception in the pavillion. Each location has its own unique feel, but all with that southern chic that we were looking for.
    Getting ready at The Sutherland is an amazing experience! The brides suite is beautiful! It is such a comfortable and elegant setting, it looks great in photos and makes you feel so classy. My husband enjoyed getting ready in the settlers house - he and his groomsmen liked the masculine decor and felt right at home sipping their bourbon while waiting for the girls to finally be ready.
    Finally, one of the best things about The Sutherland is their incredible staff - specifically Donna. We don't live in the area, and planning a wedding from out of state adds a new level of stress - but Donna helped ease that stress immensely. From the time we booked until after the wedding - Donna took the time to keep in touch with us, checking on our planning, offering guidance, and assuring us that everything would be perfect. Our wedding day was everything we had ever dreamed of, and it would have not been that way without her hard work.

    Sent on 08/07/2016
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 04/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love the Sutherland! It was the absolute perfect venue to get married and we got the most beautiful wedding pictures with the house and pavilion as a backdrop. We planned to get married in the garden but it poured down rain on our wedding day. They seamlessly moved the ceremony to the pavilion and it turned out amazing. I think it was even more perfect for us than Plan A, so I am unbelievably happy with the work The Sutherland's team can do. Ashlee answered all of my wedding questions, helped set up meetings with other vendors, had meetings with me and my husband to tell us what to work on next, etc. And they just take care of everything for you so you don't have to think about timeline and all the minor details and logistics that would be so hard to figure out yourself. AND, to top it off, we just opened our gifts and found two Sutherland wine glasses and a bottle of Chardonnay from our wedding. Already enjoyed that :) LOVE The Sutherland and I would recommend to any and every bride. Oh and our guests had the best time!

    Sent on 05/05/2016
  • K

    Katie · Married on 04/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so glad I chose to have my wedding at the Sutherland! Donna was fantastic and helped me every step of the way. The entire process was as stress-free as possible, and the day of went smoothly! So thankful for this beautiful venue and their exceptional team.

    Sent on 08/03/2016
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 10/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every girl has a 'vision' for her wedding day - our wedding at The Sutherland three weeks ago far surpassed our dreams. Immediately following our Christmas engagement, we started visiting venues and as soon as we arrived at The Sutherland we KNEW we found the perfect backdrop for our special day.

    We continue to receive compliments about the wedding and reception, and everyone comments that The Sutherland is the ideal venue for a classic, Southern wedding. The historic house was perfect for the bridal party as we gathered to get ready for the ceremony, and guests enjoyed touring the house during the reception. The Settler's House was the site for our wedding, and was ideal for our intimate ceremony. The grounds are breathtaking, and fortunately Mother Nature blessed us with sunshine and perfect Fall temperatures. Countless guests who live in the area said they had never heard of The Sutherland, and everyone said it is The Triangle's best kept wedding venue secret.

    Donna and her team worked tirelessly behind the scenes - subtly directing every detail of the day. We never thought about what was coming next - our vision was executed to perfection. Booking our wedding at The Sutherland was the BEST decision - the planning process leading up to the wedding had minimal stress as Donna gently navigated us through decisions. She made sure she had a clear vision of our expectations for the day and just before rehearsal she said "Now, let us do our job, it's time for you to enjoy your day, and celebrate with your family and friends." The Sutherland has an outstanding list of vendors who have experience with the venue, and without exception every vendor raved about how wonderful it is to partner with The Sutherland team.
    Thanks Donna for coordinating the memory of a lifetime!!
    Best Day Ever!!!!
    Alexandra and Adam Williams

    Sent on 11/12/2015
  • S

    Stacy · Married on 07/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our planner/coordinator at The Sutherland was Donna Burnette. In one word....PERFECT! The venue speaks for itsel....beautiful mansion,gardens, pavilion,etc. but the best is Donna and her staff. She was so very kind, professional, polite, CALMING,and responsive to our every need. Her staff the day of the wedding were equally as great! We could not have pulled off such a beautiful day without her help. We were truly blessed to have found Donna and The Sutherland!

    Sent on 07/14/2015
  • D

    Destiny · Married on 06/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashlee takes all the stress out of wedding planning! AWESOME doesn't even begin to describe her! Every worry, every dream, she took care of and made it happen. She alone is worth having tour wedding here... But the house and grounds are magical! And the bridal suite is the perfect place to spend the day getting ready :)

    Sent on 06/19/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review