The Solo Harp of Susan W. Haas Reviews

68 | Austin, TX
See photos, pricing and details

68 Reviews for The Solo Harp of Susan W. Haas

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

68

3 User photos

Order by:
  • Connor

    Connor Mcleod · Married on 08/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Harpist, Easy-going, Can Play Anything

    Susan can play most any music you would want for your special day or event! She played as we walked down the aisle and it was absolutely perfect! She was very professional and made it super easy for us on a hectic day! Thank you again Susan. We will be booking you for our next events!

    Sent on 10/18/2019
  • Sophia

    Sophia Su · Married on 05/17/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is amazing!

    I love the music she played, and she is very professional! I feel so happy I can work with her together!

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • W

    Warren Hendrickson · Married on 10/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Haas - Solo Harpist

    Susan Haas
    www.soloharp.com
    October 12, 2019


    Let me tell you a fun story… My wife’s favorite instrument is the harp and I decided to surprise her with solo harp music during the dinner portion of our wedding reception at the Edgewater Hotel in Seattle, WA on October 12, 2019. I could not have asked for a more willing and talented partner in this escapade than Susan Haas. Since the Edgewater ballroom was the site of both our wedding ceremony and the dinner reception – with an intervening cocktail hour on the adjoining terrace – Susan arranged to secretly sneak into the ballroom for her setup and preparation during the cocktail hour. No one knew!

    Much to my wife’s chagrin of not wanting to make a grand entrance, I was able to convince her we should enter the ballroom last, after all guests were seated for dinner. When we did so, we made our way to the dance floor where my wife was greeted by Susan and her beautiful harp and one of my wife’s favorite songs. It was a total surprise and a perfect moment, among many that day!

    Susan’s stand-alone sound system and her extensive playlist made for a phenomenal evening and we could not be more grateful for her flawless performance. We collaborated on every song choice to ensure my wife heard one favorite after another, ending with an incredible medley from her favorite movie: The Sound of Music.

    Whatever your needs, I promise you will be glad you selected Susan for her gracious and helpful personality, and especially her music.

    Thank you Susan for an incredible memory!

    Sent on 11/30/2019
  • B

    Bernie Finklein · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dora and Bernie's Wedding

    First, Susan needs to be rated 5-stars! Her music, both classical and popular love songs where nothing less than inspired from heaven!

    Sent on 11/19/2019
  • L

    Lili · Married on 07/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Susan for our wedding in July in the Thornewood Castle. She is great! She is professional and flexible . We love our experience with Susan and would highly recommend her to anybody who is planning a wedding!

    Sent on 10/07/2018
  • E

    Ed · event on: 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held a wine tasting/summer social event for the Puget Sound chapter of the SMTA in Woodinville at a small local winery’s tasting room. Susan was contracted to play during our two hour soiree, selected from several harpists in the Greater Seattle area based on the sample recordings on their websites. It was quite clear she had the broadest repertoire and most professional sound of all those we had “auditioned”. The price, although not the least expensive, was well worth every penny.

    Susan arrived early (quite the feat for ANY musician, especially in Seattle traffic!) and very quickly assessed the best location in the venue for her location. She moved her equipment (including special lighting) in seemingly effortlessly and was set up well ahead of “show time”.

    Susan’s personality is as bright and pleasant as her performance! She took time to explain the complexities of her instrument to those who had asked questions and played a very broad spectrum of music ranging from “classics” to classic rock, even a little “heavy metal”! Of course, she played a few requests , including the ever popular “Freebird” and “Stairway to Heaven” !

    Not surprisingly, the rich colorful tones of the harp set a soft yet festive mood which paired nicely with the wine selections! It was the perfect choice for both a background which conversation could be had without straining, as well as a very enriched listening experience which I credit to Susan’s incredible talent.

    We anticipate holding future social events with our organization, and would unquestionably request Susan as our “entertainer of choice”. I encourage you to do so, as well!

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • J

    Jeannie · Married on 12/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After hearing Susan play at a wedding last winter, we hired her to perform at our friends' wedding as our gift to them. Susan was responsive, easy to work with and the harp music was exquisite! We highly srecommend working with Susan - her music is a classic, moving addition to any event.

    Sent on 12/27/2015
  • C

    Christine · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was wonderful to work with and very accommodating with positive and creative input to our wedding song choices, even when planning from out of state. Our guests have been raving about her gorgeous playing, and she truly made our ceremony beautiful and perfect, setting the ideal ambiance for a winter sunset wedding. She is a true professional and we highly recommend her!

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • User5607294 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Susan Haas play at my daughter's recent wedding- she is so amazingly talented- her harp music was exquisite and set the most lovely tone in the event. Guests loved the harp music! Susan is a true professional- reliable, accommodating, dependable- and a wonderful individual. Would love to work with Susan again!

    Sent on 12/12/2015
  • M

    Monica · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan did an excellent job at an event we hosted at LeMay, America's Car Museum, in August 2015. She was extremely easy to do business with, charged fair pricing, and was worth every penny we spent. She played a variety of music genres beautifully. Our event was for Independent Auto Dealers, and they were intently listening and in some cases even taking video! We had fantastic feedback from our guests after the fact, several specifically complimented our harpist. Yes, Auto dealers! We will definitely use Susan Has Harpists' services again.

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 08/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was wonderful to work with and played beautifully. Her professionalism and friendliness made us feel so confident and comfortable!

    Sent on 01/01/2016
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was wonderful in helping us decide what type of music we wanted at our ceremony. She was able to adjust to any of our requests and learned a song we had requested. She was very personable and made me feel comfortable about the whole process. The ceremony was beautiful and she played a huge part in its success. Thanks Susan!

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • User4736874 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Susan to play prelude and ceremony music at our wedding. She was great to work with, very responsive to all of our questions and requests for music samples. On the day of, she was on-time and played beautifully. We’d highly recommend Susan to anyone looking for a professional harpist.

    Sent on 07/31/2015
  • Janine

    Janine · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan, of "The Solo Harp", is fantastic! She is greatly talented and the ultimate professional at all times. My husband and I hired her to play for our Renewal of Vows Ceremony and the music was so beautiful. We loved it and all of our guests raved about her talent.
    Susan can play everything from Bach to Led Zeppelin, which you don't find with most harpists. She will learn new songs for your event if she doesn't already have it in her vast repertoire. She will help you choose music, if you want her assistance, but she will never push a particular genre on her clients - the choices are totally yours.

    I have known Susan for a number of years because I was a Wedding Planner and now I am a Wedding Officiant. I have been privileged to hear her play at many weddings and there has always been nothing but praise for her music.

    When we needed to hire a harpist, after being exposed to many others, she was the only harpist we even considered and we highly recommend her to everyone. You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • J

    Janet · Married on 02/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was incredibly professional throughout our experience; from first meeting and music selection, to the final musical notes at the end of the ceremony. She was always completely prepared, on time, and provided serenity and exceptional musical skill and sophistication to our special day.

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • E

    Erin · Married on 02/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was fantastic we were so happy we chose her.

    Sent on 12/31/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 07/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan is amazing! It's been about 2 years and a half since my wedding and now that a lot of my friends are getting married they ask me about how Susan was. I remember very clearly how very kind she was on Skype and in person on the day of the wedding. I would have to say that the most memorable thing about Susan was how accommodating and reliable she was. I remember all the groomsman and bridesman walking down the aisle at a steady pace and here I was with my dad..walking EXTRA slow. like snail slow. I swear the song I picked to walk down would've ended waaaay before I even got to the altar, but Susan knew exactly how to make the song longer without making it sound awkward or anything. When I did pick up the pace and finally get to the altar, she ended the song normally as it would have if I had walked down normally. My husband was a violinist in a lot of orchestras so he is very critical of any musician, but I remember that he explained to me that Susan had extended the song at a perfect spot so that it sounded very natural and pretty during the walk. If you're looking for a harpist, I would honestly look no further. =]

    Sent on 02/06/2017
  • M

    Mia · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am SO happy we found Susan! It was the harp music I always dreamed about when picturing my perfect wedding. She worked with our DJ, She helped decide on some of the processional, and prelude music, and our guests really enjoyed the feel of her music too.

    Her Rate: $400 + $25 for outdoors + 50 cents per mile over a 40 mile RT

    We met once at her home before hand, to go over music. She also does skype and phone sessions. Here is the music we decided on:

    Family Honor Seating Processional
    Ground in F Major by Henry Purcell
    https://soundcloud.com/susan-w-haas/ground-in-f-major-by-j


    Bridal Party Processional For 5 couples of Bridesmaids/Groomsmen.
    The Canon in D by Johann Pachelbel
    https://soundcloud.com/susan-w-haas/the-canon-in-d-by-j-pach


    Bridal Processional-- control the adrenaline and think slow :-)
    The Bridal Chorus from the Opera "Lohengrin" by Richard Wagner
    https://soundcloud.com/susan-w-haas/bridal-chorus-from-lohengrin
    https://soundcloud.com/susan-w-haas/bridal-chorus-plus-with


    Recessional--
    The Wedding March from the Opera "Midsummer's Night's Dream" by Felix Mendelssohn
    https://soundcloud.com/susan-w-haas/the-wedding-march-from

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • B

    Bonnie Sandahl · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan Haas stands alone as the premier harpist for wedding events. Our wedding had 200 guests and was held in a large church with reception following. Susan's lilting chords swelled and diminished in just the right ranges and timing. Susan filled the area with splendid harp music while quieting guests with an amazing repertoire of upbeat and classical compositions. Susan did exactly as she and I had discussed. She is a great communicator as well, asking me for feedback as we planned the affair and adjusting her music accordingly. You will never be disappointed with Susan Haas and you will be delighted as people tell you how much they enjoyed her music. I know that I will look for every opportunity to work with her again.

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • R

    Roxie · Married on 06/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was such a pleasure and joy to work with, we decided to have live music for our ceremony last minute. She was responsive , informative and flexible! we scheduled a timely meeting and she was very prepared and professional. The meeting was effective and personalized. Susan did a phenomenal job creating the perfect atmosphere at my ceremony.
    I trusted that everything would go smoothly and she brought a sense of peace to my wedding day :)
    I received numerous compliments on the harpist and ceremony. I felt like the pricing was fair. Especially since she comes with her equipment and tent:)
    She and her harp only added to the beautiful scenery and did not take attention away from the bridal party :)
    I loved large selection of music and the fact that she learned new popular songs so quickly.

    Everytime I play my wedding video I get goosebumps from the harp playing!

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • User4700916 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had both Susan and Nicole played at my wedding. The best decision I've made. All of our friends and family complimented how amazing the duo are! I worked with Susan and she can't make it more simple. She is quick to respond to your emails, easy to work with and amazingly delightful to talk to. I feel so bad for asking so many questions, and probably have asked a few questions more than one time, but each time, I get the same friendly, professional responses. She took the time to make sure I understand every step of the way. I will use her service again...so should you!

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • J

    Janelle · Married on 05/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Susan's services. She's very professional and an awesome musician. I had a Star Wars wedding and she did great incorporating Star Wars music with classical music and made my ceremony extra special.

    FIVE STAR!!

    Sent on 03/25/2015
  • Danae

    Danae · Married on 01/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we went with Susan as are harpist! She was so easy to work and quick on her email responses. She plays the harp beautifully! We had so many compliments on our ceremony music and how great she did. She played a special song for me as I walked down the aisle and was one of the highlights of my wedding day! Book Susan you will not be sorry!

    Sent on 01/16/2014
  • Christina

    Christina · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Susan for our wedding ceremony. She did a fantastic job! We met Susan at a wedding event and talked with her for quite a while. She was very professional, warm and friendly. Since she had her harp with her she played quite a few requests for us. We decided to hire her right away. After hiring her, Susan met with us for a long meeting to not only discuss which songs we wanted her to play but she also helped us plan our entire wedding ceremony since the church we used didn't have a wedding coordinator. Susan's music is beautiful and she has a large playlist to choose from. She also learned more than one new song just for us. My favorite part was when she played "Someday My Prince Will Come" as the flower girls walked down the aisle. I also have adorable pictures of her letting my flower girls play her harp before the wedding. We highly recommend Susan!
    Eric and Christy

    Sent on 12/08/2013
  • User3777317 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Susan was easy to work with, very accommodating and very knowledgeable. We could not have been more thrilled. I highly recommend Susan to anyone looking for a harpist.

    Sent on 01/03/2014