The Sagamore Reviews

36 | Bolton Landing, NY
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for The Sagamore

Recommended by 86%

36

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.3

3 User photos

The Sagamore 1
The Sagamore 2
The Sagamore 3
Sort by:
  • K

    Kristy · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most stunning venue on Lake George! Great food, staff is easy to work with, and the view is completely breath taking. The Sagamore is on it's own island making for a very private and intimate experience (at least in the fall). I cannot recommend The Sagamore enough!

    Sent on 12/06/2016
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 10/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was seriously the best place in the world to have a wedding. I decided I wanted to get married here when I was 5, and my dream finally came true this year! I can't say I really looked at any other venues, but I don't think anything would've changed my mind. I worked with Ashley, and she was superb! She always answered my questions quickly, no matter how small or silly they seemed. She always knew exactly what I had in mind, and was so helpful every step of the way! I had a Gatsby-Themed Rehearsal Dinner on the Morgan, which was just beautiful, and Ashley helped me set everything up, and even gave me plenty of ideas to set the tone of the evening. The whole wedding, (ceremony, cocktail hour, reception and brunch the following morning) went perfectly without a hiccup along the way. If anything did happen or something needed to change last minute, it was just taken care of, and I never even noticed. To me, it was the perfect day and it the whole planning process couldn't have gone better, thanks to Ashley & The Sagamore.

    Sent on 11/04/2016
  • A

    Ali · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore literally made my dream come true. From our first interactions with them in scheduling a tour to the morning after the wedding, everything was done perfectly, professionally, and beyond any expectation I had. Every person we interacted with - from Valerie and Jennifer in the beginning stages to Abigail who became a life line, to Lori, Sue, and Josh for the reception - were amazing. Any issue that came up, whether ahead of time or an hour before, they were on it and handled it perfectly. Literally, and I am not exaggerating when I say this, the whole thing went perfectly - nothing went wrong. Nothing!!
    The venue is gorgeous, so picturesque. I think every guest I spoke to raved about the hotel, grounds, and service. Even photos that guests took (as I don't have my professional ones back yet) came out stunning. The food was amazing. Each course was better than the last, and multiple people told me it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. I don't know how they made 100 filets medium rare all at the same time, but somehow they did! The cake was exactly what we spoke to Lori about and then some! The service for the wedding was spectacular. They looked and acted so professional and friendly, and every one of them found time to congratulate us. They looked happy and excited to be there with us. Sue, the banquet manager, made sure everything went according to plan seamlessly.
    Jennifer and Abigail, the two contacts for the entire planning process, were a dream to work with. They answered emails incredibly quickly and were always so kind and wonderful. Abigail was there for us for us for every moment once the wedding weekend started. Literally, she made it perfect. All the decorations were just as we discussed with her, everything went smoothly, and when there were those last minute emergencies (our fault) she took care of it immediately. I've hit the limit for this review, but I could go on. I want to do it all over again!

    Sent on 10/18/2016
  • J

    Jeanine · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fabulous wedding weekend at The Sagamore. Our wedding was so memorable for us, and also for all our guests who kept raving about being there. There is no place better than the Sagamore. Agabail was so professional and made the planning of our wedding so easy. They team at the Sagamore are clearly experts at what they do. We attending the March brides event and even got a tour of the catering kitchen and bakery. We planned our wedding in a relatively quick time horizon which Abagail made easy by giving us leads and recommendations on everything we needed (band, photographer, flowers, officiant, etc.) to make it all come together. The Sagamore knows weddings and pretty much every vendor in the area so it was super easy to coordinate-even though we were out of town. We also held a rehearsal dinner, bonfire, golf outing and kids birthday party over the weekend. Having everything in one venue made it easy on us and our guests. I couldn't recommend more!

    Sent on 10/23/2016
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing place to get married. I just got married here on July 30th and it was amazing. I had my rehearsal dinner here as well. People say it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Abigail and Jennifer and very helpful! I highly recommend it.

    Sent on 08/16/2016
  • T

    Tessa · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore was everything we imagined for our wedding and then more. When we first got engaged, we envisioned our wedding to be right on the lake and when we saw the Sagamore, we knew we found what we were looking for. The entire weekend was perfect and the backdrop of the lake and mountains was so picturesque. In addition to our wedding being a fairytale, our guests felt like they were on vacation! They enjoyed all of our festivities right on the Sagamore property and were able to enjoy the pools and lake. Abby, Jennifer and the entire staff were a pleasure to work with and were so responsive to all of our questions and needs. They ensured that we had a seamless wedding! I could not recommend the Sagamore more to anyone who is looking for the wedding of their dreams.

    Sent on 07/11/2016
  • C

    Chris · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding here, and it was PERFECT! The people were great, and I was really impressed on how EVERYONE was so accommodating and went above and beyond for us. Sarah Novick was our contact person and she did a great job of communicating with us and being very responsive when we had questions. She got things done quickly and always made a point to reach out to us and check in, even when she was clearly in a busy wedding month! All of the staff was great, Bill the bartender there remebered my name the entire weekend, everyone at the front desk was very capable and felt like we were always dealing with good people that were all making a point to make sure that me and my wife had the best time, which they fully accomplished!

    The place itself is amazing. The food was really great, which was something that we were looking for, and there was so much to do there! Our party stayed there from Thursday through Sunday and we were all wishing we could stay there longer! Maybe the most impressive part of the location is the views of Lake George! It was everything that we could have asked for and all of our guests were really impressed which made us feel great about having our wedding there!

    We had our reception dinner in Mr. Brown's pub on grounds, the wedding ceremony there was amazing, right by the water and everyone had the great views to look at, and the Saturday after we had a lunch in the Pavilion. Great weekend at The Sagamore!

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue. Not as pricey as you would think due to the gorgeous location and stunning resort. They take care of everything. The price includes Open bar, a wedding planner, tons of delicious food, the cake, formal wear etc. If it rains- no big deal they have beautiful indoor ceremony options. All you have to worry about are flowers, music and a photographer. Love this place!

    Sent on 07/14/2014
  • User3363210 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We've been coming to the Sagamore for the last 4 years and always consider it a home away from home. Having our wedding there was an obvious choice and we were certainly not disappointed. Our wedding lasted for 3 full days planned with details and activities. Everyone had an amazing time and it was a true dream come true; everything was picture perfect and magical. The Sagamore staff continue to surprise us with their professionalism, services, and quest for excellence. We are beyond grateful and would highly recommend to anyone looking to have a very special wedding.

    Sent on 07/01/2013
  • User3297458 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply exceptional! We had a smaller, intimate wedding of 66 guests and it was perfect. Dawn Bennett pulled everything together for us, she assured us everything was going to run smoothly. Dawn truly cared about us as individuals and responded to our requests even though we had a smaller wedding. The location is stunning, could not have asked for anything more. This is the place to get married, elegant, class, impeccable service and attention to detail. We could not have dreamed of anything different. Thank you to Dawn Bennet, and all servicing staff. We truly felt special.

    Sent on 06/03/2013
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore was the most beautiful and phenomenal place to host our wedding. Not only is the scenery surrounding the hotel peaceful and serene, but the staff consists of some of the most unforgettable people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Dawn, who is in charge of catering was brilliant. She was quick to respond to any questions you have and has a solution to any problem that arose. The waitstaff won't let you lift a finger and are always available. Lori, who was in charge of our wedding cake and desserts is sweet as pie! Pun totally intended. She is such a sweet heart and eats, breathes, and sleep cake. Not but never least, Amy from the salon in the Sagamore is simply brilliant. She was always on her toes and knows exactly what to do to achieve the exact look you want for your wedding. If she's unsure in the slightest she will do any research necessary to make your dream come true. I hope this short comment is sufficient enough for you to choose the Sagamore as your wedding destination. I could write for hours how great the venue and service is but I'm not sure they'll give me enough room! Congratulations on your future and I know you'll be more than happy with the Sagamore if you choose it!

    P.S. - I highly recommend Tom Wall for photography and Finishing Touches for floral. Both are local and are run by the most amazing people I've had the privilege of meeting.

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • User2720046 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone we worked with at The Sagamore was so professional. The hotel itself is grand & absolutely gorgeous–the property is on a peninsula so it felt like our own little island for a day. We were so impressed with the hotel facilities,amenities,food,grounds & service & would definitely recommend. If you are looking for a historical, yet updated upscale wedding venue on Lake George, there really is nothing better.
    We decided on The Sagamore mainly because of its picturesque location. Our ceremony was supposed to be outdoors overlooking the lake, but the weather was iffy-instead, we had our ceremony near Dollar Island Terrace which is at the back of the hotel. Dawn, The Sag wedding coordinator & her counterparts handled the move very well. Our ceremony was awesome despite the weather.
    The reception room is beautiful–once it is all set up it is much grander than when we first saw it. We brought in a ceiling treatment to cover the tent bars, it was a great choice. It is a very spacious room, we had 170 guests & there was plenty of room.
    The food at our wedding was delicious & well presented. We got many complements from our guests. The staff moved fluidly & everyone was served in a timely manner. Following the ceremony we were helped by Larry who made sure we had everything we needed.
    Dessert–the pastry chef, Lori made a few different types of cupcake flavors. I was so happy about the desserts, some of the best I’ve had. We also had tuxedo strawberries & the most delicious macaroons.
    Overall, the food was excellent & thankfully, what you would hope for from such a beautiful upscale resort.
    Dawn was always so helpful & patient. Because we live in Boston, we did a lot of emailing with Dawn & her team throughout the year to iron out details - they were so great. Our wedding was amazing. I keep saying, it was like a dream. The Sagamore truly is one of the most beautiful venues out there...and the service and food were amazing. Thank you for everything!!!

    Sent on 10/17/2012
  • M

    maryanne · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful place, excellent service, a perfect place for a wedding

    Sent on 09/24/2012
  • C

    Carissa · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely stunning venue! You cannot go wrong with the Sagamore Resort for a wedding venue! Everything was incredible, from the setting to the staff, we love it there.

    Sent on 09/16/2012
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 07/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore will always hold a special place in our hearts. Not only was this the most beautiful place in the entire Northeast to celebrate our marriage but the Lake George area means so much to us and our family. The entire staff was amazing to work with and treated us like royalty on our special day. I can't say enough about how wonderful everything was. And the food was unbelievable. So many of our guest commented that it was the BEST wedding food they have ever had. The dessert table was fabulous and I also heard that it was enjoyed by all. The Sagamore is the best place on Lake George to celebrate one of the most important events in your life. You will never regret it!

    Sent on 10/12/2012
  • J

    jon · Married on 06/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was made very easy due to the wedding planners and staff, and the resort is top notch with perhaps some of the best views of Lake George.

    Sent on 06/30/2012
  • C

    Cristina · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first decided we might want to have our wedding at The Sagamore, we were told that it was closed for the season. However, this did not stop Chris from setting up an appointment with us and making arrangements for us to see the space despite the resort being closed. From there, we were only more impressed with Dawn and her staff's ability to execute plans. Not only was the planning stage made easy but the service during the reception and entire weekend was superb. We would highly recommend The Sagamore as a venue that will not only serve as a beautiful setting for a wedding but also a memorable vacation (if even a weekend) for all guests who attend.

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • E

    Eliza · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough great things about the Sagamore. I grew up dreaming about my wedding there, and they took that dream and made it a reality - ten times over. Dawn Bennett is incredibly professional, thorough, and relaxed to boot! I was shocked at the service we received at the Sagamore, everything from the front desk, bellman, restaurant staff, banquet captains, you name it, went above and beyond my expectations. I was planning my Sagamore (NY) wedding all the way from Colorado - and they made it effortless. I can't wait until one of my cousins or sisters gets married here so we can relive it all again.

    Sent on 03/28/2012
  • User3689805 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Because of The Sagamore we had the most perfect wedding. The service was exceptional from the waitstaff and the food was absolutely amazing. The ceremony site is breathtaking and the transformation of the tent makes the venue picture perfect. Dawn and Sarah are beyond wonderful and were so accommodating to all of our questions and needs. I would recommend this Venue for anyone and everyone so you too can have the wedding of your dreams!

    Sent on 11/19/2013
  • A

    Anne · Married on 06/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore is a beautiful resort on Lake George. A great place for a wedding reception. Most of our guests stayed at the hotel and they enjoyed the facilities before and after the wedding as well as having a very special time during the reception. The evening was definitely magical, everything we hoped for and imagined.

    A couple of things:

    Make sure to find out exactly what is included in the "package" (we bought votives and candles - they had these). The salon at the Sagamore has all the services you could possibly need.

    The food was terrific, well presented, and well served. The pastry chef made awesome carrot cupcakes with a special topper.

    The Conference Services Manager at the Sagamore, Dawn, is steady through the whole process.

    We had fewer people than the contract called for and we were reimbursed after the event. Make sure you ask how rooms are allocated and charged so that guests are aware ahead of time. This is a pricey venue but to us it was worth it - we wouldn't change a thing. http://www.thesagamore.com/

    We did not have the ceremony at the Sagamore but the Sagamore provided transportation to and from the church in Bolton Landing, St Sacrement, http://stsacrement.com/Stsacrement.com/HOME.html

    Other vendors we used:

    For music we had the band "Cryin' Out Loud" from the Albany area. They were fantastic. Everyone loved them!!! http://cryinoutloudlive.com/site/index.html

    The flower arrangements by Posie Peddler (Saratoga Springs) were natural and elegant and the bouquets were spectacular. Gretchen was very easy to work with and quickly had a sense of what we were looking for in an Adirondack wedding. http://www.posiepeddler.com/

    Fine Affairs (Saratoga Springs) decorated the tent and supplied the chairs. We wanted a lighter look in the chairs than the upholstered chairs the Sagamore provides. Once we had a picture of what we wanted Robin at Fine Affairs handled it perfectly and effortlessly. I saw her that day to say "hello". I didn't have to do a thing. http://www.fineaffairs.com/

    The photographer was Li Ward of Fat Orange Cat Studio (Boston). She was extremely, professional and took great photos. Check out her wedding photos at
    http://www.fatorangecatstudio.com/

    Sent on 07/06/2012
  • L

    Bill · Married on 06/18/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I are from NJ and accostomed to high quality events. Our wedding experience at the Sagamore was exceptional in every respect. Our wedding planner, Dawn Bennett, was thoughtful, creative, responsive, flexible, had a good sense of humor and was very professional. Our wedding was small, less than 50, and there were 3 other weddings that day, but we were treated like ours was the most important. We never saw any of the other wedding parties even though they were very large. Our ceremony was on the roof of the veranda on a beautiful sunny day so the pictures were magnificent. On Saturday morning the guys played golf and the ladies were pampered in the spa while the kids enjoyed the pool.

    The reception was perfect!! The food presented beautifully and the quality was truly impressive. The wait staff was professional, polite and responsive.

    Our families still compliment their experience at our wedding. The location, atmosphere, food and service were absolutely spectacular!! We're headed back for our anniversary!!

    Sent on 03/20/2012
  • colleencoburn

    Colleen · Married on 07/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Sagamore's setting is breathtaking and stunning. The service is top-notch. The food is excellent. We had an amazing time! Although it was expensive, the time we had was priceless!

    Sent on 08/17/2010
  • *Ashley*

    Ashley · Married on 06/27/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have dreamed of a more beautiful wedding, our day was everything we ever wanted and more! They were doing construction around the time of our wedding, but they worked with us and everthing was perfect!

    Sent on 07/24/2009
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married 10.08.2016 at The Sagamore and everything went absolutely flawless from start to finish. Planning: We booked The Sagamore almost 18 months before the wedding and from the very beginning we were directly connected with our own personal on-site wedding coordinator, Abigail Shriber, who was an absolute pleasure to work with. She made the planning experience enjoyable, personal and she really shared our excitement for our big day. She was attentive to every single email, phone call and venue visit (planned or unplanned) and in the days leading up to the big day she was on top of every single detail, staff and vendor. Rehearsal Dinner: After our plans to have a rehearsal dinner at a restaurant in the town of Bolton Landing had some major issues - we called up the bar/restuarant at The Sagamore - Mr. Browns to see if they were able to help make something happen. They didn't take reservations, but when we called the day before our wedding and were put in contact with the food and beverage manager, Bob, he went the extra mile for us. They couldn't fit us in the actual bar, so he and his staff set up tables on hotels patio for our 50+ plus family members, had multiple waiters ready to go, bartenders at the ready and the food was amazing. They really made our rehearsal dinner perfect, and set the the tone for the great service we would experience all weekend. Ceremony: Our ceremony took place outside at The Sagamore. There were a few passing rain clouds on the day that gave us some worry that the ceremony would have to move to their covered location. Abigial could tell we were dying to have the ceremony by the water so she setup for both locations in preparation and said "we're going for it!" The weather cleared up just minutes before the ceremony, the guests seats were dried, the speaker/mic was all setup and we couldn't be happier with how smoothly it all went and how beautiful it all looked. Cocktail Hour & Reception: (Diamond Terrace & Shelving Rock Terrace

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • T

    Tricia · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely GORGEOUS place! I could not have asked for a more beautiful place to begin our wedded life together. The food was fantastic, the staff exceptionally happy and cooperative. They allowed us to make our special day whatever we wanted it to be and it went off without a hitch. This is the Adirondacks at its finest and it felt like a fairy tale.
    My only complaint is the lack in responsiveness during the planning process.

    Sent on 09/26/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review