Skip to main content
Weddings

The Ruins Reviews

The Ruins View more information

Reviews

4.8 out of 5 rating
17 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
96% Recommended by couples

Awards

17

14 User photos

  • Clorissa
    Clorissa C. Sent on 11/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Vibey Wedding Venue

    We were obsessed with The Ruins from the first tour we had. The space was perfect for our wedding and the vibe that we wanted. We hired an outside planner but the venue coordinator we worked with was super helpful and made the drinks and food portion of the day run smoothly. Food & drinks were great - we did tastings beforehand to see what we personally liked. The venue was super flexible with what we needed and willing to work with us to figure out any special requests and accommodations. Would recommend this venue to anyone!
  • S
    Sharon K. Sent on 01/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The experience was fantastic. I highly recommend this venue

    We loved working with Madeline, the event coordinator at The Ruins. She guided us the entire time. She was there to answer our questions always promptly and even helped with some special requests. Everyone from the day of staff, band, florist and caterer was fantastic and easy to work with. Madeline helped with the scheduling of events so that everything ran smoothly. I was worry free on the day of the wedding. She even followed up afterwards. I would highly recommend this venue and would definitely recommend Madeline.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • M
    Moriah S. Sent on 07/28/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Epic wedding venue

    The Ruins was the most unique and special venue for our wedding and the staff - notably Sarah Tortora - were absolutely incredible.
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay F. Sent on 02/08/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Experience with the Ruins

    I would recommend the Ruins and specifically, venue manager Madeline, to all brides.

    We had a wonderful experience working with Madeline over 5-6 months planning our wedding. Not only is Madeline a truly wonderful person, but she was also patient, calm, a great communicator, offered expert advice and was a huge support to us. She had our best interests in mind and was really accommodating and understanding when COVID disrupted our plans and decisions.

    The venue itself is stunning, quirky, and so unique. We loved that there are 3 different rooms to utilize and create surprise and delight for guests when you transition from ceremony, cocktail hour, and the reception. There is nowhere else in Seattle that can even compare to the vibe of the space. Bonus – you won’t need much décor in this space because of all the character already in it!

    As Madeline was out of the state on our wedding day (sad!), we had Sarah as our day-of venue manager, and she did a great job. All the staff, especially the bartenders, on the wedding day were attentive and fantastic. Our guests were totally blown away by this venue they had no idea existed.

    The only iffy experience we had was during our paid two tastings where we weren’t super impressed with the food. To our surprise, the food on the wedding night was much better and only got a couple comments on the flank steak being chewy.

    Looking back on the wedding day, I am so glad we chose that venue and that we got to work with Madeline during it. Book it!

    The Ruins's reply:

    Hi Lindsay!

    Thank you so much for your kind words, and I'm so glad to hear you had such an amazing event. We are so glad to be part of your amazing day!

    Thank you,
    tysyn lyn
    Staffing and Sales Coordinator
    Landmark Event Co.
  • Vita
    Vita Sent on 11/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One of a kind, magical venue!

    Being in the industry for almost a decade, I have seen and planned many different kinds of weddings, so I knew EXACTLY what I wanted for our big day. When we started planning our wedding, one of the ‘must-have’ items on my list for the venue was to have chandeliers. We reached out to a few venues and got quotes, toured a couple spots but none of them really spoke to us. The Ruins was the last one on our list to see and I had high hopes because of the venue photos I saw online (and the most iconic set of chandeliers they have). When we met with Madeline Wogstad for our initial tour, we connected right off the bat, the venue looked even better in person than the photos, so we were stocked to lock in the date with them! Madeline was super responsive (even on her days off), very accommodating and flexible with our specific requests, and just very sweet all the way through. The most important part for me was the atmosphere that was created for our wedding; it was MAGICAL! So special. We are very pleased to have had our wedding at The Ruins! (There are so many amazing options for magnificent photos!)
  • Thai
    Thai D. Sent on 11/14/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely fantastic!

    My wife and I had our wedding at the Ruins and it was absolutely wonderful.

    If you don't already know, The Ruins has their own wedding planner, their own florist, and their own catering. Not having to shop around to find those separately helped a lot, and all of them are fantastic at their jobs. Madeline, the wedding planner for The Ruins, deserves every kind and wonderful word that has been on every review we have read. Planning a wedding is stressful, but every time we spoke with or met with Madeline, there was always some stress relieved because of how on top of everything she was and how confident she made us feel about our wedding. Her communication was always top notch, and she was always available to answer questions when we had them. During the day of the wedding, she kept things moving smoothly. Sarah, the Events Coordinator also did a great job working with Madeline to keep everything moving as well. The florist, Amanda, did a fantastic job with understanding the ambience we were going for in our conversations, and when we saw everything in person, she absolutely knocked it out of the park. The catering was delicious, our guests raved about the food. While my wife and I are both meat-loving omnivores, we had a number of guests that have dietary restrictions, and it was very easy to have delicious gluten-free and vegan options for them. They no longer have an in-house bakery, but they take care of the cake through Morfey's, and it turned out perfectly - both with how it looked and how it tasted.

    The photos on their website (as beautiful as they are) just can't compare with seeing the venue in person. There is a personality to the venue that is elegant, artistic and timeless. The ballroom is especially breathtaking. Our photographer said that the Ruins was so visually captivating that he couldn't take a bad shot if they tried. Our guests were so impressed with the beauty, uniqueness, and classiness of the venue, and stated it absolutely fit with my wife and I's unique style.

    Despite having our wedding during the pandemic, Madeline and the staff at the Ruins did a fantastic job navigating the changes and mandates that we were subject to, and ensuring us that we had a beautiful and unforgettable experience. I would recommend anyone to have their wedding or event at the Ruins. Not just because of the how visually impressive the venue is, but because everyone who works there does a fantastic job of making sure your event is perfect.
  • Megan
    Megan M. Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding Venue and Staff

    My husband and I had our wedding at The Ruins. It was absolutely stunning and a magical day that we will remember forever!

    Everyone we worked with was incredible throughout the planning process, which was also complicated by the pandemic. The venue has their own events manager, catering, floral, and bakery partner. It was wonderfully easy to design and coordinate all of these features. They also have other partners for entertainment and such.

    The venue is beautifully eclectic. We were attracted to the unique space and stayed because of the delicious food and easy to work with staff. We had an incredible wedding planning experience and an even better day. We highly recommend The Ruins!

    The Ruins's reply:

    Hi Megan -

    Thank you so much! It means a lot to us to be a part of your day, and to hear how wonderful your experience was. Thank you again for having your evening with us!

    Cheers,
    tysyn lyn
    Staffing and Office Coordinator
    Landmark Event Co.
  • K
    Kaitlyn C. Sent on 08/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have been better!

    Words cannot even express how happy we are that we chose the Ruins as our wedding venue. Like so many others, the pandemic threw a wrench into our wedding plans and we ended up pushing the wedding out a year and reducing our guest count. But even with a pandemic, planning with the Ruins could not have been easier. Madeline saved our wedding and saved us from any panicking or breakdowns that might have ensued with all of our many plan changes. She answered every email and call super quickly, no matter the time of day. Prior to finding the Ruins, finding an event space that fit all of the quirky things we had planned was a challenge. But at the Ruins, Madeline was not only more than happy to help, but she was instrumental in coming up with fun ideas/finetuning all of the exciting details of our day. Not only that, but all of Madeline and team's vendor recommendations were fire. Because of the Ruins, we had the Avengers of wedding planning, with the best DJ, the best florist, the best drinks, etc. Madeline introduced us to Nicholas, the Ruins' beverage manager, who helped us customize awesome signature drinks (that we're still getting compliments on), and Fiona, the Ruins' entertainment director, who found our amazing officiant and string quartet. Madeline also introduced us to Amanda, the owner of Nadira Design, who manages all of the floral design at the Ruins. Not enough can be said about how incredibly beautiful and well thought out Amanda's designs were (not to mention, she is the absolute sweetest). Amanda is a floral genius and all of my guests raved over her creations. My husband and I sent Amanda a bunch of Pinterest photos, including my dream bouquet - all of which she made real. The actual wedding day itself went better than I ever could have imagined. Nothing went wrong (which sounds unheard of). From the moment I got to the venue in the morning to get ready, Madeline already had out water pitchers and cups for the wedding party. I'm not sure how she did it, but she managed to be in multiple places at once throughout the entire event. She brought champagne to the bridal party and whiskey to the groomsmen, gave tours of the venue to curious party members, assisted with misc. tasks, and even helped me with the impossibly complicated bustle on my dress. She was there every second throughout the day to make sure that my husband and I were taken care of, and that everything was going smoothly. It was honestly the best day of our lives. Most people are happy when the wedding planning is over and the day is behind them - but we can't wait to plan our next event with the Ruins. Wedding planning for us was entirely fun and non-stressful. We'll genuinely miss it.
  • B
    Bonnie Sent on 10/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Ruins did an amazing job

    We got married at The Ruins and honestly have no complaints – just rave reviews. Our event planner, Madeleine, was amazing. She responded to our questions quickly, provided advice, and was always very positive/easy to work with. They even have a florist on staff (but didn’t push when I requested minimal floral décor). I didn't have to worry about things like renting linens, table #s, bartenders, glasses or set-up/break-down. It was all part of the package. The guests are still raving about the food, discovering the different rooms and decor, and how much fun they had. The Ruins also did a great job working with the only two other vendors we needed, our DJ & Photographer. All three were a team and we didn't have to worry about anything the day of the wedding. Honestly, we can't say enough positive things about our experience getting married there. Highly, highly recommend. It’s such a fun location and they take care of their guests. Spending time w Madeleine & hanging out at the Ruins is the only part of wedding planning we’re going to miss.

    The Ruins's reply:

    Hi Bonnie!

    THANK YOU so much for your wonderful review and kind words. We're still missing your and Gabe's planning meetings here at The Ruins. Can't wait to celebrate your anniversaries here. To the happy couple!

    Sam Benton
    General Manager
    The Ruins
  • Rebekah
    Rebekah H. Sent on 06/06/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We are definitely getting married here!

    Love this place and Madeline! We are definitely booking this as our venue we’re just still deciding on a date! So very happy! Everything was easy to plan and the venue is breathtaking and Madeline is so nice and helpful!

    The Ruins's reply:

    Hi Rebekah,

    Thank you so much for your kind words! We are honored to be hosting your wedding and can't wait to start planning. Congratulations, you two!

    -Sam Benton
    General Manager
    The Ruins Seattle
  • L
    Lindsey J. Sent on 08/18/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    We are sooo happy we chose the Ruins for our wedding venue! So, where to start... The venue is like a speak easy since you would not expect all that when looking at the outside. We love a good speakeasy :)
    The venue inside is just so unique and beautiful. It’s fun to have all the different rooms for the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner/reception... Most of the venues in WA seemed to be just a huge blank room (very industrial or a big barn, etc...) which I’m sure works well for others but we enjoyed having the different spaces and all the decor already there so all we had to add was a little flowers and candles and the place already looked beautiful.

    The service was also amazing, especially Madeline. Whatever you are paying her, she deserves a raise!... and probably a vacation since she seemed to be working at all hours. She is a gem and was so incredible to work with. So sweet, detail oriented, on top of things...everything and more you could want when working with someone for your wedding.

    It was also amazing to have them have the decor/flowers in house, the cake in house, the catering, etc. Made planning much easier. And they did s beautiful job with it all.

    It’s not a cheap venue but when you consider everything you’re getting for your money it actually seemed much more reasonable than many of the alternatives out there.

    Many of the venues would’ve required a number of rental items which gets expensive and is a pain. The venue is beautiful as is (no need to rent chairs or chair covers as I would’ve likely done for most other venues I saw), no need to rent a bar (also saw this at many venues), no need to buy vases/candle holders for the tables (they had a few options for us to use), no need for linen rentals (many choices to choose from), we even used their table numbers, which were lovely. All that stuff adds up and is a pain to deal with, so I appreciated that it was included.

    The food was delish and our guests all said so too. They made a special French menu for us and our cake was delicious and beautiful. We even had a croquembouche made too. Which was awesome. :)

    The flowers and decor were beautiful too. Our photographer even said my bouquet was the nicest he’d ever seen.

    All in all, we were extremely happy to have our wedding there and would definitely recommend it! They were exceptional on all levels! Thank you!!!

    The Ruins's reply:

    Lindsey,

    Thank you so much - what kind words you have given us. We were happy to celebrate your wedding day with you and Chip, and are sad it's over! We can't wait to be a part of your upcoming celebrations and are excited to see what your future holds!

    To the happy couple!

    Sam Benton
    General Manager
    The Ruins
  • Mark
    Mark Sent on 11/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Let’s face it, our family loves the Ruins. They can handle anything. Before we had our wedding rehearsal dinner there, we had our birthdays, company parties, anniversary dinners, business dinners, date nights, and any other sort of social dinner or lunch gathering. We love their menu, their professionalism, their space, and their event planners. So it is no surprise that we'd practice getting married there. The rehearsal was fun, our guests we elated, everything was simply stunning. I'm not sure how public or available our wedding pictures will be, but they will no doubt be cemented in my memory and on display in my household for the years to come. The completeness and togetherness of the Ruins complete with chandeliers, table candelabras, flowers, and hand wrapped gifts, made the event simply stunning.
  • L
    Larry Sent on 09/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Amazing attention to every detail. A lot of our guests had never been to the Ruins before and were quite impressed. We had great servers, bartenders, and the food was over the top. Their management does an excellent job of making throwing a party very easy. They work with you on everything. I had several guests wanting information because they would soon be throwing their own party or a wedding and wanted to check out The Ruins. Great experience for us and all of our guests
  • S
    Scott W. Sent on 06/23/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical experience

    Wonderful unique venue, we had a ton of questions, requests etc., Bre ushered us through the process seamlessly and delivered on everything we could want! We feel so fortunate to have had Bre as our point of contact and day of coordinator, she was professional, fun, and empathetic with all our stresses. Couldn’t have asked for a better experience! On top of that the staff was wonderful across the board, thank you all!
  • User2276412 Sent on 08/18/2015
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was a dream come true by having it at The Ruins!

    We got married in their "dinning room" and held our reception in the "ball room." Both rooms are gorgeous, one with rustic chandeliers - the latter with classic crystal chandeliers. We asked that The Dinning Room was made to look like an overgrown garden, and the ballroom was easily transformed into a magical fairy filled forest with its art on the walls and stars painted on the ceiling.

    Adrienne, their decorator, truly went above and beyond with what she did. Catrina was our main point of contact during the planning and was lovely to work with. Phone calls are the best way to get a hold of both if you have something more "urgent/pressing." The day went beautifully and we didn't even have to hire a coordinator.

    This venue is very DIY friendly and will work with you so you can have the wedding YOU want. We provided lots of decorations we had made, the linens and wanted tea to be served rather than a typical cocktail hour.

    There were only a couple of things I wish had been communicated with me better, but nothing that actually ruined our day. In hindsight - I should've triple checked in on EVERYTHING and not just assumed since the venue never reached out to me in regards to those couple of things again that they were actually taken care of... cause they weren't.

    The venue did apologize for these errors that occurred and even gave me a small discount.

    Still - We wouldn't have had our wedding anywhere else. Our guests were blown away by their food, service, atmosphere and flowers.

    Everything was perfect!
  • Killian
    Killian Sent on 11/14/2018
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    New Ownership - Logistical Nightmare!

    My family have been longtime members of The Ruins and I have always dreamed of getting married there. However, the venue recently transferred ownership and working with the new owner and his team was a huge disappointment. DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE!
    It was a logistical nightmare!
    - After confirming the time with the event coordinator the night before, they were and hour and a half late and we were locked out. Hair and makeup was rushed and we missed out on a lot of pictures due to the delay.
    - The event coordinator, Alyssa, was incompetent. She was visibly stressed and jittery all day, ignored several of my logistical requests, and even messed up the seating chart! (when I say messed up, I mean ignored entirely. with several family dynamics to consider, this was a very important aspect)
    - They were under staffed and our guests had to help set up because they weren't ready in time
    - Cocktail hour was supposed to start at 4, they did not start pouring drinks until 4:30, at which point the guests were frustrated and my step-mom had to get behind the bar and start serving people herself.
    - They did not clear any of the drink prices with us and we ended up with an extra 2k on our bill
    - In the end, they threatened legal action if we did not pay them the additional cost that was incurred, no apology. It was a mess.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message