The Roger Sherman Inn Reviews

14 | New Canaan, CT
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for The Roger Sherman Inn

Recommended by 98%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Leah

    Leah Lou Lou · Getting married on 07/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diamond in the Rough

    After a long and grueling venue search, we happened upon Roger Sherman, and it was a dream come true. Nes and sue have been beyond patient and accommodating in providing us with a one of a kind experience. They're catch phrase is, "no two events are alike" and boy, are they right! They are doing absolutely everything to provide us with everything we could want and more. These girls know how to take care of you and make you feel completely at ease during an insanely stressful time! We walked into the breathtaking space, and knew immediately, this was the spot we wanted to begin our forever together! The girls are hospitable, and make you feel like one of the girl crew! We absolutely adore them and can't wait to get married here!

    Sent on 08/19/2019
  • Kc Piletto

    Kc Piletto · Getting married on 06/20/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent, everyone was very nice and informative and answered all our questions

    Quaint and very beautiful grounds for a wedding, rooms are flexible and if you can paddies a buyout it would be an amazing time

    Sent on 06/26/2019
  • Chase

    Chase · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue

    Our wedding at the Roger Sherman Inn was perfect. The Inn has always been a special place, but they've recently completed a major renovation and the results are absolutely beautiful. We had 85 guests, with our ceremony on the patio, cocktail hour on the porch, and dinner in the main dining room. From the beginning, Nes had a beautiful vision for the party, and Sue made sure every detail was perfect. The food was incredible and plentiful, the rooms are lovely, and getting ready in the beautiful bridal suite was a treat. Every detail was handled tastefully and thoughtfully, and we felt so at home in this elegant space. We couldn't recommend RSI more. Any couple looking for a special place to host a wedding in Fairfield County should consider it.

    Sent on 06/19/2019
  • User4939481 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Roger Sherman, Amber in particular, were great to work with. It was a two part affair, and they were wonderfully flexible and accommodating.

    Sent on 04/03/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 12/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From our first meeting with Amber, as we began to plan our wedding, to the actual day, the Roger Sherman Inn gave us the feeling that our wedding would be personal, special, and just what we wanted. I joked that the response from Amber and the Inn was always, "Yes, we can do that." I'm sure it was a ton of work behind-the-scenes, but we never had the feeling that we what we wanted was overwhelming. We wanted an intimate feeling and elegant winter wedding, and even with 170 people, we were able to achieve that feeling with the Inn's magical holiday decor, and overall classic ambiance. Our wedding felt like it popped right up out of a vintage winter postcard, a French chanson, or the movie "White Christmas." We were able to create a non-traditional wedding dinner that felt cozy and perfect, and the service was excellent and kind. We also had our rehearsal dinner in the downstairs wine cellar the evening before and stayed with our families and wedding party at the Inn both the night before and after our wedding. We were able to spend quieter time at the bar after-hours, and really had the Inn to ourselves. It felt like a destination wedding, evening though I had grown up just a few towns over. Even writing this review, my words aren't able to capture how magical, intimate, classic, gracious, and beautiful it all was. The Roger Sherman Inn is a perfect wedding venue for any couple that wants their wedding to feel unique and special, and unlike a traditional wedding hall. We returned to the Inn for dinner with our families on our first anniversary, and I know that will be a tradition for many years going forward.

    Sent on 07/07/2015
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 04/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at Roger Sherman Inn, but most especially Amber Bonfoey went above and beyond to make our wedding perfect. Every request, no matter how small or large was accommodated, the food was excellent, the rooms were all beautiful and everyone had the best time! Everything was perfect and I cant think of one thing that I would have done differently. I would highly recommend anyone planning a wedding, anniversary or any special occasion to contact the Roger Sherman Inn.

    Sent on 04/04/2015
  • M

    Mary · Married on 07/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The RSI went out of their way to make our wedding dinner a lovely and special event. The food was outstanding and the service perfect. Joseph, Ness and Chris were so very helpful and we are grateful for their kind assistance which made for a great evening!

    Sent on 12/11/2011
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 02/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Roger Sherman Inn provided a most elegant and comfortable place for out-of-town family and friends to stay during the wedding weekend, plus a wonderful, delicious post-wedding Brunch on Sunday morning.

    Sent on 01/30/2012
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 10/18/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An exceptionally intimate location with incredibly attentive staff, delicious food and elegant surroundings. It was a flawless reception and the staff helped to create a truly magical and incredibly tasteful evening.

    Sent on 03/26/2009
  • Joan

    Joan · Married on 06/09/2001

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the perfect place for a rehearsal dinner in the New Canaan area.

    Sent on 01/13/2007
  • J

    joe · Married on 11/07/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful place to have a rehearsal dinner. The food was superb, the staff attentive, and the entire night a success. Very highly recommended!

    Sent on 11/17/2011
  • C

    Carolien · Married on 01/28/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Roger Sherman was the perfect venue for our intimate wedding and reception - food, service and rooms were great. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 06/02/2012
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/09/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Roger Sherman Inn was an amazing venue to have a wedding, especially if you are looking for an intimate, elegant environment! My husband and I were extremely impressed with the food and the cake, as were the guests. The food was not only delicious, but arrived to each table hot (something that is not always the case at other weddings). For being included in the package, the cake was really tasty and beautiful! I couldn't have hand-selected a better one myself. The banquet manager was initially not as responsive as I would have liked (for instance, he would respond to my lengthy, detail-oriented emails with only a few sentences), but in the end, he pulled everything together perfectly. The only concern that we had was that the DJ was unable to properly connect to have the music playing in the dining room and bar/cocktail hour location. However, guests ended up enjoying that they could have conversation in one space and dance in another. Overall, we had an incredible experience.

    Sent on 12/07/2011
  • H

    M · Married on 12/03/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Roger Sherman Inn was a beautiful location for the 'Celebration Dinner' we had after our wedding ceremony. Chris Paul, and the entire staff, were a pleasure to work with: gracious, accommodating, friendly and professional.

    Sent on 12/12/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review