The Rococo Room Reviews

23 | Pasadena, CA
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for The Rococo Room

Recommended by 94%

23

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • J

    Janell · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful time with our wedding reception at the Rococo Room. Nancy was accommodating, responding to emails, and agreeing to meet with our moms as I planned long-distance. I picked the Rococo Room, without seeing it until 3 days before the wedding, because it was clear the space had cool décor ‘built-in’ which meant little was needed to dress it up. The food was delicious. Our family and friends loved the venue and found the staff attentive and easy to work with. They ensure that attendees are happy and free to enjoy the party (Matthew came up to me as soon as I arrived, got me a drink from the bar and made a couple suggestions to refine the event timeline so that the evening’s flow would be more smooth). A few admin notes to consider: There is no restaurant parking, but we worked with the garage across the street to arrange for pre-paid parking vouchers. It meant we could tell our guests where to park at no cost to them, and they had convenient parking without having to drive around Old Town Pasadena searching for a spot. My big brother (who can be picky) wrote a positive Google review for this venue and praised the efficiency of the bartender. The room seats up to 150, but our numbers were around 90, which was perfect so there was plenty of room to move and dance. In the planning stages, I was slightly confused as to the reason for the required security guard fee, but looking back, it is obvious: the room entrance is street level. The security guard helps keep your private party private. This was especially important after our DJ started the dance music because passersby looked in through the windows and wanted to dance too! Having our wedding reception at Rococo was a beautiful and overwhelmingly positive experience. Highly recommend the location, staff, food, and atmosphere. Outstanding value for the cost. It was perfect for our families and friends ranging in age from 15 months to just over 100 years.

    Sent on 05/03/2014
  • J

    John · Married on 07/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about The Rococo Room and its team.

    I proposed to my wife at The Rococo Room after a dinner at Cafe Santorini upstairs, so it was the obvious choice for our wedding reception venue.

    It could not have been more perfect. Our wedding was pretty small - about 65 guests, so the cozy space was the perfect size. We loved how much character the room had, with the exposed beams, the twinkle lights, the assorted chandeliers, and the exposed brick wall. The Rococo Room was by far the most interesting space we looked at, and we looked at a lot of venues.

    In addition to the space being cool, the food here is AMAZING. By far the best wedding food I've ever had, and most of our guests have said the same. The appetizers, the entrees, and the drinks were all fantastic. The best surprise of the night was that they packed up extra meals for us to take home with us! We feasted on appetizers and recreations of our meals the next day, delighted to get another serving of such delicious food.

    But that's nothing compared to the service. Everyone at The Rococo Room was phenomenal. My Best Man is a catering director at a University, and he said it was some of the most impressive service he's seen. Everyone's needs were met without ever having to ask the entire night. The team worked tirelessly to make sure glasses stayed full, plates were taken away, and that our guests were having a good time. We were surprised to see they even took some photos in our photo booth! My wife and I were happy to see our team having such a good time at our reception!

    Panos, the owner of Cafe Santorini/The Rococo Room, even stopped by to make sure that everything was going well at the event. It was a very nice gesture and we really appreciated it. He had nothing to worry about, though, as the night was going splendidly.

    I cannot recommend a venue (or any other vendor) more highly than the Rococo Room. These guys made our night perfect.

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • Luisa

    Luisa · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It took me a while to find the right venue. One day I was walking on Union St. and I peaked into the window of The Rococo Room. I made an appointment to check the venue out. During my first appointment, without hesitation, I knew that this was the it reception location. Stacy and Barbi have been great and easy to work with. They answered all my questions and concerns from the menu selection, pricing, decor, signature drinks, etc. Mathew and Gaby (the awesome banquet captains) and the staff were professional, always smiling and always there to make sure everything was running smoothly. I also got the chance to meet the owner of the venue and he is such a nice person. Now the food.... there are no words to describe. AMAZING!!! I got so many compliments about the food from family and friends. I would recommend The Rococo Room for their services and venue. Thank you Rococo team!

    Sent on 11/07/2012
  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked the Rococo Room for our 9-1-12 wedding, and it turned out to be one of the best decisions we had ever made. In sum:

    Venue: The venue is beautiful. It’s situated on the ground floor below the main restaurant (Café Santorini), and can accommodate 150 people (no dance floor) or 130 people (w/ dance floor). It has a rustic (not sure if that’s the right word) feel to it, and contains a mezzanine that you can rent for an additional cost.

    -Staff and Service: We worked with Barbara (“Barbi”) as our venue coordinator, and she was the best! I literally contacted her 3-4x/week for months leading up to our reception date to have some questions answered, and she was (and remains) the consummate professional. She was courteous, professional, flexible, and really took the time to put us at ease. To top it off, she’s really funny and sweet. Top shelf!

    Although she wasn’t the one who managed our reception on the actual date (she manages multiple venues), she assured me that her two best staff coordinators would do a great job. She wasn’t playing around about that, either. On the day of the reception, we got many compliments from our guests on how courteous, helpful, and fun the staff was. The main coordinator (Mark Hamilton, if I remember correctly), worked closely with our vendors and personal wedding coordinator to ensure that everything (serving appetizers, dinner, cake cutting, etc.) ran smoothly. The level of service we got that night was through the roof, and was a MAJOR factor in the success of our reception.

    -Price/Affordability: This place has a (new) required food/service minimum of $8,000 for a Saturday night event. Expensive for a wedding reception, right?? In many cases, not even close. Other venues we had checked out required a $20,000 food/service minimum. Having said that, this place was very affordable.

    The Rococo Room (and their staff) helped make my wedding reception a night I’ll never forget, and I’m more than happy to recommend them. :)

    Sent on 09/03/2012
  • A

    Allison · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with the Rococo Room. Barbi (our event coordinator) was very helpful, present, and fun to work with. We had a lot of questions and changes along the way and she was always happy to accommodate us. The value of the Rococo room is the best deal in town. The food was delicious. It didn't resemble wedding food at all and the service on our wedding night was awesome. I loved the feel of the Rococo room because it is a very intimate venue. You won't be disappointed !!

    Sent on 08/14/2012
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Rococo Room was so accommodating, GREAT food, and very professional. A fantastic deal for the money they ask for. I used them for my wedding reception, and they always returned my emails promptly and worked with me on any questions or issues I had. The only problem I had the day of the wedding was that we had asked for valet parking, and they did not make it available. This wasn't a huge deal since it just meant we didn't pay them for it at the end of the night, but can see how it could be a problem if you were really banking on it. Overall I thought they were great :)

    Sent on 06/13/2012
  • J

    Jim · Married on 11/13/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food.. Delicious. It didn't seem mass produced or assembly line fair. We had four menu options beef, chicken, fish and vegetarian. Each dish was wonderful and we beamed with pride as our guests began to rave over the food.

    Service.. Gracious. The gracious, upbeat and personal attention given to us by every single member of the staff made us feel like family more than clients. I felt taken care of and many of our guests commented on this fact.

    Cost.. No nickel and dime. From the chairs to the complimentary use of their balcony banquet room, these guys just threw in freebies and comps everywhere just to make things easier for us. They even fed us when we showed up by surprise with our DJ's for a planning meeting.

    Flexibility.. No problems. We changed our guest count literally a day before the wedding. It was no problem contacting them and making things go exactly like we wanted. Shout out to Keith Patterson for taking such great care of us.

    Sent on 11/17/2010
  • D

    devi · Married on 09/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This review is long overdue! Please note that this review is for Rococo Room only (not Cafe Santorini!). My fiance and I wanted an intimate, nice and fun wedding reception (within a limited budget), and that is exactly what we got! We had 150 people, and it was perfect. The dance floor was big enough. The food was good (although one dish was a bit different than the tasting). I heard over and over again that the chicken didn't taste like "rubber wedding chicken" but was very moist! We brought our own DJ equipment and decorated the room a bit beyond the flowers and candles on the table, and they were very flexible with the drop off and pick up. Keith should run the WHOLE restaurant. I was impressed with his professionalism and responsiveness. The head server, Matt, was awesome. Even the picky folk at the wedding commented on the "superb service". The bartender was great too. The plating and timing was perfect. Parking is convenient, as well. The room looked beautiful, and the service was great. What more could one ask for? I cannot say enough about Keith and his staff at the Rococo Room.

    Sent on 02/22/2011
  • M

    Monique · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cafe Santorini was the perfect spot for our wedding reception! The Rococo Room (the downstairs event room) was absolutely beautiful! It was a great combination of history and charm. Plus, it had nice decor that could fit right into your wedding theme. We had approximately 70 guests so I wanted something that would be small and quaint enough to accommodate our guest count without being too crowded - The Rococo Room was perfect for this. The food was awesome! Our guests still rave about the tasty appetizers and generously portioned meals. Keith and his staff were always professional and courteous. The servers on our wedding night were personable and did a great job serving our guests. I have no complaints booking our wedding at The Rococo Room. Loved it!

    Sent on 08/23/2010
  • B

    Danielle · Married on 05/15/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Keith and the rest of the staff at Cafe Santorini were great from the start, they always kept great communication. They really wanted to make sure our day was exactly what we wanted it to be. The reception was just how I'd imagined. From the dangling lights above gave us the beautiful & cozy ambience we wanted. The staff was amazing and quite entertaining. The lead banquet guy even took the time to purchase us a box of cupcakes from next door. And the food! It was the most delicious ever! (which our friends & family still rave about, 7 months after the wedding) It was perfect! And the price for a Saturday night event was only $6000. Thank you, Cafe Santorini!

    Sent on 12/19/2010
  • A

    Anastasia · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was recently married and had my reception at Café Santorini. From start to finish it was a joy to work with Keith and his staff at Café Santorini. First, the room is gorgeous, and was so easy to dress up with linen and flowers. The food was amazing. I had many guest tell me that the food was the best they ever had at a wedding. And finally and the budget, I gave them the budget I needed to stay in and we did. I highly recommend having your wedding at Café Santorini.

    Sent on 05/03/2010
  • C

    Caryn · Married on 11/14/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OK, so I've been just a liiitle slow in posting this, seeing as how I got married in November 2009, but Cafe Santorini/Rocco Room was AWESOME!! Having good food (read: no rubber chicken) and an open bar were our two main priorities in terms of our reception and this fit the bill perfectly. With no site fee once we hit a certain amount, it also enabled us to have a Saturday night reception, which we also really wanted (some other venues we looked at had fees just to use the space of $5,000+). All the food was excellent and we got sooo many compliments on it. The staff was all a joy to work with from Keith before the wedding to all the day-of staff. Friends said to us after that our wedding was so great, it made them want to get married again. The venue is gorgeous, which also helped keep decor costs down. I really appreciated that they were open to doing things like making the vegetarian dish without butter for a couple of our vegan friends and serving the awesome mousse as the dessert. My only regret is that we can't do it again!!

    Sent on 09/26/2010
  • B

    Skye · Married on 06/27/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the Rococo Room. We found their prices very affordable compared to some of the other locations nearby, especially for everything you get there.

    The room itself looks great, so there is very little extra decorating to do. They provide the tables/lines/silverware. plus chiavari chairs (so no need for chair covers). They also provide the wait staff, who were very professional and took exceptional care of us and our guests. The head waiter, Matt was terrific, and was half the reason we booked there. Their event coordinators, Stacy and Keith, are also very professional and attentive, and they answered all of my endless emails leading up to the wedding. They do not work on the weekends, but the wait staff took care of everything, so we had no issues.

    The food was delicious, with big portions so everyone got enough to eat. We got lots of comments about how good the food was. We had a few guests with special dietary restrictions, and they were each provided a real meal that they could eat (i.e. not just a plate of steamed vegetables).

    Overall we felt very fortunate to have our reception at the Rococo Room. They offered fantastic food, a well trained staff, and a great atmosphere; all for what we found to be a reasonable price. We would definitely recommend the Rococo Room to anyone looking for a location for their wedding reception.

    Sent on 08/24/2009
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 05/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough positive things about the staff, service, and food. Excellent!
    We had our ceremony and reception here! Everything went PERFECTLY (very rare for a wedding)! I highly recommend this place. We continue getting compliments on the food and the service. Our head waiter, Matt, is awesome! Everyone was so attentive, from the planning process to the day of the wedding.

    Sent on 07/01/2009
  • I

    wendy · Married on 09/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    cafe santorini was the best location for us. it was nice and intimate. the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. we will definitely have a party here again!

    Sent on 09/28/2008
  • C

    Claudia · Married on 04/28/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was truly a lucky find! If you are looking for a smaller, cozy venue with the warmth of a friendly town in Italy... well, don't look any further! The food is exceptional (far superior from the restaurant upstairs, as they have a separate kitchen). The waiters were outstanding... they catered to the smallest needs of EVERY guest and were multi-lingual. We fit 100 guests and still had room for a small dance floor. Every guest LOVED the venue... and the gelato bar that was arranged for us by the reception coordinator. Amazing!

    Sent on 05/20/2008
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/01/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently had my wedding ceremony and reception at The Rococo Room and it was the perfect venue for my intimate wedding of 70 people. The room looked beautiful, it doesnt take a lot of extra decorating to make it shine, and it had a great blend of a cozyness and coolness. And as far as service goes, they can't be beat. From the beginning I had the pleasure of working with Barbie, and we hit it off right away. She is the perfect mix of fun and professionalism, she answered any and all questions I had in an extremely timely manner and was so great to work with and made all the planning so easy. I really can't say enough to properly describe how much I enjoyed corresponding with her, by the time it was almost the big day she was practically family. Unfortunately on the day of our wedding she could not be there, however she left us in the more than capable hands of the head server Matthew. My husband and mom will not stop going on and on about how wonderful he was, and it's true. Every time anyone needed something he was one step ahead already bringing it to them. He was exactly what you need and want on your wedding day, professional, proactive and charming. My guests are still raving about the awesome service, as well as the delicious food! The food was a big part of our decision to have our reception there. Everything from the appetizers to the salad to the entrees to the dessert was phenomenal. People are still talking about how yummy everything was and I must say I agree. Top notch. Overall we had a great experience and would absolutely recommend The Rococo Room to anyone who wants a unique venue, yummy food and amazing service for a very reasonable price.

    Sent on 07/05/2012
  • H

    Hanna · Married on 02/03/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rococo banquet room is a truly beautiful, cozy and romantic place to have a wedding. From beginning to end, our experience at Santorini's Rococo was AMAZING! They were so easy to work with, everything was taken care of, and we had no worries! We were married at the Rococo's Room and it was perfect for our group of 140 - just full enough to be cozy, just crowded enough to keep the energy high. The photo opportunities were stunning - different natural beauty backdrops at every turn. For dinner, we choose Steak and Salmon and it was unbelivably delicious!

    Everthing was fabulous!

    Sent on 09/01/2009
  • C

    Cintya · Married on 05/30/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Rococo room team was amazing, and helped me and my husband achieve the wedding of our dreams. Stacey, the venue coordinator was great in helping us meet our budget and allowing us to have a elegant wedding. She worked with us and was able to get us a discount for having a weekday wedding, and was also able to answer the many questions we had in a timely manner. During our rehersal, Stacey was there to help us go through our timeline, and work out any kinks we had. The day of the wedding started off great, Stacey allowed us to enter the venue early in the morning to start setting up and helped us with last minute changes. The waiting staff during our reception was amazing! The bartender was so attentive to my husband and I, always making sure we had what we needed. Many of our guests commented on the friendly and fast service. The head coordinator, took the time to walk to every table and made sure our guests were happy with their entrees and drinks. I got so many compliments from guests about their friendly and professional service. The food was exquisite, and VERY generous! The aged rib eyed stake was huge, juicy and tender. I have so many wonderful things to say about the Rococo room and their staff. Look no further than the rococo room for your wedding :)

    Sent on 07/13/2012
  • H

    Hardi · Married on 07/19/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I gave 4 stars for responsiveness & professionalism because when my wife called Nancy to ask about availability, she said the venue is not available that day. According to my wife, she was not helpful and sound hasty. So I called Nancy couple minutes after, and she told me that the place is available without knowing that the one who previously called was my wife. I am not sure if it was maybe phone clarity problems or perhaps something else, but this is what happened.

    Also, there was suppose to be 1 security guard on the day of the event, however there was no security guard present on the day. This is not a big deal, since I got the security money refunded anyway after the event. I also had several strangers coming in through Rococo to enter Cafe Santorini. Later I found out that it is actually written in the contract that the restaurant has to allow disable & older people to enter through Rococo due to stairs entrance. I would have appreciated if Nancy pointed this out before I signed the agreement.

    Other than these three issues mentioned above, overall I had a great time with our wedding celebration. The foods were fantastic, everybody loved the foods. The service was outstanding too, the waiters are extremely friendly with big smiles. Nancy is also very flexibly, she will work with you to make sure the event will go as how we want it.

    Sent on 10/27/2014
  • M

    Cara · Married on 04/05/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We had our reception at Cafe Santorini, luncheon with 60 people. The cost was less than any equivalent venue or caterer in Pasadena and they did not jerk us around with extra fees. Everyone complimented the food; I was too excited to eat much, but a lot of people mentioned it was good.
    The wait staff was very attentive, even holding back a couple of portions of the appetizers in the kitchen so that we (bride + groom) would have some. They magically appeared with two flutes of champagne when we did our cake cutting - we hadn't asked for that & it was a nice surprise. Also the wait staff did not clear our 2 plates until checking with us each personally that we had finished eating.
    I did not hear any complaints from certain family members who ALWAYS have an issue with service, so that is a good sign that the guests received good service too.
    I found it inconvenient that their event coordinator is only there Monday-Friday. Also she was so laid-back and casual about everything when I made the reservation that I worried about whether she would remember to put us on the calendar. Not the quickest to return calls, either.
    We had to clear out quickly at the end because they had another party coming in for a dinner event. It seemed abrupt, but partly because the day just went by so fast for me.
    The restrooms are clean and there is enough open space in there for someone to help you get your dress bustled up without bumping into the stalls.
    The room has a lot of architectural character so you don't need to decorate other than centerpieces on the tables.

    Sent on 06/23/2008
  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/18/2011

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    The Rococo Room is a beautiful venue and we received a lot of compliments from our guests on the room and the quality of the food. The food was very much above average, and the wait staff on the day of our reception (led by the excellent head server, Matt) were very friendly, fun, and helpful.

    The one downside to Rococo is the event coordinating staff. The two people that we dealt with in the weeks leading up to our reception were extremely frustrating. They were fairly quick to respond to our questions, but their attitudes were all business and not particulary suited to wedding planning.

    They were rather disorganized (gave us two wrong selections at our tasting, which they made up for at a second tasting, forgot to collect a second deposit, etc.) and in general weren't very nice, considering the amount of money we were spending. They do nickel-and-dime you (e.g. $25 for a wedding cake stand, $10 for a cake knife!), contrary to a previous review on this board. Keith, who is mentioned in other reviews as being really great and throwing in freebies, is no longer on staff.

    Overall, I don't regret having our reception at Rococo because we and our guests had a good time. But it would be better if the ownership would hire some event coordinators who are nicer and more customer-oriented. I'd hate for some other bride to be as stressed out as I was.

    Sent on 09/26/2011
  • User1534296 · 2+ years ago

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Their wedding coordination services only existed on the contract, on the actual wedding date nothing went as planned. Neither the coordinator or the person-in-charge for the banquet (as written on the contract) were not present, random waitor and waitress were helping us out about when and which videos to play. You can imagine what a mess that was! Although everything was written in the contract, the first video was played without audio and the other video was unable to play despite the fact their coordinator confirmed with us one day before our event that she tested all the videos and everything worked. The food was not ready by the time we had agreed on despite the fact we also double check with the vandor right at the beginning of the event. What came worse was that we tried to contact the coordinator after the wedding, she ignored our call and emails...then we got in touch with the owner, he asked not to post any negative feedback online and he will get back to us....we never heard back from him. If you want affordable food, this is the right place....but quality of service or professionalism...NONE!

    Sent on 11/10/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review