Weddings

The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa Reviews

The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa

The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa

Livermore, CA
Rating 4.5 out of 5, 15 Reviews
View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.5
out of 5.0
Recommended by 90% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 15

12 User photos

Sort by:
  • J
    Jashwal Married on 05/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Purple Orchid is Amazing!

    We were lucky and thankful to have found Rhiannon and her wonderful estate, Purple Orchid. Through COVID, Rhiannon worked with us through several reschedules and made us feel very accommodated. When we realized that a bigger wedding would not be possible because of COVID, Rhiannon worked with us to reduce the wedding size to 32 people. Before the wedding, Rhiannon worked with us on every detail to make sure the day of the wedding went very smoothly. The day of the wedding was very stress free and went fantastically—we were able to lean on Rhiannon and her team for everything. Through Rhiannon, we worked with Pleasanton Rentals for all supplies and worked with Dave’s catering for food—both places exceeded our expectations. Additionally, we rented out all of Purple Orchid for the occasion, so our guests were able to fully enjoy the rooms and all the amenities. Our guests loved Purple Orchid so much that they made bookings for a later time the next day! We would highly recommend Purple Orchid to anyone looking for a private and serene wedding on the Livermore country.

    -Jess and Jashwal
  • M
    Megan O. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding venue!!

    My husband and I got married at the Purple Orchid in September. From the start, they were so incredibly responsive and easy to work with. We fell in love with the venue from our very first meeting. Everything leading up to the wedding went smoothly. They are an extremely organized team, and are always happy to help make the day perfect. The day of our wedding was so wonderful, they handled everything from the schedule to the decor and coordinating with the other vendors. Our bridal party all stayed the night at the hotel also which was a blast. The food was also fantastic, we have received endless compliments on Valley Catering. I would not hesitate to recommend Purple Orchid as a wedding venue, it was a dream come true!

    The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hello Megan! We are happy to hear that we brought your vision and dream to life. From beginning to end, it was a pleasure to be a part of your big day. From The Purple Orchid family to yours, we are wishing you all the best! Hope to see you and Kris around the property in the future.
  • C
    Colleen C. Married on 09/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Orchid for the Win

    Danelle is great to work with. She's understanding and level-headed. The location is great for a small wedding- fair prices and non-corporate feeling like you would get from a chain hotel. Looking forward to my wedding this September.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous Outdoor Venue

    We fell in love with this venue as soon as we stepped foot onto the property and they were so helpful at bringing our vision to life! We loved that our family and friends could stay on the property and that we could have the place for the whole weekend. This spot is such a hidden gem and was awesome also having a spa on site! I got two facials there and were the best ones I have ever gotten. The owners are the most adorable couple, had a very relaxed demeanor and made us feel relaxed throughout the planning and whole wedding weekend. Thank you PO for making this special time in our lives so spectacular!!!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous venue, Accommodating and Kind Owners - Simply the best

    Derek and Rhiannon made our wedding weekend spectacular. We booked Purple Orchid in February of 2019, and Rhiannon was flexible and accommodating as we had to navigate postponing our event.
    Once the wedding weekend finally came, no detail was left unanswered as our family and friends arrive. The rooms are impeccable and comfortable, the property is gorgeous, and happy hour each day was lovely.
    The staff hired for the events were friendly, kind, and organized. Our wedding went off without a hitch, and Derek Rhiannon, Taylor, and the catering staff were simply incredible.
    The venue itself is also stunning, and between cocktail hour at the pool, and dinner in the olive orchard, it was a perfect setting for our perfect day.
    THANK YOU, Derek, Rhiannon, and the Purple Orchid Staff for hosting us for a whole week, and giving us the best memories to look back on. We can't wait to spend our anniversaries here!!
  • Lina
    Lina Married on 05/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best of the best!

    Purple Orchid Inn is the perfect wedding venue with the best staff and hands-on owners. We had a lot of must-have items (i.e. all-inclusive wedding package, on-site lodging, dog-friendly, etc.). Most venues couldn’t accommodate our needs given our budget—then came Purple Orchid Inn! The experience leading up to, and on our big day, far exceeded our expectations. The staff were quick on their feet when it started raining and managed to redirect the guests to the event room from outside. I can go on and on about how great Purple Orchid Inn is, but you’ll just have to see for yourself!

    The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hello, Lina! We are so glad to hear that you had an amazing time with us at The Purple Orchid. It was such a pleasure to work with you and James leading up to your big day. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! From The Purple Orchid family to yours, we are wishing you all the best.
  • K
    Krysta Married on 10/14/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just got married at the Purple Orchid less than 2 weeks ago, and it was amazing! The site is so beautiful, and you can really make your wedding almost like a destination wedding even if you live locally. We had our rehearsal dinner on site Friday night, wedding Saturday night, and brunch Sunday morning before everyone left. It was awesome to have our families stay on the property with us and spend more time with them throughout the weekend. As the other reviewers mentioned, Danelle, the on-site coordinator, is fantastic. She works with you as much or as little as you need, and takes care of so much! From ordering any extra rentals you want to setting up your guest book table and other day of details, she is truly awesome. And while weddings aren't cheap, you get a pretty good bang for your buck at Purple Orchid. I could go on and on about the Purple Orchid, but it is truly a spectacular wedding venue and I would highly recommend it to any bride looking for a smooth and stunning wedding experience!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    FABULOUS! AMAZING!! ROMANTIC!!! PERFECT!!!! My sister actually found the Purple Orchid for us about a year before we were even engaged. We stayed there as a test run and fell in love with the venue. Once my fiancé formally proposed I think the 4th call we made was to the Purple Orchid to reserve our date. We have loved working with them. The location is beautiful and very versatile. We were able to have our rehearsal dinner, ceremony, reception, and brunch all at the same location, and stay on property as well! The staff is fabulous. The owners know their stuff and were a huge help with both little and big details. They have an onsite wedding coordinator who helped with everything. She even stepped in as an emergency back up make up artist when mine backed out at the last minute. When we first met with the owner and wedding coordinator we walked away wanting to be friends with them. Every time we met (or emailed) with them we felt at ease. They supplied a fabulous list of preferred vendors, from DJ to caterer, to wedding cake baker, and efficient. We chose the two-day package. Renting out the 10 rooms for Friday night and Saturday. I highly recommend doing this. It made everything so relaxing. The caterer is fabulous. He even figured out how to do bacon wrapped tater tots for us as a late night snack. The cost included almost everything. -Venue for Friday night, Saturday, and Sunday (for brunch) -Bed and Breakfast Guest rooms (10 rooms for two nights, with breakfast) -Linens and chairs (including plates, and all that Jazz) -Food and Alcohol -Day of wedding coordinator (who helped leading up as well) - Sunday Campaign Brunch We absolutely loved the Purple Orchid and we HIGHLY recommend them. They have two day and one day packages. They are fabulous. All of our guests commented on how lovely the venue was, how good the food was, and how much fun they had. If you are looking for a place that is romantic with folks who will make the planning process easy, and your day e
  • T
    Tina Married on 09/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our Wedding Reception on Sunday 9/20/15 at Purple Orchid.
    It is a favorite spot of my husband and I as we go quarterly for Massage appointments and to relax by the pool with some wine and cheese platter.

    The venue was everything we wanted it to be. Rhiannon the owner and her husband and the event Coordinator, Danelle did an amazing job! Everything was beautiful and even if something was a little off, they were quick to remedy it and keep it seamless.
    Chef Joe is amazing and everyone loved the food!.

    The lights at night out in the olive trees were beautiful and everything I had ever imagined it would be.

    We will definitely be coming back here for years to come, and can now share the memory of our special day!

    Tina and Keith Rodgers
  • A
    Adrienne Married on 10/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    In the great wedding venue search of 2013, we visited no less than 10 wedding venues and I only had two nervous breakdowns, but thankfully found The Purple Orchid and hit all the points that we wanted in a wedding venue.

    -Capability for an outdoor ceremony (rose garden) and outdoor reception (olive orchard).
    -Included basic rentals (tables, chairs, linens)
    -Included an event manager/day-of-wedding coordinator (Hi Olivia! You're awesome!!!!)
    -Had a backup plan for rain in October (event center, it's ok but significantly less breathtaking than the olive orchard)

    Both Rhiannon (owner) and Olivia (event manager) were AMAZING. We worked with Rhiannon to book our wedding date and for any contract and wedding payment questions. She was flexible and answered all of our questions promptly.

    We worked with Olivia to plan the big day. She kept us on track in wedding planning and was fabulous the day-of. She was exactly what I was looking for in an event manager/day-of-coordinator. We knew we were going to do most of the legwork to project manage and DIY this wedding, but Olivia was our reality check. We met with her in person three times before the wedding (6 months out, 3 months out, 2 weeks out) and she kept us on track with booking wedding vendors, building a timeline, and ideas for decor. During wedding weekend, she was indispensable. She and our officiant ran our wedding rehearsal and I basically handed all of the decor elements to her before our wedding rehearsal. She made it all happen. Day of, Olivia and her staff put together the wedding of my dreams. Everything was perfect and the whole day ran smoothly. We didn't have to do anything with the vendors, everything was in its place when it was time.

    Definitely check this place out if you're in the hunt for a wedding venue. It's not going to stay a hidden gem for long.
  • Camille
    Camille Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommended!

    Fantastic grounds, all the amenities you could need for a wedding, and friendly staff. I did not need to worry about ANYTHING the day of my wedding - Agie (day-of coordinator) had it all completely taken care of. We chose to book the venue for the weekend because it was a great price for what was offered. I would highly recommend booking your wedding or event at the Purple Orchid. As an added bonus they also have a pool, hot tub, and spa on-site!!

    The Purple Orchid Resort and Spa's reply:

    Hello, Camille! Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad to hear that your day went off without a hitch. We hope to see you and Paul around in the future. From The Purple Orchid family to yours, we are wishing you all the best.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing and unique experience at the Purple Orchid...the wedding gathering spot we had hoped for. Very family environment, beautiful place and accommodations.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 07/25/2015
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    The Purple Orchid was a BEAUTIFUL venue. It exceeded our expectations. We got the weekend package and were able to have family and friends stay at the resort for the whole weekend. They were always very responsive to my overwhelming amount of emails and I had several in person meetings with the event planner (they changed event planners mid-way through my planning which I was bummed about). They are a little strict with their policies, but have a little more flexibility as the wedding weekend came closer. Overall, I would choose the Purple Orchid again for my wedding venue. The staff was very helpful and provided quality services.
  • Nicole
    Nicole W. Married on 05/08/2020
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Would Not Recommend

    I waited almost nine months (we got married last summer) to write this review to make sure that my feelings didn't change given perspective. I don't want to have these feelings towards my wedding venue.

    I would not recommend this location as a wedding venue, especially if they are still working with Valley Catering. I'll be writing a separate review for Valley Catering, but they served a wrong menu at our wedding, disregarding our explicit requests and instructions. Our contract required us to use this catering service- we didn't have a choice. If Orchid is still using Valley after this incident, I would no longer trust their judgement. The food was GROSS and most of my guests left hungry. When people remember my wedding, the first thing they remember is the dry meat and tasteless food.

    I'm under the impression that the rest of the issues we had during the weekend of our wedding occurred because one of the owners was undergoing a health crisis and was in and out of the hospital around the time of our event. I do believe that much of this wouldn't have happened if she was in good health. I'm sympathetic, BUT you should have staff strong enough to fill in for your absence. The staff completely failed.

    I'm leaving out a lot of mishaps, focusing only on the issues that stand out to me the most many months later, but we did have issues with the venue starting the Friday before our wedding. (They sent the bridal party and other guests staying the night of wedding a request for payment for the very expensive rooms that they KNEW my family was gifting them. Several of our guests were uncomfortable accepting the rooms for free after that.)

    A free couple massage was offered with the wedding package. The venue recommended that we take advantage of the spa the day after the wedding, which sounded great, so we did. It was the middle of summer and a very hot day, so we couldn't leave the leftover flower arrangements in the car during the massage. I paid a lot of extra money to get the flower arrangements made with ample succulents. Keep in mind that I know flowers would die anyway, but I grow/collect succulents and had plans to create arrangements using the plants from our wedding that would have lasted many years. One of the owners told us that we could put our flowers (including my bouquet) in a cool room until after our massage. By the time we got out of the massage (which was just okay), all of our flowers were gone, except the bouquet, which apparently they deemed worthy of keeping for us. The staff had called the florist and had her come collect all of our arrangements (what the hell????). They then made US call the florist and WE had to go rescue our flowers. They literally handed us a phone and a phone number and walked away. The staff was completely unwilling to help or correct their mistake. Two or three (I forget now) of our arrangements went missing and were never given to the florist (who was wonderful). I'm convinced that the staff kept those arrangements or gave them away to guests arriving for a wedding that was being set up. I spent the day after my wedding in tears- I'm still emotional about losing those plants. It might seem silly, but they meant a lot to me. My parents did tell me that they received reimbursement for the missing arrangements as part of the money we got back given the unacceptable errors given our menu. Also to the venue's credit, they did send me a small succulent arrangement as a sort of apology, but I gave it away. I appreciate the gesture, but I don't need a reminder of that incident in my house.

    More minor frustrations were that both suites had dead bugs all around the rooms. I was picking up dead spiders and bees all weekend, and my maid of honor and her family in the other suite said they were doing the same. It was like they sprayed for bugs but no one came back to clean up the casualties. We also requested that our sheets were changed the night of the wedding because a bridesmaid stayed in the suite with me the night before. They weren't changed and my new husband didn't love sleeping on a pillow covered in my friend's hair on our wedding night. To be fair, though, I never brought these more minor issues to the venue's attention- there were many more pressing issues at hand.

    I don't want to have these negative feelings towards our wedding venue, but I can't forgive Orchid for these memories. I only plan on getting married once, and we can't those moments back. Especially for the cost, I should't be left with these negative memories of my wedding and the surrounding weekend. We had hoped to come back for our anniversaries, but we both agree that we'll never visit this spa again.
  • Kayla
    Kayla Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    This place is absolutely repulsive. They have zero regard for compassion towards human beings. My sister was engaged for 6 months. She chose purple orchid as the venue for her wedding. Fast forward, after a devastating and heart breaking stream of events, she was forced to call off the engagement just a couple weeks after she had put down her $5,000 deposit. She called purple orchid to explain her devastating situation and asked if there was any possibility to get her money back. She was told that there was absolutely no way that they could provide a refund, and had the audacity to ask her to sign a document to release that date so that they could rebook. We completely understand that the venue is under no obligation to refund her. She did not expect them to refund her right away. She asked them if she could get her money back if and when that date is booked and locked in by someone else. Their answer was a firm no. Essentially she paid them $5,000 just to have her name on their books. They now have that date available and they will be profiting off of someone else and get to keep her money as well. This is complete robbery. The lack of compassion possessed by this business needs to be out there for other people to be aware of as a warning. If they lack the decency to not profit off of someone's misfortune, who knows what else they are capable of. This is a money hungry business and they do NOT have your best interest at heart.