The Prospect Park Boathouse Reviews

4 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

4 Reviews for The Prospect Park Boathouse

Recommended by 95%

4

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

The Prospect Park Boathouse 1
The Prospect Park Boathouse 2
The Prospect Park Boathouse 3
The Prospect Park Boathouse 4
Sort by:
  • L

    Liz D · Married on 06/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Amazing Experience and even more Amazing Day!

    Alexandra and the Purslane team exceeded our expectations and helped us throw the most amazing wedding! My husband and I were impressed with how organized and thoughtful the Purslane team is. They were incredibly responsive and ensured that no detail was left behind. The venue itself is gorgeous, and Alexandra knows the Boathouse inside and out. With her help, we were able to really let the architecture shine and had a seamless experience coordinating all park-related logistics. Alexandra and her team have strong relationships with other vendors (flowers, music, etc.) that led us to work with other amazing local individuals who were also familiar with the venue. The Purslane catering team created a delicious and unique menu for our guests and everyone was raving about the food the next day. We had such a wonderful experience planning our wedding with Alexandra and the Purslane team. The team took the time to get to know us and understand the type of party we wanted to throw, and they helped us create a wedding that was truly “us.” We wish we could do it all over again!

    Sent on 07/17/2019
  • Georgina

    Georgina · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outdtanding at every step - we couldn’t have pulled off our wedding without them!

    We can’t say enough good things about the Purslane team, especially Alex, with whom we worked incredibly closely with. My husband and I decided to get married much sooner than we had planned on due to my mother’s health, leaving us with only one month to plan our wedding start to end. We reached out to the Prospect Park Boathouse and were on the phone discussing details with Alex within 30 minutes. After meeting Alex in person a few days later to walk through the venue together, we were ready to sign the contract.

    The Purslane team was accommodating at every step. We had originally estimated 85 guests but ended up with over 100, and they had no issues pulling this off. Everyone on the Purslane team was easy to work with and far exceeded our expectations. The team was involved in every detail of the day, beyond just the food, and played an integral part in making sure everything went as planned on our big day. We felt comfortable putting all of our trust in Alex and the team to make sure we had the wedding we always wanted, despite our circumstances. They advised on the menu, set up (chairs, table layouts, etc.), the general flow of the evening, and much more. The team made sure my mom was comfortable all night, which was so important to me and my husband. They were in contact with all of our vendors and were a great resource when it came to choosing vendors to work with. Their great reputation and connections in the industry made everything so much easier for us.

    We got so many compliments on the food and had friends asking about our caterer immediately after our wedding.They accommodated the many dietary restrictions and allergies of our guests without comprising the taste of any of the food.

    We can’t recommend Purslane highly enough! You definitely won’t regret hiring them for your wedding - it was the easiest decision we made in our planning.

    Sent on 10/31/2018
    The Prospect Park Boathouse 5
    The Prospect Park Boathouse 6
    The Prospect Park Boathouse 7
  • Antonia

    Antonia · Married on 06/01/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Purslane and the PPBH were amazing

    Alexandra with Purslane and the entire team at the PPBH made our experience of planning and getting married an absolute breeze. Apart from the beautiful venue and grounds, a few moments stand out as examples of excellent service. First, as I was debating the order of the dances, they suggested for us to have our first dance on the patio, which worked out beautifully with the setting sun. Secondly, the food and drinks were delicious and accommodated all of our guests' food allergy/issues! Lastly, when the water pressure at the park was suddenly low due to a water main break, they speedily communicated and brought in a backup plan - renting a luxury bathroom unit - without ever causing an alarm to us! Alexandra and her team's professionalism, communication, and experience with events really shined through. The big plus is that the venue is a beautiful historical building that now serves good (Audubon Society) and I had so many guest compliments to how beautiful and awing the space is.

    Sent on 06/30/2019
    The Prospect Park Boathouse 8
  • K

    Kennedy · Married on 11/04/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most stunning venue; and FANTASTIC food!

    Purslane knocked it outta the park (get it?) and we had a fabulous experience. With Alexandra at the helm as our day-of coordinator, we felt in good hands at every moment. She was very communicative, warm and helpful.

    We were offered a large menu to choose food from - it was all divine and hard to make decisions! (We brought in our own desserts.)

    And the VENUE.... I mean, that venue is just so gorgeous it does not require much extra decor. However, should you want it, be prepared hire loads of extra help; Window for load-in and out is very tight.

    Another surprise, you / band / DJ is required to bring in all sound equipment. Be prepared to budget for that.

    Alexandra does a great job of prepping the space ahead of time, however, I would've loved to control the lights so that we could notch it down as the party revved up.

    Also, worth noting, no matter how much money you throw at Purslane, they are unable to keep the party going beyond the contracted hours. We learned the hard way but had a nearby dive bar lined up for the after party.

    All around a wonderful experience.

    Sent on 11/13/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review