The Photosmith Reviews

10 | Barboursville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for The Photosmith

Recommended by 98%

10
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0
10 The Photosmith Reviews
Sort by:
  • User3310208 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've known Bill Smith from The PhotoSmith for years. When we started to plan our wedding, we both instantly knew that we were going. Bill is both abundantly friendly and professional. When we received our photos from him, I knew that he had done a great job, so I didn't look through all of the pictures right away. While I was at work the next day, I received a text from my wife: "Bill did an outstanding job!!!"

  • K

    Kristi · Married on 12/27/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the photosmith was very easy. We got so many compliments from our guest about the photography. Bill and Lindsay took many pictures, but it never felt like they were intrusive. We barely knew they were there. The quality of the photography is wonderful!

  • M

    Erin · Married on 08/16/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill, The Photosmith, was AMAZING!!!!!!!! He seemed to be everywhere at exactly to right moment, and due to this he caught many people on film doing what I wanted to see....Enjoying themselves! From calming the bride before the ceremony, to getting perfect friends and family pictures during and after the ceremony to helping get the cake cutting started, I am truly greatful to Bill for ALL that he did to make our day that much more beautiful and special. When we met to pick up the pictures I had my sister and my nephews with me, he even made it a point to acknowledge them and comment on how beautiful the photographed. I jokingly told my girlfirends the other night that I wanted to get married again just so Bill could take more shots of me, because they were gorgeous!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great personality as well!

  • F

    Lindsey · Married on 09/04/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with the Photosmith was a very pleasent experience. The photographers were extremely friendly and helpful. I wil recommend The Photosmith to all my friends. We were very pleased with the service they provided and our photographs were beautiful!!!

  • A

    Angela · Married on 09/23/2006

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Bill, so nice and friendly!

  • V

    Valerie · Married on 10/04/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Photosmith was extremely professional and very easy to work with. Unlike some other wedding vendors we worked with, he always returned our phonecalls and was happy to be a part of our wedding. He took his time with us and we are very happy with the outcome of our pictures. Even our wedding party commented on how enjoyable he was. I highly recommend him for all photography services!

  • A

    Erika · Married on 12/29/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bill and his staff are great. They are out of the way and yet where they need to be. Bill gets the good shots and takes a lot of time before and after getting to know you. You can really tell Bill cares about his job and his clients.

  • S

    Maggie · Married on 09/27/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Bill was amazing! The greatest photographer we could have hoped for, especially on somewhat shorter notice! We were lucky he was available for our weekend! Because my family lives in CA, he put our pics online. He was more a part of our wedding than a spectator! I highly recommend him if you are getting married in Virginia!

  • J

    Jordan · Married on 05/24/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and I had Bill Smith -- The Photosmith himself -- as our wedding photographer. (I think he often has his daughter take photos as well.) He is an extremely comfortable, down-to-earth, talkative guy who worked hard to assure me that I didn't have to worry about a thing, which is important to an unsure and stressed-out bride! It is a lot of money, but the photographer was the one thing I wanted to splurge on to have tangible memories of our special day, and it was SO worth it.

    I loved that Bill was very quick at returning emails and phone calls, and his website is easy to navigate with all of the information you need as far as costs and services.

    We chose the "Satin Wedding" package -- $2000 for 5 hours of photography at University Baptist Church (Charlottesville, VA). He was great at moving around the dressing room while us girls were getting ready and taking all those neat shots (my mom buttoning my dress, the bridesmaids putting on make-up, etc) without feeling intrusive. The ceremony and reception didn't take the full 5 hours, so I suggested that we go across the street to take pictures on the Rotunda, to which he gladly agreed, and those ended up being my favorite pictures of all!

    The only minor complaint I have is that the formal shots with the wedding party and families after the ceremony are at a weird angle, so that the people in the front row seem a lot bigger than those in the back. Granted, the sanctuary steps are kind of awkward, but it would have been nice if he had brought a tripod or ladder so that his camera was more at eye-level with us and we aren't looking down at him. But I'm sure if we'd thought of this ahead of time he would have made sure to have exactly what I wanted.

    I would recommend The Photosmith to ANYBODY wanting a professional and friendly photographer with a great eye who you can trust to get all the good shots himself without you having to list them all out for him. He's also been great at following up with us after the wedding so that we get our photo albums, and I love that he gave us a CD with all the pictures on it so we're free to get copies made for friends ourselves. Thanks a lot, Bill!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review