The Otesaga Resort Hotel Reviews

54 | Cooperstown, NY
See photos, pricing and details

54 Reviews for The Otesaga Resort Hotel

Recommended by 97%

54
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.7

5 User photos

The Otesaga Resort Hotel 1
The Otesaga Resort Hotel 2
The Otesaga Resort Hotel 3
The Otesaga Resort Hotel 4
The Otesaga Resort Hotel 5
Sort by:
  • T

    Theresa Evans · Married on 12/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Wedding Venue!!

    We had both the wedding ceremony and the reception at the Otesaga in Cooperstown, and the entire experience was really wonderful from start to finish! All of the staff were so helpful, professional, calm and kind through the entire planning process as well as during the event itself. Every step along the way, from the flurry of nervous emails coming from me in the weeks leading up to the wedding weekend, to the beautiful onsite dressing rooms for the bridal party to get ready in, to the cuing us along during the ceremony, to the fantastic food and fun reception, there was some one there to make sure everything was going exactly as we wanted. Add all of that amazing service to the incredible scenery of the gorgeous lake and the breathtaking venue itself, and we could not have asked for a more perfect wedding! We are forever grateful to the lovely Otesaga and could not more highly recommend it to all engaged couples that are making their wedding plans. We are looking forward to returning to The Otesaga to celebrate our wedding anniversary and will cherish our memories there for years to come!

  • M

    Melissa Drake · Married on 11/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Experience!

    Megan was our Event Manger and she was great to work with. The wait staff was amazing. The food was superb. We couldn't have been happier!

  • C

    Cindy K. · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Day Was Perfect!

    Our wedding day was better than we could have ever imagined. The venue itself is stunning and the food is amazing. We were lucky enough to have a sunny fall day, so our ceremony was outside on the east lawn. Our cocktail hour was held on the east veranda, and our reception was in the main ballroom. There were other weddings at the hotel that day, but you couldn't even tell. It still felt very intimate. The flow of the entire day was perfect, all thanks to our coordinator Brooke. She was SO amazing to work with throughout the entire year. She had such great ideas, helped us through all stages of planning, and even ironed out details with our vendors as our wedding got closer. Our officiant was a first timer, so Brooke even helped us plan our ceremony details. She went above and beyond in so many ways and was there to help until the end of the reception. We cannot thank her enough. Our vendors were also incredible and we would recommend all of them. We went with A Rose is a Rose Florist -- Jackie is the BEST and the absolute sweetest. Her flowers lasted 3 weeks! Our DJ was Vinny from Non Stop Music. We are STILL getting compliments about the music, so definitely check him out. He also works with Outside the Booth Photobooth, which our guests loved. Our photographer was Katie from Clark + Walker Studio. She's super familiar with The Otesaga and had awesome ideas for places to shoot. Some of our guests stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, so we used Oneonta Bus Lines as our shuttle service. We highly recommend them as well. Long winded review, but we honestly had such a perfect wedding day and we owe it all to Brooke, The Otesaga, and our vendors.

    Sent on 11/01/2018

    The Otesaga Resort Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for your amazing review. We are extremely proud to have been a part of Your Special Day and helping create a lifetime of memories!
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga is absolutely stunning and did a spectacular job with our wedding ceremony and reception. The ambiance, professionalism, and service are impeccable. Ashley was very professional and knowledgeable throughout the planning and made the process enjoyable. She executed all events throughout the day perfectly. Everything was better than expected. All of our guests complimented us on the venue and stated it was the perfect location for a wedding.

  • L

    Lucille · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married at the Otesaga a few months ago and it was nothing short of spectacular! From the food, to the service and incredible scenery, our guests have told us it was the best wedding they’ve ever been to. Our day of coordinator, Megan, was absolutely wonderful. She didn’t miss a beat or forget one tiny detail over the 1.5 years of planning. Thank you so much for everything!!!! We couldn’t be more happy about how everything turned out.

  • User5517365 · 1+ year ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at The Otesaga was literally perfect, and I don’t abuse the word literally. I wouldn’t have changed a single thing. Between the ceremony on the flawlessly manicured lawn overlooking the water, the appetizers on the veranda at sunset, and the absolutely stunning ballroom, our guests had a wonderful time. Megan was amazing. She helped us with a tasting to narrow down the menu. She was always there to help with our unending stream of questions. And her staff executed everything exactly as I had envisioned it…better actually.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough wonderful things about The Otesaga. It was the perfect wedding venue for us and our guests.
    We all had the best weekend! Gordon, his team, and all of the staff at the hotel were FABULOUS!!! Everyone was extremely responsive, easy to work with and willing to do whatever they could to accommodate our needs and requests. The venue is absolutely gorgeous, the hotel rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the food was fantastic. We will definitely be making it an annual trip to return to the Otesaga to celebrate our anniversary.

  • M

    Mike · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am not sure that I can say enough positive things about the Otesaga. Our wedding was absolutely perfect and they made it easy through the entire process. Our coordinator Megan responded quickly to emails, accommodated everything we asked for, and made the day seamless. Sadly the weather did not cooperate for an outdoor ceremony, which was a bit sad, but the venue is so unique and beautiful on the inside as well, that we had a beautiful and intimate ceremony inside. Food during cocktail hour was delicious and seemingly never ending and we had nothing but praise for all of the food/drinks and serving staff who were so attentive and helpful to all of our guests, including young children. Our waitress for the sweetheart table (April) remembered what we had bene drinking and had drinks waiting for us, boxed up our 1/2 eaten meals (they were delicious, we were just too busy socializing to sit for long), as well as our cake and other desserts for us to take back to our room. Everything was set up beautifully without us having to do anything on the day of the wedding, they literally took care of it all. We had rooms for both the men and women to get ready in as well as a babysitting room. The venue is so special and beautiful and everyone who works there makes sure that all guests feel special and have a great time. All of our guests had such a great time we are really grateful for the entire staff.

  • User4852253 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing amazing amazing!!!! My wedding was absolutely perfect because of this place and all the people that work there! All my wedding guests enjoyed staying in Cooperstown for the weekend. This venue is absolutely breathtaking!! You will not be disappointed if you get married here. I highly recommend the Otesaga! I just want to re-live my wedding day all over again because of how amazing it was here!

  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga speaks for itself with overall character and beauty. The setting right on the lake makes for a gorgeous ceremony rain or shine. The rooms and interior are unbelievably beautiful from the tall ceilings the molding and the decor to keep a modern historic look to it. It was everything we were going for, a vintage romantic look. The staff at the Otesaga was amazing from dealing with rooms, to Brooke who helped us plan almost everything. They do wedding all the time so they were always there for advice when needed. They were always adaptable. Working in customer service I know how much they really go through just to make their clients happy. Our wedding at the Otesaga resort was more than fairytale it was magical!

  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue! Yes Cooperstown is a bit out of the way, but it is worth it once you get there, and there is nothing more you could want out of a venue like the Otesaga. Super professional and helpful staff that will accommodate any request. The view and setting is so awesome, its like something out of a movie. All of our guests are still talking about how amazing it was. You will not be disappointed with this venue!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There was no other place that I looked @ for our wedding and of course they didn't disappoint. The team at the Otesaga made our day seamless and run so smoothly.

    Sent on 07/22/2015

    The Otesaga Resort Hotel's reply:

    Thank you Megan, it was absolutely our pleasure!
  • B

    Beth · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga provided my husband and I with our dream wedding. We worked with Melissa and Gordon, who both ensured that everything would run smoothly for our big day. I was most impressed with the professionalism of every staff member and the ability to accommodate even last minute details. It was clear that the wedding staff knew exactly what they were doing and knew how to provide a flawless, yet very personalized wedding. The grounds, ballroom and veranda were spectacular and I couldn't have imagined a more gorgeous wedding venue.

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gordon and his team at the Otesaga are amazing. I've known Gordon for years and I was so happy to finally get to work with him! We had planned to have the dinner at the Leatherstocking Patio but sadly, the weather wasn't on our side. Gordon and his team seamlessly moved the large dinner (60+ people) over to the Otesaga and you would not have been able to tell what they presented wasn't the original plan. The food, the service, everything was wonderful!

  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Brooke in event planning was great. She accommodated everything I asked for and was helpful with suggestions that made my wedding perfect. She was right there to make sure everything went off as planned. Thanks for making my day beautiful.

  • J

    jordan · Married on 07/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was Beautiful , perfect , Flawless. The Otesaga Hotel is Beautiful and hands down the best venue in that area. I worked with Melissa (event coordinator) and she was great ,so helpful. The Otesaga Hotel speaks for its self, but all of the outstanding staff makes it extra special. I am beyond happy with how our wedding ceremony and reception turned out!

  • N

    Niki · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous Venue, Impeccable Service!

    We were lucky enough to get married at this beautiful hotel set on Lake Otsego in Cooperstown, NY. All the staff at the Otesaga were extremely attentive and helpful. The event manager, Gordon, was great and managed all the details of our ceremony and reception, ensuring that everything went as planned on the big day. The food at the Otesaga is amazing and the quality of the food is not at all downgraded for wedding receptions. We were also able to have our rehearsal dinner on site which provided us with another amazing meal and experience. The rooms of the hotel each have their own personal charm. Overall the Otesaga provided us with the most beautiful and relaxing backdrop a bride and groom could ask for!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here last month, and could not have been happier with our choice in venues. From the beautiful ceremony by the lake, to the cocktail hour on the veranda, reception in the ballroom and post-reception drinks by their impressive outdoor fireplace, everything was perfect! Our guests could not stop raving about how gorgeous The Otesaga was. Our coordinator, Melissa, was equally as amazing. We stopped in one day without an appointment and she quickly met us to show us around and answer all of our questions. We were planning the wedding from out of state and Melissa made it so easy with her professionalism, responsiveness, organization, and flexibility. She was open to any and all of our ideas and made sure that nothing was missed! Once our wedding day arrived, Melissa made sure that everything was set up exactly as we requested. She oversaw each and every step of the day flawlessly, which gave me and my husband the peace of mind to relax and enjoy our day. We can’t wait to get back here sometime soon! I would highly recommend The Otesaga for your wedding, a nice brunch or dinner, a weekend away, etc. Such a stunning and hospitable resort!

  • User3452385 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't be happier with our choice of The Otesaga Hotel for our venue. The setting on the lake is beautiful and the ballrooms are so grand that you really don't need any other decorations. We worked with Melissa who was very professional and promptly answered all of our questions as we were planning remotely. The staff was very friendly and extremely accommodating, they spent the extra effort to make sure we had everything we needed.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga was an amazing wedding venue!! Gordon Clarkson, our coordinator, made sure that the day came together perfectly. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very attentive to my husband and I!! We can't wait to visit next year on our anniversary.

  • K

    krysta · Married on 02/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in the off season so it was a winter wonderland (literally) and it was private event for our friends and family, which was important for us. We were able to guarantee enough rooms that we could re-open the hotel for the weekend. We worked with Melissa Reinheimer as our Event Manager and I cannot say enough about her. We worked with her for 10 months planning our wedding and she knows the hotel and the business very well. The weekend of our event went so smooth-from the rehearsal, to the ceremony, to the reception- the food and the service, everything far exceeded our expectations and I would recommend The Otesaga to anyone!

  • User3887788 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Brooke and the whole team at the Otesaga were simply amazing! They never failed to answer an email or question leading up to the wedding, were extremely accommodating and provided excellent food and service the day of the wedding. Could not ask for a better reception venue!

  • M

    Michele · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga Resort catered our wedding and we were incredibly pleased with the food and beverages. Our guests raved about the variety and how delicious everything was. We enjoyed our pre-wedding consultation, too. (Make sure to try the lobster mac n cheese, it's amazing!) Melissa Reinheimer was hands down one of the best event coordinators I've ever worked with, too. She was friendly, helpful, responsive, cheery, organized, proactive, and really went out of her way to make everything special - we couldn't have asked for anything more! We liked her so much, we asked her to be our day-of-event coordinator, too. She is a true gem! The entire team at the Otesaga was exceptional - from the head chef, to all of the servers and bartenders at the reception. We could not have been more impressed or pleased with our entire experience with the Otesaga!

  • A

    Alley · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Otesaga was an amazing venue!! And the coordinator, Melissa, was the sweetest and the most helpful wedding coordinator. They were so accommodating and the room was absolutely beautiful! They did an awesome job!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review