The Old Schoolhouse Reviews

29 | Newberg, OR
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for The Old Schoolhouse

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

29

33 User photos

Order by:
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie · Getting married on 06/11/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse was the absolute perfect venue! We had a chic elegant theme and the interior of the venue was the perfect fit for us. Everything about the venue is perfect!! The gorgeous chandeliers, the beautiful mirror backdrop, the hardwood floors, the vintage design is absolutely incredible! The owner of the venue was incredibly helpful with ideas, rehearsal, and getting everything prepared on time. I would recommend anyone to get married here. The options are so versatile as you can have both ceremony and reception indoors, ceremony outdoors with a gorgeous backdrop and reception inside... I couldn't be happier with how our wedding turned out!!

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • S

    Sara S. · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful. Fun. Flexible. Amazing experience.

    The Old School House was such an amazing venue to have our wedding! Erica and the rest of the staff were so fun to work with and they were so incredibly accommodating and flexible. Planning a wedding is stressful and plans and ideas change continuously though out the whole process. The team at Old School House helped me feel supported and excited about all of the changes. Erica always texted me right away with any questions I had and really allowed me to make our wedding our own! Every idea I had, or change I made she was excited about and did anything she could to help! I wish I could express how grateful I am to the entire staff for making this day more perfect then I could have ever imagined. What an amazing venue too! So beautiful and so classy yet also fun and different. Loved every second of it! Would 10/10 recommended this place to ANYONE getting married!

    Sent on 11/20/2019
  • A

    Anastasia · Married on 04/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful fairytale wedding at the Old Schoolhouse, very helpful staff

    The Old Schoolhouse's old-fashioned, country elegance was essential in creating the fairytale/Jane Austen atmosphere my now-husband and I were looking for in a venue. We had the ceremony and reception (dinner + dancing) indoors, and cocktail hour on the lawn in between. And, the hazelnut orchards provided a beautifully magical backdrop for pictures!
    For reference, we had about 115 attendees, and everyone fit comfortably for the ceremony and reception. We had 12 tables for dinner, and 3 were taken down to make space for dancing afterwards. Dinner was buffet-style, and a bartender served wine and beer from the bartending space in the back of the room. It was an unusually hot day, but we had a tent on the lawn and the schoolhouse stayed cool the entire time.
    Erica and her team were very helpful during the wedding planning process, and Erica was always available to answer questions I had about the venue as well as day-of timeline, rehearsal, you name it. You'll be in good hands with this team!

    Sent on 05/23/2019
  • T

    Jessica · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica was wonderful to work with! The Old Schoolhouse was the perfect venue for us and we could not say enough wonderful things. From the moment we first visited we knew this was the place. The building is beautifully restored and maintained, the grounds are beautiful and the lighting is wonderful in the evening. I loved being able to get ready in the bridal suite and the guys had an area too. Erica was flexible and helpful with our many questions and brining in outside caterers. Thank you so much for all of your help. It was a perfect day!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 08/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really enjoyed having our wedding here. Beautiful location, not in a super popular area so hotels were available. Venue has a great space for both outdoor and indoor options. Has groom and bridal quarters with a bathroom in the bride's. There is also a women's and a men's restroom with more than one stall - sounds silly but it's nice.

    Another big plus was that they had someone on-site for the whole day, she even helped with getting our ceremony going. With a full-service caterer which they require for clean up, we did not need a day of planner. Their on-site person helped make our day great! Super happy we went the Old Schoolhouse!

    Sent on 09/23/2018
  • Rebecca

    Rebecca · Married on 08/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From start to finish, Erica and the team at The Old Schoolhouse were amazing! From our first tour of the property to our wedding day they were professional, friendly, and extremely helpful. In terms of the property itself, WOW is it stunning! There are so many beautiful and multi-functional areas to be utilized. We chose to do the ceremony inside - we loved how simple and elegant it was!There are so many options for what we could do for decor - literally everything can go with this space! Our reception was outside on the lawn. There is a ton of space! We had a tent covering the gravel area for our food and seating, and had enough space on the grass to set up yard games, plus space for kids to run around. The hazelnut orchard on the property was a gorgeous space for our first look and private vow exchange.
    Erica and her team went above and beyond for our special day. They were flexible in terms of set up, and also provided many great suggestions during the planning process. They and their venue really made our wedding!

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • C

    Carly · Married on 07/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot praise The Old Schoolhouse enough. They were very responsive and accommodating throughout the entire planning process leading up to our wedding day and took their already exceptional service one step further on the day of our wedding. Every staff member involved ensured our wedding ran smoothly, they took care of our guests and somehow managed to elevate their service and tailored to us, the bride and groom. Aside from the phenomenal service, the venue is simply gorgeous. From the orchard where we took our family photos that turned out beautiful, to the manicured lawn where we had our ceremony, to inside the schoolhouse that provided an intimate setting for all of our guests- you just can't go wrong with The Old Schoolhouse. I wish we could get married again just to use the venue one more time! Highly recommend having your wedding or event here.

    Sent on 08/28/2018
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica and Amanda were easy to work with, professional, and went above and beyond to assure the wedding ran smoothly. Communication was easy and prompt, and they both had a great attention to detail. The venue and grounds are breathtaking. We had simple table setting with lovely flowers, and we did not need much to create a warm and inviting space. The fee included all the tables and chairs, time for set up the day before, and plenty of time day of, for us to get ready. We looked at many places in the PDX area, and The Old Schoolhouse was by far the most beautiful spot.

    Sent on 08/06/2018
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 06/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If we could give more stars, we would! We just got married on June 21st this year and had the most perfect day, and a HUGE part of that was thanks to Erica and her team at The Old Schoolhouse! From the tour date to our wedding day, Erica was extremely helpful and always quick to reply/answer any questions or concerns we had. She was so easy to work with and flexible to any ideas we had. As someone who is new to this wedding thing, planning and making big decisions (especially picking the venue!) was overwhelming and stressful. But once we visited The Old Schoolhouse, we knew this was the place we wanted to say 'I do" and it was the best decision we made during the whole process! From that day on, the stressed decreased and felt like we were in good hands! For anyone who wants a breathtaking views, stress-free planning and unique-beautiful wedding, this is the place for you!

    Sent on 07/12/2018
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse and Erica's team were impeccable to work with to make our day perfect, and truly one never to forget! I was so impressed with the help and guidance for what could be a stressful day for some brides. I felt very relaxed. Our bridal suite was so comfortable to get ready in, with great lighting for makeup application, and enough vanities for all of my bridesmaids to get ready at the same time! The grounds where we had our photos and ceremony were very well manicured and gave so many options for ceremony site (which we had on the lawn), and first look (in the orchard). The Schoolhouse itself is so dreamy, and fit perfectly with our vintage/French inspired (with a touch of rock 'n roll) wedding. It comfortably held our 100 guests with ample room for dancing. I love the touch of the built-in DJ booth, and bar area, so it does not take up space needed for guests or catering. The price was incredibly reasonable and includes round tables, and 3 large wooden farmhouse tables and chiavari chairs, which adds to the elegance. We rented additional farmhouse tables, but could have easily used the round tables to save money. I highly recommend booking if you are looking for an intimate wedding site in the middle of wine country without the vineyard pricing.

    Sent on 07/11/2018
  • J

    Joni · event on: 11/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a large rehearsal dinner at the Old Schoolhouse. Everything was great and we enjoyed working with Erica. I would definitely use this venue again.

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • J

    J · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse is a wonderful place to get married! I got married on Labor Day weekend, and the lawn and landscaping was still green and lush at the end of a hot summer. The orchard across the street and the road itself made for some awesome sunset photos, and the inside of the Schoolhouse is classic and requires little decor if you want to keep it simple. Erica is great to work with and always very responsive. She accommodated our site visit needs, and was able to confirm our rehearsal date 1 month out. She was completely flexible with the time for that as well. I asked for a slightly unique chair set-up and when we arrived for our rehearsal, Erica had the chairs all set up for us so I could see it and make any small adjustments that we wanted. We had 67 people for our wedding, which was perfect for an indoor ceremony, reception on the lawn and then a seated dinner inside with room for dancing. If you get married in the summertime, and are doing anything on the lawn, definitely rent a tent so have some shade (if you don't you'll wish you did!). I got married on Labor Day weekend and it was 98 degrees - so hot! In addition to the tent I also rented large fans, and we used them outside as well as inside later in the evening. The venue is air conditioned but with the catering staff coming in and out constantly for meal service, it was still very, very warm inside. The fans ended up being a life saver and made a huge difference for everyone. When you book your caterer make sure they know the venue requirements regarding tear-down and trash removal. If you can afford it, include this in your caterer's quote so they do this for you and you don't have to ask your family and friends to at the end of the night!

    Sent on 10/15/2017

    The Old Schoolhouse's reply:

    J, THANK YOU so much for this review! Your advice is spot on to all of our future couples and what we try to stress to each of our clients as they go through the wedding planning process. It's not always easy knowing what to splurge and prepare for as no one does this for a living.

    The comfort of guests is such an important element to making the day the best and we are happy to walk all of our couples through how to do this best at our venue.

    It was such a pleasure to host you and your wedding was stunning. I'm sure we will be showing it for examples to all of our future couples. Congratulations!
  • A

    Ava · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse was the perfect venue us to get married! We loved that it was a historic venue and the orchard was the perfect backdrop for our photos. Erica was very helpful throughout the whole process. I highly recommend this venue to get married!

    Sent on 10/10/2017

    The Old Schoolhouse's reply:

    Thank you Ava, your pictures were beautiful in the orchard, so happy to be a part of your big day!
  • A

    Ali · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was such a fun venue for our wedding! The Newberg area was great for my family and friends because there was so much to do in town before and after the wedding, and the venue itself really is a gem. We loved the intimate feel of the schoolhouse, and the outdoor lawn is a great space with a lot of versatility to turn it into whatever you're picturing for your big day. Our wedding was on a HOT day in August, and we had the ceremony indoors with air conditioning which was SO nice for us and our guests. Erica is really friendly and helpful with setting everything up, and we got tons of compliments with how beautifully everything turned out. Would definitely recommend!

    Sent on 09/17/2017

    The Old Schoolhouse's reply:

    Thank you for your review Ali, we are coming to love the Willamette Valley more and more because there are so many things to do out here and it's so close to Portland as well. Happy to know you found the same thing. Congratulations once again.
  • S

    Starlyn · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such a beautiful facility! So simple yet stunning, allowed for us to really go whichever direction we wanted with the theme and colors. The ceremony in the orchard came together so perfectly and was so intimate and romantic. Followed by the reception mainly in the lawn for a perfect "party" atmosphere. Erica and staff were friendly,helpful and professional, allowing for my dream wedding to come together.

    Sent on 10/09/2017

    The Old Schoolhouse's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to review Starlyn, you're wedding was gorgeous and it was wonderful to be a part of it. You have such great vision.
  • C

    Christy · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love this venue! It is a beautiful space and the owners were a delight to work with!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • S

    Shelby · Married on 12/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a December wedding at The Old Schoolhouse and it was everything we had hoped for. The venue was perfect for our intimate ceremony and small reception that we held there. The bridal sweet is every photographers dream, ours had so much fun creating amazing pictures with the props/furniture provided.

    Erica was incredible! The weather decided to snow that day - but Erica was there and ready to rumble. She was so incredibly helpful with helping with set up and being there for everything we needed that day!

    I totally reccommend using this one of a kind wonder of a schoolhouse to create the memories that will last a lifetime!! You won't regret it.

    Sent on 10/16/2017
  • J

    Joni · Married on 08/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue and we loved working with Erica!

    Sent on 10/23/2017
  • A

    Amy · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse was the perfect place for our wedding. It is classic with a vintage touch. So many of our wedding guests remarked on how beautiful it was. The staff was also very helpful in making sure the day went smoothly and were quick to answer our questions. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful venue.

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • D

    Desiree · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An absolutely lovely venue. We were looking for a venue with some southern charm and The Old Schoolhouse was the perfect choice. Very sophisticated but with a beautiful rural setting. A special bonus was that The Old Schoolhouse had a wonderful collection of Vintage China which completed our southern charm vision. Loved every part of it!

    Sent on 06/15/2016
  • M

    Monica · Married on 04/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Once we spotted The Old Schoolhouse it was apparent that we need not look any further for a wedding venue. We wanted an intimate and charming setting that also felt vintage, chic and classy. It is both beautiful and accommodating. Erica was great to work with and the day went off without a hitch. The schoolhouse also made for a fantastic backdrop in our many cherished wedding photos/moments. We recommend it! - Rob & Monica C., PDX

    Sent on 03/19/2017
  • N

    Nate · Married on 10/08/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at this venue are so helpful and professional, and their venue is incredible in all seasons. We loved the fact that there are three separate areas (orchard, inside, and the lawn) but that our guests could be in all of them or one of them at the same time. The preparation was easy because they are responsive and flexible. There was room enough for all guests, they worked smoothly with all vendors, and we appreciated the time and effort they spent coordinating on our behalf. Our wedding went perfectly thanks to them. We will not hesitate at all to highly recommend The Old Schoolhouse to anyone -- for any event.

    Sent on 10/26/2017
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Old Schoolhouse was the perfect venue. Erica was extremely helpful and kind when answering my hundreds of questions I continually asked her. Loved the DJ booth and the bar. The only thing was I wish we could have had the venue for longer than 12 hours at max which included clean up time. Since I had 7 bridesmaids we had to get ready at a different location which I wish we could have been in one spot all morning. Other than that I wish we had more time allowed on the property, everything else was perfect.

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/25/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erica and The Old Schoolhouse team were a dream to work with. We had a vision for the look and feel for our day and they were responsive, supportive and accommodating in allowing us to view the venue a couple times, as well as communicating and giving feedback on what would work best in their space. The venue was extremely well kept and was such a lovely atmosphere to spend and experience our entire wedding day. There are multiple locations for photos as well as the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception to take place which allowed us flexibility in our timeline. We really couldn't have asked for anything more!

    Sent on 10/23/2017
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 08/27/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was absolutely wonderful - Brandy and Erica are great to work with, and the venue is beautiful. My bridesmaids loved the bridal suite downstairs and the groomsmen were super happy with their "quarters". The caters had no issues with setup, and the guests loved the Schoolhouse. I would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 01/13/2017