Weddings

The Obici House Reviews

The Obici House View more information

33 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 33
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

35 User photos

Sort by:
  • Rachel
    Rachel R. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Obici House

    The Obici House was a wonderful place to have our small reception after our ceremony. It was beautiful, and the staff was easy to work with and flexible! We had to book late, because our plans changed a lot with COVID, and they made the process and transition really easy. This venue was beautiful and wonderful!
  • S
    Steph D. Married on 02/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning locations with friendly staff

    Terry and Sharon are great to work with, they were there to answer all the questions and guide you through all the stages. Fast and thorough response to all questions and it was very easy to schedule times to see the venue before your big day. The balcony makes stunning wedding pictures!
  • Evelyn
    Evelyn B. Married on 01/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Short Notice Wedding Dream Come True

    My husband decided to move our wedding date up a year due to his departure for assignment. We started planning on December 30th and were able to get reasonable pricing, a tour of the venue, and secure thIs venue for our Ceremony on January 10th. We had a small indoor ceremony with 23 guests. If you looking for a vintage and intimate feel, I recommend this venue. The Bridal Suite and private dining room are amazing. Thank you Terry and Susan for helping arrange our wedding. Could not have asked for a better experience. Photos by MICHAELANDJASMINEPHOTOGRAPHY https://michaelandjasmine.com/
  • Anne
    Anne T. Married on 11/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    One stop Celebrating!!

    The Obici House was a wonderful experience for us and our guests. The wedding celebration was held on the steps of the house and the reception was inside. Included in the cost of the Venue, are the tables, chairs and basic linens not to mention they carry the liquor license and have huge amounts of parking. This is where you can get nickeled and dimed so having it all there really pays off. Terry was wonderful to work with and we appreciated her input on many preparations. There is plenty of parking and a beautiful view of the Sleepy Hole Gold Course and the Nansemond River. The Obici House is a beautiful historic home that needs very little decorating (another savings) with modern day amenities for your DJ. I highly recommend this venue for anyone that wants an indoor or outdoor venue!
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING venue and service

    Terry was an awesome host! Couldn’t have managed without her! The venue was amazing and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the Obici house.
  • Sarah
    Sarah C. Married on 11/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Charm and Great Staff!

    Obici House is an absolutely beautiful wedding venue. We were married there in November and the Fall leaves and gorgeous sunset over the water made this place a dream for us. The staff was unbelievably helpful and they were so flexible during the planning process (can I move this couch? YES! Can I bring my dogs for the ceremony? YES! Can I have corn hole boards outside? YES!). For the price, it is a HUGE venue - which you get full access to! There is a bridal suite, it's fully wired with TVs so guests can watch the dance floor throughout the house, and the dining room has full water views! Terry even rode a golf cart down to the water to bring my husband and I food and champagne while we took sunset photos (so we didn't miss out on the cocktail hour!). I would definitely recommend booking Obici House for your wedding!!
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 11/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Still getting compliments!

    Terry & Sharon were amazing to work with and were very flexible.
    The venue looked beautiful and everything went smoothly! Check out the Obici House!
  • A
    Alexandria Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing service

    Extremely professional, worked hard to make everything just right. Day of they were there helping decorate and had suggestions. Loved working with them
  • F
    Frances Married on 05/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We love the Obici House! Such a beautiful place and awesome people to work with! Such a great value!!
  • B
    Becky Married on 05/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sharon and Terry were a huge help in making sure everything was perfect on our day. The value of the prices were perfect and the venue made everything worthwhile. Two months later I’m atill receiving compliments on the venue!!!
  • K
    Kellie Married on 03/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Obici House made our wedding perfect. Terry was nothing but accommodating, and everything we wanted she gave us. If I could get married all over again I wouldn't change a thing.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We really enjoyed our experience with Terri and Sharon (and staff) at the Obici House! From the minute we reserved the date, Terri was always available to answer questions, and provided much needed and timely information for us to continue making the right choices for our day. She went the extra mile to help us arrange a hot chocolate bar, and made the presentation of our seating chart look amazing! We had an unforgettable ceremony and reception, and couldn't have done it without Terri, Sharon and their team! If you're in the market for a venue, put The Obici House at the top of your list!
  • D
    David Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Terry, staff, the grounds, all were exceptional. We have been told several times how elegant the wedding was. We would definitely recommend The Obici, Terry is the best.
  • D
    Dori Married on 10/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was my daughter's wedding. The venue was beautiful. The staff made our day by being so kind and helpful. They went above and beyond to make the day special and stress-free. Highly recommend.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue is gorgeous inside and out! Terry and Sharon make the entire process seamless and are truly caring, organized, and amazing!
  • K
    Kristi Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After our first visit here, we immediately fell in love with the vintage decor and beautiful water views at this home! Sharon was wonderful to work with. Super prompt and accommodating! She allowed us to visit the space as many times as we wanted in order to visualize everything. Unfortunately, it rained on our wedding day so we weren't able to take full advantage of the beautiful water views and grounds but the house is so lovely itself that our pictures will still be beautiful. If you are looking for a unique and historic setting, you will not be disappointed here. Sharon and Terry care so much about the venue and their bride and groom and really made us feel like family.
  • K
    Kathy Married on 07/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    New Year’s Eve wedding

    We had an outstanding experience with at the Obici House for a short notice New Year’s Eve wedding. Teri and Sharon went out of their way to make sure that everything was taken care of with utmost professionalism and kindness. As a mother of the bride, I would have no reservation in recommending their service and this venue for your wedding event!
  • M
    Meredith Married on 04/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were very flexible! We rented the entire venue, but it was well worth it. We even had a fire pit out on the lawn. What a fantastic place for our wedding. It was private, being on the water and in the back of a golf course. There was plenty of parking, and it's location in N. Suffolk made it easy for our guests from all over to get to.
  • Jacqui
    Jacqui Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Obici House kindly hosted our 'hurricane' wedding with uninvited guest Matthew. Needless to say, there was a lot of excitement that night with the crazy weather. Terry & staff were very accommodating throughout the event, making sure that all guests were safe & everyone was happy. We booked the venue about 10 months before our wedding & both Terry & Sharon were great with communication while we tried to set everything up via email. We were also able to make several trips out to The Obici House & they were always happy to work with us on scheduling. I just wish we could of had more time there the night of (which was the weather's fault - nothing to do with Obici). If you're looking for a great staff, historic/unique place & beautiful waterfront views, The Obici House is perfect for your wedding day!
  • D
    Donald Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Recently(10/1/16) held wedding at this facility. I could not have been more satisfied ! The facility is very unique and the surrounding views are gorgeous. Most impressive is Terry and her staff. I can't think of anything to say but "fabulous" !!!
    My daughter and husband will cherish the memories and would recommend to anyone a visit before deciding !
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After we bought our house in Suffolk, we wanted to find a local venue for our family and friends to experience all Hampton Roads. After looking at several options, our search stopped after we saw the Obici House. Terry and Sharon, the event coordinators, were FANTASTIC. They quickly answered any questions and provided great suggestions, such as information on trusted vendors, which is how we found our photographer. In comparison to most vendors who have one or two caterers to choose from, the Obici House has five preferred catering companies to choose from; plus the Obici House has a bar, bar tenders and liquor license. The house is a blank canvas for every event, I had the choice to have it decorated to fit our wedding with the only limitation being - no glitter.

    Our wedding day was perfect! The house layout accommodates every phase of the day from getting ready, the ceremony, social hour, photography sessions, dining and dancing without it feeling like one big open hall. Our guests loved the venue and repeatedly commented how beautiful not only the house itself was, but also the view of the water. We had several kids attend our ceremony, the multiple rooms plus the outside lawn provided open space for them to run and play. Terry and Sharon was amazing coordinators on the day of the wedding. They allowed me and the catering company more than enough time to get set up and ready. They were everywhere during the ceremony, social hour, and dining. After the first set of family pictures, I turned around to see Terry holding two glasses of iced water for me and my new husband.

    If you're looking for an unforgettable venue for you and your guests, this is the place. You get it all under one roof, amazing views, choice of catering, and phenomenal customer service. We are so happy with our choice to use the Obici House for our wedding and highly recommend them.
  • L
    Lisa Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Do not hesitate to call and set up a tour of the Obici House. You will not be disappointed in this venue! It is charming and the perfect site to host a wedding.
  • User2713248 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Obici house is an absolutely beautiful place! The staff there really worked to make us happy and the quality of service was amazing. The best part was that the Obici House didn't break our bank! I can not thank them enough for making our wedding day so special!
  • A
    Amy Married on 03/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My parent eloped 40 years ago so for their 40th wedding anniversary, my sisters and I threw them the wedding they never had. When I began looking for a venue, I really wanted to find a place that my parents had never been. Some place unique, beautiful and warm. I couldn't not have been happier with The Obici House. Most of our guest were Hampton Roads locals and ALL of them were in awe. Stunning water views during the day and a beautiful chandeliers lit up at night. Our guests actually walked around taking selfies of themselves in the house and were trying to soak in all of the history. The caterer and bartender LOVED working in such a great kitchen & bar and the added bonus of a huge bridal suite was wonderful.
    By far the best part of this venue, however, besides the gorgeous home, spectacular views and great history, is the service. Terry and her team went above and beyond to make us happy. For example, we brought a photo slide show on DVD to play during the reception and dinner. Part way through the evening, the DVD player stopped working. After countless attempts to fix it, Terry's team drove to Best Buy during the dinner and bought a new DVD player and had it hooked up in time for us to still watch the DVD. The slide show ended up being one of the highlights of the evening (everyone loved seeing photos of our parents from 40 years ago) & Terry's team saved the day.
    The Obici house is also a great value for your money. They have plenty of tables, barware, beautiful white chairs and even chair covers and sashes. I also loved the fact that I could chose my own caterer and bring in my own alcohol. The house is so gorgeous that you don’t need to purchase much for event décor as well. In the end, I just can't say enough about how wonderful this venue is. The Obici House is a one of a kind, hidden gem for wedding and special events in Hampton Roads.
  • B
    Billie Event on: 02/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Terry did a fabulous job! What a delight to work with!