19 Reviews for The New Monopoly

4.8
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Cocktail Hour (1)
Instrumentals (1)
MC (1)
Music During Breaks (1)
Vocals (1)
Liability Insurance (1)
Lighting (1)
Microphones (1)
Sound/PA System (1)
Sort by:

4.5

I love this band! I hired them to do my ceremony, cocktail hour and reception and had them do the up-lighting at the venue too. They played non-stop great music - and they play all genres of music. They look like they really enjoy what they do too. My main contact was Doug who is wonderful and detailed. When the venue was a bit delayed on serving food he was able to improvise and move the night along seamlessly. I highly recommend this band!!

Profile Picture Ashley, 9/23/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Cocktail Hour, Instrumentals, MC, Music During Breaks, Vocals, Lighting, Microphones, Sound/PA System
5.0

I can't say enough about Doug and New Monopoly! We hired them for our June wedding at the Belvedere in Baltimore. From the incredible degree of professionalism, to the willingness to make special accommodations such as helping my physically disabled brother hold the microphone for his toast, to the superior quality of the music and set list, these guys were the best! I would heartily recommend New Monopoly to any wedding couple.

Profile Picture Alan, 6/18/16, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

Doug and the rest of the band were an amazing group to work with. Very responsive, very classy, and most of all, very talented. We highly recommend going with the New Monopoly for your wedding or any special event. We couldn't have been happier with them! Thank you Doug, Justin, and the rest of the band for making our day so memorable!

Profile Picture Rachel, 4/30/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Band, Entertainer, Lighting & Decor
4.4

We got this 8-piece band for an unbeatable price! Justin's customer service was excellent. He kept us apprised of their progress learning our "off-list" first dance song and contacted us with all questions and confirmations well in advance. They offered MC services during the reception, and the lead female singer was outstanding. They kept everyone on the dance floor all night long, and we got a lot of compliments on the music. But for some reason, the band didn't play our cake cutting song (which made it anti-climactic), the "hora"/chair dance ran way too long, and many of our guests complained the music was too loud. All in all, I would definitely recommend The New Monopoly.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User4329060, 2+ years ago, 7 Reviews
Category: Band
Services Used: Liability Insurance
5.0

Can't say enough good things about this band. They ROCK. They have an incredible repertoire and really have a great way of bringing everyone together at the wedding. They followed our guidance with respect to songs or genres we did not want to hear, and did an incredible job learning a new song (in a short time frame) for the mother/son dance. They also rocked the genres we wanted to hear (classic rock, Motown and pop). Doug was so wonderful throughout the whole process - I really enjoyed chatting with him on the phone. The band itself was professional and super nice. We have had so many guests come up to us and ask WHO WAS THAT BAND? and have received so many complements as well. While they may not have as much as an online-in-your face presence as some of the other bands in this town, they are reasonably priced and SO GOOD. BOOK THEM. Thank you so much new monopoly!

Profile Picture Jessica, 5/2/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

First of all, if you are debating as to whether or not to have a band at your wedding, definitely go with a band. Reallocate your budget if you have to, you’ll be glad you did. Guests will not remember the food (unless it was really bad), they won’t remember the flowers, and they probably won’t remember the venue itself. But they will remember a top notch band and the fun they had dancing the entire reception to live music. As the father of the bride I looked for four primary characteristics in the band - professionalism, quality of sound, versatility, and pricing. The New Monopoly Band receives excellent grades across the board. They have a vast repertoire of styles and genres, contemporary and oldies, and sound just like the actual recordings. They can also provide lovely suitable ceremony music as requested.

New Monopoly is comprised of the same musicians and vocalists at every event unlike some DC area bands that regularly substitute musicians resulting in uneven performances. The band members are consummate professionals as reflected by their appropriate formal wear, no grungy attire allowed.

The band leader/manager Doug Lewis and his band member son Justin are a genuine pleasure to work with. They fully answer all questions and patiently address any and all concerns. You don’t deal with a middleman agent when hiring New Monopoly, you talk directly with Doug, thereby saving unnecessary agency commissions.

My daughter’s wedding and reception was a beautiful, memorable event due in large measure to the fantastic music of the New Monopoly band. There couldn’t have been more than a couple minutes when everyone was not up dancing. What more could you ask for from the band ? They deserve the highest recommendation and I would be delighted to use them again.

Profile Picture Regular, 9/27/14, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

New Monopoly is a great band. They played my wedding this past weekend and I could not have asked for a better wedding band. Doug and Justin were quick to respond when I had questions and were helpful through the entire process. They have a large array of songs that would fit any wedding! They kept the partying going, dancing never stopped. They played at my sister's wedding 3 years ago and we hope to see them again at some point. They were wonderful! Very professional.

Profile Picture Mary, 9/6/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Band
4.9

Doug and the new monopoly are a high energy blast of fun!!! My brother and his wife used them for his wedding and they made such an impression on all of the guests and I that we didn't think twice when it came to choosing a band for my own wedding!! Doug is responsive and makes you feel like he is just as excited for your big day as you are. The band members are extremely talented and enjoy playing!! They had every wedding guest on the dance floor the entire night. They have an incredible list of songs to choose from and I couldn't stop dancing They made our wedding the best it could possibly be. When people say a band makes a wedding, they are right and The New Monopoly absolutely made our wedding!

Profile Picture Lindsey, 6/28/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The music at my daughter's wedding was phenomenal. Everyone was up, dancing, and having a wonderful time. Doug was so easy to work with, and very responsive to all of our questions. I would be delighted to use them again in the future.

Profile Picture User3715818, 2+ years ago, 6 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The New Monopoly was AMAZING!!! My fiance felt very strongly about using a band, and boy are we found Doug and the New Monopoly! They had people dancing all night long to the very end, and didn't even take their last break because everyone was having so much fun and they didn't want to lose the energy. As a result we still had a pretty good amount of people on the dance floor until the bitter end. Their song selection is extremely broad and allowed us to choose a variety of music that appealed to everyone from my high school aged cousins to our parents friends. They also learned our first dance song, which was beautifully done. It is also great how quickly they learn what is hot at that time - one of my favorite moments was when they played "Blurred Lines" and I watched my 64 year old mother dancing with the 20/30something kids of her college best friends. We couldn't have had a better time that night and The New Monopoly absolutely helped make the night perfect.

Profile Picture Jesse, 10/5/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Ok, if you're thinking of booking a band for you're wedding, first of all, do it. It makes all the difference. Second of all, you need to book New Monopoly. We had them play at our wedding and they made--MADE--the night.

We sent them a song list and they honored it. Even played "I'm Too Sexy", which apparently hadn't been requested in 15 years. Does no one else sing that to their signinficant other after splitting a bottle of wine on a Friday night? Well, anyway.

Old and young alike were dancing the night away, and people couldn't stop talking about the band. They have a great song list (over 500 songs) and will try to learn new ones if you request them in advance. When I felt like they were playing too many slow songs (probably because we requested a lot--stupid us), they immediately accommodated our request to nix all slow songs for the rest of the night.

Booking the New Monopoly was the best decision we made for the wedding (other than marrying each other--awwww). I can't recommend them enough.

Profile Picture Katie, 9/7/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

As the Father of the Bride, I had little to do with our wonderful wedding. That was all my wife. I only was allowed one task, and that was because I had a strong opinion that the band makes the wedding. I love it when I’m right! When you have a good group of folks that want to celebrate and party, you need a good band to get them there. Boy, The New Monopoly got us there and in a hurry! They were non-stop from the Father-Daughter dance until we were kicked out at closing time.

Doug is an absolute professional, very inviting, patient and accommodating. He says what he does and does what he says.

He and his band performed perfectly and as he promised. Doug was actually able to help with other areas of my Daughter’s wedding, as The New Monopoly is the house band for the Belvedere. This made everything go smoothly. In hindsight, this alone was worth every penny.

It’s been seven months since the wedding and we just received another compliment for the “Wedding of the Century”. We are so happy it was a great event and that everyone had fun.

My dearest wife deserves all the accolades. Ann you put on a perfectly executed and wonderful wedding. Thank you for all your hard work! I was merely and witness. But I am happy to take credit for the band!!!

Great job by The New Monopoly– First class band with GREAT voices and GREAT sound! We recommend the The New Monopoly with the HIGHEST regards.

Grateful and still dancing,

Scott and Ann Addison

Profile Picture Scott, 8/25/12, 1 Review
Category: Band
5.0

When my husband (then finance) and I were looking online for a wedding band we felt that many seemed "cheesey" and then we came across The New Monopoly. We were literally dancing on the couch listening to them online. We called them immediately and are so happy we did. The band was awesome! They have a very extensive and diverse playlist. They are willing to learn one song not on their playlist for your wedding. Doug, the manager, is friendly, responsive, professional and just wants to make sure you are happy on your wedding day. Our guests LOVED the band and so did we. In addition, we found them to be very reasonably priced...especially for their size (8 musicians) and diversity.

Profile Picture Amy, 6/9/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

So great! New Monopoly had our guests dancing all night long! Doug was wonderful to work with leading up to the event. They did EVERYTHING we asked for and more. All of our guests were raving about them. Definitely get New Monopoly for your wedding!!!!

Profile Picture Renee, 9/10/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The New Monopoly is FABULOUS!!! The music was awesome and they had every single guest on the dance floor! They are extremely talented and played every request and avoided our 'do not plays' as well. They really honored our music playlist and we appreciated that.

They had a great time with our guests that they even came back early from break and played longer, the crowd was so excited. They went above and beyond to make our day extremely special and memorable.

They can play anything and everything, it was a great mix of music that each guest could relate to. Love THEM!

Profile Picture Nicola, 12/18/10, 6 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

The New Monopoly was one of the best decisions we ever made for the wedding!! Their energy and talent is hard to come by. Guest were on the dance floor from beginning to end. They were very good at reading the crowd to decide the type of song to play and also were very attentive to our requests with the music!! Also, they were great to work with while preparing for the wedding. They spent whatever time we needed planning and meeting o make our day just so. I would DEFINITELY recommend them to all my friends getting married.

Profile Picture Kathryn, 11/13/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Band
2.1

The New Monopoly played at our wedding a few weeks ago. Overall we were relatively happy with them. Gusets of all ages danced all night and the band played a lot of fun music. A few criticisms though:
- The band played NONE of the songs we asked they try to play.
- Doug was horrible MC, super awkward and it seemed like he had never MCed a wedding before. Despite discussing the introductions of the bridal party beforehand, it did not go smoothly. The music we asked be played was not played until the very end and he pronounced most names wrong. He also skipped over my dad's speech! It ended up working out fine to do the speech at a later point during dinner, but you can't forget the father of the bride's speech!

They did learn our first dance song and we thought it was good enough, but not great.

If we needed a band again, we might use New Monopoly again as long as Doug did not MC the event and none of the above mentioned items would not happen again.

Profile Picture Jaime, 9/4/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

This band was great! We booked them through Bialeks Music (http://www.bialeksmusic.com/). The dance floor was packed the entire night and we've gotten tons of comments from guests about how much they enjoyed the band.

Profile Picture Laura, 5/9/08, 3 Reviews
Category: Band
5.0

Seriously, this is the BEST FREAKIN' BAND out there! We interviewed sooooo many bands and were so pleased with the New Monopoly. People are still talking about them and how they kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night. My only regret is not having a bigger dance floor!

Profile Picture Gabriela, 9/29/07, 6 Reviews
Category: Band