Skip to main content
Weddings

The Music Man DJ Service Reviews

The Music Man DJ Service

The Music Man DJ Service

Kennebunk, ME
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 189 Reviews
View more information

189 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 189
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

13 User photos

  • C
    Courtney W. Married on 05/01/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    We couldn't have been happier with our experience with DJ Shawn. From start to finish he was amazing to work with. Fun and professional.

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hey you two! Thank you guys so much, the pleasure was all mine. I'm glad everyone had a good time and the whole night was perfect! You both were so great to work with and I loved partying with you, your friends and family. Congratulations again!

    DJ Shawn Nicholson
  • Suzanne
    Suzanne W. Married on 04/30/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    He understood the assignment!!


    My husband and I recently hired the music man DJ services, for our April 30th wedding in York Maine.
    Being a destination micro wedding , with a primarily older crowd, we were a little concerned with how the music would go. After many emails, and a few phone calls with our DJ , Brian, all of those concerns were put to rest. Brian understood the mix of generations and genres that we needed, and executed our wedding music with impeccable taste! He also was able to help my fiancé pull off a surprise of singing to me during our ceremony, which was absolutely beautiful! Brian was excellent at interacting with our guests, as well as keeping the flow of the night going, and even giving into my flower girls request for some silly little songs. We are beyond pleased with Brian, and would recommend him and this DJ company to anybody in the New England area! Thank you for making our wedding such a fun and enjoyable night!
  • Ann Marie
    Ann M. Married on 04/24/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I highly recommend Jason

    We had Jason DJ our wedding last month and he was fabulous! My husband and I, as well as all of our guests, were very happy and had a great time. He was able to coordinate with us for our ceremony, handle the cocktail hour music and then crushed it for our reception. Everything was handled perfectly and we highly recommend him. He communicated everything so well, covered all of our questions and concerns and was able to pivot when we needed him to for anything that came up or changed last minute. If you're looking for someone to DJ your wedding, this is the guy! Thank you, Jason!

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hi Ann Marie! Thank you so much for the kind words. I had an absolute blast at yours and John's wedding. I'm so happy I was able to stay with you two through multiple reschedules and know it wasn't easy. I definitely think it was worth the wait because your wedding was amazing! Thanks again and all the best to you both!!

    Jason Strycharz
  • S
    Sofia C. Married on 10/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love Jason!

    Jason was amazing to work with and kept our guests on the dance floor all night! He really paid attention to the vibe we were looking for and came up with the perfect blend of nostalgia and current music. Highly recommend working with Jason!
  • Taylor
    Taylor T. Married on 10/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So much fun!

    Chris was awesome! He was such a great fit for our wedding in October and had no problem making our requests happening, including throwing together a bunch of songs on the spot for our first dance. The music was great and kept our guests on the dance floor all night all while sticking to our timeline! We highly recommend him!
  • Courtney
    Courtney W. Married on 10/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding was a true dance party!

    My husband and I worked with Jason Strycharz from The Music Man DJ Services and he did not disappoint! He was able to listen to our vision of how our wedding day music would flow from the ceremony to the cocktail hour to the reception. He was wonderful at hosting the night and keeping the timeline moving with announcements. He executed all of the music selections exactly as we asked and kept our guests celebrating all night long! Our friends and family left it all on the dance floor and our reception felt like a true party! We would highly recommend Jason and Music Man for your wedding music needs.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Time!

    Brian was our DJ and was very easy to work with. He had everything in order and kept the party going!!! It was an amazing night! They had everything needed and were able to go with the flow when we had to make some last minute changes. If you want to hire an experienced DJ who knows what works, look no further!
  • Rachel
    Rachel N. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Decision We Made!

    We hired Jason to be the DJ at our wedding, and HE DELIVERED! From the first time I talked to Jason on the phone, I felt confident that he was going to make our wedding unforgettable. He helped us so much in personalizing our day and was always so positive, reassuring and genuinely excited with us! On the actual wedding day, we knew we could trust Jason to do what he does, adapt to the inevitable last minute changes, and make sure everyone had a great time on the dance floor. I would highly recommend Jason and The Music Man DJ Service to anyone getting married or planning a party. It was probably one of the best decisions we made!

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hi Rachel and Colin! Thank you so much for the kind words. I absolutely had a blast at your wedding!! I loved all your personal touches and must say you two had the most impressive cake cutting knife/sword I've ever seen! I wish you two all the best.
  • R
    Rebecca T. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding DJ

    We hired The Music Man DJ service for our wedding and we were paired with John. I had so much fun planning with John - he was so nice, communicative and had great suggestions. I didn't have to worry about forgetting anything and the guests had SUCH a fun time! The music was great and John was incredible at reading the crowd. You'll be lucky if you get John for your wedding!
  • Harry
    Harry B. Married on 07/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ for Maine Weddings

    Jason was such an amazing MC for our special day! We could not have been happier with his music, his handling of the crowd, and control of our evening. He truly made the night great, and was able to handle our very intricate ceremony.
  • S
    Snow K. Married on 07/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I would highly recommend them!! Great DJ service!!

    My husband and I hired The Music Man and Mitch set us up with Mike Bomp, We had some special request for parts of our wedding and Mike did an excellent job!! We had the time of our lives on our wedding day and so did our guests!! We had originally planned our wedding for 7/11/2020 but the pandemic came.. Mitch booked us for 7/11/2021 same DJ !! A day we will forever treasure!!
  • K
    Karleigh B. Married on 07/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best dj ever!

    I only have AMAZING things to say about Jason. He was incredibly east to communicate with and I enjoyed every interaction we had. We knew we wanted to have a massive dance party at our wedding and he delivered!!! The dance floor was packed for hours and every one had the BEST time! I cannot get over how much fun we had at our wedding because of Jason! If you're looking to book a DJ for any event, look no further!

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Thank you so much Karleigh! You and Tyler were an absolute pleasure to work with. You and your guests brought the heat on the dance floor! What a great party!!
  • Michelle
    Michelle M. Married on 07/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So much fun

    They were amazing and SO much fun. We worked with Jason and he was incredible. He was helpful, laid back, had a great sense of humor, and truly crushed it on the day of. He struck the perfect balance of honoring our tastes and using his own expertise in areas we weren't sure about. Our dance floor was full and lively from start to finish. He was awesome. Can't recommend enough!

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hey Michelle thanks so much for the kind words!! You and Bobby were so amazing to work with and were both on that dance floor all night! I love your taste in music and you both were incredible to work with. All the best to you both!!
  • Janice
    Janice C. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Extremely Helpful and Fun!

    The Music Man and Russ Zonderman are entertaining and easy to work with. They choose great DJ's to facilitate your party and were so helpful when we needed to reschedule twice during the pandemic. Russ was very helpful and arrived early so he could set up his equipment and help the ceremony guitarist with his needs.
    He kept the party flowing with his music choices and everyone seemed to have a good time.
  • Melissa
    Melissa C. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding DJ

    We had Jason Strycharz DJ our wedding, and from our initial phone call with him we knew we wanted to work with him. He is attentive, responsive to emails and extremely professional. Our entire wedding raved about him and his music choices, from old to young. Our group definitely loves to dance and they danced all night. We loved working with Jason and highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ.

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hi Melissa! Thank you so much for the kind words and review. I had such a blast with you and Dave! Your musical tastes were fantastic and your dance crowd was even better. I wish you and Dave all the best!

    Jason Strycharz
  • Steven
    Steven M. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Review of DJ Barbra Thompson of Music Man

    Barbra Thompson was our DJ, and she exceeded our expectations at every step! In planning the music, she was extremely knowledgeable about many types of music, what people like, and what works. There was a set-up for the ceremony, and a set-up for the reception. When we saw the amount of work involved, this was an amazing value. We highly recommend Barbra.
  • Izzy
    Izzy J. Married on 02/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shawn was amazing!

    Shawn did an incredible job with our wedding. From our initial meeting with him, he made it clear that he could cater the event to look like whatever we wanted, and he did just that. He communicated clearly, including our check-in phone call a week or two ahead of time to go over all of the details of the ceremony, mic placements, and all song must-plays and do-not-plays. The day of our wedding, he was timely and organized, and everything went off smoothly without a hitch. We didn't ask him to emcee too much, as most of our announcements were simply and done by family members or us, but he still made sure everything was running smoothly and on time - and he was also able to adjust for when speeches or dinner went long/short. The DJing itself was also amazing - the setlist was awesome, and he denied a request for a song that was on our do-not-play list until he got our permission. He read the energy of the room and by the time we had to shut down, everyone was ready for the after party. We loved working with Shawn, he did an amazing job DJing, and we'd recommend him 110%!
  • Jade
    Jade K. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a Phenomenal Job!

    We got in touch with Music Man through a wedding expo, and Jason was great at being responsive and patient while we made choices. Our DJ was Scott Brown and we could not be more impressed! He played the songs we asked for, was super fun and friendly, kept things going smoothly despite the surprise of lack of internet use, and our guests raved about how he did a fantastic job! We all had such a fun time on the dance floor! Thank you so much for your great work! Jade and Caleb Loiselle
  • Emily
    Emily O. Married on 10/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Dennis is amazing!

    DJ Dennis was so much fun and really brought life to our wedding! Due to COVID restrictions, we needed to have a smaller guest list but Dennis made the atmosphere so lively and even helped with the technology for our Zoom ceremony. He definitely became a part of the wedding and we were so happy to have him!
  • M
    Makenzi Married on 10/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jason is amazing!

    Jason was great to work with! Everyone at our wedding loved him including our wedding planner and officiant. He had the whole place dancing all night long! Leading up to our big day, Jason was incredibly responsive via email, had multiple zoom/phone calls with us to prep, and worked hard to make sure we were comfortable with everything happening. We cannot recommend him enough!
  • J
    Jennifer M. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    Diane and Ben were great!!! SUPER flexible, go with the flow and allowed me to make changes right up until the big day. Diane was so great keeping things moving, communicating with us and constantly reminding us that it was our day- we could do whatever we wanted or didn’t want! She helped coach my now husband on what to do and really helped to make sure he knew what was next- he was sort of clueless to all this wedding stuff ;) I cannot say enough good things about how great they were to work with throughout this whole thing!!
  • Nick
    Nick W. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Diane and Ben are the best!

    We loved our experience with Music Man and DJs Diane and Ben in particular. Diane was super communicative and helpful guiding us through a myriad of COVID-related changes. Our guests loved the vibe they helped create with music and they were flexible the entire time. Highly recommend!

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words. We had an absolute blast working with you two!! You were so easy going despite last year's environment and were an absolute pleasure! We wish you all the best!!

    - Ben & Diane Taylor
  • Rachel
    Rachel B. Married on 08/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dance floor was non-stop fun all night!

    I cannot even begin to tell you how great Jason with The Music Man DJ Services is! From the beginning, Jason helped me plan out my wedding reception to ensure the flow of the evening would make sense and give ample time to what my husband and I wanted out of the reception. Being out of state, Jason made the extra effort to conduct many phone calls, endless email chains, and Zoom meetings with us to make sure we were comfortable with everything for the reception and that our "vision " for the wedding would be met. He made an itinerary that he provided to all of the other vendors and made sure that everyone in our team was on time and knew when their role was crucial throughout the evening. I have already suggested Jason to a friend and would suggest him to EVERYONE NEEDING A DJ in the New England area!! He was so incredible, professional, and honestly a blessing to work with. I had so many guests tell me that he was awesome, read the room very well and many people asked me where I found him. Brian and I are beyond thankful for Jason Strycharz with The Music DJ Services.

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Hey Rachel! Thank you so much for letting me be a part of your wedding day. I had a ton of fun with you, Brian and your guests. You all brought the dance party! I wish you both an amazing marriage together and feel so blessed to have worked with you both!

    Jason
  • T
    Tammy J. Married on 08/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic, professional, lots of fun!!

    Due to COVID we had to scale down our daughters wedding this past August. At First we weren’t going to have a DJ but after talking to Mitch the owner he convinced me that music brings everything together, and boy was he right. We had Barbra And she was fantastic!! She worked with my daughter and her fiancé and guided them through the whole process. The day was beautiful, the food great, and the music made it memorable. Thank you Mitch!