The Music Man DJ Service Reviews

160 | Kennebunk, ME
See photos, pricing and details

160 Reviews for The Music Man DJ Service

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

160

6 User photos

The Music Man DJ Service 1
The Music Man DJ Service 2
The Music Man DJ Service 3
The Music Man DJ Service 4
The Music Man DJ Service 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • Steven

    Steven Myers · Getting married on 04/09/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Review of DJ Barbra Thompson of Music Man

    Barbra Thompson was our DJ, and she exceeded our expectations at every step! In planning the music, she was extremely knowledgeable about many types of music, what people like, and what works. There was a set-up for the ceremony, and a set-up for the reception. When we saw the amount of work involved, this was an amazing value. We highly recommend Barbra.

    Sent on 11/08/2019
  • Izzy

    Izzy Janzen · Getting married on 02/10/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Shawn was amazing!

    Shawn did an incredible job with our wedding. From our initial meeting with him, he made it clear that he could cater the event to look like whatever we wanted, and he did just that. He communicated clearly, including our check-in phone call a week or two ahead of time to go over all of the details of the ceremony, mic placements, and all song must-plays and do-not-plays. The day of our wedding, he was timely and organized, and everything went off smoothly without a hitch. We didn't ask him to emcee too much, as most of our announcements were simply and done by family members or us, but he still made sure everything was running smoothly and on time - and he was also able to adjust for when speeches or dinner went long/short. The DJing itself was also amazing - the setlist was awesome, and he denied a request for a song that was on our do-not-play list until he got our permission. He read the energy of the room and by the time we had to shut down, everyone was ready for the after party. We loved working with Shawn, he did an amazing job DJing, and we'd recommend him 110%!

    Sent on 12/02/2019
  • Catherine

    Catherine Shaw · Married on 12/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason at Music Man is AWESOME!

    Jason Strycharz was the DJ for our wedding this past weekend, and he absolutely killed it! The dance floor was absolutely packed and he was energetic, detail oriented, and fun to work with. Our crowd loves to dance and many people told us they had never seen so many people on the dance floor all night long. The music was perfect - we wanted a high energy, modern reception and Jason delivered. Prior to the wedding, Jason did a great job giving us advice as well as taking our requests and turning them into reality. We felt he was very reasonably priced and would absolutely hire Jason again if we ever have the need. Thank you again!

    Sent on 12/18/2019

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words Cat. Yours and John's wedding was so much fun!! Your music selections were on point and I had an absolute blast keeping everyone going! Congratulations again

    Jason
  • Meghan

    Meghan · Married on 11/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason is AMAZING & you need him at your wedding!

    We never thought that one of the most complimented things from our wedding would be our DJ, but that’s the type of DJ Jason (from Music Man DJ Services) is. People raved about his great energy, his passion, and his way to be engaged and involved without being a distraction. He was very communicative leading up to the wedding and met with us a couple times and responded to inquiries promptly. We love music and so it was super important to be incorporated into our wedding day, and Jason did a great job of giving us guidance while finding out what our musical vision for the day was. He flawlessly integrated the massive list of songs that we gave him to play and created a vibe that was exactly as we imagined. We have wide ranging tastes in music and he was able to make it all feel connected. Jason was able to read the crowd throughout the evening and seamlessly transitioned from song to song. We had guests who told us that they usually don’t like DJs and they said that Jason did a fabulous job. The dance floor was packed the entire night - even people who we had never seen dancing were having the time of their lives on the dance floor. Jason was also super accommodating - the bride missed one of her must play songs, and then later in the night asked if he would play it again and he did it with no question. One of the biggest compliments we got from our entire wedding was that everyone loved Jason and thought he was great at making our wedding feel true to us as a couple and making sure everyone was having the best night ever. If you want a packed dance floor and a DJ who understands and integrates your vision throughout your wedding, BOOK JASON!!!!

    Sent on 01/21/2020
  • Robyn

    Robyn Eastwood · Married on 11/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love Music Man and DJ Vortex!

    Choosing Music Man to DJ our wedding was the best decision we made! Music Man had a great selection of DJ’s so we were able to pick one that fit the style we were looking for. DJ Vortex was amazing! She was able to incorporate all of our requests and made the whole night go seamlessly. All of our guests agreed that the music was great and kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night. Plus at the end of the night, she gave us CDs with ALL of the songs on it. We are beyond excited to have the soundtrack to our wedding!!

    Sent on 01/19/2020
  • Ashley

    Ashley · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kept the guest happy and dancing!

    I never had to worry about the music being the right type of music to keep the guests happy and on the dance floor. This DJ service uses CD's still and honestly it was all perfect. We gave him a list of songs prior to the wedding and when the wedding was over we got a CD of all the songs we requested on it!! It was perfect for our day. They also set up in two places to make sure we had music and a microphone for our ceremony which was a mile down at a local park.

    Sent on 12/14/2019
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany Dieuveuil · Married on 10/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason Is All About A Memorable Experience

    Jason was such a great addition to our wedding reception. Jason worked with my husband and I before the wedding to ensure a detailed timeline, nail down pronounciation of all names and to ensure all of our questions were answered. Jason also worked with my father to create a surprise memorable experience for our father daughter dance. All of our guests commented on how much fun Jason was to have at the reception.

    Sent on 10/16/2019
  • Kayla

    Kayla · Married on 09/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dave the Best DJ

    We worked with Dave and he was an absolute hoot. He was super friendly, very straight forward with how DJing would work, and had an AMAZING show!! He uses CDs, and at first we were skeptical but wow were we impressed. He had everyone dancing young and old the entire time, and he also nailed it during dinner, with microphones for the speeches, and overall was incredible to work with. 10/10 would recommend!

    Sent on 11/20/2019
  • Bonnie

    Bonnie Wahrer · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding DJ Ever!

    Jason DJ-ed our wedding on August 24, 2019, at an outdoor venue in Saco, Maine. We couldn’t be happier with his service. We met with Jason at a local restaurant a few months before the wedding where he asked us detailed questions about our wants/needs, our vision for the wedding, our style, etc. etc. Jason was well organized and had a lot of suggestions/examples for us when we weren’t sure. At the wedding, Jason absolutely killed it. Jason set up with plenty of time to spare. He also played music that keep a large majority of our guests, both old and young, dancing right until 10pm. I’m still hearing from people saying how they have never danced so much at a wedding! He knew how to read the crowd and play the music that ensured everyone had a good time. I highly recommend Jason for as a wedding DJ!

    The Music Man DJ Service 6
    The Music Man DJ Service 7
    Sent on 09/23/2019
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 08/17/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommended!!

    We worked with Jason Strycharz who we highly recommend! Jason was extremely easy to work with. After working with many vendors for the wedding Jason was by far the easiest to work with. He was responsive to our emails, extremely professional, but also casual enough to meet up with us like we had been friends for years and help us achieve our vision! He is such a nice, kind person I'm so thankful we chose him! After interviewing many, many DJs we are extremely happy with our decision. He was an awesome DJ, had everyone dancing the entire night! I am still having people tell me how much fun they had and how they haven't danced that much in ages- both old and young! He came all the way over to the Inn on Peaks Island, was familiar with the ferry, had no problems getting the sound in both the outdoor and indoor areas (it's a unique venue layout). He even recorded the night and gave us a digital copy so we can play it later on and reminisce! Thank you Jason!!

    Sent on 08/24/2019

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Amanda,

    Thank you so much for your kind words. You both made it so easy as well! You and Kevin were an absolute pleasure to work with and what a great dance party! I'm still thinking about how much fun I had. I wish you both all the best!

    Jason
  • Sarah

    Sarah Fraser · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 STARS! Hire DJ Vortex, She was Amazing!

    I WOULD HIGHLY recommend The Music Man DJ Company for your wedding and use Barbara aka DJ Vortex, she was amazing. Here's what I emailed to Barbara after our wedding: Dan and I wanted to share with you what a TRULY AMAZING job you did. Seriously, I worked in radio for 10yrs and you're one of the best. So professional, timing was awesome, the mixes were great. We are so grateful for you. Please let us know if we can send a recommendation or if your clients ever want to speak with another client feel free to use us. We LOVE you. Great job. Sarah

    The Music Man DJ Service 8
    Sent on 08/14/2019
  • Danielle

    Danielle Walters · Married on 08/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason is the best.

    Jason Strycharz was our DJ for our wedding this past August and we couldn't have picked a better one! He was so easy to work with from day one, and even created a couple custom tracks for our wedding day. Our group LOVES dancing and Jason definitely didn't disappoint. He really knows how to read the crowd and kept everyone dancing for the entire night! Thank you so much Jason, our wedding would not have been the same without you!

    Sent on 09/03/2019
  • Robyn

    Robyn Noe-Fifield · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Attentive and awesome!

    We're very glad we went with The Music Man DJ Service for our wedding. Mitch was very on top of communicating with us and sent us a straightforward form to fill out regarding the music we wanted. Jason P. was our DJ and he did an awesome job! Very friendly and easy to work with. He helped us figure out the order of the night and was totally understanding when there were some things we wanted to skip (bouquet and garter toss, for example). Planning was super laid back but no detail got overlooked. We are very satisfied! It was a very fun night and our guests had a really good time!

    Sent on 07/27/2019
  • R

    Robyn St. Laurent · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris @ Music Man DJ Service

    We had a great experience with Chris Lothridge at Music Man DJ Service. He really went above and beyond, both before the wedding to make sure all of the music was correct, and the day of as well. He was even running around and offering us water during our post-ceremony pictures (it was 100 degrees outside). All of our guests loved the music and we got tons of compliments about how great Chris was!

    Sent on 10/07/2019
  • Abigail

    Abigail · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Really great

    Our wedding had some power issues due to severe rain, but our DJ was amazing at troubleshooting and fixing the issues quickly. Then he played a great mix of music that was perfect for our super ecclectic guests

    Sent on 07/09/2019
  • Adam

    Adam Seigal · Married on 07/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Terrific Experience!

    We had a terrific experience working with the Music Man DJ Service, specifically Jason Strycharz. From the very beginning, Jason was easy to work with and always accessible to answer questions. Prior to our wedding Jason spent significant time working with us to plan the logistics of the evening (married on an island). He arranged a sound check with our first dance singer. We felt completely confident that he had everything under control. Then during the wedding itself, Jason absolutely delivered. He played every song we requested, and filled in the rest with the genres we preferred. He was also a terrific emcee. We had numerous compliments on how great the song selection was and how smoothly the evening went. Bottom Line? Get Jason and Music Man DJ Service. You won't regret it!

    Sent on 07/14/2019

    The Music Man DJ Service's reply:

    Adam, thank you so much for the kind words! You and Sarah were so great to work with. I'm so happy that despite the downpour we had, everyone had a great time. What a memorable night with that sunset too! I wish you both all the best.

    Jason
  • A

    Annie · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reliable, talented, responsive!

    We had the most amazing experience with the Music Man DJ Services. Our DJ Barbra, "DJ Vortex" was phenomenal. She was responsive, listened to exactly what we wanted, was kind and compassionate and willing to do whatever we needed. She was a calm and steady presence and just a joy to work with!

    Sent on 06/27/2019
  • Amanda

    Amanda Fogarty · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Full Dance Floor. Professional & Personable. Chris Lothridge is amazing!

    After photographing weddings weekend after weekend we still struggled to find a DJ for our own wedding. Then we met Chris Lothridge. We absolutely loved him upon introduction and had the best time working with him, we couldn’t help but dance along with cameras in our hand.

    When it came time to book our own DJ we knew he would be the perfect fit. He was professional, easy to reach, and extremely personable. Our dance floor was packed ALL NIGHT. I mean from introductions until the very end. I don’t think it was ever empty. He played the perfect mix of oldies and new songs to help keep the crowd entertained. Our family and friends are still talking about how amazing he was.

    We highly recommend him to all our friends and clients and can’t wait for the next opportunity to work with him.

    Sent on 08/16/2019
  • J

    Jaime · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    Working with Jason from The Music Man DJ Service was really great! He was prompt and responsive and so easy to talk to and share our vision for the day. He was awesome on our wedding day and the guests loved the music! I would definitely recommend him to others for any event!!!

    Sent on 08/19/2019
  • M

    Meg · Married on 02/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Reilable and thoughtful

    Jason Strycharz was great to work with. My partner and I wanted to get people up and dancing, but weren't prepared to give someone a full playlist. Jason was able to help us select something traditional for the ceremony, some nice background music for cocktails/dinner, and then pleased our guests with some crowd favorites. It was clear throughout the process he has experience and likes his job.

    Sent on 02/25/2019
  • Jen

    Jen · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend!

    I was recommended Music Man DJ Service after asking a friend who is very knowledgable about New England wedding DJs if they could recommend someone who would do a great job for a great price and not be over the top and cheesy while on the microphone. I could not be more happy with this recommendation! I reached out to Music Man DJ service and within a few hours had an appointment set up with Mitch to talk about what I was looking for.

    We were able to meet with Jason S, our wedding DJ, the day of our initial meeting and my fiancé and I immediately knew Music Man DJ Service was the right choice. Jason is friendly, professional, and accommodating from the get go!

    As a wedding photographer myself, I just happened to be fortunate enough to shoot a wedding where Jason was the DJ just a few days after signing the contract. It was a unique but awesome opportunity to be able to work with Jason as a colleague and see him in action before my wedding day.

    I am so happy with my choice to go with Jason and Music Man DJ Service! He helped us finalize the timeline for our reception, choose key songs, and was skilled in reading the crowd and keeping the party going! Any time I need a DJ in the future I'll be reaching out to Jason and I'll be recommending him to anyone I know looking for a DJ!

    Sent on 01/06/2019
  • T

    terri · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kept the party going

    Jason S was incredible. He took the time to get to know us and what we wanted our reception to be. We provided few details and let him read the crowd and no one was disappointed. He kept things moving and the dance floor full!

    Sent on 11/04/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diane and Ben were the DJs for our wedding reception this past weekend and they were absolutely amazing! Not only did they play great music and MC the wedding party's entrance, but they also took the time to let us know when certain parts of the reception were coming up such as the cake cutting and special dances. They went above and beyond by socializing with all of our guests and having a great time themselves! If you're looking for a DJ for an event, definitely consider requesting Diane and Ben. They are very affordable and are great people! :)

    Sent on 09/18/2018
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend

    I highly recommend the Music Man DJ Service. DJ John Edwards did a great job of DJing our wedding and being the master of ceremony! We had a great dance party and everything went very smoothly. Thank you!!

    Sent on 11/11/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We definitely recommend the Music Man DJ Service! Mitch was wonderful and very responsive getting in touch right away and getting us connected with our DJ Shawn! Shawn was AMAZING!! Very easy to get a hold of, very responsive, and flexible! He kept everyone dancing when we didn’t think we had a dancing crowd and he even jumped in to help with a little joke presentation I had planned and was the perfect assistant! He coordinated with my other vendors and the day just flowed perfectly!! Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 09/17/2018