The Metropolitan Reviews

47 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

47 Reviews for The Metropolitan

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

47

6 User photos

Order by:
  • Stephanie

    Stephanie Praljak · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best. Wedding. Ever.

    Best. Wedding. Ever. The Metropolitan is an iconic venue, offering stunning views from the 66th floor. Lorena and her team did an amazing job making our wedding perfect. We appreciated Lorena’s patience with our questions, as well as her transparency with costs as we felt like other venues were not as collaborative. The whole team was very friendly and responsive, and made every step of the wedding process enjoyable and exciting (ie; wedding tasting). If there was something we wanted at the reception, Lorena made sure we got it! We received so many compliments from our guests regarding the food and how the room itself looked beautiful and classy, in line with our black tie encouraged event. The staff on the day of was very professional, yet fun, and made our guests’ experience one to remember. What better place to get married than one of the most memorable landmarks in Chicago?

    Sent on 11/03/2019
  • Corinne

    Corinne Carso · Married on 10/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Totally worth it!

    My husband and I were so lucky to be able to have our wedding reception here. From the food to the view to the day-of coordination (shout out to Lorena!!), everything was picture perfect. We would recommend The Metropolitan whole-heartedly and without reservation. Thank you so much!

    Sent on 12/23/2019
  • B

    Ben Breit · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommended

    We would highly recommend The Metropolitan as a wedding venue. For our wedding, we got numerous compliments about how classy the venue was as well as the food, particularly the beef filet. We wanted a venue that was unique, and it doesn't get much more impactful than the 66th floor of the Sears Tower. The views are obviously stunning and made for an unforgettable experience. We really enjoyed working with our point of contact Lorena, who was incredibly professional and patient with us during our many rounds of questions. The day-of staff was also very friendly and helped elevate the experience for our guests. 

    Sent on 10/20/2019
  • E

    Erin Mazza · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Chicago Venue - Sept 2019 Wedding

    Would highly recommend The Metropolitan, Lorena and her team to anyone looking for a classic Chicago venue. Lorena and all of the staff at The Metropolitan were so easy to work with. They answered any and all questions promptly and were extremely accommodating to all requests. They were very flexible and responsive in working with all of our other vendors. The room turned out exactly how I wanted, and the food was delicious. The new renovations look great, and the ballroom is the perfect size for a 200-person wedding. The views were wonderful for the cocktail hour and reception.

    Sent on 10/02/2019
  • J

    Josh · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful, organized, and stress-free

    Our whole experience was enjoyable! We had an incredible wedding and reception at the club. Sally was always available and helped make our wedding weekend stress free. We highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/08/2019
  • W

    Will Kirkgard · Married on 05/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dreamy Wedding Venue

    My wife had grown up in Chicago and when we chose to get married in her hometown, we knew we wanted to make it a weekend full of iconic Chicago spots. Immediately, the Metropolitan Club came to mind as a place that would as unforgettable as it was beautiful. From the beginning, the team at the Metropolitan, namely Sally Woodson, made the entire process as seamless as ever. We had the lovely experience of allowing all of our guests to go up to the SkyDeck before the happy hour which really wowed everyone. From there, the food and the whole evening were absolutely perfect! Our guests still tell us about how much they enjoyed the night, which truly makes us so happy. If you are looking for an iconic Chicago venue for your wedding that you will remember for the rest of your life, look no further than the Metropolitan Club!

    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • bbutler

    Brian · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    VIP Service at Stunning Venue with Views!

    When looking for a wedding venue, almost immediately, an iconic Chicago location came to mind. Located in an unforgettable space at the Sears (Willis) Tower, the team at the Metropolitan were outstanding at helping us envision our event, budget for (realistic!) costs, refer competent vendors and hotels for out of town guests, and coordinated the event without the additional need, headache, and cost of a wedding coordinator.

    The team at the Metropolitan, led by General Manager Simona Blaugh, and Private Event Director Lorena Mulvaney, along with former team member Ashley Toomey, helped us every step of the way. As guest counts changed, logistics were altered, and the other unexpected things that pop up in the days leading up to the event, the team handled them professionally, quickly, and transparently.

    Our experience from the phenomenal tasting and planning session (bring to go bags, as you'll leave with a full array of entrees!), to the follow up meetings to finalize the details, to the day of the event when we were focused on the remaining details, we felt supported and treated as one of the Metropolitan family right until we walked down the aisle through the end of the evening. Even as the club underwent massive (and beautiful!) renovations in the months leading up to the ceremony, we never worried that the work would get done and that we'd be well taken care of when the day finally came.

    The views are stunning, the food is impeccable, the venue and operations teams work like a well-oiled machine, and the great event leaders are strong, competent communicators.

    Although we only get one wedding, this may not be the last event we host with the team at the club. A++

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • H

    Heather F · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome views, great staff

    We're so happy that we chose the Metropolitan as our reception venue. From our initial venue search, Sally was the ultimate professional in answering all of our questions throughout our entire wedding process. Our guests were thoroughly impressed with our venue and we definitely recommend them if you're looking for a special venue in Chicago!

    Pros: View is truly spectacular at sunset and throughout the night. Sally in particular was helpful, responsive, and willing to listen to all of our ideas. We really liked the ability to have almost all of our needs taken care of through the venue (linens, chairs, catering, cake, lighting, etc.). Guests raved about the food and there is flexibility in choosing your menu - the menu tasting itself is a true event - they pull out all the stops to give you an idea of what the food experience will be like on your day. The bakery that works with the venue is also easy to work with and creative in design. The rooms we had reserved allowed for us to have a bridal suite on the same floor, which was helpful during the reception.

    Cons: Willis Tower itself is difficult to get any signage around, so can be difficult to get guests where they need to be. Be aware that if you try to get to the Sky Deck Observatory, the Metropolitan has no relationship with the Sky Deck, so you may wait a while to get onto a ledge.

    Sent on 11/21/2018
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley and the staff at The Metropolitan were amazing to work with. Everything was top notch service and so many people complimented us on not only the food and the view, but the exceptional service. Every little question and detail that we needed help with Ashley was there and took all the stress away. Can not say enough about this venue!

    Sent on 06/27/2018
  • M

    Mallory · Married on 12/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sally and the staff at the Metropolitan Club made our wedding beautiful and go off without a hitch! The views itself are beyond gorgeous, the staff are so helpful and professional, and the bartenders are quick and made a great drink! We received compliments all night regarding how good the food was, definitely not your typical “wedding food”. Such a beautiful venue and Sally made our Winter wedding enchanting. Ask for Sally for all your needs and she will make a gorgeous wedding for you!

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • E

    Elyce · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was exceptional.
    Ashley Toomey at the Metropolitan club was a huge asset in making this day everything that it was.
    She helped us plan a very custom day in the easiest way possible.
    The day of, she coordinated everything leaving us worry-free.

    We had a rainy wedding day and were disappointed that the views may be jeopardized.
    Fortunately, by 9 AM the clouds cleared and the guests got the amazing city views.

    I also have to say the food was incredible. The best I have ever had at a wedding.
    The tasting was amazing, but we werent sure when they made it for 160 people if it would still be just as good and it was!

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Sent on 11/18/2017
  • M

    Marie · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience using the Met Club for our wedding and reception. We can't say enough good things about Lorena Mulvaney --she performed in an outstanding capacity as our private events director. She was extremely helpful, always prompt and responsive (especially to our millions of emails), and no detail was too big or small for her to handle! The food was terrific, the waitstaff all did a tremendous job (our guests even told us how great they were). Our wedding guests said over and over that it was the best wedding they had attended. Truly the most memorable day EVER!

    Sent on 07/31/2017
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Metropolitan Club was above and beyond what we expected. The service from start to the final hour was outstanding. The appetizers and dinners were superb! Thanks to Lorena, the evening was perfect !

    Sent on 08/07/2017
  • S

    Susie · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are not enough words to describe the entire wedding journey at The Metropolitan Club. We looked at many venues but the professionalism was top rate right from the first visit. The food, service and of course the view were amazing. Lorena, was the absolute best to work with. We had winter wedding and snow came down at the perfect time which just added more to the magical evening. I cannot say enough about every staff member, it is the hidden gem that is worth visiting.

    Sent on 12/13/2016
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used the Metropolitan Club for our wedding on 9/17/16 and couldn't have been happier with our decision. Lorena was our coordinator and was absolutely wonderful. She was always accessible and super helpful and on top of things which is what you want when you're a bride and already have a million things to keep track of. Everything about our day was perfect and if anything went wrong, I had no idea. All of our details were executed exactly as we asked and turned out even better than we envisioned. The staff was extremely accommodating and our guests raved about the venue and the food especially. Everyone we spoke with could not compliment the food enough. I wish we could do it all over again and would choose the Metropolitan Club every time!

    Sent on 10/26/2016
  • J

    Jhissel · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hosting my wedding reception at the Metropolitan Club was an amazing experience. The staff and the coordinator, Ashley Toomey, were amazing to work with making my wedding day stress free. Loved the window views of the city from the 67th floor. I was very satisfied with the whole experience.

    Sent on 08/22/2017
  • A

    Alexis · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5/5 Would get married there again! Our event coordinator Sally K. was outstanding. She was very helpful in all aspects of the wedding especially when dealing with the mother of the bride (no easy task). The views were spectacular and the venue was not your ordinary space. Food was excellent and service was great. The club accommodated special request for our event and really tailored it for us. They worked well with outside vendors. Everything went smoothly and the timing of all events was perfect.

    Couldn't recommend the Metropolitan Club enough. If you are searching for wedding venues in Chicago definitely call Sally you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 08/04/2016
  • J

    Janet · Married on 07/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough about our wedding event experience. Besides the beautiful lake view and room ambience that come with being in the Willis Tower, the staff was accommodating and Lorena our event coordinator was attentive to every detail and very helpful in making the evening run smoothly. Our guests raved about the food and the excellent service. We couldn't be happier with the quality and the value of our wedding event.

    Sent on 07/09/2016
  • R

    Russell · Married on 05/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Being Chicagoans, we really wanted to highlight our city when we decided on a wedding venue, so we selected one of our favorite places, The Metropolitan Club. It was a fantastic decision. Lorena and the entire staff had everything under control, and I honestly felt like we were free to enjoy the evening, without a worry. We were able to add our own special touches to the space, and I watched Lorena as events unfolded, attentive to every detail to ensure things flowed smoothly. We had a blast, the food was wonderful, and the service was flawless. Our guests are still telling us it was the best wedding they have ever attended. It is worth noting, The Metropolitan Club is a welcoming space for all couples. If you are looking for a magical place in Chicago to host your family and friends for your special day, you owe it to yourself to have a look.

    Sent on 10/27/2016
  • A

    Adam · Married on 12/31/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It isn't just our opinion that we had the greatest wedding, but all of our friends' and families' as well. The Metropolitan Club is such a special location which just feels like a great place to have a wedding. Every time we are driving into downtown or can spot the Willis Tower from the suburbs, we say "hey that's where we got married! Relatives from out of town were definitely thrilled to be in Chicago's tallest skyscraper to celebrate with us.

    Location and atmosphere aside, the food and service was equally outstanding. The planning was perfect by Lorena, who I cannot say enough great things about. I would recommend this venue to anybody that is looking for a place to have the perfect wedding and hope they all get to work with Lorena and the same staff that helped us.

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a Wedding Planner with Storybook Weddings and Events here in Chicago, and I had the pleasure of having a wedding at The Metropolitan Club this past June. I worked with Lorena throughout the entire process, and she was fantastic to work with! This particular couple that I had needed to book their venue somewhat in a hurry because their original venue closed. Lorena and her team were quick to help them book and also were quick with any responses to questions that we had, and also quick in terms of their service during their actual wedding. Their wedding was beautiful... the food was great, the staff was professional and friendly, and you just can't beat the views up there. Thanks again, Lorena, and to your team... hoping to work with you again soon!

    Sent on 10/21/2016
  • User5466981 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The prefered vendor list was very helpful for DJ and photographer.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • A

    Anita · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding reception at the Met Club on 8/29/15 and I was pretty satisfied with everything! The staff is professional and great to work with.

    Sent on 09/04/2015
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kelly was FANTASTIC! From start to finish she handled everything for us (even while having a baby in the middle) She welcomed us on our first visit with Willis Tower chocolates (that we later used as favors) and a huge smile. She is super organized and helped plan out ever little detail of our ceremony and reception. The food at the club is delicious and we got so many compliments. You can't beat the view from this venue, it is a GREAT value for what you get for you wedding! Anyone looking for a downtown Chicago wedding venue with fabulous views, food and experience for your guests, look no further than Kelly and the Metropolitan Club!!

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Metropolitan Club exceeded my expectations! I had a small destination wedding in Chicago and had to plan all from outise Chicago, I was looking for a place with a beautiful view but also great food and service that would be affordable when I found The Metropolitan Club! Kelley was super helpful, understood my needs, she was very accesible since the begginning. even though I wasnt in Chicago I was able to plan everything with her. I only got to Chicago two weeks before the wedding but by that time Kelley and I had everything planned out. on the wedding day I didnt had toworry of vendors going to the club since Kelley had already arranged everything for that day. The view was espectacular and had the chance to see the sunset! The food was deliciooouuus and the service also exceed my expectations! If you are thinking of having a wedding in Chicago you must look at The Metropolitan Club!

    Sent on 10/22/2014