Weddings

The Metropolitan Reviews

The Metropolitan View more information

51 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 51
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

6 User photos

Sort by:
  • A
    Andrew S. Getting married on 08/03/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptionally Beautiful!

    We held a small, intimate reception here - the venue was much more beautiful than we ever imagined. We were on the 67th floor of the Willis Tower, so the view was unmatched. On top of that, the food and service were fantastic. Lorena was also extremely helpful and professional during our communications to reserve the space!
  • Courtney
    Courtney G. Getting married on 01/07/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Views and Experience!

    There are no words for how incredible our experience was with the Metropolitan. Despite the uncertainty of COVID and the postponement of our original date, Sally was there as a calming, reassuring, and knowledgeable guide. Everything went off flawlessly with coordinating our vendors. The view was breathtaking and the food/drinks were fabulous. Choosing the Metropolitan as our venue was hands-down the best decision we made. We are so grateful to everyone there who made our special day possible!
  • Jackie
    Jackie R. Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue with incredible views

    Lorena and her team at the Metropolitan took care of us and gave us the most fun, beautiful and memorable evening! We had great food, great service and danced the night away. Highly recommend having your reception or rehearsal dinner here!
  • Karen
    Karen W. Married on 08/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue!

    We loved having our wedding at The Metropolitan - we looked at a lot of different venues and this one was by far our favorite! Our ceremony / reception along with the cocktail hour (held in the Craftsman) was on the 67th floor of the Sears Tower - all rooms offered amazing views for our guests that had traveled and even our Chicago guests were in awe. They even offer guests a private elevator to the top floor of the Sears Tower! Everything from the food to the open bar were FANTASTIC and the layout was just perfect for our guests - and all for an extremely reasonable price! Due to COVID, we had postponed our wedding for a year and a half and throughout that time, Lorena was extremely patient, helpful and accommodating - she was a great resource to have while navigating through the unusual year. Any requests we had to help tailor our wedding, her and her team were able to execute and was extremely responsive to all our questions. Two weeks after our wedding, we're still hearing from our guests how amazing the venue / food and drinks were - we can't thank her and her team enough and we would HIGHLY recommend this venue - everything was just perfect about it!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie P. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best. Wedding. Ever.

    Best. Wedding. Ever. The Metropolitan is an iconic venue, offering stunning views from the 66th floor. Lorena and her team did an amazing job making our wedding perfect. We appreciated Lorena’s patience with our questions, as well as her transparency with costs as we felt like other venues were not as collaborative. The whole team was very friendly and responsive, and made every step of the wedding process enjoyable and exciting (ie; wedding tasting). If there was something we wanted at the reception, Lorena made sure we got it! We received so many compliments from our guests regarding the food and how the room itself looked beautiful and classy, in line with our black tie encouraged event. The staff on the day of was very professional, yet fun, and made our guests’ experience one to remember. What better place to get married than one of the most memorable landmarks in Chicago?
  • B
    Ben B. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommended

    We would highly recommend The Metropolitan as a wedding venue. For our wedding, we got numerous compliments about how classy the venue was as well as the food, particularly the beef filet. We wanted a venue that was unique, and it doesn't get much more impactful than the 66th floor of the Sears Tower. The views are obviously stunning and made for an unforgettable experience. We really enjoyed working with our point of contact Lorena, who was incredibly professional and patient with us during our many rounds of questions. The day-of staff was also very friendly and helped elevate the experience for our guests. 
  • E
    Erin M. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Chicago Venue - Sept 2019 Wedding

    Would highly recommend The Metropolitan, Lorena and her team to anyone looking for a classic Chicago venue. Lorena and all of the staff at The Metropolitan were so easy to work with. They answered any and all questions promptly and were extremely accommodating to all requests. They were very flexible and responsive in working with all of our other vendors. The room turned out exactly how I wanted, and the food was delicious. The new renovations look great, and the ballroom is the perfect size for a 200-person wedding. The views were wonderful for the cocktail hour and reception.
  • J
    Josh Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful, organized, and stress-free

    Our whole experience was enjoyable! We had an incredible wedding and reception at the club. Sally was always available and helped make our wedding weekend stress free. We highly recommend!
  • Corinne
    Corinne C. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Totally worth it!

    My husband and I were so lucky to be able to have our wedding reception here. From the food to the view to the day-of coordination (shout out to Lorena!!), everything was picture perfect. We would recommend The Metropolitan whole-heartedly and without reservation. Thank you so much!
  • W
    Will K. Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dreamy Wedding Venue

    My wife had grown up in Chicago and when we chose to get married in her hometown, we knew we wanted to make it a weekend full of iconic Chicago spots. Immediately, the Metropolitan Club came to mind as a place that would as unforgettable as it was beautiful. From the beginning, the team at the Metropolitan, namely Sally Woodson, made the entire process as seamless as ever. We had the lovely experience of allowing all of our guests to go up to the SkyDeck before the happy hour which really wowed everyone. From there, the food and the whole evening were absolutely perfect! Our guests still tell us about how much they enjoyed the night, which truly makes us so happy. If you are looking for an iconic Chicago venue for your wedding that you will remember for the rest of your life, look no further than the Metropolitan Club!
  • bbutler
    Brian Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    VIP Service at Stunning Venue with Views!

    When looking for a wedding venue, almost immediately, an iconic Chicago location came to mind. Located in an unforgettable space at the Sears (Willis) Tower, the team at the Metropolitan were outstanding at helping us envision our event, budget for (realistic!) costs, refer competent vendors and hotels for out of town guests, and coordinated the event without the additional need, headache, and cost of a wedding coordinator.

    The team at the Metropolitan, led by General Manager Simona Blaugh, and Private Event Director Lorena Mulvaney, along with former team member Ashley Toomey, helped us every step of the way. As guest counts changed, logistics were altered, and the other unexpected things that pop up in the days leading up to the event, the team handled them professionally, quickly, and transparently.

    Our experience from the phenomenal tasting and planning session (bring to go bags, as you'll leave with a full array of entrees!), to the follow up meetings to finalize the details, to the day of the event when we were focused on the remaining details, we felt supported and treated as one of the Metropolitan family right until we walked down the aisle through the end of the evening. Even as the club underwent massive (and beautiful!) renovations in the months leading up to the ceremony, we never worried that the work would get done and that we'd be well taken care of when the day finally came.

    The views are stunning, the food is impeccable, the venue and operations teams work like a well-oiled machine, and the great event leaders are strong, competent communicators.

    Although we only get one wedding, this may not be the last event we host with the team at the club. A++
  • H
    Heather Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome views, great staff

    We're so happy that we chose the Metropolitan as our reception venue. From our initial venue search, Sally was the ultimate professional in answering all of our questions throughout our entire wedding process. Our guests were thoroughly impressed with our venue and we definitely recommend them if you're looking for a special venue in Chicago!

    Pros: View is truly spectacular at sunset and throughout the night. Sally in particular was helpful, responsive, and willing to listen to all of our ideas. We really liked the ability to have almost all of our needs taken care of through the venue (linens, chairs, catering, cake, lighting, etc.). Guests raved about the food and there is flexibility in choosing your menu - the menu tasting itself is a true event - they pull out all the stops to give you an idea of what the food experience will be like on your day. The bakery that works with the venue is also easy to work with and creative in design. The rooms we had reserved allowed for us to have a bridal suite on the same floor, which was helpful during the reception.

    Cons: Willis Tower itself is difficult to get any signage around, so can be difficult to get guests where they need to be. Be aware that if you try to get to the Sky Deck Observatory, the Metropolitan has no relationship with the Sky Deck, so you may wait a while to get onto a ledge.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashley and the staff at The Metropolitan were amazing to work with. Everything was top notch service and so many people complimented us on not only the food and the view, but the exceptional service. Every little question and detail that we needed help with Ashley was there and took all the stress away. Can not say enough about this venue!
  • M
    Mallory Married on 12/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Sally and the staff at the Metropolitan Club made our wedding beautiful and go off without a hitch! The views itself are beyond gorgeous, the staff are so helpful and professional, and the bartenders are quick and made a great drink! We received compliments all night regarding how good the food was, definitely not your typical “wedding food”. Such a beautiful venue and Sally made our Winter wedding enchanting. Ask for Sally for all your needs and she will make a gorgeous wedding for you!
  • E
    Elyce Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was exceptional.
    Ashley Toomey at the Metropolitan club was a huge asset in making this day everything that it was.
    She helped us plan a very custom day in the easiest way possible.
    The day of, she coordinated everything leaving us worry-free.

    We had a rainy wedding day and were disappointed that the views may be jeopardized.
    Fortunately, by 9 AM the clouds cleared and the guests got the amazing city views.

    I also have to say the food was incredible. The best I have ever had at a wedding.
    The tasting was amazing, but we werent sure when they made it for 160 people if it would still be just as good and it was!

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
  • M
    Marie Married on 06/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful experience using the Met Club for our wedding and reception. We can't say enough good things about Lorena Mulvaney --she performed in an outstanding capacity as our private events director. She was extremely helpful, always prompt and responsive (especially to our millions of emails), and no detail was too big or small for her to handle! The food was terrific, the waitstaff all did a tremendous job (our guests even told us how great they were). Our wedding guests said over and over that it was the best wedding they had attended. Truly the most memorable day EVER!
  • J
    Joyce Married on 05/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Metropolitan Club was above and beyond what we expected. The service from start to the final hour was outstanding. The appetizers and dinners were superb! Thanks to Lorena, the evening was perfect !
  • S
    Susie Married on 12/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There are not enough words to describe the entire wedding journey at The Metropolitan Club. We looked at many venues but the professionalism was top rate right from the first visit. The food, service and of course the view were amazing. Lorena, was the absolute best to work with. We had winter wedding and snow came down at the perfect time which just added more to the magical evening. I cannot say enough about every staff member, it is the hidden gem that is worth visiting.
  • C
    Christina Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used the Metropolitan Club for our wedding on 9/17/16 and couldn't have been happier with our decision. Lorena was our coordinator and was absolutely wonderful. She was always accessible and super helpful and on top of things which is what you want when you're a bride and already have a million things to keep track of. Everything about our day was perfect and if anything went wrong, I had no idea. All of our details were executed exactly as we asked and turned out even better than we envisioned. The staff was extremely accommodating and our guests raved about the venue and the food especially. Everyone we spoke with could not compliment the food enough. I wish we could do it all over again and would choose the Metropolitan Club every time!
  • J
    Jhissel Married on 09/10/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hosting my wedding reception at the Metropolitan Club was an amazing experience. The staff and the coordinator, Ashley Toomey, were amazing to work with making my wedding day stress free. Loved the window views of the city from the 67th floor. I was very satisfied with the whole experience.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    5/5 Would get married there again! Our event coordinator Sally K. was outstanding. She was very helpful in all aspects of the wedding especially when dealing with the mother of the bride (no easy task). The views were spectacular and the venue was not your ordinary space. Food was excellent and service was great. The club accommodated special request for our event and really tailored it for us. They worked well with outside vendors. Everything went smoothly and the timing of all events was perfect.

    Couldn't recommend the Metropolitan Club enough. If you are searching for wedding venues in Chicago definitely call Sally you will not be disappointed.
  • J
    Janet Married on 07/02/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We can't say enough about our wedding event experience. Besides the beautiful lake view and room ambience that come with being in the Willis Tower, the staff was accommodating and Lorena our event coordinator was attentive to every detail and very helpful in making the evening run smoothly. Our guests raved about the food and the excellent service. We couldn't be happier with the quality and the value of our wedding event.
  • R
    Russell Married on 05/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Being Chicagoans, we really wanted to highlight our city when we decided on a wedding venue, so we selected one of our favorite places, The Metropolitan Club. It was a fantastic decision. Lorena and the entire staff had everything under control, and I honestly felt like we were free to enjoy the evening, without a worry. We were able to add our own special touches to the space, and I watched Lorena as events unfolded, attentive to every detail to ensure things flowed smoothly. We had a blast, the food was wonderful, and the service was flawless. Our guests are still telling us it was the best wedding they have ever attended. It is worth noting, The Metropolitan Club is a welcoming space for all couples. If you are looking for a magical place in Chicago to host your family and friends for your special day, you owe it to yourself to have a look.
  • A
    Adam Married on 12/31/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It isn't just our opinion that we had the greatest wedding, but all of our friends' and families' as well. The Metropolitan Club is such a special location which just feels like a great place to have a wedding. Every time we are driving into downtown or can spot the Willis Tower from the suburbs, we say "hey that's where we got married! Relatives from out of town were definitely thrilled to be in Chicago's tallest skyscraper to celebrate with us.

    Location and atmosphere aside, the food and service was equally outstanding. The planning was perfect by Lorena, who I cannot say enough great things about. I would recommend this venue to anybody that is looking for a place to have the perfect wedding and hope they all get to work with Lorena and the same staff that helped us.
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I am a Wedding Planner with Storybook Weddings and Events here in Chicago, and I had the pleasure of having a wedding at The Metropolitan Club this past June. I worked with Lorena throughout the entire process, and she was fantastic to work with! This particular couple that I had needed to book their venue somewhat in a hurry because their original venue closed. Lorena and her team were quick to help them book and also were quick with any responses to questions that we had, and also quick in terms of their service during their actual wedding. Their wedding was beautiful... the food was great, the staff was professional and friendly, and you just can't beat the views up there. Thanks again, Lorena, and to your team... hoping to work with you again soon!