Skip to main content
Weddings

The Mansion at Strathmore Reviews

The Mansion at Strathmore

The Mansion at Strathmore

Rockville, MD
4.6 out of 5 rating, 30 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.6 out of 5 rating
30 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating
92% Recommended by couples

Awards

30
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

34 User photos

  • O
    Olivia R. Sent on 08/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Mansion at Strathmore - The Wedding of Our Dreams

    Amy and her team are the most professional, and most outstanding group of individuals that I have had the pleasure of working with. They made our wedding day flow absolutely seamlessly and perfectly, even when there was a miscommunication mishap with the caterer towards the very end of the event. It didn't even make a dent in our perfect day. Amy runs an extremely tight and organized ship, and very clearly loves what she does. The venue itself is incredibly beautiful. I truly could not have asked for a better experience.
  • M
    M Sal Sent on 10/13/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic Experience

    My (now) wife and I were looking for a venue that would look great in pictures, but also cater to the size wedding we were looking to have (under 40 guests). We landed on Strathmore thanks to it's micro wedding packages that included a photographer, florals, musicians, cake, and table rentals. We were ecstatic with how it turned out in pictures. We had our wedding and reception both on the back lawn and the entire thing went off without a hitch thanks to their 'day of' coordinator Amy. AMY WAS AWESOME. The way she managed the day, ushered guests around, and kept things perfectly on schedule was indicative of a consummate professional. We honestly can't say enough about how well she ran the day. Our cocktail hour was indoors where our guests could mingle and admire the art gallery that covers the entirety of the mansion. During this time Amy was able to find and produce any guests we asked for photos. Speaking of which, we also were so happy with the photographer, Carolyn that the package provided. She provided us 30 early digital prints within 2 days, and the photos looked sooooooo beautiful. Two of my aunts were both discussing using the venue for my cousins wedding, and everyone remarked about how lovely the entire thing was. We were so incredibly satisfied with the experience and would absolutely recommend the Strathmore Mansion.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Melissa
    Melissa K. Sent on 11/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect small wedding venue!

    Let me start by saying that I HIGHLY recommend the Strathmore Mansion's small wedding package. My now-husband and I had to postpone our originally planned wedding twice but decided we didn't want to wait any longer to tie the knot, so after some searching we found the Strathmore. They offer a package which not only includes the venue, but also a photographer, cake, musicians, decor, and other key vendors (and at an extremely reasonable price!). For brides who were stressed out about trying to have a wedding and book vendors at the last minute, this was an absolute god-send. Most importantly, they put a huge emphasis on ensuring that the event is socially distanced and has all necessary COVID precautions in place--as a nurse, safety during the pandemic is so important to me, and they surpassed all of my expectations.

    Our mini-mony at the Strathmore Mansion had only 16 guests, but it was perfect. I have to give accolades to Amy Walker for so much of the day's success. Amy was our go-to person from the first time we inquired about the venue, and she made the entire planning process a breeze. She was diligent and fast to respond to all inquiries or needs leading up to the wedding, and her experience showed with how well everything was coordinated to pull off our perfect day. Amy is a gem of a person who truly cares about you and the success of your wedding. Thank you for everything!
  • Gina
    Gina H. Sent on 06/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Perfection

    The Strathmore staff is as good as it gets! They checked every box a bride could want. They provided a clear understanding of their services beforehand and ensured that I stayed on schedule and provided them with everything that was needed before the big day. When my wedding day arrived, they ensured everything was SEAMLESS. I didn’t have to worry about anything. They ensured everyone was where they needed to be at the appropriate time and everything stayed on schedule. They made sure all of my requests and decor were presented perfectly. And most important, they ensured that both the bride and groom were well taken care of the entire day! They noticed if we needed a break, if we needed a drink, if we hadn't eaten our cake…. It was truly impressive!! I can’t recommend Strathmore enough. I would get married there all over again, if I could!
  • Meredith
    Meredith D. Sent on 10/31/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect venue

    We loved our experience getting married at the Mansion at Strathmore. It was the perfect venue for us (we love historic houses). We did a deal for under 50 guests and it was just what we were looking for. The mansion is so beautiful itself and is also an art gallery so we didn’t need many decorations. Amy and Charlene were great at communicating with us through the planning process! We would recommend the venue to anyone!
  • Caitilin
    Caitilin K. Sent on 01/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue & Experience

    Our wedding at the Mansion was everything we hoped for and more. Amy and her staff were amazing to work with and so responsive (especially during COVID) with all of the changes that we had to make due to the ever changing County restrictions. She had so many great suggestions and ideas to make sure that no detail was forgotten and that everything went smoothly the day of. With the reduced size of our wedding she helped us to plan to use various parts of the Mansion for our ceremony, pictures and first dance so that we could utilize the spaces as much as possible.
    Amy responded in a timely manner to all of our questions and concerns and was always willing to call to make sure we were all on the same page. She was extremely helpful with the best places to take pictures at the Mansion, organizing everyone before the ceremony and make sure we stayed on schedule. I cannot say enough good things about our experience at the Mansion and how grateful that we were able to have our wedding there.
  • S
    Sam A. Sent on 01/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    COVID19 wedding

    Amy and Charlene were wonderful. They made sure our day was exactly what we wanted, and helped us coordinate with our vendors. They made us feel very safe about the covid precautions, and helped us get all the needed permits. The day of our wedding the ceremony space in the music room was beautiful, and we got great quality for our package. Amy and Charlene helped us to navigate the usual hiccups, and were very gracious and kind. Even though getting married during a pandemic wasn’t what we originally envisioned, we are delighted with how our wedding at the Strathmore turned out.
  • B
    Becca Sent on 05/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue

    Beautiful venue and amazing staff. Charlene made everything so easy, and our wedding was perfect. Compliments from everyone!
  • J
    Jodie Sent on 01/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfection!

    We had our micro-wedding at the Strathmore Mansion in January 2021. From the first meeting with Amy and Charlene to the wedding day itself, the entire experience was exceptional and above and beyond our expectations. Amy and Charlene were warm, friendly, proactive, detail-oriented, and thoughtful. This was especially noticed and appreciated, since we had our wedding during Covid, making it even harder to plan ahead. Throughout the entire planning process, I thought Amy and Charlene's priority was to make it as easy as possible for us. They truly wanted us to be happy, thinking ahead and proactively helping us move the process along without missing any small details. My husband and I are fairly detail-oriented, so for us to say someone is detail-oriented means they truly are!

    More importantly, they really enjoy their work, and it shows. This is the difference between a good wedding venue/planner and an excellent one. We could tell that they care about us and enjoyed getting to know us as a couple. Everything was tailor-made or customized to our liking, making our wedding atmosphere warm and cheerful, despite its micro-sized nature.

    In addition, we can also tell that Amy and Charlene have worked with the photographer, celebrant, and florist multiple times because their coordination was seamless. There are many examples I could cite, but the most memorable was during the photography session on our wedding day. Amy and Carolyn, our photographer, collaborated so well such that they reminded us of rowers -- in sync, with one rhythm, without need for verbal cues! This type of teamwork is paramount to making any wedding excellent.

    If you are planning to have a wedding, whether a micro-wedding or a larger format one, we would highly recommend Strathmore Mansion and its wedding package. It takes the headache out of trying to find vendors separately, who might or might not coordinate well with each other.

    The Mansion is an exceptionally beautiful venue, especially in photographs, and its size is perfectly suited for couples who are seeking weddings that are more intimate in atmosphere. While we hosted our wedding in the winter, over the holiday season, we can imagine how beautiful the outdoor space would be during the warmer seasons too.

    Definitely do not hesitate to use The Mansion at Strathmore and work with its team and vendors for your wedding! You would certainly be happy with the experience and wedding day itself.
  • User1001213 Sent on 11/02/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had an absolutely fabulous experience at the Strathmore Mansion on 9/29/12. Our guests couldn't stop raving about how impressive and beautiful the venue was, how lovely the staff was, and especially how amazing the food was. (We didn't have a tasting beforehand, and we totally didn't need to, because the food was superb. We had a complicated menu including Italian, American, Indian, and Thai dishes, and the chef pulled it off flawlessly.) Everyone we worked with, especially Augie Bove, was incredibly professional and determined to make this an awesome event. This is certainly not an inexpensive venue, but every dollar was worth it for the quality that we received!

    I also have to put in a specific plug for Augie-- he was the nicest, most wonderful person we could have worked with through the wedding process. He was constantly looking out for us to make sure that we got the best value for our money, and he was 100% forthcoming about our costs. Instead of seeing our unique menu and our open seating cocktail style reception as a difficulty, he embraced the challenge and made sure to give us an individualized experience. He was totally committed to doing exactly what we wanted, and went out of his way to help us achieve our goals. He was perfectly pleasant throughout our many changes, adjustments, and questions, and clearly knew exactly what he was doing. He stayed at our reception for quite a while to make sure that things ran smoothly. We will recommend him to everyone we know!
  • User921991 Sent on 09/04/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We found Strathmore to be an excellent venue for my ceremony and reception. The catering mgr Augie made it very simple for me to accomplish a lot at one time. The food and service were impeccable. Augie was there for every step of the process from the planning process until all the guests went home happy. Also, Kristen the rentals mgr clearly explained all the venue had to offer as well as quickly answering any questions that we had.
  • Lindsey
    Lindsey Sent on 11/10/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Gorgeous, gorgeous venue!!! Service was excellent as well by both the event and catering staff. The food was excellent, and all of my guests raved about how wonderful our wedding was. The mansion has a lot of space available for your guests to roam around and feel comfortable. The catering staff was extremely professional, and my guests commented on how great they were. I'd recommend to any of my friends or family members.
  • J
    Jodee Sent on 02/11/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely beautiful venue; wonderful space and so beautiful as the evening lighting changes; great people to work with; Augie is terrific; very professional and knowledgeable; listens to what you want and helps you achieve the wedding you want;
  • J
    Joy Sent on 09/09/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have had two experiences with Strathmore Catering and Augie Bove: the first as a guest of a dear friend at the Mansion and the second as the mother of the bride at the Music Center. Both occasions were wonderful! Our daughter and her fiance were in town to look for venues with us, one of which was the Mansion. After touring the Mansion, they looked across the parking lot at the Music Center and asked if it was possible to see it. Augie was in the middle of setting up for an event that evening but graciously offered to show us around and answer all our questions. We all fell in love with the site and Augie!

    In the months before the wedding he was always responsive immediately to calls and understanding when I felt the need to have just one more look at the venue to visualize table placement, dressing rooms, a place for the babysitter, etc. By the time that day arrived, I was certain Augie had everything under control and the day would be perfect.....and it was.

    The food was exceptional as was the service. From the waiters passing hors d'oeurves during the cocktail hour to the seated dinner, the professionalism of the staff was apparent. As for the food, we were told by so many guests how impressed they were. This was decidedly not your typical banquet dinner.

    To summarize, if I had another daughter and could afford to do this again :-), Strathmore and Augie would definitely be my first and only choice!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 06/25/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The exclusive caterer for Strathmore is Restaurant Associates. Augie, the catering manager, did a fantastic job planning and implementing the event. He is extremely organized and detail-oriented, just like me, which made it both easy and a pleasure to work with him. He responded quickly and thoroughly to our tons of questions, requests, and emails over the year. He provided honest feedback and gave us food and rental recommendations. He was flexible with menu/rental changes and requests. We went to two group tastings, one of which was a large reunion for everyone who had ever been married at Strathmore Mansion or the Music Center.

    Everything went very smoothly the day of thanks to him and his staff of waiters, butlers, bartenders, etc. Waiters brought us water, wine, and a tray of the appetizers during cocktail hour while we were still taking photos. They also were sure to serve us a sampling of everything from the buffet before anyone else went to the buffet.

    We got dozens of compliments on how good the food was, which can be rare with wedding food! I even was told by a couple people how they noticed how on top of things Augie was and how he smoothly directed tables to the buffet.
  • P
    Patricia Sent on 02/05/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Everyone at Strathmore and at Restaurant Associates is unbelievable to work with. They made my every wish possible and it turned out to be a beautiful magical event.
  • L
    Lori Sent on 06/13/2012
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The Mansion was beautiful and elegant - and the garden was perfect for the outdoor ceremony. We liked having all the different rooms with tables for our guests. Augie from Restaurant Associates was terrific - and the food was great. We had many comments saying that this was the most beautiful wedding ever:)
  • J
    Jacqueline L. Sent on 04/26/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Micro-Wedding at Strathmore Mansion

    We had a wonderful experience with Strathmore Mansion for our 18-person micro-wedding in March 2021. We used the smallest package of $500/hour, for 2 hours, for which the Mansion allows up to 23 guests (including any officiant, photographer, etc). You can reserve multiple hours. They have many options for longer periods of time and larger packages as well. They only have certain available hours when they aren't open to the public, so you'll need to book early or be flexible with time. We chose a Saturday morning for our ceremony. The events team (Amy and Charlene) are very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. The Mansion is beautiful and convenient to many other locations. The grounds of the Mansion, sun porch, and main hall are beautiful and we got gorgeous photos. Very happy with Strathmore Mansion!
  • User920712 Sent on 09/03/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We found Strathmore to be an excellent venue for my ceremony and reception. The catering mgr Augie made it very simple for me to accomplish a lot at one time. The food and service were impeccable. Augie was there for every step of the process from the planning process until all the guests went home happy. Also, Kristen the rentals mgr clearly explained all the venue had to offer as well as quickly answering any questions that we had.
  • H
    Heidi Sent on 07/16/2011
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We loved the space at Strathmore Mansion-perfect location for a spring wedding. Augie helped us coordinate everything for our reception and he was amazing to work with. He offered opinions when needed and was never pushy-always calm, flexible, responsive and organized. Him and the staff truly made the entire reception come together and was so kind to all of our vendors.

    We had so many compliments on the food and the service. It far exceeded my expectations by a long shot. Augie and his staff really go out of their way to make sure you're getting the most for your money.

    I would definitely recommend any couple thinking about getting married in the DMV to work with with Augie/Strathmore-
  • B
    Bethany Sent on 01/11/2009
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    We held our ceremony and reception at the Music Center at Strathmore and the experience was wonderful. While it was a bit expensive, it certainly was not among the highest-priced locations when you are trying to find space for over 200 people. The space is beautiful and provides many options for the logistics of your event, and I particularly liked it because it was something different than your typical hotel ballroom. The location has an exclusive contract with Restaurant Associates catering, who not only provided delicious food and great service at the event, but who also helped us plan the layout of the room, including making great suggestions for the linens, dance floor, etc. Although they said it hadn't been done before, when we requested to have our ceremony and reception in the same room (and have it flipped during cocktail hour), they made it happen. They even rented screens to hide the reception tables that they had set up ahead of time at the back of the room. Augie, the head of catering, was very understanding and responsive during the entire process. The only downside is that they do not offer personalized tastings. They offer public tastings twice a year, which my parents attended, but which we couldn't make because we live outside the state. Augie did help us pick the menu based on what he knows to be crowd favorites, and indeed we received many complements on the food from our guests.
  • Taniece
    Taniece Sent on 10/13/2018
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    It was lovely working with Strathmore. We contacted them a little under 2 years prior to our wedding date and surprising enough we were able to reserve our wedding day. As we shopped for wedding venues, most venues visited only allowed for reservations closer to 12 months from the event date. We initially worked with Madeline Waters during the planning phase. In the mist of planning, Madeline was great. She provided us with the opportunity to tour the venue a number of times and answered or found answers to all of our questions. We decided to have an outdoor ceremony in front of the Strathmore Mansion and cocktail hour/reception at AMP by Strathmore. Both venues are beautiful and suited our party of 130-140 guest just fine. During the months leading to our wedding day, we contacted Strathmore numerous times to ensure the do’s and don’ts of each venue and they provided responses in a timely manner.

    In addition, Strathmore had a couple of personnel changes during this time. At one point, Madeline was promoted and no longer handled both the Mansion and AMP venues. Beth Radovsky took over the AMP venue and Charlene McClelland the Mansion. Then Beth was promoted and Julianne DuBois took over the AMP venue. Despite these changes however, the level of service and professionalism remained a constant 10! Seamless! Initially we had the concern that there would be issues with knowledge transfer of our event, but we never experienced that. Beth, Julianne and Charlene stepped right in and from our planning phase up to the wedding day things went without a hinge. This speaks volumes to Strathmore’s attention to all things, their customer service, knowledge transfer, competent staff and solid processes to ensure business flows smoothly.

    Our guests loved the beauty of the Mansion and grounds (it is maintained very well). In addition, the décor and space of AMP was perfect for our cocktail hour/reception.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 12/06/2011
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    Great place to have your reception if you are looking for a mansion setting. Augie and his team at the mansion were so professional and great to work with. The food is amazing here and the guests continue to comment on the quality of the food and the uniqueness of the venue. Although there is construction currently going on near the mansion, we were oblivious to all this on the day of the wedding, and from inside the mansion no one noticed what was going on around the corner.
  • Lyss5782
    Alyssa Sent on 08/10/2010
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our reception at the Strathmore Music Center and I LOVED it. That being said, it was sometimes difficult to find someone to communicate with when there were questions or concerns. It is a little pricey ($5500 for four hours, $500 for each additional hour) but in my mind the venue really made the wedding what it was.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message